BritainReviews

    Reviews Magazines Direct

    Magazines are a popular way to pas the time for a lot of people. They can also be a way to keep you posted on the new ins and outs of your favourite sport, hobby or celebrity news. Of course you can get a magazine via a booth stand or a regular bookshop. But you can also opt to buy magazines online. One of the companies that offers these kinds of services Is Magazines Direct. But will this company deliver your magazine before the next issue can be found in the shops? And will your magazine be delivered undamaged? And are you really cheaper off at this magazine website than at the local shops and booths? That is what present and former customers of this online magazine shop can tell you about. Read their reviews to find out what you can expect when you decide to order your favourite magazine at magazines Direct

    About Magazines Direct

    Magazine Direct is an online supplier of magazines. The company is part of Time Inc. (UK0 Ltd, which is the leading publisher of print and digital magazine content within Britain. Magazines Direct offers all kind of magazines in many categories. They offer magazines for women like Marie Claire, Look, Now, Chat, Womens Weekly Fiction Special, Womens Own and more. But also men’s magazines like The Field, The Angler, Amateur Gardening, Uncut, Boat Owner, Golf and more. Their Country and Equestrian collection includes Horse & Hound, Shooting Time, Shooting Gazette, County Life etc. They also have a collection of fashion that’s also covered in the women’s category. They also have a collection of sports magazines like Motorboat, Rugby World, Cycling, SuperYachtWorld, World Soccer and more. Their home & garden category includes Ideal Home, Country Life Special, LivingEtc, Style at Home and more. Lifstyle magazines like Woman & Home Feel Good You and Wallpaper can be found in their lifestyle category. Their hobby category adds magazines like Knitting & Crochet, Decanter, Amateur Photographer and Mountain Bike Rider. And last but not least hey have an offer of TV and music magazines like Soaplife, History of Rock, TV & Satellie Weekly, TV Times and NME.


    What people on a cover magazine cover be like

    Services of Magazines Direct

    You can order their magazines via their website. You can order a single issue or choose to take out a subscription. You can even opt for a digital download that you can read on your PC or handheld devices like your Smartphone, tablet, iPad or iPhone. And you can take out a gift subscription that you can give to someone for a birthday, mother’s day, father’s day or other occasion. You can pay via PayPal, Visa, MasterCard or American Express.

    Complaints, Compliments and Tips for Magazines Direct

    Have you ever taken out a subscription or ordered an issue at Magazines Direct? Then you are the kind of person we are looking for! We greatly value your experience and opinion, so please tell us what you think about this company. Did your order arrive in time, or did you receive it only after the new issue hit the stores? And in case of any problems, does customer service help you out? Please leave a customer review.

    Will Magazines Direct deliver your magazines in time? Read customer reviews about their sports, leisure, hobby, news, country, home magazines and more

    Magazines Direct
    Reviews, complaints and customer experiences (33)

    3.2
    21% Would buy here again!
    Ordering
    rating
    3.4
    Service
    rating
    2.4
    Pricing
    rating
    4.4
    Delivery
    rating
    2.8

    All reviews

    Read independent reviews, consumer experiences, feedback and complaints right here! Get to know the best online shops and service providers from the impressions they with people. Customers now get to decide which brands are worthy and which are not!

    Many options available

    I am a big fan of fashion and fiction. Mostly i like to read books and magazines, but its kind of difficult to find related magazines that easily. But Magazines direct helped me a lot. They got lots of options in the category which is really interesting to read.

    By: vickey 05-06-2018
    KEITH WRIGHTwright02-05-2020

    I HAVE NOT RECIEVED MY COPY OF TV TIMES 2ND MAY TO 9TH MAYTHIS IS NOT THE FIRST TIME AS I HAVE BEEN A CUSTERMER FOR MANY A YEAR.

    D Rothwell05-08-2020

    On 2 separate occasions( April 2020 and today 5/8/2020 I have completed the online application form to receive Womans Weekly. Used info from WW magazine I purchased. No email received to say it was accepted. Contacted Customer service and they cannot find my detail. Hopeless.

