BritainReviews

    Reviews Gardening Direct

    Your garden van be a wonderful place to relax. And it can also help you to grow some own herbs, fruits and/or vegetables. But in order to create a beautiful and/or useful garden you will need some supplies first. One of the shops that offer such supplies is Gardening Direct. But what kind of quality are the products that this shop sells? Will the flowers bloom as pretty as the pictures on the website? Are their tools really useful for some heavy work? Are the fruits and vegetables good to eat? And how is their customer service? Will they help you if something is not to your satisfaction? These are all matters that the customers that have already shopped at Gardening Direct can tell you about. Read their reviews to find out if Gardening Direct is the kind of shop that you want to look for when it comes to garden supplies.

    About Gardening Direct

    Gardening Direct is a garden supply shop. They sell bedding plants like petunias, fuchsias, marigold, pansies, lobelia, busy lizzie, begonias and more for your handing baskets, autumn bedding, spring bedding or summer bedding. They also sell perennials like hosta, lavender, pinks, heuchera, Echinacea, coreopsis, agapanthus, hellebore and more. Their collection of shrubs contains evergreen shrubs, flowering shrubs, deciduous scrubs, climbing shrubs, architecture and more. They also sell bulbs, tubers and corns like lilies, tulips, daffodils, begonia bulbs and more. And their collection of fruits and vegetables consists ot fruit frees, patio fruits, strawberries, raspberries, soft fruits, chilli peppers, herbs, seed potatoes, onion shallots, Jersey Royals, garlic, and more. They even sell carnivorous plants. And they sell accessories like fertiliser, compost, hanging baskets, planting kits And flat-pack planters. And last but not least they have gift vouchers.


    Gardening Direct explains: How to plant your hanging gardens.

    Services of Gardening Direct

    You can order all of their items via their website by creating an account, selecting the product that you want and, in that way, put it in your online digital wheelbarrow. They offer free delivery on all orders no matter how little you might spend. If you are not entirely satisfied you can return your product within 30 days after receiving the product. If needed, you can conact them via the contact information that is posted on their website.

    Compliments, Complaints and Tips for Gardening Direct

    Have you ever shopped at Gardening Direct before? In that case, we would be grateful if you would share your experience with us via a review in which you elaborate on your experience and other things you want to share. Did the flowers that you ordered bloom? Or had the bulbs already wilted before you even put them in the ground? Are their fruits and vegetables eatable and also tasty? And how does their customer service react when you have a problem that you need them to solve? Let us know via a customer review. Your review helps potential customers to know beforehand what kind of company Gardening Direct truly is.

    What kind of fowers, fruits, trees and vegetables does Gardening Direct sell? Read customer reviews about this online garden centre.

    Gardening Direct
    Reviews, complaints and customer experiences (21)

    4
    33% Would buy here again!
    Ordering
    rating
    5.2
    Service
    rating
    3.4
    Pricing
    rating
    4.4
    Delivery
    rating
    3.2

    All reviews

    Read independent reviews, consumer experiences, feedback and complaints right here! Get to know the best online shops and service providers from the impressions they with people. Customers now get to decide which brands are worthy and which are not!

    Best for garden lovers

    My husband loves gardening but after we moved to another house, we urgently needed to reinstall our garden. My husband is a big fan of Gardening direct, so we ordered most of the plants from here as well as necessary fertilizers. The side is a very good option for those who started gardening recently. As you will get an idea about stuff that you need.

    By: Siya 06-06-2018
    John Stanley05-05-2020

    My petunias have been delivered in perfect packaging and so in perfect condition. Thank you so much for the great service

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    8
    rating

    Moneymaker tomatoes and runner beans

    The tomatoes arrived and were a little straggly but have picked up now. The jumbo runner beans arrived and were well packed, in good condition and ready to plant

    By: John Stanley14-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    8
    rating

    Petunias

    Hanging petunia bells and ordinary petunias. Plants arrived superbly packed and so in perfect condition.

    By: John Stanley05-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    10
    rating

    Various but issue with wallflower wizard

    Box delivered. Was to be 12 mega plants inside. Soil everywhere in box. Half the plants broken off at base so unusable and the other half clearly been tossed around and battered. Doubt they will survive. Sent photos and complaint but no reply. I want a refund for this delivery.

    By: Lana Tricker01-09-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    4.5
    rating

    Supposed to be trailing begonias and compact begonias

    Ordered at start of lockdown. Half the order was delivered at the end of May with promise of balance to delivered. June. We were then unformed they couldn't supply to order but would send nearest with the promise of compensation. Plants arrived totally different to what was ordered and we still haven't received any compensation. Read all reviews before dealing with this company. They don't answer emails or phone calls. De warned!

    By: Carol12-07-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    Gardeners Delight ( not ordered )

    week/spindley/broken/scorched, no reply to Three e/m with photos. I See somone got Moneymaker 14 May on reviews. My substitute plants arrived the First Week in June after Two e/m from mid May asking for them when all verities said out of stock on sites.
    I used-to grow Tomato from seed and i would have binned Thease. To long in containers

    By: Mr Rowe10-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    4.5
    rating

    4th April 2020 for geraniums

    Placed order 4th April 2020 no communication after four emails just standard reply unable to get through to anyone between April 4th - 9 June 2020 would not recommend this company at all the lack of service is just unbelievable, certainly a big negative for this company. So as at 9 June no goods, no refund, and no reply.

