BritainReviews

    Reviews Catawiki

    If you are looking for a particular connectors object like a certain coin, stamp or classic car, you might have a hard time finding them at a shop unless you are very, very lucky. Therefore it might be an idea to visit an auction website. But what kind of products does Catawiki sell? What kind of quality do they offer? And how long will it take for your order to be delivered? Will your products actually arrive? Will the auctions be fair or is it easy to cheat? How much chance do you have to secure that desired collector’s item? And if something does not go the way you think it’s supposed to, can you count on their customer service department to help you to set things right? These are all matters that collectors that are already subscribed to Catawiki can tell you call about. Their reviews can help you to find out how the auctions at Catawiki are really run.

    What is Catawiki?

    Catawiki is an auction website. The name is a contraction of the words “catalogue” and “wiki”. The company was founded in 2008. At first, it was just a website that enabled collectors to keep track of their collections by creating a digital overview of what they already have. But in 2011 Catawiki also started to host auctions. Now they have 35,000 lots sold per week, auctioned by 193 auctioneers who can count on 14,000 visitors who visit Catawiki per month, and more than 300 weekly auctions. You can visit their website and auctions for stamps, antique jewellery, coins, classic cars, books and old watches, but also modern art, books, comics, wine, fashion, music, toy models, sport collectables, trading cards, video games, photography, archaeological finds, ceramics, motorcycles, postcards, curio, antique weaponry, rugs, records, musical instruments, vinyl, Asian art, glass, Art Nouveau, tribal art and more. You can sort on genre by\ut also on auctions that will close today.


    Catawiki explains: "What is Catawiki?"

    How can you participate in a Catawiki Auction?

    Catawiki offers a place for sellers and buyers to find each other via auctions. You can sign up for their auctions by creating an account or signing in with Facebook. Creating an account is completely free of costs. The only thing that needs to be paid for is a lot for the proceeds. Their website can be accessed via their website, but they also offer an app for your Apple iPhone or Android Smartphone. And they have an online newsletter that you can subscribe to. And they can be found on Pinterest and Google+.

    Complaints, Compliments and Tips for Catawiki

    So what is your opinion on Catawiki? Are their actions fair? How hard it is to get your hands on that special item? Does Catawiki help in case of a problem or complaint? Can you trust the auctioneers that offer their collectables at Catawiki? Please tell us everything you teel ready to share via a customer review. Your review can help others to know what to expect when dealing at Catawiki.

    Can you find and secure collectables at Catawiki? Read customer reviews about this auction website' collector's items, classic cars, antique jewels et

    Catawiki
    Reviews, complaints and customer experiences (22)

    2.8
    18% Would buy here again!
    Ordering
    rating
    2.8
    Service
    rating
    2.6
    Pricing
    rating
    2.8
    Delivery
    rating
    3

    All reviews

    Read independant reviews, consumer experiences, feedback and complaints right here! Get to know the best shop place your (online) order. Everybody together now decides which shops are worthy and which aren't!

    Nr. 15540341 22. Nintendo - Nintendo NES super mario Bros 2 & 3

    Awful experience - I am still trying to get money back from them, when products are advertised as sealed on their site and yet they are not.
    The fact that they are advertising products as sealed when they are not is against the Trade Descriptions Act 1968 which prohibits false trade descriptions.

    By: Rebekah Shields 05-02-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Jewelry - Mr Carlos Peña Renis

    Now i know why Catawiki has a loss of $13.7 million.
    It happens when experts like Mr Carlos Peña Renis wasted my 1 month and at the end all lots were rejected and then i sold those precious jewellery into another platform in a week in a good margin.
    How big loss it is for the catawiki , how many other sellers might be rejected like that and look who is losing ( ONLY Catawiki ) because of these unprofessional experts.
    I tried to contact the help like and inform them about this issue , but no one is going to hear you.
    Means that like to loss revenue.

    By: Donald 17-01-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Antique Pistols

    Ordered an item from Europe via Catawiki. The website recommends waiting the full shipping period before reporting the item as missing. When the item still hadn't arrived, Catawiki refused any assistance as I hadn't let them know within their "feedback window" - which falls within the aforementioned shipping window. No item, no refund (not even of my buyer's fee!!!).
    DO NOT USE CATAWIKI - YOU COULD REGRET IT!

    By: Julian Kaye 17-01-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Didn't purchase..gave up!

    Was interested in a beautiful painting. No reply to simple question from so called "expert"...No reply from catawiki central office...zilch.
    Unable to buy due to serious trust issues reflected in many many reviews.

    Catawiki is a money scooping enterprise for the owners.

    The experts are rubbish, the service is non existent and trust is a fantasy....DO NOT TOUCH THIS COMPANY

    By: esther linley 16-01-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Seller for 4 years

    Positive
    Decent platform and following.