    Denise Gee01-09-2020

    DON'T USE THIS COMPANY, I ordered regular deliveries of the TV Times to my mother in a nursing home, they have been regular and then stopped twice, with no explanation, their help line says they are having a new system put in and cant' check for a week, they will refer you to magazines.com where oddly the subscription number cannot be found. You may as well throw your money down the drain.

    Richard Childs04-09-2020

    DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY. On 7 July I renewed my annual subscription (£97.40) for the TV Times with Magazines Direct. On 17 July I received an email from them thanking me for subscribing to Woman & Home magazine. I emailed them to say that this was incorrect and that I'd renewed the TV Times subscription. I emailed a copy of the TV Times renewal letter. I was asked to phone them and they said I needed to provide proof of payment which I got from my bank and sent them. Despite them having copies of their renewal letter and my proof of payment and despite innumerable weekly emails they seem incapable of resolving the issue. I have emailed them today to say that if I do not get resolution of the issue within the next week I want my money back.

    Katy14-09-2020

    I’m guessing you’ve been getting my woman and home magazine 🤣 they’ve taken payment every month for over two years now without supplying the magazine. After too many emails to count they agreed to their mistake and promised to refund my money. Despite numerous chase ups from me, I’m still waiting for my refund over over £110 . Good luck 👍

    Andy14-11-2020

    A Scam company period. Payment received but not a single issue of Decanter received yet status is indicated as "delivered" in the portal. Zero response to emails

    buy cialis generic19-02-2021

    cheap cialis

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    9.5
    rating

    womans weekly

    account no.27053574------please advise WHY a double was taken from my accpont on 10/09/2020------please advise by telephone--my number is 02890866417-----payments recently made are 08/07 3.20 12/08 3.20 10/09 6-40-----WHY IS THIS PAYMENT DOUBLE

    By: stanley burns10-09-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    8
    rating

    Mountainbike Mag

    I don't know which company these reviews were with, but not my experience. Have been trying to get a refund since last Sept 2020 on 2 Direct Debits taken after subscriptions were stopped long before. A litany of obfuscation and lies. Avoid subscriptions with this company. Customer Services are useless and keep promising, but no follow-through at all.

    By: Chris Fry23-04-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    Magazine sub

    Took money from account even though cancelled subscription and pretty sure I cancelled the standing order. Scammers. Beware.

    By: Ali03-04-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    3.5
    rating

    Chat subscription

    Awful experience. Do NOT use this company. They charged me twice for a subscription and took other 2 months to refund me. They also cancelled an existing subscription which I didn't request that was a gift for my Mum. They couldn't get anything right! The customer service was terrible, both via e-mail and the phone. Just going round and round in circles. Everything was wrong with this service from start to finish. The worst service I have ever experienced.

    By: Julie Kitcheman30-03-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    3
    rating

    Various

    Useless company.

    Subscribed to one magazine. Issues rarely came - and even replacements didn’t arrive. They would blame Royal Mail, but it’s interesting how other publishers I subscribe to manage to send things out. Royal Mail is a convenient scapegoat!

    On one occasion, I went back and forth for about 6 weeks trying to get a replacement sub copy. “It’s in the post...” was what I got. Eventually I got...a completely different magazine, not the one I subscribed to.

    So I just cancelled. These aren’t errors, this is continual incompetence and an inability to get issues to people. The amount of reviews saying the same things is disconcerting.

    Avoid this one. They have made money out of people without delivering the product - and more than once.

    By: Stephen Parry03-03-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    3D World Print Annual Subscription

    TL;DR - taken over 6 months to sort an issue with them out, never called me back, inconsistent

    and useless, buy from them at your peril!


    Probably the worst customer experience I have ever experienced.

    Ordered a physical subscription worth north of £120 back in August 2020 (now Feb 2021).

    I think they lost the order as they were changing IT systems.

    After multiple emails with nothing other than an automated response I started calling them

    I have been ringing at least once a month since August.

    I was promised callbacks on multiple occasions, which never happened.

    I had to send proof of purchase as they had lost the information.

    Never spoke to the same person twice.

    They then confirmed that they had received my payment.

    They said they do not offer refunds.