    By: Jan Sharpe09-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Pre planted hanging basketd

    Ordered in April no sign of them I have emailed three times no response I agree hiding behind COVID is a joke am thinking of contacting trading standards have now requested a refund wish I had read the reviews before I placed my order will never order from them again first and last time

    By: Dorothy Sturley 06-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    4
    rating

    £69 spent on bedding plants

    I ordered my plants £69 in April, 84 large plants in total, when delivered, plants in the middle of the trays had barely grown, a number of them where broken, 24 begonias where diseased and died within three days of arrival, to date I have 30 plants alive but very small. I have contacted gardening direct numerous times to no avail, I requested a refund as it states on the website 30 day guarantee refund or replacement. DO NOT USE THIS BUSINESS, as they are not interested in their customers and their plants are a disgrace.

    By: Ann Keenan06-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Tomato plants

    Arrived looking terrible, two had stem snapped off, plant stems thin, plants have been forced. Waste of money, very poor. Wonder if I will get my money back?

    By: Peter05-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    3
    rating

    24 double begonias and mystery plants

    First and last time I will be using gardening direct.
    Very disappointed, plants arrived wilted and lifeless. Looked like they had been in the box for days.
    Ordered on 6th April and arrived 30th May . More than likely plants will not survive, a total waste of time and money. A present for my mum but a a total let down for both of us.

    By: Stephanie Shipley04-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    5
    rating

    48 jumbo upright begonias 48 trailing begonias

    I ordered these begonias for my hanging baskets. 48 trailing begonias, the last to go in the baskets arrived first on 2nd May 2020. On 8th May I contacted Gardening Direct, nobody was answering the phones, just a recorded message telling you to Email the company. I Emailed them asking where the rest of my plants were and also informed them that 7 of the plants delivered were either damaged or missing. 5 days later the response came but no mention of replacement plants. On 27th May I Emailed Gardening Direct telling them to cancel the order and 2 days later, 29th I received the 48 upright begonia. All 48 were leggy and in very poor condition. The majority of them died. The product, delivery and customer service are atrocious. I would not advise anybody to deal with this company and I am now off to the garden center to try and build some decent baskets. Disgusted ex customer, waste of £60.

    By: alan yarwood03-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Plants!

    Still awaiting part of an order placed two months ago. A number of the plants actually received were dead or damaged and, although described as "large" were just plug plants. An e.mail and two customer query forms have been ignored and, after waiting twenty minutes on the phone, I was cut off. Never mind though, because while I was waiting I was constantly assured that my call was important to them.
    Now, to top it all, my phone bill reveals that, although there's nothing on Gardening Direct's website to indicate this, calls to the 01 number are charged as "international". So, chasing a complete lack of response has cost me £5.20, on top of the cost of poor/undelivered plants.
    Covid is no excuse for this. Still managing to e.mail me tring to sell me more plants!

    By: Richard Stone03-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    3
    rating

    12 Mega Geraniums

    I’ve never been one to complain but this website is hopeless. Had to order some geraniums as I’ve been in lockdown for 12 weeks and can’t get to a gardening centre - even now that they’re open.

    Have tried phoning them - 01534 876494 - but either engaged all the time or you get a ring tone, hang on for an hour and then it’s cut off. I did manage to get through once after an hour hanging on and spoke to someone - I asked for an email address so I could send photos of what I’d received. The very apologetic lad gave me an email address and I duly sent an email with photos, only for it to be returned saying:

    Thank you for submitting your enquiry to Jersey Plants Direct. We have changed the way you submit your enquiries to us.
    Please go the website and fill in the contact form.

    Have filled in their online contact form at least 4 or 5 times, but have received no answer apart from standard acknowledgement.

    Here’s a copy of what I’ve sent them although there was no way I could send pictures of what I received through to them.

    I ordered Geranium Fire Queen 12 Mega Plants which arrived but I am very disappointed in them. They really are not 'mega' plants as described on your website:
    "Mega Plants are the largest size of Bedding Plants that we sell making them the easiest to look after. They are despatched later in the season as we have grown them to a larger size for you and are ready to be planted straight out into the garden”.

    I have planted them on my balcony when they arrived but really don't think they will survive as they are so weak and spindly - they hardly stood up when I watered them. I am attaching two photos of them together with your picture of what size they should be. I paid £12.99 for them plus delivery costs.

    By: Pam Gilfrin02-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2.5
    rating

    Order number 10430190

    We have received Begonia plugs not large plants about 2 weeks ago
    We are awaiting nicotiana 24 large plants 31/05 2020 not arrived .
    We are awaiting Tomato Moneymaker 6 large plants
    Accelerata Plant food

    Since the season is progressing please advise when or give our money back please
    Peter Proctor

    By: Peter Proctor31-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2.5
    rating

    Write your own review about Gardening Direct

    Your review

    FAQ

    Is Gardening Direct a trustworthy company?

    There are currently 21 customer review posted about Gardening Direct. On average, they received a star-grading of 4/10, with 33% of the reviewers indicating that they would buy from the brand again.

    What services or products do Gardening Direct offer?

    Gardening Direct is mainly active in the Online Shop category, more specifically with Homeware.

    I have read all the reviews. What now?

    Did you get a positive impression from the reviews? If so, then you can place your order on the Gardening Direct website with confidence. If not you can find many other brands to read about on our website!