BritainReviews

    British Gas
    Reviews, complaints and customer experiences (45)

    3.4
    22% Would buy here again!
    Ordering
    rating
    3.6
    Service
    rating
    3.2
    Pricing
    rating
    3.4
    Delivery
    rating
    3.2

    All reviews

    Read independent reviews, consumer experiences, feedback and complaints right here! Get to know the best online shops and service providers from the impressions they with people. Customers now get to decide which brands are worthy and which are not!

    Energy

    Most expensive supplier in the market. Customer service is none existent. They will lie to you and Rob you blind. They also use other platforms to pay for good reviews. Still advertising a service they are not providing. Using Covid as an excuse for not providing said paid for services. They are a dinosaur that needs to be extinct.

    By: Nicola kay30-01-2021
    PHIL03-02-2021

    British Gas IS SUPER USELESS! No Gas. No Hot water. Boiler Non Functional. They will not come until 4 days . Onthe 4th day when British Gas was supposed to turn up, one super stupid idiot called for the apponitment to be rescheduled! May God Almighty rain cold and all inconviniences on you all!

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Gas & Electricity

    Dear all, 08/01/2021
    Please find below, an overview of my experience with Scottish Gas, which will appear truly unbelievable. Should any party be considering use of their services, please do not consider. Read my experience, and then judge for yourself. I am not one for anonymous malicious adverse communications, which would disallow the recipient the opportunity for recourse, so in this instance, I will disclose my customer account number, should this communication end up being reviewed by Scottish Gas personnel at any point in time (Gas account number 851012491314).
    My personal background. Retired, along with my wife November 2018, and moved into a new build property in Edinburgh, 26th February 2019. Single pension, and wife with medical condition. No sympathy vote required, simply additional information which exacerbated a fundamental requirement for my wife to feel financially comfortable enough to switch the heating on. This rarely occurred, out of fear of unknown accrued bill costs.
    Shortly after uptake of the property it became abundantly clear to me that Scottish Gas had the incorrect meter serial numbers etc for the property, therefore billing was stalled. This is the only element that I will give to Scottish Gas, for balance, as the serial numbers were incorrectly provided by the estate builders, initially.
    However, this is where things began to take off negatively, for an intense period of six months, where I spent many, many, many, man-hours on the telephone to Scottish Gas operatives, repeatedly providing the same sets of serial numbers and readings, to absolutely no avail. Many of these calls last hours in duration, and were to separate operatives globally. Uk, South Africa etc.
    Throughout this extended period, call centre operatives periodically escalated the problem to ‘Case Handlers’ and indeed a Complaints Resolution Manager’. All of these actions resulted in no further progress, despite my repeated provision of serial numbers, and ultimately actual photographs of the meter units, with the respective serial numbers clearly visible. In actual fact, a Scottish Gas engineer personally visited my property mid-way throughout this process, again to no avail.
    Note a sample of personalities engaged with throughout the period:
    -Crichton
    - Lona Somlata
    -Graeme (23rd May 1.5hrs duration)
    -Tamica (30th May)
    -Sarah Woodward (30th May Complaints Resolution Manager)
    -Carlene (1st July. 30 mins)
    - Gwyneth (9th July)
    - Maria Bell (New Case handler. Transferred to her due to inaction by previous handler. 6 calls to this individual over a period of time)
    At this point, and out of utter stress and frustration, I initiated a change of energy provider request from Scottish Gas to SSE (Scottish Hydro. 18th July)). This transfer was unable to complete for many weeks, as Scottish Gas had STILL not managed to transfer my meter details onto the national database.
    In continuing to engage with Scottish Gas, further calls were made to their operatives, as follows:
    - Selwayne (9th Sept. South Africa. 25 min’s)
    - Tashreeq (18th Sept)
    - Phil (23rd Sept)
    - Natasha (7th Oct. Advised Natasha at this stage that I would be unwilling to settle outstanding bills until I was compensated for severe stress and not least a massive unkown number of total man hours on the phone.
    - 16th Oct I received an exceptionally aggressive call from a male Scottish Gas operative indicating severe threats (legal etc. Forgot to record name), should I not IMMEDIATELY pay in full, my electrical bill. At this stage I paid £318.40, which I regret doing. This only served to increase my resolve to hold out for an ethical Scottish Gas response on my gas bill, which still rolls on, as follows:
    - 24th Oct raised complaint on my billing, as all bills had commenced from zero meter readings, where correct start bills meter readings had already been provided, avoiding my liability to pay costs prior to my entry into the property.
    - 6th Jan 2020 (almost a year from commencement with British Gas), is where my last communication occurred, which is the most unsettling one. Call made to Pritpal at Scottish Gas, whom indicated that due to no resolution, he would be REFERRING MY CONCERN BACK TO THE ORIGINAL CALL HANDLER. Complete ‘reset’.
    - HOWEVER, the above action did not occur, and my next communication received came directly from a company called Moorgroup (A debt handling agency), whom are now in regular chase contact with me, attempting to recover around £200 of gas billing, with I guess, the next stage being a court summons for monies due.
    Beyond the above points, if any reader is in ANY doubt at all, as to my integrity and honesty, I have saved the best for last.
    At the point of my attempted energy transfer from Scottish Gas to SSE, I simultaneously raised a formal complaint with the energy ombudsman over Scottish Gas’s utter incompetence and unethical and non-professional conduct. Once again, and for transparency, the complaint reference details are:
    Your reference: EG058120-19 Date: 15 Oct 2019
    Andy Dossett Investigating Officer (Ombudsman)

