Spotlight: What are our customers saying?
Quality cottage is same like their name, the quality is just outstanding and i am excited for more. I have another booking with them but i am going to suggest to you if you are looking for decent, ...Read on
BEWARE: If you arrived at a holiday cottage you had booked and found it was in a ... dusty filthy with infectious conditions and then you found later the Holiday Provider knew it had been in this a...Read on
I have only booked through Quality Cottages once, but that one experience was all I needed for me to say I shall never book through them again. The cottage we had booked we found on arrival to be ...Read on
I will never use QC again. Very unprofessional. I booked a weeks holiday in a rental cottage for me and my family in July 21. The booking was made and paid for in Feb 21. Two weeks before we were...Read on
Had a booking for New Year 2020/21 which had to be cancelled because of Covid. Contrary to some other reviews, a refund was made promptly. However, now trying to rebook for New Year 21/22. Incredib...Read on
No reviews yet!
Find companies you have experience with and write reviews about them! Your reviews contribute to a more transparent market and improve the reliability of companies.
I love my first experience , looking for more
Quality cottage is same like their name, the quality is just outstanding and i am excited for more. I have another booking with them but i am going to suggest to you if you are looking for decent, affordable, quality and amazing cottage.
I would urge all the people who are still waiting for their money back from these shysters to use the chargeback facility from your bank.
Hi Mia, can you please contact us with your booking reference please so I can investigate this further as I believe you provided your bank details on 13th August and we have arranged your refund for you so a chargeback wouldn't have been necessary, once I have received your booking reference I can confirm this is the case.
I would like to correct you. I did have to do a chargeback to receive the money you owed me and received this at the end of July so your reply is a complete fabrication.
Holiday Cottage Known as Wenalt
BEWARE: If you arrived at a holiday cottage you had booked and found it was in a ... dusty filthy with infectious conditions and then you found later the Holiday Provider knew it had been in this awful state for at least 2 months, but still allowed you to arrive. Then you then forced to stay one night because of late arrival times and distance travelled. Then due to the horrible conditions we were compelled to leave the following day. Then your partner contracted a bad allergy reaction due directly these awful conditions which forced you return home early from a second cottage. And, clearly there were Health & Safety there. Then finally when a refund request is made, they refuse to take responsibility and tell you it’s your job to contact the owner of the cottage to try to extract a refund. What would your reaction be?
Well, this is exactly the conditions Quality Cottages, Pembrokeshire allowed my partner & I to experience & be exposed to. The cottage is known as Wenalt near Tintern, Gwent clearly had not been cleaned for several months, I have the photos to support this. This cottage was not never ‘fit for purpose’ and Quality Cottages knew it well before we arrived. After our return home, they subsequently, suspended Wenalt, making it unavailable to others.
Some of the many things we found (Have photos):
The state of the vertical blinds was dangerous to children staying there.
The cleanliness of this property was a germ & virus ridden environment which is extremely likely to cause infection, which it did.
Food hygiene issues in respect to the cooker
All surfaces ... & dusty.
Filth & Dust & dead creatures under beds & wardrobes
Cobwebs in virtually all corners of all rooms
Toilet Brush with excrement
The sink in the bathroom had been semi-blocked for months,
The shower cubicle ..., mouldy, human hairs, just awful.
Other visitors to this cottage have experienced the very same issues as we did as outlined in their reviews. One review was far back as July 2021 (Our holiday was mid-Oct 2021) on their own website, others in Tripdvisor in Sept 2021.
This property came no where near standards cited on Quality Cottages website. All we wanted was the lovely holiday we booked; we did not wish to be embroiled in this debacle. It is of no fault of ours; we have a reasonable right and expectation Quality Cottages should have ensured we experienced just that. They badly failed not only us but other visitors to this cottage. They do not wish to recognise their neglect of duty and are not an honourable company to use. But they use the name ‘Quality’ as a part of their company name. BEWARE.
Finally Quality Cottages use Feefo platform for reviews. It seems reviews are by invitation only and seemingly is managed. Unlike Trustpilot & TripAdvisor where reviews can take place with no such restraints. Quality Cottages would not allow me to review Wenalt.
