BritainReviews

    Reviews Nova Direct Breakdown Cover

    Do you have experiences using the services of this brand? How did you think their customer service was in dealing with your request? Was the description of their products clear enough and accurate ontheir site? Your opinions are valuable for future customers, so why not write a review with all your feedback to let people know if their trustworthy or not. Maybe you were very impressed by the brand? Or want to warn others against them? Either way, we would love to hear your experiences!

    Nova Direct Breakdown Cover
    Reviews, complaints and customer experiences (15)

    3
    13% Would buy here again!
    Ordering
    rating
    3.2
    Service
    rating
    2.6
    Pricing
    rating
    3.4
    Delivery
    rating
    2.8

    All reviews

    Read independant reviews, consumer experiences, feedback and complaints right here! Get to know the best shop place your (online) order. Everybody together now decides which shops are worthy and which aren't!

    Car breakdown cover

    First use of service. Excellent response from initial reporting of problem to rapid arrival of mechanic and problem sorted

    By: Alan Porter 02-01-2020
    patricia angell 10-02-2020

    DO NOT BUY!!! £10.00 TO CANCEL AT £30.00 BREAKDOWN POLICY. FIFTEEN MINUTES ON THE PHONE TO CANCEL JUST TO BE TOLD THAT THEY WILL SEND A LINK TO CANCEL THE POLICY - THEN THE LITTLE SURPRISE OF PAYING A FIVE POUND ADMIN FEE AND A FIVE POUND CANCELLATION FEE!

    Luke Clancy 22-03-2020

    I agree. Disappointing and unethical company - AVOID DOING BUSINESS WITH NOVA DIRECT AT ALL COSTS. On March 21 I discovered my car had a flat battery. Nova Direct sent a breakdown recovery vehicle for roadside assistance. My vehicle was locked and would not respond to the electronic key fob. We needed to gain access to the cabin of the car so that we could open the bonnet and recharge the battery. So he took the manual key that was hidden inside the key fob and tried to use that to turn the manual key lock in the driver’s side door. But it didn’t work and the door would not open. The breakdown guy was pretty hopeless. He thought the lock was jammed and needed oil. He didn’t have WD40 in his van, which I had to go and source myself to squirt in the manual lock. Then he tried over, and over and over again to turn the key (anti-clockwise). He looked for another key entry point in the boot but couldn't locate one. As a last resort he suggested he could dismantle the wing mirror to recharge the battery from the indicator light but he wasn’t insured to do so and thought he might break the mirror. Then he said he had run out of ideas and left. That night I called Nova Direct and explained all of this and they said it sounded like I needed a specialist locksmith, but because I hadn’t paid for extra key insurance they could not help. I accepted this. The Nova Direct representative did, however, say that if I succeeded in gaining access to my vehicle they could send out another call out (my policy entitles me to six in a year and this had been the first). The next morning I attempted to gain access to the vehicle and did it fairly easily by turning the key CLOCKWISE. The representative they had sent had for some reason been unable to work this out. All i then needed was a jump start and charge on the battery. I called Nova Direct only to be told they would not send a second call out for the same reason and each one had to be unique, despite their operative being at fault the night before and despite their call centre representative telling me that I would be supported by a second call out the night before. All this has happened during the Coronavirus outbreak leaving me hampered and unable go use my car to get essential supplies. This is a disappointing and unethical company - AVOID DOING BUSINESS WITH NOVA DIRECT AT ALL COSTS.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    9.5
    rating

    Break down cover

    My current breakdown cover is going run out. I do not want to rebew it, I contacted them and infomrmed that I do not want to renew. They sent me a link to cancel it- the link will take you to pay £4.99 as their cancellation fee. Apparenty they store your card details for ever to automatically renew and if you do not want to renew , still you have to pay £4.99 to escape from the loop. I called their customer service, they said it is included in their so called ''terms and conditions''.
    They are a malicious company trapping the customers with compltely unethical policies. You do not have the right not to choose to renew with tthem unless you pay.
    I will report them to financial ombudsman service. Customers please stay away from tis fradulent people.

    By: BIJOY JOSEPH 25-03-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    5.5
    rating

    'breakdown cover'

    TERRIBLE, UNETHICAL CROOKS. AVOID AT ALL COST.

    My car broke down on the motorway. Scared and confused (stood in hedge on side of motorway) I called Nova direct. The i was put on hold for 15 minutes while the man on the phone searched for reasons not to come and help me. Eventually he found a loophole - the car was failing to start up and therefore he they could not help me. The phone call took 26mins in total. This was my time of need and they just left me.

    At this point I decided to call the AA, they reassured me that everything would be okay. It was, they came to save me.

    On the other hand Nova direct will not put you at ease. They will take your money, not give you the service you expect and certainly won't rescue you. I asked to cancel and get a refund as I was in my 14 day cooling off period. As expected they found their sneaky cunning loophole again and said that because I had made a 'claim' (when I asked them to come and help me) that was rejected, they could not give me a refund.