    After an extended investigation, the ombudsman found entirely in my favour against Scottish Gas, proposing that Scottish Gas award me £75 in compensation and that they write to me formally to apologise. While that, at face values appeared to be a positive resolution, I am sure that any reader of this review will find it hilarious that an award of £75 for my incalculable manhours and severe stress, would compensate me appropriately. As a complainant, you can therefore press the ‘accept outcome’ function on the on-line complaint, or decline, if you disagree with the findings. If you decline (as I did), the complaint is therefore regarded as ‘null and void’, as if it never existed, and therefore the accused party can regard the award against them as ‘non binding’.
    For those that are unaware of the ombudsman process, the complainant and accused both have visibility of the other parties exchanges (edited by the ombudsman). I therefore had sight of Scottish Gas’s statement that they would compensate me appropriately, and that they would write to me with an apology letter. This never occurred.
    Having queried the above with Moorgroup, the debt recovery service, their dialogue with Scottish Gas has restated that they regard to ombudsman’s finding as ‘non binding’, and that they have no intention of offering compensation and/or a letter of apology, as per the previous commitment.
    So:
    It is now 17 months since I attempted to use Scottish Gas’s energy services. To date events:
    - Could not set up correct billing, despite my best efforts
    - Bounced me round numerous personnel and call handlers for months (No Covid factor here to mitigate)
    - Threatened legal action against a customer who had been desperately TRYING to pay them for between 6 and 8 months, to no avail
    - Washed their hands of the problem and passed to a debt collection agency
    - Saw the energy Ombudsman award against them, and used the complainant ‘decline’ option to regard the outcome as ‘non binding’. Any substantive organisation, in this day in age would still have had the decency to write and apologise for their actions and inactions.
    - Notably, and from ALL of the Scottish Gas operatives engaged with, NOT 1 individual, at any point, asked what they could do to keep a customer, whose only apparent failure, was a desire to pay his bills over a period of many months.
    My apologies for the length of this communication. Sadly it is not over yet, for myself and my wife, as the stress continues, with what I am sure will be an impending court summons, where presumably a judge will rule on the events above, which I will present in full. I will continue to amend this post, and repost consistently throughout the year, until such time as the matter is concluded.
    And here we go again:
    23rd Sept 2020 Calls to Scottish Gas, after being ‘back referred’ from Moorgroup, the debt collection agency. Discussions with Lisa, Customer Advisor (Complaints), and then finally, Pauline, Customer Services Advisor, Collections Department. During these calls I requested that THIS communication be placed in front of a manager in responsibility for consideration. They POINT BLANK, refused to do so, and further confirmed that they had no intention of making ANY form of apology to me.
    I further indicated that unless they did so, I would be publishing this review, and republishing on a weekly basis, for a period of 18 months, more or less in line with the length of this complaint against them. So here we go. It’s a large organization, and I am only one individual, but these forums are all we have. Please AVOID these horrible human beings.
    Further response from British Gas to my formal complaint, by Hannah Jeoffrey from their complaints team on 9th Oct, indicating that they wished to engage, and that if I did not respond to them within 14 days, they would close my complaint again, as no further action required by me. I responded IMMEDIATELY, and now, (20th Oct), 11 days later, she STILL has not responded to my concerns, which, primarily required a letter of apology from them. I froze my online postings at their point of contact with me, but will, of course, start to repost updates from Tues 20th Oct, if I have not had a satisfactory response. That post will be post 3 of 72 ongoing posts.

