BritainReviews

    Reviews Ecohive

    Energy is an important part of 21st-century human life. It is needed for individual, commercial/ industrial and transportation purposes. At the individual level, with the household being the basic, it is needed to provide power for activities like watching television, lighting the home, ironing, washing, cooking, taking a shower and even heating the home. Residential uses of energy account for about 40 per cent of total global energy consumption. There are also the commercial uses of energy, which means companies’ use for industrial, manufacturing, and/or running their commercial activities. The transportation industry is another category of energy user, perhaps the most dependent of all categories. Over seventy per cent of petroleum used globally goes to this sector, as it includes the use of cars, buses, aircraft, trains, ships, etc. Hence, globally, innovations such as the introduction of more fuel-efficient vehicles and the development of alternative sources of energy for the transport system are being facilitated to address the energy requirement of this sector. On an individual scale, insulation helps to keep the desired temperature in your house all through the year, providing protection against excess heat of summer and cold of winter. It is an energy-efficient method that reduces the cost of additional heating and cooling. Areas of the house that can be insulated are the roof, windows, walls, floors and doors. However, the most important place is the walls, because a typical house’s walls will lose about 40 per cent of the heat. The roof will lose 25 per cent, the windows and doors 20 per cent. With the above analysis, it is easy to conclude that insulating the walls is already half of the work done. The benefits of home insulation are considerable. Apart from the obvious advantage of reducing energy cost, it also prevents moisture condensation; reduces the emission of pollutants and carbon footprints of power plants; reduces noise level; provides safety and protection for the people living in the house; protects against fire and improves the appearance of the house. Ecohive provides insulation solutions to homes in the UK. For honest reviews of Ecohive, please read on.

    About Ecohive
    Ecohive is the government’s backed national scheme to deliver free energy efficiency improvements as part of the Energy Company Obligation. It provides upgrade to the insulation and heating systems of qualifying households in private rented or owner-occupied properties across the United Kingdom. Ecohive has a network of accredited installers, while Consultiv Utilities Ltd Group, its parent company, claim to have over 30 years of experience in home insulation and heating solutions. The programme will run from March 2018 till March 2022. Ecohive asserts that it champions affordable and clean energy and climate action priorities, and provides guidance through the qualification process and install the relevant measures to improve home efficiency and reduce the cost of energy. They are headquartered in Newcastle, England.

    Products and Services of Ecohive
    They provide Replacement Boilers, Boiler Upgrades, Loft Insulation, Room in Roof Insulation, Cavity Wall Insulation, and more. They offer delivery services and expert advice on how clients can get the best experience of their products and service delivery.

    Compliments, complaints and tips for Ecohive
    Have you benefitted from Ecohive? Kindly share your experience from the application through the qualification process here. Tips on how the initiative can be better executed would also be appreciated. We await your feedback!

    If you are still searching for ways to heat your home, you can also read Best Heating's reviews or 247 Home Rescue and find out if they have the products and services that you are hoping for.

    How to choose an energy supplier

    Choosing an energy supplier is not as hard as it may seem at first. It may feel overwhelming when you begin your search as the competitive market offers many options, so here we break down four key points to consider when choosing an energy supplier:

    1. Compare with your previous energy supplier
    It’s a good idea to always keep tabs on your energy expenses so you can later on analyze what your costs are, for your home or business. This way you will be more prepared when the moment comes to choose a new energy supplier and find out which one can better meet your needs.

    2. Supplier’s history
    Do some background research about the supplier. Is the energy supplier a well-established company in the market? Are they licensed to serve your area? What have been other people’s experiences with the supplier? Do they have a good reputation? The kind of reputation and position they hold in the community is an important factor to consider.

    3. Pricings and plans
    Reviewing their pricing and plans as well as the terms and conditions of the plan you are choosing. Try to find the plan that most accommodates to your needs and budget and, also, make sure the plan you choose can help you avoid being charged extra for services you are not interested in.