    Negative
    Like dealing with ebay in 1999
    High fees for buyers and sellers
    No protection for buyers
    No partial refunds or control over funds
    2 weeks to receive funds
    Poor exchange rates when converted
    Poor customer service
    Auctioneers just slow down the process
    No control over auction length
    No control over when listed

    By: aidan 07-01-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    3.5
    rating

    Jewelry

    I listed few items in the Jewelry Category from Israel , but this Expert Carlos Peña Renis rejected the lots because he did not like it , even i had certificates from GIA which is well known all over the world.

    I searched and found out that this Expert is linked to few selling accounts from Spain and Netherlands,
    and we suspect that these accounts are related to Mr Expert Carlos Peña Renis.
    Because all sellings are done in these few specific accounts and not other sellers are allowed easily by this Expert.
    Therefore becareful with this expert , who will waste your 1 month and after that he will reject your lot because he does not want competitor.
    From Israel we sellers have gathered and tried to contact the Catawiki , but waste of time.
    Hope the CEO and other Managers can see these posts and take an action as soon as possible.

    By: Albert 26-12-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2.5
    rating

    silver figure from Angini "Commedia dell'arte" series.

    Item lost in post. Despite Catawiki allegedly holding payment in escrow till delivery confirmed they denied all assistance in finding a resolution instead instructed me to contact seller as if he's any interest once payment made.
    Deleted my account.

    By: stephen robinson 19-12-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    3
    rating

    Collection of stamps

    Bought a collection of Belgian stamps on their Saturday night auction. The seller was rude and threatened me, upon contacting him via the Catawiki website, as a few items were missing. I don't need this aggro, Catawiki should be more careful about who it accepts as a seller. Conclusion: for the time being, I'll be taking my custom elsewhere and I certainly won't buy from that seller ever again!

    By: Youssef 10-12-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    7.5
    rating

    Gameboy

    The goods sold on there are sold as genuine, but they are actually FAKE! Catawiki's customer service is non-existent and trying to get a refund is impossible! DO NOT USE CATAWIKI! Stick to ebay - where they protect customers!

    By: Rebekah Shields 29-11-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    sold and bought


    Please remove planned auctions

    I am sorry but one of your "experts" took the liberty to google her, not really much of an expertise, is pretty horrendous, so far the estimates were a joke, so I do not want to sell with you anymore, in fact I would rather throw items out than sell with you. I asked your "expert" to remove the items that are only approved but not planned, as I really have no trust in her and the estimates are so horrendous and I really want to leave Catawiki, I am willing to honour everything that is on auction at the moment (not like buyers who have not paid for weeks and I have to wait) there are other far more reliable outlets, with real buyers, I am simply not prepared to deal with"Fleur" or sell my items for nothing.

    I am totally done with you and will use social media for my experience, I have plenty of screen shots, but just do not list anything anymore, I asked several times. I rather use more reliable outlets, or tbh throw stuff away before selling with you and your blogging experts

    Oh and if you do not suck up to the non experts, they grade down the item, wish I could upload the screenshot of Fleur (claims to be a journo as she runs a blog that doesn't work) tells me.

    Also spotted a few things on the site that are super fake, but hey...

    By: Gissi 26-07-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Fur coat no knickers

    It is a pity I didn't take take time to find reviews on CataWiki before placing a bid. This is a site where one gets the idea that everything is reputable. There is a picture of an expert. One gets the idea that the products are checked by that expert. After my experience now I would say all fur coat and no knickers.
    After my negative experience with CW I asked to speak to that expert. They say I can't. In theory it is possible that the so called experts don't even exist.
    I made a bid on a violin which on arrival showed a fatal flaw. The neck is at a wrong angle so it is only playable if an expensive repair gets done. The seller claims ignorance 'selling for a friend' but was knowledgeable enough to not show the flaw on the photographs. This makes the item unfit for purpose. He didn't want to accept a return and CW claims the item was as described.
    CW answers calls and emails but to no satisfaction and so far I have not spoken to an expert, but I did notice that they now have a different expert for violins since my purchase in February.
    Do not buy with this bunch as pigs in pokes are waiting for you.

    By: Jacqueline Burke 19-03-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    3
    rating

    no money from Catawiki

    Catawiki must be a scam still waiting 3 months for money to be transferred to my account said it was sent to an account ending with 6338 this is not my account not even close i have had several corespondent emails between Catawiki and myself still no joy they just keep saying the money was sent but i still haven't received it

    By: patrick clifford 12-03-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Unreliable and Unresponsive

    Very negative experience. I buy regularly from auction sites and has been using Catawiki for a bout a month. Did well over a dozen purchases until I had a probelm. The seller agreed to refund me but Catawiki sat on my money and simply did not answer emails or messages. Be careful. Best to stick to ebay or other sites that offer buyer protection. Catawiki does not.

