BritainReviews

    Reviews Alfa Travel

    Desperate to escape the rain and see… more rain? Alfa Travel organises holidays to British seaside resorts. But are these only fun when the weather is nice? And how affordable are their holidays? How do you know that you are not sacrificing comfort and important facilities for a price reduction? Can you trust Alfa Travel with your holiday? Considering Alfa Travel organizes coach holidays, how comfortable are their coaches? And how well-trained are the coach drivers? Are the hotels of good quality and in good locations? All of these issues can make or break your holiday. Finding out the right answers is therefore essential. Separate fact from fiction and read reviews of people who have travelled with Alfa Travel!

    About Alfa Travel

    What is relatively unique about Alfa Travel is that it is an employee-owned company. It was one of the fifty largest employee-owned companies in 2016. This could make Alfa Travel’s staff even more committed to providing the best possible service.

    Alfa Travel is one of the largest coach tour operators in the United Kingdom and is part of the Alfa Leisureplex Group. A sister company of Alfa Travel, Leisureplex Hotels, owns 21 hotels in the UK. Another sister company, Alfa Coaches Limited, owns a fleet of coaches.

    What does Alfa Travel have to offer?

    There are many different places you can visit with Alfa Travel. Wanting to go to the South West? You can go to resorts in Exmouth, Ilfracombe, Newquay, Sidmouth, Torquay and Weston-Super-Mare. Hotels in the South and South East can be found in Bognor Regis, Bournemouth, Eastbourne, Folkestone, Gillingham, Hayling Island, the Sandown and Shanklin Isles of Wright, Southend-On-Sea and Weymouth.

    Cromer, Great Yarmouth and Skegness could be your holiday destinations on the East Coast and Bingley (West Yorks), Newcastle and Scarborough in the North East. In the North West, you could travel to Blackpool, Grange Over Sands, Isle of Man, Lytham St Annes and Southport.

    In Central England, Grantham, Kidderminster, Ross On Wye and Sheffield may be great places to visit. If you are interested in discovering Wales, you may want to go to Carmarthen, Criccieth, Llandrindod Wells, Llandudno, Porthcawl or Tenby.

    Alfa Travel also has many locations in Scotland: Aberfoyle, Bannockburn, Dunoon, Fort William, Prestwick, Stirling and Strathpeffer. Dundalk (Co Louth), Ennis (Co Clare) and Letterkenny (Co Donegal) are possible locations in Ireland.

    Lastly, if you want to leave the country for the holidays to explore Europe, you can go to Assmanshaussen (Germany’s Rhine Valley), Braunlage (Germany), Flanders or Ostend (Belgium), Paris and St. Anton (Austrian Tyrol).

    You can also go on a cruise with Alfa Travel’s Alfa River Cruise programme. If you like driving yourself, you can go to many of the resorts in your car. Otherwise, you can use Alfa Travel's coaches that have reclining seats, air-conditioning, toilet facilities and comfort stops.


    Alfa Travel advertisement

    How can I reach Alfa Travel's customer service?

    You can consult the FAQ-page on Alfa Travel’s website, or call Alfa Travel’s customer service. For information regarding reservations, call 01257 248000 or e-mail sales@alfatravel.co.uk. If you want to make a group booking (more than 21 passengers), call 01257 248007 or send a message to groups@alfatravel.co.uk. You can reach the travel department by calling 01257 248002 or e-mailing care@alfatravel.co.uk.

    Alfa Travel’s customer care is available during all the days of the week and bank holidays.

    Have you travelled with Alfa Travel?

    Tell us about your experience by leaving a review! What is it like to travel with Alfa Travel? Your review will provide valuable insight into Alfa Travel's performance and their customer's satisfaction.

    Alfa Travel
    Reviews, complaints and customer experiences (23)

    6.8
    65% Would buy here again!
    Ordering
    rating
    7.6
    Service
    rating
    6.2
    Pricing
    rating
    7.4
    Delivery
    rating
    6

    All reviews

    Read independent reviews, consumer experiences, feedback and complaints right here! Get to know the best online shops and service providers from the impressions they with people. Customers now get to decide which brands are worthy and which are not!

