BritainReviews

    Reviews Shearings Coach Holidays

    Do you already know where you will be going to on your next holiday? If you don’t you might still be looking for your next holiday destination or a company to arrange the holiday. But which company is the best? One of the companies that you can go to is Shearings Holidays. But what can you expect from their holidays? In what kind of hotel or other establishments will you end up? Will the hotel rooms be clean? And will the people that work at these hotels be friendly? And what is there to be said about their customer service department? Will they be able to help you out? The best way to find some answers to these questions is by reading reviews left by real customers of Shearings Holidays. Read their reviews and decide for yourself if Shearings Holidays sounds like the kind of company you would entrust with arranging your next holiday.

    What is Shearings?

    Shearings is considered to be UK's largest escorted tour operators. Shearings offers a broad range of holidays in over 200 destinations across the world. With Shearings you can travel to Spain, Wales, England, Italy, Germany, England and Scotland. You can choose between UK & Ireland destinations such as Liverpool, London, York, Eastbourne, Newquay, Scarborough, Loch Lomond etc, European holiday destinations like Belgium, France, Holland, Eastern Europe, Switzerland etc, and worldwide escorted tours to Asia, USA, Canada, New Zealand, Australia, South America and more.

    What kind of holidays does Shearings offer?

    They offer travel options like Shearings coach holidays, bay inclusive breaks, four-night breaks, breakaways, midweek offers, family holidays, last-minute escapes, festive breaks, history & heritage trips, winter holidays, sports tours, city breaks, railway tours, summer holidays, coast inclusive holidays, air travel, self drive hotel breaks , Lake Como holidays, Llandudno couch holidays, Keukenhof trips and even river cruises. During your trip, you can visit events and themes like grand Prix rallies, Christmas markets, music tours and a lot more.


    Shearing's holiday to Spain.

    How can I book a holiday with Shearings?

    All of Shearings' holiday offers can be booked through their website. You can check the availability by selecting your departure location, destination, departure date and the duration of the trip. After that, a couple of options will appear and you can check the one that suits you best. If you sign up for their online newsletter, you will automatically enter their prize draw. This means that you will have a chance of winning a midway break for two. Shearings Holidays also has a customer service that can be contacted in case of any questions, complaints or problems.

    Complaints, Compliments and Tips for Shearings Holidays

    Have you ever arranged a holiday via Shearings Holidays? Then you are in the perfect position to tell us some more about this company. How accessible is their website? Was it easy to find some available options that you liked? What was your holiday like? Was the destination as you expected it to be? And what do you think of Shearings Holidays' customer service? Please write a customer review and tell us everything you feel ready to share about Shearings Holidays, so other people will know what to expect from this holiday provider.

    How will customers like a holiday arranged by Shearings Holidays? Read customer reviews about their city breaks, winter holidays, summer holidays etc.

    Shearings Coach Holidays
    Reviews, complaints and customer experiences (30)

    8,4
    80% Would buy here again!
    Ordering
    rating
    9
    Service
    rating
    8
    Pricing
    rating
    8,4
    Delivery
    rating
    8

    All reviews

    Read independant reviews, consumer experiences, feedback and complaints right here! Get to know the best shop place your (online) order. Everybody together now decides which shops are worthy and which aren't!

    Hotel samba Lloert De Mar

    The drivers were brilliant, but the staff at the hotel samba most of them were ignorant and unfriendly,the dinner and evening meals most of it was cold and some not even not cooked through properly, I would go with Shearing again but not to Hotel Samba.

    By: Roy Williams 28-10-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    YES
    5
    rating

    Austrian All Inclusive

    Wonderful holiday. Thankyou.
    The hotel Neuwirt Oberndorf was fantastic. The hotel was well maintained, spotlessly clean and comfortable, the bedrooms were spavpcious and it is in a lovely location, food was excellent, fabulous entertainment. Stefan deserves a special mention he worked so hard and ensured our drinks were regularly topped up. Our drivers Graham and Kevin were fantastic, their driving skills were excellent, the tours were very informative and brilliant. Graham and Kevin were extremely helpful and worked over and above their duties to ensure we all had a great holiday. They are an asset to Shearings. I would thoroughly recommend this holiday. Everything was fantastic. Thank you for the wonderful holiday.

    By: Christine Eagles 17-10-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    YES
    10
    rating

    Express coach to Lake Garda ,Venice and Verona

    We had a great time. Thanks to our drivers Daryl and Domanic, they certainly made the holiday. Thankyou both for making it fun and a great holiday. You both went above and beyond drivers.
    The only thing we didn't like was the long distance travelling through the night to get to our hotel.
    If we could have an overnight stay on the way we would definitely do it again.