    4. Customer service
    Look for a company with excellent customer service, with employees that are polite, willing to answer your questions and help you when in need. This will make a great difference if you ever run into problems or misunderstandings. You can always do some research on the web, ask people around you what their experience has been or read customer reviews to find honest feedback on the company’s customer service.

    In BritainReviews you will be able to find plenty of experiences and opinions from real customers so you can objectively look and compare many energy providers. Take a look at some of the reviews and decide for yourself:

    Ecohive Net Zero Homes

    Ecohive
    Reviews, complaints and customer experiences (22)

    6.8
    59% Would buy here again!
    Ordering
    rating
    6.8
    Service
    rating
    6.4
    Pricing
    rating
    7
    Delivery
    rating
    6.8

    All reviews

    Read independent reviews, consumer experiences, feedback and complaints right here! Get to know the best online shops and service providers from the impressions they with people. Customers now get to decide which brands are worthy and which are not!

    Mr.

    555

    By: zFPWdwPk28-08-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    10
    rating

    Mr.

    555

    By: tMtFQiRt17-08-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    10
    rating

    Storage heaters

    Awful from the outset. Left my property without power overnight, had a live wire dangling from fuse box. Could have been catastrophic. Dumped old heaters outside building and didn’t d not fit 2 heaters. I have given up chasing these idiots. Stay well away! Do not use!

    By: Peter Smith13-08-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    5.5
    rating

    Storage heating under government scheme

    All positive until it was fitted. Afterwards found the heaters very expensive to run, some didn't work at all and when we turned them all on in the middle of winter they tripped the circuit leaving me with no heating as they were all wired into one fuse on the main board which was not capable of the load. They said they would send someone out when available, bearing in mind we live in the south and they are in the north and it's during covid. Eventually they agreed that it's not right to leave a sick and elderly man without heat so they authorized me to get the work done locally, which I did and got a report from the electrician. After sending them the quote and them agreeing to pay it, even lying and saying that they had paid it, they didn't and refused to answer calls and emails. The heaters still do not work properly and a pensioner has been left to pay a large sum of money which they can I'll afford. Don't touch them with a bargepole. Very expensive to run and you need to have a economy 7 meter which they don't tell you and which you will have to pay for. Wish I had never had it done.

    By: Hector Walker19-07-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2.5
    rating

    Storage heaters/loft/ wall insulation

    Fantastic service, professional staff all the way from enquiry through survey and to fitment.
    Thank you so much, would definitely recommend !

    By: Simon Gent06-07-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Elnur Gabarron combu HHR

    I was contacted by Ecohive re: upgrading my old Dimplex heaters. These heaters have INCREASED my electricity bill by threefold, and the heater temperature gauges are faulty. At installation, the electricians used left holes in wall where they ripped the old heaters off, left a trail of bolts, screws and mess on the floor and put the "feet" supporting the heaters ON the carpet instead of under it, with old electric leads stuck under the feet.
    The fact that the heaters DO NOT store heat as they should, and the maximum temperature is 25°c I found the heat stored is NOT good enough for freezing winters, as the heat is list by 17.00hrs and the "comfort" fan does not come on! Useless in comparison to my old Dimplex ones. I WOULD NEVER HAVE HAD REPLACED THE OLD ONES IF I HAD KNOWN HOW USELESS THESE ARE

    By: Ruth Collins18-05-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    replacement storage radiator

    Ecohive offered to replace my storage radiators under government assisted scheme. They messed me around for 8 months with lots of unfulfilled promises and did absolutely nothing

    By: zach abrams22-03-2021
    Ellie Mckay06-05-2021

    I wish I had read the reviews before I had these installed for my father. Problems with the heater programs not functioning as they should. Rude and abusive when they came to fix them. Heaters then tripped the system when he put them all on in the middle of winter. Local Electician called and they found that the heaters had all been wired into a single fuse which overloaded the system. It cost my father a great deal of money to have the work done properly, the company said that they would pay it and indeed did send me an email saying they had paid it but did not. We were never told that the Smart meters had to be wired to a smart meter which has economy 7 so the heaters are really just very expensive to run convector heaters which has left my elderly father with huge electric bills which at 89 years of age and not in good health is an added burden. If i could they would get NO stars.

