BritainReviews

    Reviews Holiday Gems

    Holidays can be booked at many companies, travel agencies and holiday providers. So it might be hard to pick the right one for you and your travel companions, especially if you want too leave on a short notice. One of the companies that might prove worthy to take a look at is Holiday Gems. But what can you expect from the holidays that they offer? How quickly will you be able to leave? In what kind of location will you end up? What can you expect from their rooms and facilities? And how will you be treated by their customer service department? The best way of finding the answers to these questions is by reading the reviews that were left here on BritainReviews by the customers that have already travelled with Holiday Gems before. Read their reviews to figure out beforehand what kind of company you are dealing with iif you decide to book a holiday at5 Holiday Gems.

    About Holiday Gems

    Holiday Gems is a holiday provider. They call themselves Last minute holiday specialists. They are a fully bonded member of the Global Travel Group. This group was founded in 1959. Holiday Gems itself was founded over 10 years ago. They offer aircraft ground handling as well as cargo, travel and flight catering. They offer, of course, the last minute holidays that they specialise in, but also summer holidays, low deposit holidays, city breaks, school holidays, long stay holidays, winter holidays, holidays in the sun, water park holidays, birthday holidays, bank holiday breaks, holidays foor large families and more. Their most popular destinations include Costa Dell Sol, Lanzarote, Cape Verde, Bulgaria, Crete, Ibiza, Corfu, Majorca, Tenerife, Antalya, Madeira, Gran Canaria, Crete Spain, Greece, Rhodes and many places more. In their holidays extras you can find car rental, holiday insurance and airport hotels and car park. And they also offer all inclusive holidays.


    Experience Dubai according to Holiday Gems

    Services off Holiday Gems

    You can book one of the holidays of Holiday Gems by booking via their website. Just fill in the preferred departure point, a destination, the number of rooms that you want, the start date, nights, flexibility and board basis. After that, you can choose and book one of the options that they have selected according to your search filter. Later, you can also manage your booking online. You can make your payment via Visa, MasterCard and American Express. And you can contact their customer service via email or telephone.

    Complaints, Compliments and Tops for Holiday Gems

    Have you ever been on a Holiday Gems holiday? If so, we are curious enough to are interested on everything you have to say about this holiday provider. How did the booking process go? In what kind of hotel, resort or other facility did you end up? What was your opinion on their locations? Did you enjoy holiday? And how does their customer service treats holiday makers? Please leave your own review and help others too know what to expect when they book on Holiday Gems.

    Is Holiday Gems the best choice for last minute holidays? Read customer reviews about their summer holidays, winter breaks, city breaks, all inclusive

    Holiday Gems
    Reviews, complaints and customer experiences (14)

    2.4
    21% Would buy here again!
    Ordering
    rating
    3
    Service
    rating
    2.2
    Pricing
    rating
    2.2
    Delivery
    rating
    2.2

    All reviews

    Read independant reviews, consumer experiences, feedback and complaints right here! Get to know the best shop place your (online) order. Everybody together now decides which shops are worthy and which aren't!

    Price increase after order

    My experience.
    Found a package online to suit 3 adult family specifically swayed by duplex apartment for bit extra room.
    Booked online.
    Email stating pending
    Phone call day after price gone up £200 (flights) and duplex not available either. Pretty pushy rep trying to get ok over phone. Refused till compared at least......
    Found better deal elsewhere even though they did same regarding flight increase but £50 less increase and rest package at least as chosen.
    Out of interest checked online package for holiday gems couple days later and was still advertised at lower price???
    Am sure live increases as they put it should not take that long to update. Mmmmmm.
    Would not consider using again

    By: Mandy 17-11-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    NO
    4.5
    rating

    Holiday to Turkey

    Booked a 7 night and 7 day holiday ... or so I thought. We got the booking confirmation through and it was for 6 nights, I called Holiday Gems and was told there was nothing they could do. I asked them if I paid extra could an additional day be added on, they said they would look into it. 2 days later I had to call them to chase it and was told no. I explained that I had seen flights available and checked with the Hotel so I didnt understand why it was a no and was shut down completely. I then emailed them to raise this again, heard nothing after 2 days so sent another email, 1 week later still heard nothing.
    Then it was the unfortunate news of Thomas Cook collapsing, we were not kept informed and again I had to do all the chasing. 1 day before we were due to fly I received a call to say our holiday was cancelled. I asked why as we were only flying with Thomas Cook and the hotel was separate and I had seen that they had an alternative flight going out the same day. In fact they were advertising the same weeks holiday at the same hotel as mine for £3,200 ... we paid £800! I was told that I would have to rebook the holiday at the new price! I asked if i could keep the hotel and find my own flights, they said yes. I called them back and still wait to hear from them, my holiday in 12 hours!! Poor, poor service from start to finish and totally upsetting and heart breaking to see my holiday now being sold at 4 times the price. Please dont book, avoid disappointment and massive upset and stress to yourself.