    PLEASE DON'T LET THEM DO THE SAME TO YOU IN YOUR TIME OF NEED.

    WILL BE MAKING A REPORT TO WATCHDOG.

    By: rebecca king 24-03-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Breakdown cover

    As already mentioned DO NOT BUY!! Policy was for a year, £25. Did not want to renew as price increased evem though no claims. Only to be told need to pay £10 to do so, that's 40% of the original cost, how ridiculous on a one year policy!!

    By: Carly 23-03-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Breakdown insurance

    Disappointing and unethical company - AVOID DOING BUSINESS WITH NOVA DIRECT AT ALL COSTS.

    On March 21 I discovered my car had a flat battery. Nova Direct sent a breakdown recovery vehicle for roadside assistance.

    My vehicle was locked and would not respond to the electronic key fob. We needed to gain access to the cabin of the car so that we could open the bonnet and recharge the battery. So he took the manual key that was hidden inside the key fob and tried to use that to turn the manual key lock in the driver’s side door. But it didn’t work and the door would not open.

    The breakdown guy was pretty hopeless. He thought the lock was jammed and needed oil. He didn’t have WD40 in his van, which I had to go and source myself to squirt in the manual lock. Then he tried over, and over and over again to turn the key (anti-clockwise).

    He looked for another key entry point in the boot but couldn't locate one.

    As a last resort he suggested he could dismantle the wing mirror to recharge the battery from the indicator light but he wasn’t insured to do so and thought he might break the mirror.

    Then he said he had run out of ideas and left.

    That night I called Nova Direct and explained all of this and they said it sounded like I needed a specialist locksmith, but because I hadn’t paid for extra key insurance they could not help. I accepted this. The Nova Direct representative did, however, say that if I succeeded in gaining access to my vehicle they could send out another call out (my policy entitles me to six in a year and this had been the first).

    The next morning I attempted to gain access to the vehicle and did it fairly easily by turning the key CLOCKWISE. The representative they had sent had for some reason been unable to work this out. All i then needed was a jump start and charge on the battery.

    I called Nova Direct only to be told they would not send a second call out for the same reason and each one had to be unique, despite their operative being at fault the night before and despite their call centre representative telling me that I would be supported by a second call out the night before.

    All this has happened during the Coronavirus outbreak leaving me hampered and unable go use my car to get essential supplies.

    This is a disappointing and unethical company - AVOID DOING BUSINESS WITH NOVA DIRECT AT ALL COSTS.

    By: Luke Clancy 22-03-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Breakdown cover

    They do auto renewal without asking your permit. I did rang them for I don't want auto renawal and they said they will send me email for auto renewal cancellation which I have waited 24 hours for this email and i didn't received any email. They asked double price for auto renawal because they told me I made a claim which I didn't. Only called them in 1 year if I can make a claim because I left my keys in the car and i can't get access to my car. They told me I couldn't make claim because my cover doesn't covering key lost. So in the end of my contract they make it this call looked like I made a claim. Which its awful service Please pay extra for better company.

    By: St 19-03-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Breakdown

    Absolute rip off. £4.99 to cancel a automatic renewal. They think people are stupid. Won't be getting any custome off me anymore

    By: Paul White 18-03-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    insure

    NEGATIVE pay to leave what a joke . Customer services very poor

    By: richard Lawton 05-03-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Gadget cover

    Very bad company who do not follow their own policy
    STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY DO NOT GET ANY KIND OF INSURANCE COVER

    By: Daniel Humphreys 02-03-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Breakdown cover

    Absolute disgrace of a company.
    THIS COMPANY CHARGE YOU JUST TO NOT AUTO RENEW.
    Thats right if you dont want to renew your policy they charge you £5.
    If you complain they just say they follow FCA rules and its in the terms and conditions.
    I've never known a company do this, i reckon this is only not banned because no one would think a company could be so unethical in charging something like this.
    To add to this they won't cancel over the phone they took nearly 1 week to send the cancellation email and by that time the renewal had already started so they want even more money to cancel now.
    All this to a 88 year old pensioner!

    By: Philip Hollin 04-02-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    4.5
    rating

    Breakdown cover

    Nothing positive about these people DO NOT USE THEM never heard of paying £4.99 NOT TO AUTO RENEW

    By: Hannah 24-01-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Breakdown Insurance

    Hi, I bought a Breakdown cover with Nova Direct last year. Now I decided not to renew for this year but they asked me to pay a fee to cancel the renewal. Do you think this is fair?

    By: Alex 23-01-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Breakdown cover

    It may be cheap cover but it is a total waste of money. On the two occassions I called them they did not cover my issues so be sure to check the very limited policy.
    A
    AND IF YOU DO NOT WANT YOU TO RENEW YOU TO PAY THEM to stop the automatic renewal. A tip for anyone else. Contact the card company you used to pay and get them to block Nova.. Outrageous. I never come across this before with any company

    By: viv 16-01-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Write your own review about Nova Direct Breakdown Cover

    Your review