    Ruth Collins18-05-2021

    Ellie, I too wish I had seen about these heaters. They have tripled my electric bill, and the temperature gauges do not work. Trying to get these problems corrected is causing me stress.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Elnur Gabbarron Storage Heaters

    Provided by Govt Grant foc.

    I do not recommend these heaters. They have a fan inside and once 21c is not achieved the fan comes on using PEAK UNITS. The heaters are smart heaters with digital displays and require a 24 hour electricity supply and will not work on OFF PEAK alone. They appear to be extremely inefficient. For example over a rso week period set at 21c in the day and 18c at night my average usage is 32 off peak units and 7.5 peak units I pay 18p and 9.5p respectively incl VAT which equates to £132 a month on heating alone for 2x 12.2kwh and an 18.3kwh heaters. Please bear this in mind when considering. I am currently trying to have these removed as they do not work now I have had my meter and wiring correctly installed as they must be on 24 hours a day not just on the off peak rate.

    By: Amelia Russell 23-01-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    7
    rating

    Storage Heater replacement

    I applied to Ecohive on behalf of my Mother in Law to upgrade her old heaters under the government green deal. James managed everything and kept us informed throughout. The installers did a very good job and cleaned up afterwards.

    By: Timothy Podd27-11-2020
    Lesley Traynor-smith20-12-2020

    From contact to installation how long did this take please. Ive been waiting many months and still no date in sight.

    Victoria Harrison 12-09-2021

    Avoid this is a scam it’s not cheaper it’s 4 x more expensive! Loud not hot enough and scorched now! Avoid !! the 35 years old one were better Shame on eco hive and elnur,

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Have not received any

    Put in for storage heaters to be replaced at the begining of september have tried phoning and left messages just want to know what is going on regarding replacement heaters we dont have any proper heating at the moment I cant give either positive or negative at the moment as I dont know whats going on please advise.

    By: Mr p a leppard20-10-2020
    Mr p a leppard21-10-2020

    There isnt any responce

    Lesley Traynor-smith20-12-2020

    Same here. Just keep being told they are working through backlog but its been months now and no idea of when they will actually install. Not even a survey or quote after months

    Vicky27-08-2021

    I applied in September 2020 and still haven't had mine yet. I get fobbed off every time I call, or worse, abuse for daring to ask what's happening. This company is honestly disgusting the way they treat people, its horrifying.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    Electric Storage Heaters

    Very old storage heaters were inefficient and ineffective. I was approached as a cold call from James and I was very sceptical. However- the whole process was smooth and painfree. The transition to the new heaters has been excellent. The 2 young installers arrived and worked tirelessly and quietly to get the job done. They observed all the PPE requests I made and left the flat clean , neat and tidy. I could nt fault anyy part of this whole process. I would use them again with pleasure. Thank you Jordan & Ash

    By: Antonia Potterton19-10-2020
    Philip Bateson22-10-2020

    Hi, what make and model storage heaters do eco hive fit as I need the dimensions

    M Ball23-01-2021

    Elnur Gabbarron. Fitted at my mother's house two weeks ago. A 12.2 kwh x 2 and an 18.3 kwh have used 29 off peak units and 7 units peak as they have fans inside. They can only be used with economy 7 that has a 24 hour load NOT R1 AND R2 as they need a constant 24 hour supply as they are smart heaters. I don't recommend them. Very expensive and not efficient sadly. I am in the process of having them removed. This is proving to be a challenge.

    24-02-2021

    Absolutely brilliant service. Rachel Lee Paul Craig Michael...all excellent. Thank you all very much. We are lovely and warm now.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Storage Heater Replacement

    I approached the company on behalf of my elderly father & was delighted to find out about the free storage heater replacement scheme. Contact with the company has been very efficient & the fitters were really friendly & did a fantastic job swiftly & professionally. The system has only just been replaced today & hopefully he starts to see the benefits of these in the weeks approaching the colder months.