    By: Mrs Irene Bates 24-09-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    YES
    10
    rating

    8 days in Bournemouth

    My wife and I have just returned from an 8 day trip to Bournemouth including a day on the Isle of Wight. Our accomodation was the Savoy Hotel. The hotel has a very good location overlooking the sea. We paid extra for a sea view. It was worth the cost. The hotel is in need of some love and attention. Our room was on the 4th floor. It was of adequate size despite part of the roof slope running through the room. The bed was comfortable and we slept well. The en suite unit was big enough but not up to scratch. The shower unit was small. The hot water took some considerable time to come through. Quite a waste of water in a week. The handbasin was awkward to use due to its positioning next to the loo. The shower could be bigger without much trouble. The washbasin and loo could be repositioned without much of a problem. New tiles and a coat of paint would also help. Both the room and en suite were kept clean and tidy.
    We arrived on a Saturday. The 1st meal was dinner. It took nearly 2 hours. The food was poor and of smallish portions. The restaurant was obviously way understaffed. Sunday was the same. On Monday it was all change. More staff and a big jump in food quality. By Tuesday most people were satisfied with the staff and food. The breakfast buffet was good. The bar was well stocked if a little overpriced.
    If money could be found to give this hotel the make over it needs it would be ideal.
    Our driver/courier, Jim, was OK although he upset several people when trying to sell the optional excursions. A little over the top and not appreciated. The day trip to the Isle of Wight was to much coach and not enough sightseeing. If you want to see the island I would suggest having a few days rather than a fleeting visit.

    By: Brian Bentley 22-09-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    YES
    9,5
    rating

    4 nights 5 days royal hotel whitby

    Having used this hotel in the passed quite a few times ,
    I booked a double room , room 332 , on the 20th of June for the 9th of September,
    On previous occasions the gravel car park has been free when I arrived on the 9th of September I was told there was now a charge of £6 a night ,This was not explained to me when I booked and no one informed me before I arrived, My room was overlooking the car park nothing had changed it was not secure at night there was no camera overlooking the car park, The only camera was the anpr camera , The barrier was not secure, So why now is there a charge when nothing has changed, On previous occasions after evening meals there has been free tea and coffee now this has stopped ,It seems this is all to save and make money, I find it unbelievable that I was never informed about the car park until I arrived at the reception,

    By: Anthony Stephen Gregory 17-09-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    NO
    4,5
    rating

    Prague,Vienna and Budapest.

    Fantastic holiday,lovely hotels,hotel rooms were very good,showers always nice and hot. Food was good but could have been better in hotel in Vienna. Coach drivers Mick and Jason were excellent, always helpful with lots of good advice in fact nothing was too much trouble, There are lots of hours on the coach trips so be prepared for that.
    The hotel we stayed in overnight in Frankfurt was beautiful, just wish we could have stayed longer. Overall excellent value for money.

    By: Susan McDermott 26-07-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    YES
    10
    rating

    5 day break for 2 people july 8/ 2019

    Stayed at the Broadway Park hotel in Sandown.Value for money could not be faulted, room139 and service excellent, Food good quality and quantity, Coach driver Jim Boddington excellent, skills and courtesy, a credit to the company ( a brummie!) 5 star holiday

    By: Edward NortonEd5 14-07-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    YES
    10
    rating

    Andre Rieu

    have had a fabulous break...going to see the Andre Rieu concert...we had a great time....the hotel was lovely even had a swimming pool....no complaints at all...but always someone will ....driver coach ferry..fine....another sashing holiday with Shearings...

    By: Dorothy Slack 12-07-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    YES
    9
    rating

    Pitlochry holiday

    We stayed here last we for our wedding anniversary,and had the best stay of the many holidays with shearing.We could not fault anything, rooms, staff, food,
    It was also a good idea to have a day free to explore the town,even the weather 30 degrees lovely to sit in the grounds.our driver was great also and very informative on our days out.
    Our driver was also great

    By: Mrs S Wilson 03-07-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    YES
    10
    rating

    Mon-Fri break to Whitby 24-28 June

    Firstly I would like to comment on our driver his name was Kenny and what a asset he is to Shearings in every way,cheerful,smart and his sense of humour and helpfulness,Secondly the hotel Bay Hotel Whitby I payed extra for a Premium room which we found was value for the upgrade,all the staff were fantastic and we had entertainment every evening inc Quiz,Bingo and Live Music,and finally the Food which was a self service buffet breakfast which was excellent,and then the Evening meal with a good choice of courses or you could get a’la cart at a supplement,so overall we were very satisfied with our break in Whitby and are looking forward to our next break with you

    By: Hawley 29-06-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    YES
    10
    rating

    11/6/2019 Splendours of th Danube

    Fabulous holiday. Drivers did not seem very knowledgeable. They were only interested in having a good time. Not very friendly. Would book again hopefully different drivers.