    Well! They finally responded in Nov 2020. A written apology, nearly 2 years from the start of this fiasco, but ZERO compensation for two years of my time (and theirs). Compensation offer related to suggesting they would not demand the late bill payment charge(Which was only there, due to the complaint existing), and even more laughably, they would not demand the early contract closure fees of £30 per utility.
    In the end, I paid my outstanding bill, reluctantly. This is now post 4 of 72 posts. I will continue to share throughout the year, until British Gas ‘DO THE RIGHT THING’. This is NOT over. No commercial savvy, at all!, for such a large organization.
    A truly disgusting horrible, thoughtless and unprofessional organization. Please avoid, if you possibly can.
    Best regards from Edinburgh.

    By: Malcolm Macivor08-01-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    4.5
    rating

    Boiler Cover

    I am a landlord living out the country. Our boiler has broken and the tenants arranged a apt with British Gas but it is on hold as I need to approve of it first for the excess. The letting agent tells me of this and that I need to contact British Gas.

    I go to the British Gas website and after 15 minutes of trying cannot find a single phone number anywhere. I eventually google them and find a number on wikipedia which I phone. Another 5-10 mins of going through automatic speak to a computer stuff to connect you, then I finally get through to a actual person. Apparently this is standard and I will have to phone to pay a bill everytime this happens. I wonder, if this is standard why is it so impossible to do? The man asks for a payment over the phone, which I suggest is there another way to do this such as on the website? I told him I had found it really difficult to find a number on their website and I am reluctant to give my card details to a person I called on a number from wikipedia/google. Then the line cuts out and that was a hour of my life I wont get back. It is now passed their opening times for their call centres and I have tenants with no heating.

    Its just really bad service from British Gas. They are so impossible to work around and I think they just do not care. I will be looking at changing to another company.

    By: Greg Thomas05-01-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Considering new boiler

    I am seeking quotes for a new boiler, but won’t be using British Gas.

    One of their fitters lives next door to me, and always parks his van in front of my windows (just a few feet away) rather than his own because he doesn’t like to have to look at it. There are in fact plenty of places within a few steps where he could park without blocking either of our windows. It was parked there without moving at all for the whole 2 weeks of the first lockdown and is now there again over the. Christmas /New Year holidays. It’s very depressing to have my windows constantly blocked by this ugly bright blue van all the time.

    British Gas doesn’t care about this. It is obviously happy for its bad-mannered employees to use their liveried vans to annoy their neighbours. I can’t see why anyone would want to risk inviting someone with such bad manners into their home ..or why anyone would want to employ a company which encourages bad manners.

    By: Valarian Close02-01-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Homecare plan

    Have a British gas homecare plan. The washing machine wasn't working properly so a call was made 4 weeks ago. We were told the initial appointment would be 3 weeks later which was OK due to the current pandemic. The engineer came for the appointment ordered the parts and came this Thursday.. Used the washing machine Friday and it leaked and flooded the whole kitchen. Was immediately on the phone and an "emergency" appointment was made for Saturday anytime after 8am.... Waited until 4.45pm to phone only to be told don't do emergency appointments on appliances on the weekend.. Asked to speak to a manager 1st thing as was told they open at 7am and I'm still waiting. Absolutely appalling service my parents are receiving as an homecare customer... We have an 86 and 79 year old in the property and can't afford to be going in an out to a public launderette with what is going on currently.. We had an appliance that we could use but now we have one that is completely useless due to no fault of our own now flooring in the kitchen that is completely ruined.

