BritainReviews

    Reviews TrainGenius

    The train is a form of public transportation that is used by many people every day to get to work, visit friends or family or go on a day outing. If you decide to go by train, there are several ways to get tickets. You can get them at the train station, at a shop, but you can also order tickets online. TrainGenius is one of the companies that offer the online selling of tickets. But can they be trusted to deliver your tickets in time? And will the tickets be valid? And what if something goes wrong? Will their customer service be able (and willing) to help you out?) That is what customers that have already purchased train tickets at TrainGenius can tell you about. Read their reviews to find out their experiences, opinions and reviews. That way, you can get a better view of the services that TrainGenius does and does not provide and make an informed decision to order your tickets at TrainGenius or rather some place else.

    About TrainGenius

    TrainGenius is a company that sells train tickets. They have been around since 2008. They proclaim that the tickets that you purchase via their website can help you save up to 80% or what a train ticket would normally cost.


    A couple of trains at full speed

    Services of TrainGenius

    On their website, they have provided an easy way to sell train tickets. You can fill in the form that asks where you are coming from and where you want to go to. Fill in on what day you want to travel to and from your destination and how many people are included in the booking. Next, TrainGenius will provide you with a list of options. They claim to put the cheapest options first. If you encounter any problems before, during or after your booking, you can contact them via phone, email or post office.

    Complaints, Compliments and Tips for TrainGenius

    Have you ever used any of the services that TrainGenius provides? In that case, would you be willing to share with us your experience with this company? We would like to know if this company keeps to its promises, Are tickets easy to purchase? How are the prices compared to tickets that you get from some place else? And how does customer service treats their travellers? Your review does not only have to point out the negative points of this company. Maybe they have given you exceptional service and you want to compliment them on that. Or maybe you have a tip for how things at TrainGenius can be improved. Let us know by leaving a customer review with experience, opinion, rating or other remark or comment. Your review can help others to get a better view of this company and its services.

    Customer reviews about TrainGenius. How easy is it to buy train tickets on their website, and are they really cheaper?

    TrainGenius
    Reviews, complaints and customer experiences (22)

    3.6
    27% Would buy here again!
    Ordering
    rating
    3.6
    Service
    rating
    3
    Pricing
    rating
    4.2
    Delivery
    rating
    3.4

    All reviews

    Read independent reviews, consumer experiences, feedback and complaints right here! Get to know the best online shops and service providers from the impressions they with people. Customers now get to decide which brands are worthy and which are not!

    Train Tickets

    After reading other reviews i must add my own review of recent transactions with Train Genius. I cannot praise these people highly enough for their help and understanding in my own circumstances. Like us all over the past twelve months our lives have been put on hold and restricted to movement. I have had to reschedule my tickets twice due to the Governments intervention of travelling but Train Genius have been sympathetic each time . I was able to finally travel a few weeks ago and only had to pay the Administration fee for the amended dates etc that All train companies impose ! I certainly will use Train Genius again. I speak as i find.

    By: Sue Allen22-02-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Train ticket to Preston

    Bought 2 advanced train tickets to Preston return to see my Grandad in Match 2020. Lockdown happened soon after and I had a continuous cough and Covid symptoms 2 days before i was due to travel. Under UK government guidelines all but non essential travel was illegal and if you had covid symptoms you had to self isolate for 10 days. I called them up and they flat out refused to refund my ticket as they changed their policy to no refunds a few days before, presumably because people were cancelling their tickets because non essential travel was banned. They stole my £110 for a train journey I could never take. Absolute scammers who have abused train travelers who cannot travel by law. AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE!!!!

    By: George Williams15-01-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Tickets

    Ì WOULD NEVER EVER USE THIS COMPANY AGAIN AND WOULD ADVICE OTHERS TO STEER CLEAR AND DO THE SAME.,THEY WILL RIP YOU OFF.EXTREMELY UNSATISFIED WITH SERVICE. THEY ARE MISLEADING AND UNDERHANDED, I CANT BELIEVE THIS COMPANY IS STILL RUNNING.DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY IN ANY CIRCUMSTANCES.

    By: Mr Wisdom 17-06-2020
    Hannah22-06-2020

    Contact rail ombudsman . Also experiencing same issue with this awful company.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Return tickets to Newcastle

    Did not refund me ,could not travel because of lock down ,they made excuse I never claimed on time! Will never use again.