    By: B Berryman 29-06-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    YES
    10
    rating

    26/05/2019-Battlefield tours

    We have just returned from the Discover the Battlefields tour. Cannot speak highly enough about this experience. The coaches were clean and very comfortable and all the drivers very competent as well as being helpful and supportive. The hotel was clean and comfortable and the food reasonable. Everything ran very smoothly in relation to the tour. It was the tour guides in which Shearings really excelled. Simone and Conrad made it so very interesting with their vast knowledge and it was very clear that they cared about the subject

    By: jeremy porter 31-05-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    YES
    10
    rating

    Heart of Italy tour

    Heart of Italy

    My wife and I booked this tour with anticipation, we were picked up at 5am by taxi at our local pickup point and driven to the Stretton Interchange picking up another couple along the way. At the Stretton Interchange we boarded a feeder bus that took us to Stop 24 in Kent where we met our main tour bus, we then drove to Reims in France via a ferry crossing from Dover, here we met out two Drivers Mark and Lee, they then drove us in turns overnight to our destination.
    We arrived approximately 2pm the next day travelling for around 33 hours in all. It is very hard going, the coach is comfortable if you are average size, but you do get plenty of stops en route, approximately every two and a half hours.
    On arrival at the hotel you are allocated your room, your suitcase from picking up at first point (TAXI in our case) is taken care of by the drivers and was delivered to our room, a great touch in my eyes.
    The room we had, 507, was spacious with its own ensuite. It was very clean with two single beds, wife not too happy about that, there was a small safe (broken), a fridge and extra blankets in the wardrobe. The shower over our bath had no curtain and the water blew hot and cold often to burning point, the toilet seat was loose, other than those issues the room was great.

    In the main area of the hotel you had a small bar at one end, the barman was polite and very friendly, you buy your drinks on a tab paying your bill on the morning of your final day, drink prices are what you expect in a hotel.
    The dining room breakfast room is down two flights of stairs, there are lifts to all floors. In the dining room you are allocated a seating spot which you use for all meals. We shared our table with a great couple and their grandson who we got to know well over the week, we had some great laughs a lot of which was over the food.
    Your meals consist of a soup (no choice, it's what is on that day), most where good but often luke warm or cold on only one day out of six was it really hot. This is then followed by a pasta dish, again no choice and again often cold and in my opinion over cooked. The main meal was a choice of 3: a meat dish, a fish dish (with bones so be careful ) the third choice being an omlet as my wife is vegiterian she had very little choice, she also does not eat eggs. You get your main meal served almost everyday luke warm, the vegetables are brought out around 10 minutes later. I can't see why these can't be put out first as they come out in a portable hot plate unit and you serve yourself. There is also salad put out daily. The dessert is one choice. Two nights it was like a jelly based blamonge, another was creme caramel, another mixed fruit and the others that good I've already forgotten to a distant memory,. On the whole the food is around 4/10 yet a few simple changes could so easily change this. Breakfast on the other hand was very good: a great selection of cereals , boiled eggs, meats, youghurt, drinks and the waffle machine was well used by me!

    Right, moving on to the tour, the main place you stay in is Chinciano. The hotel is on a hill and if you have problems with walking then take note! It is a spa town and has shops, bars and cafes, it was being prepared for the season whilst we were there. There is a noddy train that you can take that shows you the new town and old town. At 7 Euros this is very good value you can hop on and off at certain stops. The full trip is around 45 minute, there is also a local bus stop outside hotel. The town was very clean.

    Now the excursions: 3 are included and I'll do those first. The first one is on Monday and is a half day, leaving around noon, this trip is to Siena, a medieval town with narrow streets. It is a lovely place and a great start for the week to come.
    On the Tuesday it's an early rise as you have to leave hotel at 7.30am for a visit to Rome. Whilst in Rome there is an optional tour guide, if you haven't been to Rome before then you should do this tour, our guide was superb and very funny, We got to see almost everything you could in one day, this was a fantastic day out. The optional tour is £20 per person but money well spent in my eyes. The third trip is on the Friday to the city of Florence, again with an optional guided tour at £11. This again was very good, the usual guide was not available so we had a stand in, he was very good and had a real love and passion for his job, it's good when a guide makes good eye contact and draws you in, we had a wonderful day here at a very steady pace. It is very crowded in Florence and be very wary of pickpockets.