    By: KATE 24-09-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    YES
    2
    rating

    Holiday

    Awful outfit and the beryl Robbins woman is an absolute araehole. Never answers a complaint except to use the same old spill about how it's company policy . They take money without authorization

    By: Ron Philpott 22-07-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    NO
    2
    rating

    BEWARE NONE EXISTENT AFTER SALES

    Original booking experience good.

    Unfortunately, can't say the same for After Sales.

    Emails and phone calls are ignored and then when a reply is received following an earlier review, I was continuously lied to, stating that replies had been sent when obviously they hadnt and I was treat like a complete fool.

    If you have the misfortune to need the After Sales team after your original holiday booking, BEWARE, they seem to make things up as they go along, that's if you are lucky enough to get a reply.

    My advice is to pay a little more and book through a reputable company.

    By: Susan Millar 18-05-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    NO
    3
    rating

    Avoid!

    do not use this company.
    very rude after sales!
    The only thing they are good at is taking your money. charged me £85 because i didn't accept there price increase. ended up going through my bank who claimed this money back for me.
    i dont understand how they have such good ratings on trust pilot? avoid like the plague!

    By: Hayley 02-05-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    YES
    2
    rating

    Never known a company this bad

    DO NOT EVER BOOK WITH THIS FIRM. Same problems as everyone else, price on website is later hiked in a pressure call, nobody replies to phone calls or emails and documents do not arrive when requested. Only thing they do efficiently is take your money. Gang of crooks.

    By: Andrew 25-02-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    NO
    2
    rating

    Avoid Like the Plague!!!!

    The price you see on their website is not the price you pay!!! e.g. hol to Portugal 7 nights £279, no actually came to £660 - not much difference there!!!! They do NOT include luggage in their quote, and like another reviewer here, I was quoted for a superior room, although their idea of superior is probably the total opposite of mine.

    I wouldn't touch them with a barge pole. Companies like this will NOT stay in business forever - just look at Low Cost Holidays, now known as No Cost Holidays - love it!!!!

    Customer service with that crowd is non existent. Imagine being sat in that call centre in Stockport - gross.

    By: lovemeloads 13-02-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    NO
    2
    rating

    Lousy service.

    My boyfriend has booked us a holiday with holiday gems, we go on 5 holidays a year, usually with Mercury, we wanted to change our hotel, but the charges were £ 100 each! For what exactly?? We wanted to go to a hotel in the same locality, where we had stayed before. Also told we would have to rebook our flights! A further £ 200, but same flight out to Malta. Definitely won't be booking with them again, & advise anyone else not to. If it was up to me, no stars.

    By: Elaine Duker 12-02-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    NO
    2
    rating

    HORRENDOUS

    Read all the reviews you can, Trip Advisor, A Spokesman Said etc, good honest reviews of a company that treat you like dirt on their shoes. Made out to be a liar and conned out of more money. They are a disgrace and should be ashamed of themselves!!!

    By: Diane Stobie 16-01-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    NO
    2
    rating

    Please avoid

    I too was conned into paying more for ‘ better rooms’ at the Isla Bonita hotel in Tenerife . I have voicemails from holiday gems regarding this. When I arrived it was awful. The hotel needed shutting down and knocking down. The TUI rep at the hotel said a lot of people are mis sold this hotel. I complained at reception and they told me to contact my holiday provider. I waited 8 days for them to get back to me ( they said someone would get back to me in the hour) they only contacted me because I started tweeting in their twitter page. It’s now 4 weeks since we got back and they have finally emailed me saying I should have complained nicely at reception and I was just ‘diagruntled’ Save your money they will rip you off. It would only let me select 2 stars I didn’t want to give any

    By: Joanne lawson 08-12-2018
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    NO
    4
    rating

    Don’t use holiday gems

    They take your money without confirming your booking then come back with a more expensive price for the holiday you have already paid for then you have to get your money back. Very poor

    By: Tim baker 24-10-2018
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    NO
    2
    rating