    By: Tabitha Thomas 29-11-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Homecare Service

    Very negative. The engineer didn’t turn up to fix my washing machine, so after waiting in a whole day for nothing, they bumped my job 7 days ahead. When I complained, their best suggestion was for me to waste even more time phoning round to find my own engineer, pay for it, and they would refund me. I was also offered a paltry £20 compensation. The next day another manager rang and was insistent that I close my complaint. Because I wouldn’t(the problem still isn’t fixed - the engineer this person recommended today doesn’t cover my area) he removed the £20 compensation. You couldn’t make it up.

    By: Faulds12-11-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Electricity, gas& electricity.

    In April of 2019 my electricity KW consumption went from the average 300-800 KW per month to 2500, went back to 600 in may. My bill went from the average £78 a month to £445 for a single months electricity in a one bed flat!. Moved house and it took six months for them to update my electricity account. Nine months for the gas, told me I didn't need to send meter readings but it turns out the gas meter wasn't a smart meter so I should've been. I received my exit bill today and my estimated gas consumption was a whopping 41000kw a year in a two bed flat with just me and my son!. Over three times the average of a full six occupant five bed house!. I moved provider last month, far to many inconsistencies and blatant over charging. I asked for total energy consumption reports and bills from the past two years, they said I'd have them within twenty one days of request. That's was the 8th of last month, no reports yet and I can't even contact them because the call centers have been closed

    By: John Herbert02-11-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    energy

    My estimate bill go up twice without my permision .

    By: Kris29-10-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    electricity

    ABSOLUTE DISGRACE !!!
    absolute disgrace when people are struggling because of covid... spent hours on phone and online chat to explain why I was struggling to pay.. don't believe the bull about they are here to help... how did they help me ? they said they would enter my home with a warrant and change the meter to prepaid... and sent debt collectors round... THEY DO NOT GIVE A TOSS...... THEY ACT MORE LIKE THE GESTAPO THEN AN ENERGY COMPANY... DISGUSTING !!!!!

    By: adam bell21-10-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Dual fuel

    We joined BG in May ‘19 and the first seven months seemed fine. Around Xmas they began doubling the monthly DD without writing, or writing and confirming a lower amount. I reclaimed and paid manually to protect my mortgage payments. Battled on to correct estimated start readings. Maintained original payment schedule and initiated leaving early June with a modest credit on the accounts.

    Received three bills in mid July (after account closure) claiming I owed £154, then £194, then £249. On receipt of first bill, asked BG to prove the debt. Despite regular contact and repeated requests, it failed to do so. In Sept, BG placed 3 late markers on my credit file for the disputed debts (2 gas and 1 electricity), which has derailed an ongoing mortgage application.

    Raised a claim with ombudsman and discovered that BG had placed us on the standard (most expensive) tariff and backdated this to January, that BG had also increased the debt to £336 added an additional £28 ‘debt recovery fee’ and forwarded to a debt collection agency during investigation by the ombudsman. This is contrary to FCA sourcebook guidance. I have received no justification for the increases after account closure.

    The markers have reduced my mortgage offer by £80k-£100k and forced us to radically downscale our aspirations. Instead of looking forward to buying our dream home with our two small children we’re are struggling to raise enough to even remortgage our current home!

    Even after being forced to pay hundreds of pounds in disputed debt in full (on a without-prejudice basis) to its debt collection agency, British Gas refuses to remove the late markers. After following BGs advice to escalate to the ombudsman, BG refuses to speak to/correspond with me on the matter. I am left hundreds of pound out of pocket and essentially unmortgagable!

    Taking out a British Gas contract ranks amongst the worst decisions I’ve ever made. It’s no exaggeration to state that British Gas have ruined my family's dreams!

    COME ON, British Gas, do the right thing and remove the late markers. Don't punish my children for the dispute you have with me!