    By: G Caraballo 07-02-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2.5
    rating

    Scam&Fraud

    Hello Do not Sell nor buy on Catawiki

    As a buyer I was charged a lot for reciveing a parcel from Belguim and instead arrived from the same country I am...Why I had to pay double for posting?And I was sent twice wrong parcels and it was a big mistake to choose Catawiki

    As a seller
    I plead for suspending the auction because I have put a reserved price on my lot and my lot did not appeared till Saturday 13th of January at all on their web and suddenly today 14th I have spot that....tomorrow the lot is closing with no RESERVE PRICE!
    What a deal?!
    THEY ARE NOT CORRECT and I wrote them pleading for SUSPENDING THIS FRAUD.But there is NO WAY TO GET HELP FROM their support desk,moreover the emails are always returned automatically
    I refuse my lot to BE SOLD WIHTOUT A RESERVED PRICE and THEIR action are for CAUSING FRAUD TO BUYERS AND SELLERS!

    By: Gal 15-01-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Items can be found elsewhere, their "experts" are a joke

    The items found there can be found elswhere, most of the time much cheaper and with less hassle to acquire. Their "experts" are absolutely useless and have no knowledge of the product at all, that is what I felt like after just two weeks at their site. Don't feel any safer because they are reviewing the items because not only they can't see whether they are fake or not, they just have no knowledge of the field. Example: Bart Simpson sketch sold as "Matt Groening Original" accepted for auction including a scan of the "certificate of authenticity" which says that it's a regular production sketch made by an anonymous animator! Did he even look at the pictures in the lot?! If he's the expert in sketches and animations, he should know that is not a Matt Groening Sketch. And anyone interested in it, just do a simple Google or Ebay search and would be able to find them for 1/4th the price!

    By: Miguel 17-12-2018
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2.5
    rating

    Bought pendant with fake emerald

    Unfortunately, it does not surprise me that there are many fakes on Catawiki. My experience shows that the so-called expert auctioneers have no expertise in their respective fields on many occasions at all.
    They cannot distinguish real items from fake. Sometimes it seems they have no idea about what they are doing, and their price estimates have nothing to do with the reality.
    Recently I read an article on smartshoppingschool.com and it correlates with my experience. It shows how unprofessional these "expert" auctioneers are. Although this article is mainly about jewelry and gemstones it gives good insight into how those "experts" work in general. It cannot be excluded that they benefit from allowing sales of fake items...

    By: Hardy 12-12-2018
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Negative experience

    Worst platform I've delt with, ever...
    Not only they made a mess with the payment: first attempt catawiki confirmed the payment, then informed me the it hadn't gone through (because of my bank safety filters), then on the second attempt, I followed the instructions for an IBAN payment; this worked fine, I followed the link provided. Again, catawiki cancelled the payment, because the description of the payment was not clear! Meantime, I had been receiving e mails from a no-reply catawiki e mail, so I had no chance to reply and quickly solve the issue...my purchase was cancelled and when I thought that long waist of time was over, I received another email asking to pay the good (!!!) And in any case to pay the commission to the seller...I don't even know the amount of the commission!! As I consumer I have the right to cancel the order within 14 days without penalties. I don't think they can actually ask me this payment, since two weeks have not yet passed!

    If you don't want to take the risk of waisting your time and money, avoid catawiki platform. Be careful!

    By: Mark 14-11-2018
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2.5
    rating

    What a scam!!! NEver again

    Waste of time, poor customer service(none) and so expensive as a seller with no rights.

    Might as well give your goods and your money away on a street corner!!
    At least that way you don't feel robbed

    By: Joe 12-11-2018
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Negative experience with Catawiki

    Catawiki: Completely negative experience with…
    Completely negative experience with Catawiki, I will not buy anything else.

    I bought a watch and I had to make several attempts: I was receiving confirmation of payment but in reality it was not going through.

    I tried another way of payment, so I did it through iban. After an initial confirmation, Catawiki informed me that the payment was fine but not clearly identifying the product, although I had followed the instructions.

    It's not clear, it seems they are rembursing me and I have to do the payment again. Unfortunately, I'm thinking I'm communicating with a pre-written automatic message system and with a no-reply

    Customer service, totally useless. It seemed answering to my e mail ignoring completely their content.

    After several days I'm cancelling the purchase and asking for the reimbursement. I hope this, at least works!

    By: Marcello Tamma 10-11-2018
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Improving slowly but still 'buyer centric' - sellers beware!

    As a seller, catawiki is expensive, lazy & poor support - 'customer support' are pointless drones, looking for the easiest solution with them keeping as many of their fees as possible.
    I've received items back (claimed not working or damaged) that are completely different to the ones sent out, I have to pay seller and buyers fees, plus postage in both directions. On an item costing e.g. 100 eur, that's around 20 eur in postage costs and another 25 eur in fees. So you receive back something that's not working, damaged or different and you get to pay 45 euros for the convenience!

    Go elsewhere as a seller, theres no protection here.

    By: Aidan 02-08-2018
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    Write your own review about Catawiki

    Your review