    Optional tours are:
    Wednesday: the Hidden Tuscany trip at only £15 per person is a great trip, we got to see some lovely places and fantastic scenery and views. We would both highly recommend this trip.
    Thursday's trip was to Assisi and Lake Trasimeno. To me, this was the best day of our holiday,. I loved Assisi, it's an absolute gem. You really must do this optional tour, I promise you will not regret it! The views, the pretty streets and the churches are to die for, I really can't say any more. Why this is not in the main package I don't know, but at only £26 per person it's fantastic value, late afternoon we stopped by the lake for an hour to relax and watch the world go buy with a nice cold drink.

    On all trips out either Mark or Lee drove, even on their days off the Driver came along. As for these two guys I must say they are an absolute credit to Shearings, they were polite, helpful and very knowledgeable, serving hot drinks the whole week, they are really exceptional and again a credit to the company.

    On the Saturday you need to vacate your room by 10am but they don't rush you, you settle your bills and the you can have a few hours for your last look around before departing on journey home at 1pm.

    To sum up, if you haven't been to any of the places it is well worth doing all the optional excursions and guided tours they are great value, the Assisi trip is a real must. As a tour, this is exceptional value for money. It has been well thought out and is executed to a great standard.

    Down points are the travel, the meals (could so easily be improved) and if you have disabilities or find it hard to walk distances or up very steep hills then maybe this trip won't suit.

    Positives, clean hotel, fantastic days out and superb drivers. On all parts of the journey we felt safe and secure at all times, and the guides were very good, again many thanks to Mark and Lee for making our trip so enjoyable and a thanks for the lovely people who joined us on our adventure, my end score would have to be 9/10 dropping one point for the meal issue. It was a superb trip, a note to Shearings we will be joining you again, if you are considering doing the Heart of Italy tour don't think twice in booking this trip, but do make sure you do the Assisi extra at least. This review is my personal experience and I have been honest in all views of this trip.

    By: Leonard Maunton 30-05-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    YES
    9,5
    rating

    Trip Of A Lifetime

    We have just returned from a Discover the Battlefields tour.
    Everything about our trip from the driver Stephen to Conrad and Christine our Tour guides we have nothing but the highest praise.
    Our itinerary was busy but no time was wasted in viewing the cemeteries and memorials and always had plenty of time at each site and never felt rushed.
    Stephen our driver was so helpful and extremely informative and gave us lots of information as we drove along, we were told he was due to retire soon, a big loss for the company.
    Our hotel was in France but right on the Belgium border, it was friendly, clean and food plentiful.
    The entire tour totally exceeded our expectations and represented incredible value.
    From arriving at Stretton Interchange to returning 5 days later we never had a minute of worry or concern, because everything ran like clockwork.
    The trip was everything we hoped it would be but it went way beyond that.
    A truly wonderful experience and I would highly recommend it to anybody.

    By: Margaret 19-05-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    YES
    10
    rating

    I have been on several shearings holidays home and abroad by coach

    I have been on many shearings coach holidays in the past and will do so in the future ive been around Europe on them and did a few places at home. They are excellent value for money on time pick ups not so keen on pick up coach drivers feeder coaches some can come across abrupt and rude. The hotels coach drivers excursions food drink outstanding i have actually got a few firm favourite holidays the 10 day holiday to Switzerland and the bernina express some years back was excellent hotels were at great standard excursions amazing lake como Italy another good one Belgium and Ostend another i also have travelled to Germany czech republic Hungary and did the trip to Holland and Valkenburgh. Eastbourne the journey was long but hotel and drivers was great my all time favourite was to Switzerland and to Bernina Express and to Newcastle and Durham those holidays were really memorable and i still talk about how good those holidays where. I will be using shearings in the future they are the best ive gone and done other coach holidays with other companies but shearings are the best 5 stars i only had one bad experience that was to Germany holiday in 2006 to the Bavarian the hotel wasnt very good at all the shower leaked and water was all over the bedroom it was cold inside ended up sleeping with my coat on. The food terrible hotel staff old woman didnt know how to do customer service and handle complaints the trip to Munich was good but overall it wasnt a good holiday we was left very cold hungary and couldnt wait to get home. That was the only bad holiday with shearings i had.