    By: Sam13-10-2020
    Philip Bateson22-10-2020

    Hi what make and model storage heaters do eco hive fit as I need the dimensions

    Melvyn Linnett27-10-2020

    ECOMBI HHR High Heat Retention ECOHHR20 | ECOHHR30 | ECOHHR40

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Storage heaters

    Really positive experience with installation of storage heater..
    Great job no drama’s.

    By: Paul30-09-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Loft insulation

    Very plesent lads .very clean took all the rubbish away. Would highly recommend this company.

    By: Beverley dray28-09-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Electric heating system

    Absolutely horrendous service. My grandmother enquired via their online add and after talking to a guy who supposedly booked her in she heard nothing for 4 weeks. Sent a few emails to no avail and seeing the reviews on here I can see why. Also checked their page, their CEO is called Mike who it looks has actually written a good review about the company using his own account on here lol, desperation if ever I've seen it.

    By: Leah Scullion21-09-2020
    Leah Scullion21-09-2020

    Meant to select NO to would I buy here again.

    james@ecohive.co.uk 22-09-2020

    Hi Leah Massive apologies for the service you have received, As you can understand we a going through some very testing times with Covid 19 at the moment which has meant we are running on skeleton staff for both installs and admin mostly who are still working from home. We are still trying to catch up from the initial national lockdown and we are following all the required guidelines to ensure everyone safety unfortunately this is meant a hold on all installs. Also I can assure you we doing everything we can to catch up and ensure all existing enquires are dealt with as quick as possible. In reply to your comment regarding Mike who is not a CEO of the business and he certainly didn't write his own review. if I can do anything to help please get in touch Kind Regards James

    Kerry Mabey10-05-2021

    I totally agree with all the reviews at how awful the company is and make excuse after excuse and get accused of using my health to manipulate them which is totally discraceful and should be ashamed of praying on vunerable people I have never been so angry and would NOT recommend this company.....

    Kerry Mabey12-05-2021

    Can you tell me what you are to the company and what Michael is as he is a disgrace to your company

    Kerry Mabey14-05-2021

    So pleased that you are happy to have some one working for you that ads to health problems and threatens customers and now even you don't respond

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    Boiler Upgrade

    My old boiler had seen better days. I approached EcoHive thinking we wouldn’t qualify for a free boiler, but we did due to having a son at high school and child benifit. The fitting was smooth, all waste was removed and it only took a couple of hours. Our bills are down and the hot water pressure is now fabulous in the shower. Along with the insulation in our walls/roof and the new boiler, the house is so fast to heat up and retains the heat for ages. Thanks to the receptionist James who never left me hanging and always updated me! Thanks EcoHive I hope you help many more families.
    Mike DH4

    By: Mike 17-09-2020
    Garry richey08-10-2020

    Had four storage heaters fitted and two panel heaters fitted installation went very well but unfortunately one of the heaters does not work had a problem getting hold of any body to sort this but once I did Micheal was very help ful if it wasn't for the problems of getting hold of them they would get 10 out 10 but will instead give them 8 and just a quick thanks to dee

    Philippa Knott10-10-2020

    I have recently had new heaters fitted and was really happy with the results however now I need to turn them on as the weather has changed one heater in my living room doesn't seem to be working properly I am having trouble contacting the supplier's please respond Dee when you read this . Thanks

    Philip Bateson22-10-2020

    Hi, can anyone tell what make and model storage heaters eco hive (Newcastle) fit? I want the dimensions as replacement of them means possible visual damage to our newly plastered home. Eco 30 and eco 20 were mentioned but I cannot find any info.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Electric Storage Heaters

    I had new storage heaters installed on Tuesday. Very happy with my new heating and overall the whole experience was a good one from beginning to end. Can’t fault them thank you again

    By: Alexandria 10-09-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Storage heaters and cavity wall insulation

    I had new storage heaters installed from EcoHive yesterday...really impressed with the quality of the work....thanks again

    By: Peter Bailey09-09-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Supposed to have free storage heaters installed under a Government Heating Scheme

    I have waited over a year for the storage heaters to be fitted but have been fobbed off again and again.