    By: Chris Bailes20-10-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Gas from Scottish Gas

    Dear all, 20/10/2020
    Please find below, an overview of my experience with Scottish Gas, which will appear truly unbelievable. Should any party be considering use of their services, please do not consider. Read my experience, and then judge for yourself. I am not one for anonymous malicious adverse communications, which would disallow the recipient the opportunity for recourse, so in this instance, I will disclose my customer account number, should this communication end up being reviewed by Scottish Gas personnel at any point in time (Gas account number 851012491314).
    My personal background. Retired, along with my wife November 2018, and moved into a new build property in Edinburgh, 26th February 2019. Single pension, and wife with severe medical condition (C). No sympathy vote required, simply additional information which exacerbated a fundamental requirement for my wife to feel financially comfortable enough to switch the heating on. This rarely occurred, out of fear of unknown accrued bill costs.
    Shortly after uptake of the property it became abundantly clear to me that Scottish Gas had the incorrect meter serial numbers etc for the property, therefore billing was stalled. This is the only element that I will give to Scottish Gas, for balance, as the serial numbers were incorrectly provided by the estate builders, initially.
    However, this is where things began to take off negatively, for an intense period of six months, where I spent many, many, many, man-hours on the telephone to Scottish Gas operatives, repeatedly providing the same sets of serial numbers and readings, to absolutely no avail. Many of these calls last hours in duration, and were to separate operatives globally. Uk, South Africa etc.
    Throughout this extended period, call centre operatives periodically escalated the problem to ‘Case Handlers’ and indeed a Complaints Resolution Manager’. All of these actions resulted in no further progress, despite my repeated provision of serial numbers, and ultimately actual photographs of the meter units, with the respective serial numbers clearly visible. In actual fact, a Scottish Gas engineer personally visited my property mid-way throughout this process, again to no avail.
    Note a sample of personalities engaged with throughout the period:
    -Crichton
    - Lona Somlata
    -Graeme (23rd May 1.5hrs duration)
    -Tamica (30th May)
    -Sarah Woodward (30th May Complaints Resolution Manager)
    -Carlene (1st July. 30 mins)
    - Gwyneth (9th July)
    - Maria Bell (New Case handler. Transferred to her due to inaction by previous handler. 6 calls to this individual over a period of time)
    At this point, and out of utter stress and frustration, I initiated a change of energy provider request from Scottish Gas to SSE (Scottish Hydro. 18th July)). This transfer was unable to complete for many weeks, as Scottish Gas had STILL not managed to transfer my meter details onto the national database.
    In continuing to engage with Scottish Gas, further calls were made to their operatives, as follows:
    - Selwayne (9th Sept. South Africa. 25 min’s)
    - Tashreeq (18th Sept)
    - Phil (23rd Sept)
    - Natasha (7th Oct. Advised Natasha at this stage that I would be unwilling to settle outstanding bills until I was compensated for severe stress and not least a massive unkown number of total man hours on the phone.
    - 16th Oct I received an exceptionally aggressive call from a male Scottish Gas operative indicating severe threats (legal etc. Forgot to record name), should I not IMMEDIATELY pay in full, my electrical bill. At this stage I paid £318.40, which I regret doing. This only served to increase my resolve to hold out for an ethical Scottish Gas response on my gas bill, which still rolls on, as follows:
    - 24th Oct raised complaint on my billing, as all bills had commenced from zero meter readings, where correct start bills meter readings had already been provided, avoiding my liability to pay costs prior to my entry into the property.
    - 6th Jan 2020 (almost a year from commencement with British Gas), is where my last communication occurred, which is the most unsettling one. Call made to Pritpal at Scottish Gas, whom indicated that due to no resolution, he would be REFERRING MY CONCERN BACK TO THE ORIGINAL CALL HANDLER. Complete ‘reset’.
    - HOWEVER, the above action did not occur, and my next communication received came directly from a company called Moorgroup (A debt handling agency), whom are now in regular chase contact with me, attempting to recover around £200 of gas billing, with I guess, the next stage being a court summons for monies due.
    Beyond the above points, if any reader is in ANY doubt at all, as to my integrity and honesty, I have saved the best for last.
    At the point of my attempted energy transfer from Scottish Gas to SSE, I simultaneously raised a formal complaint with the energy ombudsman over Scottish Gas’s utter incompetence and unethical and non-professional conduct. Once again, and for transparency, the complaint reference details are:
    Your reference: EG058120-19 Date: 15 Oct 2019
    Andy Dossett Investigating Officer (Ombudsman)