BEWARE: Unprofessional, never deal with Quality Cottages again
My reply to Quality Cottages response below dated 14th Dec
Firstly, thankyou Quality Cottages for your response, at last, on the 14th Dec 2021, though I must point out you ignored at least two direct emails responses from us. Sadly, it took the Google Review platform to force your response, I’m guessing you were applying the principle, ignore and it will go away.
Quality Cottages have still not ‘got it’, our holiday started at the Wenalt cottage and finished there. Again, I will reiterate, as I have many times previously, due to the extreme dirt, filth and unhygienic conditions prevailing there, my partner contracted an allergic reaction to her eyes which made it impossible for her to continue the holiday at the second cottage. The reaction was so bad we were forced to return home to allow her to visit her GP as she has a history of such reactions to the more extreme environments as in the case of Wenalt. Readers, please note Quality Cottages have removed this property off their website since our visit.
I ask the audience reading this review what they would expect from a company who market quality cottages and allow customers to holiday in these conditions knowing full well the extreme situation of cleanliness existing there. Furthermore, Quality Cottages have now openly admitted there have been other negative reviews which as they describe as “aren’t glowing”. That description is a total understatement, these reviews are awful and do support our premise this cottage ‘was not fit for purpose’ the day we arrived. It was terribly unhygienic, and my partner was allowed to go into those conditions by Quality Cottages. Again, we have photos as proof to support our assertion of the terrible state of that cottage we found on arrival.
Quality Cottages are ‘putting their heads in the sands’ trying to imply they have done their duty by supplying an alternative cottage. At the time it was the only cottage they had available to offer us. Like all you potential holiday-makers out there reading this review update, we came to have a holiday not this debacle which Quality Cottages have subjected us to.
The professional and honourable course of action Quality Cottage’s should have taken, was to admit they got it totally wrong in this case and offer a full refund. Instead, they have chosen to ‘air’ this awful situation in the full glare of several Review Platforms, including Google Review, with us. They have not only let themselves down, but more importantly my partner & I. We feel the refund we have repeatedly requested is the only honorable action Quality Cottages should take. If they do that I will update this reviews, reflecting that honorable action.
If not, I ask people reviewing this to re-consider using Quality Cottages in future. It is only when things go wrong, in our case terribly, you learn how professional this company is in not recognizing and taking responsibility to valid complaints such as ours They have succeeded into turning our holiday in October 2021 an utter night-mare.
Response from the Quality Cottages on 14th Dec 2021
We are sorry that you have had such an experience at a property that we had marketed. We want to address your points that you have made.
Firstly, yes, the property has had some negative reviews recently. As an agency, not only in name, but also in action, we aim for the highest quality that we can, and work with the owners of each property individually to try and accomplish this. We don't own the properties we market; they are privately owned. Nevertheless, we take great care and quick action when something isn't right.
We do have to acknowledge that things sometimes go awry with properties, which is why we work with owners to identify and rectify issues. This is why there are other reviews that aren't glowing, but we had made contact with the owner and assurances and proof of steps taken to assure that future stays could go ahead without issue. We were confident that issues we had found before your stay had been addressed, and there were other bookings in between those stays and yours that went ahead without a problem.
However, these issues came to the fore again during your stay, which is why we immediately suspended the property, and we can confirm that we have since completely removed ourselves from the active marketing and booking of Wenallt. It remains on our site until we can contact all of those who have future bookings with us in a satisfactory manner, but we will not be moving forward with the property or the owner in the future.
We do take seriously the concerns raised by you and others, as it has a direct impact on us.
We do use the Feefo system, and review invites are sent automatically by Feefo's integrated system service, so they are not invitation only. We do not restrain the views of our guests.
We once again, wholeheartedly apologise that a booking made through our website has caused such anguish. We know this apology was communicated to you on the phone when it was reported, and again, when we moved your booking to a brand new property the very next day, but we do so again now.