    By: M Perry08-09-2020
    Paul10-09-2020

    Hi Mary, I am sorry you feel like you have been fobbed off, however we did visit your property with the intention of installing Storage Heaters under the ECO3 scheme, however your current heating system is not currently covered through the scheme, we only found this out on the visit to your property by the installers. We are looking at alternative solutions and we will be in touch as soon as possible. Again apologies for the delay, but rest assured we are working on a solution for you.

    Allan Boarer24-09-2020

    My wife and I have been served perfectly by this company they turned up when they said giving us an hour’s notice they were very friendly efficient and clean when they left they even took the empty cans of the drinks we gave them so we didn’t have to touch them first class service

    Patricia Sifford28-09-2020

    I would really like to give Ecohive a good review,sadly this is not posdible, we applied to Ecohive back in July for the heaters, after giving all the proof they asked for we were told we did qualify. We had an email to say we were booked in asking for our landlords permission, this was given. A man came and surveyed the loft, drilled holes in the walls outside and said the loft would be insulated and the walls would be done. 23/7/220 two came to do the loft, look at the loft and said they could not do this as the loft was boarded over but we had good insulation so would get out heaters. Since then we have heard nothing and have sent emails several times and got no response at all.. We now have 25 year old heaters and apparently have no chance of getting new ones. Terrible people to deal with have tried to apply to another supplier but think they would not accept us as we were signed up to Ecohive. Do not go with this company or you could be stuck.

    James30-09-2020

    Hi Patricia Firstly id like to apologize for your experience so far that is not the way we do things here at EcoHive. due to Covid 19 we are running on skeleton staff for both installs and admin mostly who are still working from home. We are still trying to catch up from the initial national lockdown and we are following all the required guidelines to ensure everyone safety unfortunately this is meant a hold on some installs. I have tried calling you a few times to try and book you in for your heating install but had no luck getting through to you. I would very much like to get you booked in as soon as possible, I will email you today. Hope all is well Kind Regards

    Victoria Harrison 12-09-2021

    I would swear, but know I can’t. Eco hive have conned many ppl. By telling them it will Cut their bill by 40% when actually it goes up four times. They’re not fit for purpose. They have scorch marks on this very worrying so I can’t use them. They use for stairs and I’m asthmatic should never have them in the first place. I was never given a survey just came and fitted them quickly left quickly. Now I’m left with heaters I cannot use it too expensive and when I try and get eco-and Elnur to help they don’t call you back or don’t return your emails they say they will but they don’t. Matt at Elinore said it was something I was doing and something to do with the element inside it is absolute lies! I know it’s free but it’s not really at the end of the day when you’re paying for more for your heating then you should! Taking this up with my local MP From the responses I was saying I’m not the only one that’s having problems with them the people that have had them fitted in the summer will sadly find out in the winter how expensive these heaters are. Disgusted by this company disgusted by elnur.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Broken Boiler Replacement

    I would like to thank Ecohive for an excellent service from initial contact to install.
    I had my boiler replaced and am absolutely over the moon with it.
    Thank you

    By: Karen Vipond07-09-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Write your own review about Ecohive

    Your review

    FAQ

    Is Ecohive a trustworthy company?

    There are currently 22 customer review posted about Ecohive. On average, they received a star-grading of 6.8/10, with 59% of the reviewers indicating that they would buy from the brand again.

    What services or products do Ecohive offer?

    Ecohive is mainly active in the Energy category, more specifically with Cheap energy.

    I have read all the reviews. What now?

    Did you get a positive impression from the reviews? If so, then you can place your order on the Ecohive website with confidence. If not you can find many other brands to read about on our website!