    After an extended investigation, the ombudsman found entirely in my favour against Scottish Gas, proposing that Scottish Gas award me £75 in compensation and that they write to me formally to apologise. While that, at face values appeared to be a positive resolution, I am sure that any reader of this review will find it hilarious that an award of £75 for my incalculable manhours and severe stress, would compensate me appropriately. As a complainant, you can therefore press the ‘accept outcome’ function on the on-line complaint, or decline, if you disagree with the findings. If you decline (as I did), the complaint is therefore regarded as ‘null and void’, as if it never existed, and therefore the accused party can regard the award against them as ‘non binding’.
    For those that are unaware of the ombudsman process, the complainant and accused both have visibility of the other parties exchanges (edited by the ombudsman). I therefore had sight of Scottish Gas’s statement that they would compensate me appropriately, and that they would write to me with an apology letter. This never occurred.
    Having queried the above with Moorgroup, the debt recovery service, their dialogue with Scottish Gas has restated that they regard to ombudsman’s finding as ‘non binding’, and that they have no intention of offering compensation and/or a letter of apology, as per the previous commitment.
    So:
    It is now 17 months since I attempted to use Scottish Gas’s energy services. To date events:
    - Could not set up correct billing, despite my best efforts
    - Bounced me round numerous personnel and call handlers for months (No Covid factor here to mitigate)
    - Threatened legal action against a customer who had been desperately TRYING to pay them for between 6 and 8 months, to no avail
    - Washed their hands of the problem and passed to a debt collection agency
    - Saw the energy Ombudsman award against them, and used the complainant ‘decline’ option to regard the outcome as ‘non binding’. Any substantive organisation, in this day in age would still have had the decency to write and apologise for their actions and inactions.
    - Notably, and from ALL of the Scottish Gas operatives engaged with, NOT 1 individual, at any point, asked what they could do to keep a customer, whose only apparent failure, was a desire to pay his bills over a period of many months.
    My apologies for the length of this communication. Sadly it is not over yet, for myself and my wife, as the stress continues, with what I am sure will be an impending court summons, where presumably a judge will rule on the events above, which I will present in full. I will continue to amend this post, and repost consistently throughout the year, until such time as the matter is concluded.
    And here we go again:
    23rd Sept 2020 Calls to Scottish Gas, after being ‘back referred’ from Moorgroup, the debt collection agency. Discussions with Lisa, Customer Advisor (Complaints), and then finally, Pauline, Customer Services Advisor, Collections Department. During these calls I requested that THIS communication be placed in front of a manager in responsibility for consideration. They POINT BLANK, refused to do so, and further confirmed that they had no intention of making ANY form of apology to me.
    I further indicated that unless they did so, I would be publishing this review, and republishing on a weekly basis, for a period of 18 months, more or less in line with the length of this complaint against them. So here we go. It’s a large organization, and I am only one individual, but these forums are all we have. Please AVOID these horrible human beings.
    Further response from British Gas to my formal complaint, by Hannah Jeoffrey from their complaints team on 9th Oct, indicating that they wished to engage, and that if I did not respond to them within 14 days, they would close my complaint again, as no further action required by me. I responded IMMEDIATELY, and now, (20th Oct), 11 days later, she STILL has not responded to my concerns, which, primarily required a letter of apology from them. I froze my online postings at their point of contact with me, but will, of course, start to repost updates from Tues 20th Oct, if I have not had a satisfactory response. This post will be post 3 of 72 ongoing posts.
    A truly disgusting horrible, thoughtless and unprofessional organization. Please avoid, if you possibly can.
    Best regards from Edinburgh.