Just to address the comments around the refund, as we are a booking agency, your booking is made via our website, but is a contract directly with the owner. This is why there can be a slight delay or wait, sometimes whilst we mediate, which in any scenario is only right and proper. However, we do feel we made swift advances to ensure you were treated fairly, and quickly as we sought to help you resolve the matter.
Originally, when we began to mediate on this issue, we asked if you would prefer a refund, or to be moved to a new property so you could continue your holiday. You opted to move to a new cottage, and as you stayed the first night in the original property, we reset your remaining week from 6 nights to 7 nights, so you could have the complete 7 days at the new property, which again, you accepted. It was not until recently, after taking the option of a new booking, at a new property with a different owner, and having this booking completed, that you have since requested a refund for your original booking.
However, we trust this has been an ordeal we wish no one would have to go through, but our commitment to our guest's experience is at the heart of what we do.
We have removed the property from our website for future bookings as a result of internal findings. As such, we hope that your initial experience upon arrival will therefore not happen to any one again, through our brand, which we continue to believe stands for the highest quality.
Holiday Bungalow In Wales September 2021
I have only booked through Quality Cottages once, but that one experience was all I needed for me to say I shall never book through them again.
The cottage we had booked we found on arrival to be filthy,
it soon became abundantly clear that no proper cleaning had taken place in that property for many months with no standards of cleanliness whatsoever, never mind covid cleaning standard requirements.
We spent one night and left the following morning once the cockroaches joined us, but not before reporting our list of complaints to Quality Cottages, both over the phone and by email, to which we added the photographs of this abysmal property.
Due to the manageress being on holiday I was told my complaint could not be dealt with until her return the following week.
I had expected to be contacted on her return to work the following Monday. I didn't get a call - so I rang Quality Cottages asking to speak with the manageress.
She was busy on another call, so I requested a return call, but that never happened.
The following day I rang again, this time manageress Fiona wasn't at her desk, I again asked that she call me back, but that again didn't happen either.
The following day my daughter rang on my behalf and ended up listening to a load of twaddle about the manageress deserving a holiday after the year she had, had and that my daughter should see this poor woman's inbox.
After that phone conversation, I then complained to Visit Wales by email along with the photographs of the property we had booked.
Visit Wales replied to my email the next day, and, strangely enough, about an hour after their email, I had an email from QC telling me they were refunding me in full.
I had also contacted my bank regarding their drawback service should it be needed.
I found Quality Cottages to be very unprofessional and rude.
Like the cottage we had booked, had no cleaning standards, Quality Cottages also have no customer care standards - it is an appalling company, and my advice would be to avoid at all cost.
Had their response to my serious complaint been better, I would have been happy to say that although the cottage was dangerously abysmal, the booking companies response was professional and reassuring.
I can accept that a situation like I had at the cottage can happen, but the reason for using a booking company is to minimise that risk, so if it does happen, you're covered.
With the amount of evidence provided by myself, their response should have been immediate.
My only complaint at the time was the accommodation, but their response to it was the final straw!
And were it possible I would give no stars at all with this review.
I will never use QC again. Very unprofessional.
I booked a weeks holiday in a rental cottage for me and my family in July 21. The booking was made and paid for in Feb 21. Two weeks before we were due to go they cancelled our holiday with no explanation. Where would we find a holiday cottage for 8 with 2 weeks notice. When I spoke to them they claimed they did not have any details of my booking, then they blamed the owner of the property for double booking. However, they were responsible for managing the booking as all emails came from QC. I then confronted them with an email outlining everything that happened and copied all the bills and correspondence. They even tried to remove their messages from the Airb&b website, but it leaves a footprint, and I had taken screen shots of them. I have still not received a reply, and reading the other reviews, I doubt I ever will. All I was looking for was an honest explanation and an apology. Thank you for ruining our summer. What a shocking company.
New Year Holiday
Had a booking for New Year 2020/21 which had to be cancelled because of Covid. Contrary to some other reviews, a refund was made promptly. However, now trying to rebook for New Year 21/22. Incredibly, the company has failed to respond to two e-mails seeking clarification on a point (and there is no answer to the phone). Are they still trading? Do they want new business? It doesn’t inspire confidence.