    Isle Wight shanklin hotel

    Just returned from Isle of Wight shanklin hotel there was 8 of us we have had a brilliant holiday the hotel staff went out of their way to make everything perfect our driver Dave Alfa hill from start to end went the extra mile making sure we all saw every thing with excellent knolidge of the area also phill bar staff n Luke our waiter are all a credit to your company thanks ALFA for making our holiday the best ever thanks from us all we will be back x

    By: Ann mosley25-07-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Isle of Wight

    Accepted my trip was October and my bubble decided to go as well. It was cleared and our bookings were linked. Three times we were separate due to our bookings being different references. The link was on my friends booking but not noted on mine.
    I booked for Christmas in July and had a seat behind the driver. Whilst on my holiday I received a call from the office saying they had problems contacting me. I wasn't surprised when they had left messages on the home phone. I was informed that I was now transferred to Shanklin. That was where I booked!! I was also being moved to seat 23. Due to my personal injury I never travel on the offside of the coach. I spoke to the manager of the hotel who informed me that I had been moved for special needs. Fair enough but he managed to get me offside seat 42. Almost the back of the bus and me with a crutch stick. Christmas is now cancelled so I'm waiting for the phone call for my money to be transferred to February, May, July or a new booking for September.
    Just slightly disillusioned and disappointed with the hassle since the start of the Covid-19 outbreak, but not with the company generally, nor the hotel staff, food, drivers and coaches.

    By: Shirley Cooke 29-11-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    8
    rating

    5 Day 'Turkey/Tinsel' coach holiday to Dunoon

    As fairly regular coach trip holiday makers we have just enjoyed this 'Turkey/Tinsel' 5 -day trip to The Selborne Hotel, Dunoon. Skilled, informative driver, David, enjoyable excursions with superb scenery, an older-style hotel in excellent location, helpful, friendly, polite hotel staff, clean & comfy room and really very adequate food. This off-season, budget priced short break proved excellent value for money, even if there were some delays at the interchange. Thank you all Alfa Staff.

    By: Pamela Lewis22-11-2019
    Mamydziecko.Com29-02-2020

    An Alfa Travel advert. Does its impression of an Alfa Travel holiday match an actual holiday with Alfa Travel?

    APKun22-04-2020

    Alfa Travel s customer care is available from m to 5.m on weekdays, from m to m on Saturdays and from m to m on Sundays and Bank Holidays.

    Worries22-04-2020

    Alfa Travel s customer care is available from m to 5.m on weekdays, from m to m on Saturdays and from m to m on Sundays and Bank Holidays.

    Med Advice23-04-2020

    Alfa Travel s customer care is available from m to 5.m on weekdays, from m to m on Saturdays and from m to m on Sundays and Bank Holidays.

    Daysis23-04-2020

    Alfa Travel s customer care is available from m to 5.m on weekdays, from m to m on Saturdays and from m to m on Sundays and Bank Holidays.

    Lady25-04-2020

    Alfa Travel s customer care is available from m to 5.m on weekdays, from m to m on Saturdays and from m to m on Sundays and Bank Holidays.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    9
    rating

    Tourquay trip

    Just got back from tourquay had a fabulouse time,coach driver Glyn was fantastic and made our holiday. We stayed at the nethway hotel had a lovly sea view room the hotel was nice are close to the night life and a bus stop out side if you dont like walking,food was adauite not liesureplex normal standard.

    By: Katherine lloyd10-09-2018
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    8.5
    rating

    ilfracome

    Had great holiday and Driver Derick was one of the best we have had .staff at hotel were lovely very well organised from start of holiday to end thank you all the Alfa staff for ensuring we were safe from start to end .looking forward to our next holiday with you .