    By: M Macivor20-10-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    3
    rating

    Complaint

    Terrible company I'm now switching suppliers to edf I'm sick of british gas customer service horrible rude staff over the phone I had a load of abuse coming from one advisors mouth reducing me to tears over the phone. He was unwilling to help he was aggressive rude patronising talking down to me like I was stupid and that he was shouting abuse to me over the phone it was totally uncalled for I'm classed as disabled and have mental health conditions I've got no heating for over ten days my gas fire broke the valve gone on it and yet british gas cant help and dont want to help. I'm now moving to a new supplier cant wait to not be with British gas no more. Awful company gone far to big shocking customer service. Never go with British gas they dont want to know but ok taking your money and like others said terrible obnoxious staff and advisors cant be bothered to help they dont respond either

    By: Lisa Scarrott15-10-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    homecare insurance

    absolute disgrace.
    take your money for the service plan 5 months late to get my yearly boiler service.
    I have to have to ring them up to get my yearly service.
    British Gas state to me oh yes sorry you are late for your service.
    we can book you in for this day the 16/10/2020 only for them to ring up and cancel it.
    firstly can not even get my name right on the phone call.
    they have upped my monthly payments on my boiler and extra insurance and do not supply you with a service absolute rubbish.
    I have been with them for at least 20 years and this is how they start to repay loyal customers.
    I have had new boilers every time from British gas and all insurance cover every house I have been in I have always used them.
    this is unfortunately not the first time they have tried this on cancelling and moving my service for the boiler.
    it will soon be that far along they will have a year's worth of money and no service.
    time to start to look at alternative service plans and other gas boiler fitters like boxt who are over £1000 cheaper and provide the same service and guarantees.
    very unhappy and disgruntled for the service not being provided for what I pay for.

    By: stephen ward15-10-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Gas from Scottish Gas

    Dear all, 23/09/2020
    Please find below, an overview of my experience with Scottish Gas, which will appear truly unbelievable. Should any party be considering use of their services, please do not consider. Read my experience, and then judge for yourself. I am not one for anonymous malicious adverse communications, which would disallow the recipient the opportunity for recourse, so in this instance, I will disclose my customer account number, should this communication end up being reviewed by Scottish Gas personnel at any point in time (Gas account number 851012491314).
    My personal background. Retired, along with my wife November 2018, and moved into a new build property in Edinburgh, 26th February 2019. Single pension, and wife with severe medical condition (C). No sympathy vote required, simply additional information which exacerbated a fundamental requirement for my wife to feel financially comfortable enough to switch the heating on. This rarely occurred, out of fear of unknown accrued bill costs.
    Shortly after uptake of the property it became abundantly clear to me that Scottish Gas had the incorrect meter serial numbers etc for the property, therefore billing was stalled. This is the only element that I will give to Scottish Gas, for balance, as the serial numbers were incorrectly provided by the estate builders, initially.
    However, this is where things began to take off negatively, for an intense period of six months, where I spent many, many, many, man-hours on the telephone to Scottish Gas operatives, repeatedly providing the same sets of serial numbers and readings, to absolutely no avail. Many of these calls last hours in duration, and were to separate operatives globally. Uk, South Africa etc.
    Throughout this extended period, call centre operatives periodically escalated the problem to ‘Case Handlers’ and indeed a Complaints Resolution Manager’. All of these actions resulted in no further progress, despite my repeated provision of serial numbers, and ultimately actual photographs of the meter units, with the respective serial numbers clearly visible. In actual fact, a Scottish Gas engineer personally visited my property mid-way throughout this process, again to no avail.
    Note a sample of personalities engaged with throughout the period:
    -Crichton
    - Lona Somlata
    -Graeme (23rd May 1.5hrs duration)
    -Tamica (30th May)
    -Sarah Woodward (30th May Complaints Resolution Manager)
    -Carlene (1st July. 30 mins)
    - Gwyneth (9th July)
    - Maria Bell (New Case handler. Transferred to her due to inaction by previous handler. 6 calls to this individual over a period of time)
    At this point, and out of utter stress and frustration, I initiated a change of energy provider request from Scottish Gas to SSE (Scottish Hydro. 18th July)). This transfer was unable to complete for many weeks, as Scottish Gas had STILL not managed to transfer my meter details onto the national database.
    In continuing to engage with Scottish Gas, further calls were made to their operatives, as follows:
    - Selwayne (9th Sept. South Africa. 25 min’s)
    - Tashreeq (18th Sept)
    - Phil (23rd Sept)
    - Natasha (7th Oct. Advised Natasha at this stage that I would be unwilling to settle outstanding bills until I was compensated for severe stress and not least a massive unkown number of total man hours on the phone.
    - 16th Oct I received an exceptionally aggressive call from a male Scottish Gas operative indicating severe threats (legal etc. Forgot to record name), should I not IMMEDIATELY pay in full, my electrical bill. At this stage I paid £318.40, which I regret doing. This only served to increase my resolve to hold out for an ethical Scottish Gas response on my gas bill, which still rolls on, as follows:
    - 24th Oct raised complaint on my billing, as all bills had commenced from zero meter readings, where correct start bills meter readings had already been provided, avoiding my liability to pay costs prior to my entry into the property.
    - 6th Jan 2020 (almost a year from commencement with British Gas), is where my last communication occurred, which is the most unsettling one. Call made to Pritpal at Scottish Gas, whom indicated that due to no resolution, he would be REFERRING MY CONCERN BACK TO THE ORIGINAL CALL HANDLER. Complete ‘reset’.
    - HOWEVER, the above action did not occur, and my next communication received came directly from a company called Moorgroup (A debt handling agency), whom are now in regular chase contact with me, attempting to recover around £200 of gas billing, with I guess, the next stage being a court summons for monies due.
    Beyond the above points, if any reader is in ANY doubt at all, as to my integrity and honesty, I have saved the best for last.
    At the point of my attempted energy transfer from Scottish Gas to SSE, I simultaneously raised a formal complaint with the energy ombudsman over Scottish Gas’s utter incompetence and unethical and non-professional conduct. Once again, and for transparency, the complaint reference details are:
    Your reference: EG058120-19 Date: 15 Oct 2019
    Andy Dossett Investigating Officer (Ombudsman)