    By: Jackie hunter02-05-2020
    Hannah22-06-2020

    I also was meant to go to newcastle...i have been trying to claim this refund for 4 months. They never reply to emails . What was your outcome?

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    6
    rating

    Ticket

    Despite government recommendations and pandemic CONVID-19 situation this website simply refuses refunds. It's a disgrace

    By: Alicja25-03-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    5.5
    rating

    Liverpool to london

    Like many people I too had to cancel my planned trip to London due to what’s going on in our own country and around the world. I was told I couldn’t get a refund on my advance first class tickets to London. Everybody else from the theatre to the restaurant gave us our money back no questions asked but train genius basically make you but more tickets then they will refund you your money from the last ones. If we still can’t travel in 3 months then we’re back to the same situation. We’re 65 year old people who don’t have resources to go out and buy tickets before getting the money back from our original tickets. We didn’t ask to cancel our anniversary trip !!! Same on train genius we won’t use you again.

    By: Anne From liverpool21-03-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    3.5
    rating

    Two first class tickets From Birmingham to Edinburgh

    I've had to cancel my trip due to the current situation in the country and the world!! Train Genius seem oblivious to whats going on. I could not get a refund on my £200 first class ticket. I was told I could if i paid out an extra amount, booked another ticket for the same trip later in the year, get the new booking reference and then customer service would "refund" my original outlay. After waiting a couple of days to see if their policy changed in light of the current situation..... No joy same response. My hotel in Edinburgh no problem full refund, my planned trip around the Royal Yacht Brittania no problem full refund... Train Genius forget it. really angry and disappointed. Please anybody reading these reviews for your own good do not use this company.

    By: Geoff Bailey19-03-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Train ticket to Sudbury

    #traingenius is a disgrace. I asked for credit not a refund to delay journey on Monday due to Coronavirus as I'm under 2 categories of being high risk & said no even though non essential travel not recommended. When I asked for his advice he said he had none! Shocking service!! So it looks like I'm about to lose £61 through no fault of my own. Just following Government guidelines so dont understand why cannot give me a credit- not asking for refund just to delay my travel!!

    By: Karen 17-03-2020
    Alicia 24-03-2020

    I am in the same situation as few of you re advance tickets refund. I got email saying they follow government recommendations....not sure whichever government. Thus website/company are simply scavengers offering nothing but moreover stress in current situation. I work in hospitality and we refund every guest that contact them hotel despite of T&C of their rate. I receive cancellations request for June and July and we process refunds. Don't understand what wrong without train genius. Will never use its against and advise all around not to do so either.

    Hannah22-06-2020

    I think we can pursure this further. Trading standards!! Ive been waiting 3 minths for a redund and no response. Their website states all tickets will be refunded.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    First class tickets

    I purchased a first-class ticket but I had to change the time. I contacted the customer service who told me to purchase another ticket and send both for refunding the old one deducting £10. I received the refund confirmation but they never process the refund. I had to change the time again. I called them again and I was offered a refund with the same process. They have sent me the script of my call and it clearly stated that I was offered the 2nd refund but they are rejecting to process the second refund. I ended up purchasing 3 tickets for one route for the same day and time but I only used the third ticket but they only offered to refund me one ticket. I will never use this website again and I don't recommend them.

    By: Afshin Sajedi08-03-2020
    Geoff Bailey19-03-2020

    Almost a mirror of my experience. I've had to cancel for tomorrow 20/03/20 and asked for a refund and explained the government guidance......no refund until i booked again got another booking reference no. and then and only then would i get a refund!! So i'm left with two first class tickets to travel to Edinburgh from Birmingham (£200 rtn) i can't use. I wish I had seen these reviews first. Something needs to be done appalling treatment.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    On line tickets to Glasgow

    At first sight, Train Genius look like good value and their website is easy to use. We used them to book two 1st Class tickets for a special trip to Glasgow.

    Don’t be fooled by this company; we found that they had not booked our seats together and when we tried to sort it out we got a very poor response. As far as I can tell they are merely a middleman who take your money, are very unhelpful and pass the blame on to the train company, Avanti West Coast.

    By: David Findley02-03-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    5
    rating

    Train tickets

    Please stay well clear of this company. Having taken my money for some tickets in April they seem incapable of then sending them through via email. I’ve been repeatedly promised phone calls back to explain this however no one ever calls. I’ve asked for refunds and complaints procedures to be constantly told that’s ‘a different department’! They are just not worth the hassle - book with the train companies directly or stick with Trainline.
    I wanted to give them zero stars but 2 seems the minimum on this website!