    By: Lisa Scarrott 16-05-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    YES
    10
    rating

    Excellent i had the best coach driver Ray funny and went out his way to help very friendly person enthusiasm top notch driver

    Excellent coach driver great hotel food fabulous hotel staff excursions brilliant. Hotel room lovely spacious tidy clean. Ray went out his way to please every passenger and helped everyone on board he was so friendly helpful and brilliant very nice bloke. He makes the coach journey pleasent and not as long. The trip to Newcastle was brilliant so was the trip to Hartlepool and the excursion to Sheldon train museum no faults there at all very informative and lovely lovely chap. I love trains and anything to do with history. Definitely worth going on this 5 day holiday again we stopped of to see angel of the north near Gateshead for 20 mins to take pics. Fantastic 5 day holiday to Newcastle and Durham and i would certainly do the holiday again in a heartbeat. Worth every penny and highly recommended. Coach was fab comfy and also had all the mod cons. Raymond our coach driver had everyone in tears of laughter ive never had a coach driver as kind thoughtful funny professional and enthusiastic entertaining has he was brilliant

    By: Lisa Scarrott 16-05-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    YES
    10
    rating

    Maybe i was unlucky!

    A break to Weymouth was enjoyable only for the reason that I had to make my own itinerary. Two excursions cancelled and the 'scam' of the free drinks upgrade were refused!

    My main problem is the attitude of Shearings when i complained....it was basically...tough nobody else wanted the excursions and tough you should have spoken to the manager!

    Fair enough....I'll go elsewhere!

    By: David Burke 21-01-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    NO
    5
    rating

    Not happy bunnies

    We have just returned from hotel Caesius thermal in Bardolino, and have to say we were very disappointed with service! Firstly we received travel papers and itinerary was wrong, when we boarded coach at Hythe, two couples were booked on our seats and when we arrived at hotel and sat for evening meal, had to wait almost an hour and half for food, same the second day. The drivers did sort this issue out, and Christmas Eve and Christmas Day was fine but being vegetarian, didn’t get much food! Boxing Day,back to diabolical service, sat at 19.30 had the salad from the bar,and at 21.10 still had not had meal! To top it all I am diabetic and all this waiting caused a couple of low sugar events...and to make it worse on our feeder coach on our way home, other customers of yours had been to lake Como, fully inclusive for the same price and had loads of food and good fun..there was no Christmas atmosphere where we were, they even charge €5 for the water on table. Certainly will NEVER go back there!

    By: Marshall 28-12-2018
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    YES
    5,5
    rating

    Marine hotel

    Have been to this hotel on several occasions for turkey and tinsel with my friend, we have always enjoyed them, but this year, there are a lot of changes, we have to book an evening meal time with a choice of three times slots, you have to give your room number on entering the dining room every night, you have to give your room number every morning when going for breakfast, it’s like registration time at school, they no longer have the single jam and marmalade portions, the ham and marmalade are in jars and I observed people taking jam or marmalade, scraping it off tb3 spoon with their finger, putting the same spoon back in the jar and scooping it off again, I also observed part empty pots all being put into one pot to be used again, last year I recieved a loyalty card which gave me free tea or coffee whenever I stay at a shearings hotel, when I went for a coffee this time I was told have to pay 50pence towards the price of the coffee, I know these are outside management rules and regulations and nothing to do with the hotel staff and management, but I think it’s a step backwards, I would like to add that the hotel staff are lovely, nothing was to much trouble, very friendly but a lot of the personal touch has gone and it’s a shame.

    By: Margaret McCarthy 04-12-2018
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    YES
    9,5
    rating

    Prince of wales, Berkeley

    Nice hotel, good food & entertainment, friendly staff. Really isolated, couldn't leave hotel grounds, main road with no paths or pavements only a stile into a field of horses. Workmen resurfacing road 2 nights from 8 o'clock in the evening till 4 o'clock in the morning. Our driver Danny Wilson was brilliant so much information, he's local so knew everything. Be aware when purchasing drinks from the bar we where charged 3 different prices for the same round of drinks until I spoke to the person concerned, she didn't even apologise. The holiday was good value but think it should state in the brochure how isolated it is. Have used shearings before I will use again but not that particular hotel.

    By: Edna 21-10-2018
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    YES
    9,5
    rating

    Write your own review about Shearings Coach Holidays

    Your review