    By: Shirley henry20-10-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Regina hotel Torquay

    i have just spent a week at the Regina hotel Torquay,i am very disgusted at the condition of the place,the carpets need cleaning the whole place needs a wash and a lick of paint,the service was very poor,the meals need to be better coordinated,tea was supposed to be at 7.15it was after 8 most evenings and we were asked what we want for sweet and then told later they haven't got it, there was nothing left,there was no where to sit like a lounge after your tea ,when we got bowburn and got on the feeder coach after been sitting for half an hour the driver left but turned round and whent back into bowburn he realized he had to take another half an hour,but completely mucked up our travel plans when got home(taxis)) I'm not booking with Alfa again , shocking ,i certainly will not recommend Alfa to anyone, Alan Fenwick a dissatisfied customer

    By: Alan Fenwick12-07-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    6.5
    rating

    Great product

    Just had a 5 day holiday at New Beach Hotel yarmouth everything was spot on cannot find a fault with anything

    By: Janet Hawley01-07-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    First coach trip

    Had my first coach trip with Alfa. And had a wonderful holiday. It far exceeded my expectations.
    Coaches were comfortable. Driver was first class . Well done Simon.
    Excellent value.
    Looking forward to booking my next holiday with them

    By: Terri22-08-2018
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Great experience with them. best packages and great services

    Alfa is quite reputation oriented travel company around, I get that word but just believed when myself experienced.
    Truely recommend. Nothing else to say. They are just perfect. all one need to do is call them or contact them

    By: Harry Stien03-08-2017
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    9.5
    rating

    Sea bank hotel porthcawl

    Very good hotel good quality food service a little slow room excellent entertainment especially good staff very friendly will visit again next year trips very good resort small but nice

    By: Baz03-04-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Belgium tirp

    Great trip.good driver Tony.very knowledgeable.. Great Hotel clean food good.Blenkenberge is a very nice place to stay..Great trips to Bruge &Brussels

    By: CATHERINE DIBBLE20-09-2018
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    9.5
    rating

    Criccieth June 2021

    Hi went to Criccieth Wales in June. Hotel under refurbishment which we were unaware of. Lots of workman around, dust, doors left open or propped open making it even colder in the hotel, not very nice at all. No heating some of the other guests sat in their coats for their food as it was so cold. Food awful can’t even cook roast potatoes, a lot of frozen vegetables. On return the driver took a guy on the holiday and dropped him off at the train station. Made us late for the services.could not say goodbye properly to my sister, just enough time for a loo stop and get food.
    The good points trips fantastic.
    The waitress was also fantastic.

    By: Carole29-06-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    6
    rating

    Isle of wight

    Although the hotel and the staff were excellent, the food delicious the rooms nice.The travel to and from the hotel to the pick up points were a nightmare, we were taken by another company who's bus should have been scrapped the seats were so uncomfortable with lumps ,no room , after 9 hours we could hardly move so cramped were we, we only had one stop to stretch our legs ,social chit chat completely bypassed our driver, we were given no information about anything,What I'd like to know is where are all the luxury ALPHA coaches as this is my second and maybe my last trip ,I may never get to see one

    By: Mrs H Still 22-06-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    7
    rating

    Criccieth & Snowdonia

    For the price it's decent value overall but don't book until you can be
    assured that the catering at the GeorgeIV hotel in Criccieth has
    greatly improved since August 2020. Nobody expects gourmet
    food at these prices but they cannot cook even yorkshire puddings
    (absolute stodge, had not attempted to rise), Minestrone soup was
    frozen vegetable medley in boiling water with a little reddish colouring
    added (possibly tomato flavoured) and then the same vegetables
    were served with the main course. I could go on but gave up after 3rd night and dined elsewhere.

    By: Irene Wilson20-11-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    6.5
    rating

    Two holidays

    I booked two coach holidays with Alfa but as the virus became more active I chose to cancel. I followed their rules exactly regarding cancellation, and have sent photo copies of all the details, 5 times, and telephoned, for a refund.
    Alfa have'nt even the good manners to reply.
    This has been going on for 4 months and still no sign of a refund.