This is an update to my review of 2/04. I managed (after a 5 minute wait) to get through on the phone; and my query was resolved by a very pleasant and helpful member of staff. So I booked again for our group of 8. In fairness, I think they have just been overwhelmed by the additional admin etc.
Holiday in Wales 2020
Very angry that Quality Cottages do not respond to phone calls or emails regarding my booking. The Visit Wales website clearly indicates that you cannot travel from England into Wales and when in Wales travel is restricted. Despite this QC tell me that it is my choice not to travel and have refused a refund. I asked them to re-let the property. The dates are blocked out on their calendar so does this mean they have re-let and not refunded me OR have they not bothered to try and re-let it so they can keep my deposit. I have 2 vulnerable people to consider who would not be able to come on the holiday. As we are self isolating we cannot invite friends to take their places. QC have been completely unsympathetic and I am disgusted with their cavalier attitude.
Thank you for your feedback, I apologise if you had difficulty getting through to the sales team, we have been dealing with an unprecedented volume of calls and enquiries.
At the time of your cancellation request, there were no travel restrictions in place for August as they only ever went as far as 11th July in Wales. Your dates were made available for relet as you requested on 10th June, within 14 days of this we secured a new booking and your payment was refunded back to you.
Very poor customer service, ignoring consumers.
Very poor customer service, ignoring consumers. Quality Cottages think it's acceptable to charge a cancellation fee for a holiday that has been cancelled due to COVID-19. Since when is it the consumer fault that a global pandemic has occurred? When challenged on this, the manager Fiona simply ignored telephone calls and e-mails, hiding behind terms and conditions that do not support her claim. I have been waiting from three days for answer but the arrogance of this company is beyond belief. Please do yourself a favour and book with a company who are professional and treat their customers with respect. This company is so amateur and rude.
I'm having very similar issues. They only answer if it's to do with taking money. I've heard of you press one for new booking s they answer the phone . But they ignore the phone for existing booking
I too have had the same difficulty having paid the full amount for my holiday and having to cancel because of Covid 19. We have submitted a complaint to the CMA and would suggest that others follow suit if they have had the same negative experience. Quality Cottages are now ignoring our e-mails and cannot be contacted by phone.
I am having a similar problem. It clearly says on the Visit Wales website that you cannot travel into Wales and yet Fiona tells me that by not doing so it is MY choice. I have 2 vulnerable members of my family and we are self isolating. Yes I did try new booking and got through once after weeks of trying the other line. What is the CMA. I would like to complain.
There are other review sites where people are raising the same issues. The CMA is the Competition
and Markets Authority. They have an online form. Also claim through the Courts and Tribunals
Service online at moneyclaim.go.uk.
I have sent 28 e.mails to Quality Cottages all to no avail
Thank you for your feedback, I do apologise if you had difficulty in speaking to our reservations team regarding your booking that was due to take place during the Covid19 lockdown. We had to make the very difficult decision of turning our phones off in order to deal with a backlog of enquiries such as yours. We did look into all of your concerns and I understand that this matter was settled to a satisfactory level for yourself.
Hi having exactly the same problem. We are currently on lockdown I explained this to them they told me that is not their problem the cottage is still available BUT if I travel to west Wales I am breaking the law and I will be reported. Awful customer service. U have raised a case with CMA and will be taking it further.
Terrible, service over a month since waiting for our refund for a holiday they cant provide. Do not book through these agents they are likely going bust.
thank you for your feedback, I apologise for any delays that occured during the lockdown period of Covid19, perhaps you could provide me with your booking reference so I can investigate the cause of the delay for you.
Holiday cottage with hot tub
After booking the cottage purposefully with the hot tub we were contacted to state this would not be in working order and offered a full refund which I accepted. The company then only provided me with a 10% discount even though we never went on the holiday and have now been in a dispute with the company over this for 5 weeks. The manager I have been dealing with has provided such poor customer service and has gone as far as making up times and dates of calls to state I agreed to having a 10% discount. I am really hoping that Quality can provide an apology for this poor service and unfortunately will not be using this company again. Please be mindful of this company.