    Avoid

    Avoid at all costs

    By: Neal Smith 10-10-2018
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    NO
    2
    rating

    Avoid like the flu

    Avoid like the flu

    By: Stuart Parker 10-10-2018
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    YES
    2
    rating

    PLEASE PLEASE AVOID

    I booked a holiday through holidaygems back in January this year. Originally I booked a holiday in Spain for the budget that we could afford, I later that day received a call from a gentleman called Paul Warrington telling me that the flights were no longer available and that I would need to choose a different destination. I wanted to come off the phone and have a look to see what was available, however, he was very pushy and made my book there and then as he said we would lose the money we had already paid had I not book over the phone. Whilst on the phone I checked to see if the flights were still being sold and they were, I challenged Paul with this and he said yes but you will need to pay a further £500 for them?? I asked why they were cancelled in the first place then, and he was very stuttering and couldn’t give a good enough reason. Months after the flights they were still available to book on their website for the price I had originally booked them for, so I was surprised we had to cancel the holiday in the first place. I was also made to pay the cancellation charge.

    I also wasn't aware until last week that our luggage hasn't been included either which I'm shocked about as he said it was and I asked for 3 bags. Had I not realised this I would have gotten to the airport and wouldn’t have had any luggage booked. So on top I now have to pay over £250 for this.

    Just after my booking I noticed something odd and to be honest I wasn’t too happy about it and contacted Paul Warrington, I was going through some paperwork to which I came across the list of when I was looking to book a holiday in the beginning, before I booked the holiday that got cancelled. It had written on the paperwork the holiday quote for the (Spain) holiday I had previously booked, It also had the hotel which Paul pressured me into swapped over to in (Tenerife) which I had also priced up before booking the one in Spain. The quote I had written down was £2700 for the Tenerife holiday, the price he gave me for the Lambranda hotel and flights was £2995. That's £295 more than what I had found it for direct on your site. Much to my surprise, I could see that on the website it was available for £2700, and it still is to this day. My emails were pretty much ignored and unresolved. I asked why I had been charged more and I wasn’t given a good enough answer.

    When he cancelled my Spain holiday I did say over and over again that I wanted a refund, and that I would look again and re-book myself, he was very pushy and keen to book an alternative over the phone. Had I have booked myself through the website I would have gotten it £295 cheaper. I have also discovered that the £* Hotel I booked and paid for (and was hugely overcharged for) has been downgraded to a 2* this is not what I paid for. I have been contacting Paul since February this year and this is still unresolved, I have also contacted Christopher Paul, Admin, and customer liaison, I never get a reply and If I do then it’s not anything to help the situation. I have asked to change hotels as I paid for a 3* and would never book a 2* holiday, Chris finally came back to me after over a week and quoted me £500 more to stay in the blue sea costa Jardin hotel, I rang the office and didn’t mention my name and, a lady called Jayne quoted me £1856, this was about £500 cheaper then what Christopher quoted, I sent the below to him, and of course I haven’ had a reply, I copied in Admin, Paul & the liaison department also, and not one of them have been in touch, this was Monday.

    I have just spoken with Jayne from Holiday gems and she gave me a price for a superior room at the Kardin hotel for £1856, she was even able to go to the next stage to book it so it was definitely available. Again I feel you're trying to rip me off!! How can you give me one price over £500 more then what Jayne gave me? Her number is 01244 957896, if you don’t believe me check with her. Please, can you explain your difference in your quotes as I’m very interested?

    Had I not paid £1003 off early I would have just cancelled and booked a hotel through a loyal company. Me and my husband have worked very hard and saved very hard to be able to go on holiday with our son, It’s very important to us that we get 2 weeks a year to spend some quality family time and all I feel is anger and that I have been ripped off since the start, and that I don’t matter to them at all. The customer service team are shocking. I just feel very let down and sad about the whole situation. I have contacted my bank and logged a dispute, so I’m praying they will recover the £1003 I paid so I can book elsewhere, it’s a loss for the company which is silly really as had they changed my hotel at the honest decent price they would not have lost a sale. They have also lost a customer and I will tell anyone I know to avoid holidaygems, I will also write honest reviews wherever I can on the internet as I would hate for someone to experience what I have, to be fair though looking at some of the reviews on google I am not the only one to go through this. I just don’t know how they are getting away with treating people like this.

    If I could put no stars I would!!!

    By: jade applin 07-06-2018
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    NO
    2
    rating

    Write your own review about Holiday Gems

    Your review