    By: John Durrans23-10-2020
    rabcnesbit16-06-2021

    this sounds about right they dont seem to like complaints or give refunds

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    5
    rating

    Hotel Hydro Llandudno

    I am holiday at this hotel at the moment no lounge area to sit in due to renovation was not informed about this before we travelled when we asked were we could sit after breakfast told either to go up to our room or sit at the dining table.The dining room was like a care home.When we arrived coach driver said we had to use back entrance wait was dangerous at the front with all the scaffolding up This hotel should have not beenreopentill work had been completed.my first holiday after lockdown what awaste of money

    By: Margaret Ryan of22-08-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Car passenger

    Shame on you for manipulating comments and not using a genuine Facebook review system to fool people especially Seniors.

    Please if you are a senior or you are booking for a loved one, don't put them in a situation like that and ruining everybody day and put us all in danger.
    ---------------
    No action Alfa travel took against their unstable rude driver harassing car passengers (Including my family) and put everyone life at risk especially the elderly/disabled people on the Alfa travel bus - by not taking the designated door for them on Isle of Wight ferry (9:00 to 9:45 to Portsmouth on 8th of August) bus registration (BX14LCM) and attacking other passengers by approaching banging on their vehicles shouting to families waiting to aboard the ferry at the same level.

    Side note: I contacted the police for every ones safety and I also called the company but with no reply from their side.

    By: neri11-08-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    LARGER CARLSBERG LAGER AT £3-80 A PINT & TETLEY AT £3-60 A PINT.

    YOUR LARGER IS RUBBISH HAS BEEN FOR YEARS AT A RIP OFF PRICE, TETLEY THE SAME, I DO NOT MIND PAYING FOR PREM LARGER LIKE STELLA BUT NOT FOR RUBBISH.

    By: ronnie noble15-10-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    5
    rating

    7 days at Weston Super-mare Anchor Head hotel

    Pick up was disorganised from feeder onwards - no information! Hotel was so disgusting (room strongly smelled of urine). It was so bad we caught a train home to Lincoln the next morning! No compensation offered at all. Worst holiday of our lives. We would definitely not use Alfa travel again.

    By: Sandie Dalton 05-09-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    5
    rating

    holiday



    I booked my holiday with Alpha on Thursday 11th of July for a holiday to Newquay to start on Saturday the 13th July.
    Time for my pick up was scheduled for 0940 hours. I had to phone their office to find out where the bus was at a little after 1005 hours. I waited some time before the phone was answered
    The lady I spoke to told me that the driver was very reliable and he would phone me to let me know what time he would pick me up. He did not phone me.
    At 1030 hours I saw a red people carrier stop outside the bus stop.
    Curiosity made me think that perhaps this was from Alfa. I asked the driver who he was, and who he was picking up. He replied "I have no idea". I suggested it might be me as I was expected to be picked up to go to Reading and onward to Newquay. He did agree that I could be the guy he was asked to pick up as the coach was waiting for me at South Mimms. He further stated I should have been there at 0920 hours . My paper work clearly said 0940 hours.
    Communication is a very important part to any business. I should know I have owned my own business since 1987 and only retired this year.
    My success relied on my communication with the editors, designers, writers, illustrators, photographers and distribution manager of my publications.
    We promote reliable, honest, professional businesses offering value for money. A local resident in Borehamwood where I live told me that your company was reliable, professional and gave value for money. VFM yes, but reliable and professional is I am sorry to say is zero.
    Travel was delayed from Reading but traffic you cannot control.
    Communication let you down.
    The Hotel Eliot was as near perfect as one could expect.
    What do you intend to do regards my complaint so that I may trust your company to use your service again this year of in future years.
    I await your most urgent reply.
    David Burcombe
    Former Managing Director of AMPSUK Tried and Trusted Ltd

    By: david burcombe18-07-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    6
    rating

    Write your own review about Alfa Travel

    Your review

    FAQ

    Is Alfa Travel a trustworthy company?

    There are currently 23 customer review posted about Alfa Travel. On average, they received a star-grading of 6.8/10, with 65% of the reviewers indicating that they would buy from the brand again.

    What services or products do Alfa Travel offer?

    Alfa Travel is mainly active in the Holidays & Trips category, more specifically with Cheap Holidays, Special Trips.

    I have read all the reviews. What now?

    Did you get a positive impression from the reviews? If so, then you can place your order on the Alfa Travel website with confidence. If not you can find many other brands to read about on our website!