    By: A Helm21-02-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    4
    rating

    28.02.2020

    Brought tickets no problem but but did take some time to come to my email. I read other customers reviews only after buying my tickets.

    Thank God my tickets eventually came though after ringing their office for support. So for me so far the service s has been great. Hope this continues.

    I would use again as very cost effective,

    Will update after my journey

    By: S.Cole20-02-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    8
    rating

    Train tickets

    This is a ghost company.
    I bought my tickets 2 days ago.
    My train is tomorrow morning and I still have not received my confirmation email.
    I have been calling the call center for 2 days, all they say is they are resending it.
    They cannot escalate the issue or there is nobody at senior level that can help.
    I need to rebuy the tickets at a higher price as this is last minute now and for refund they say I will have to wait 21 days.
    Never ever buy tickets from this company.

    By: Gulsah Arslanoglu19-02-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Train tickets

    Worst company I have ever dealt with. They will not refund money you are owed and will not listen when you call them

    By: Tom15-02-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    No email confirmation of payment, but still took my money

    Terrible. Booked a ticket, received no email. Had to buy a brand new ticket at the station. Called them up, they said they charge a £10 admin fee for refunds. So they make a mistake but still take my money, acknowledge they made a mistake, but charge me to get back the money I deserve.

    The website interface is not easy to understand either. Service on phone was not great, the man just told me "you need to fill out a form. You need to fill out a form".

    By: Augustine Nsamba Muwonge01-02-2020
    Gulsah Arslanoglu19-02-2020

    Same just happened to me. I think they make money only out of the admin fees.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    2 return tickets from Warrington to Watford

    Ordered tickets for myself and disabled son. They sent tickets but didn't book seats. When I contacted them to see if we could book seats they refused to help.
    There are many other places to buy tickets so easy to avoid them in future. I would advise others to do same.

    By: Andrew Lindsay29-01-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    4
    rating

    tickets euston to bolton return

    I never received an email confirmation of my tickets and when I rang them apparently the woman who answered was not able to send another email or to authorise a refund. She told me I will receive an email confirmation of a refund tomorrow. What sort of company are they running? Disgusting service!!

    By: sally draycott27-01-2020
    Shawn Adams01-02-2020

    Exact same thing happened to me. Was told they charge a £10 admin fee for refunds too. Unbelievable.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    train from Paignton to Bristol

    Booked this ticket at 11.39 realized it was for the wrong date. Tried calling from Approx 11.40 to be on hold for average 8-10 mins per time total amounts of calls made was 4 when i finally got a answer i was told i would have to rebook a ticket then send in a copy with the original ticket to prove i hadn't used it. This ticket cost me £18.00 it will cost me 10 to cancel it really the new ticket was £38 so why couldn't Jon just change it when i spoke to him at 12.20. First and last time i will use these people i will stick to Train-line in future I also mailed haven't had a reply and they have a telephone number that dosent work.

    By: sue pennington07-01-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Train Tickets

    Very disappointing experience.

    My selected train time was altered by the system at the point of checkout. My job to check, but it really shouldn't have changed on it's own, so I proceeded to payment. When email confirmation came through it was the wrong time.

    I called immediately and was greeted by a very unsympathetic customer service team. No manager to talk to , no way of changing the ticket.

    I won't use these again - direct to the train operator next time.

    By: Jack Jackson06-01-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Tickets to Bristol

    We were allocated the wrong train service for our ticket type, the booking error was made by their system. Customer services read out their usual script and offer no help or service to amend, even though error is theirs. You have to write in via post! We have an online ticket provider at work, they just cancel or amend, its simple stuff. Just go through Virgin and don't be pulled into one of these touts websites, they don't have a Scoobies and don't care. Pursuing refund via credit card as we have evidence.

    By: M Whiteley02-01-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Write your own review about TrainGenius

    Your review

    FAQ

    Is TrainGenius a trustworthy company?

    There are currently 22 customer review posted about TrainGenius. On average, they received a star-grading of 3.6/10, with 27% of the reviewers indicating that they would buy from the brand again.

    What services or products do TrainGenius offer?

    TrainGenius is mainly active in the Holidays & Trips category, more specifically with Day & Night Out Tickets, Cheap Holidays.

    I have read all the reviews. What now?

    Did you get a positive impression from the reviews? If so, then you can place your order on the TrainGenius website with confidence. If not you can find many other brands to read about on our website!