    Was given multiple different reference numbers for my support case, again a complete lack of

    consistency.

    At some point in November managed after calling multiple times over the past couple of months to

    get a new subscription set up.

    They said that the magazine had been delivered in December, it hadn't.

    Then called and spoke to their support line, who again said that the call had been escalated and

    promised to call me back and never did, spoke to different people each time.

    All I wanted to do at this point was change the physical subscription to a digital one.

    After not receiving the call past the weeks deadline that they said they would, I rang again on a

    Monday, and had to ring a further two times that day to speak to someone who knew what was going

    on, again to be told that they would sort it out by the end of the day, which they didn't.

    Rang again the next day and finally spoke to someone I had spoken to the previous day.

    Recommend always writing the name of the person you spoke to down so you can ask to speak to them

    again but you are unlikely to be able to speak to the same person twice if you reach their

    foreign call centre.

    That person then said that they would have to cancel the physical subscription and be able to

    change it to a digital one and that would get sorted out that morning.

    I am still waiting for a final resolution on this matter.

    I get that sometimes data gets lost in systems, it happens, but their complete lack of customer

    care, consistent misdirection/lying and lack of knowledge is very alarming.


    I cannot say this strongly enough, I would avoid them at all costs, utterly shambolic and

    frustrating company to deal with.

    By: reviewerfromtheuk09-02-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Country Life

    My credit card account was debited 3 times for a Country Life subscription. I had to go to the NatWest Fraud Department to straighten this out.
    Deplorable customer service

    By: Elizabeth Allis07-01-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    4
    rating

    Homes and Gardens subscription

    These criminals took a double payment!!! Despite repeated contact, they have not refunded the payment taken in error. At first, they acknowledged the error, and told me it would take 15 days. After this unsatisfactory interval elapsed, I had still had no refund. On further contact, I was told they "still needed to gather information". Still no refund. Shower of crroks!

    By: Jeremy Richard Knight04-01-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Guitar World and Guitar Player

    Very negative.
    Non delivery of magazine issues or promotional t-shirts.
    No response on inquiries of missing magazines or T-shirts.
    I paid upfront for both Guitar Player and Guitar World with VISA.
    Very disappointed and frustrated. As a past subscriber of both magazines I can say this is the worst experience I have had to date.

    By: John Warwick22-12-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2.5
    rating

    Guitar World and Guitar Player

    I'm very disappointed and frustrated with magazine direct. I placed a subscription for two magazines (Guitar World and Guitar Player) plus a free t-shirt with each subscription and not received anything. The first issues were due November 17, 2020 and the second issue was due December 15, 2020 plus no sign of any T-shirts. I've emailed them four times and have not had any response from them. They were quick to take the money though.

    By: John18-12-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2.5
    rating

    Homes & Gardens

    I ordered a 12 month subscription to Homes & Gardens in May and 7 months later have still not received a single magazine. I have gone round in circles with customer services. Every time I chase them I have to re supply the information sent previously. A complete waste of time and money . AVOID AVOID AVOID.

    By: Paula Milburn14-12-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    ImagineFx

    You are better of getting your magazines from a newsagency because they are beyond incompetent. Actually, no, that's wrong - they're extremely competent at taking your money.

    I've been waiting for 3 MONTHS and within that time, I've had the most unfriendly and unhelpful assistance by email. They couldn't even supply me with proof that they'd sent the first magazine even after it didn't arrive on the day they specified (I even waited an extra 2 weeks after that in case it was a delivery/covid issue!)

    By: Ella11-12-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Write your own review about Magazines Direct

    Your review

    FAQ

    Is Magazines Direct a trustworthy company?

    There are currently 33 customer review posted about Magazines Direct. On average, they received a star-grading of 3.2/10, with 21% of the reviewers indicating that they would buy from the brand again.

    What services or products do Magazines Direct offer?

    Magazines Direct is mainly active in the Online Shop category, more specifically with Multimedia & Subscriptions, Sport & Outdoor, Electronics, Fashion.

    I have read all the reviews. What now?

    Did you get a positive impression from the reviews? If so, then you can place your order on the Magazines Direct website with confidence. If not you can find many other brands to read about on our website!