    After an extended investigation, the ombudsman found entirely in my favour against Scottish Gas, proposing that Scottish Gas award me £75 in compensation and that they write to me formally to apologise. While that, at face values appeared to be a positive resolution, I am sure that any reader of this review will find it hilarious that an award of £75 for my incalculable manhours and severe stress, would compensate me appropriately. As a complainant, you can therefore press the ‘accept outcome’ function on the on-line complaint, or decline, if you disagree with the findings. If you decline (as I did), the complaint is therefore regarded as ‘null and void’, as if it never existed, and therefore the accused party can regard the award against them as ‘non binding’.
    For those that are unaware of the ombudsman process, the complainant and accused both have visibility of the other parties exchanges (edited by the ombudsman). I therefore had sight of Scottish Gas’s statement that they would compensate me appropriately, and that they would write to me with an apology letter. This never occurred.
    Having queried the above with Moorgroup, the debt recovery service, their dialogue with Scottish Gas has restated that they regard to ombudsman’s finding as ‘non binding’, and that they have no intention of offering compensation and/or a letter of apology, as per the previous commitment.
    So:
    It is now 17 months since I attempted to use Scottish Gas’s energy services. To date events:
    - Could not set up correct billing, despite my best efforts
    - Bounced me round numerous personnel and call handlers for months (No Covid factor here to mitigate)
    - Threatened legal action against a customer who had been desperately TRYING to pay them for between 6 and 8 months, to no avail
    - Washed their hands of the problem and passed to a debt collection agency
    - Saw the energy Ombudsman award against them, and used the complainant ‘decline’ option to regard the outcome as ‘non binding’. Any substantive organisation, in this day in age would still have had the decency to write and apologise for their actions and inactions.
    - Notably, and from ALL of the Scottish Gas operatives engaged with, NOT 1 individual, at any point, asked what they could do to keep a customer, whose only apparent failure, was a desire to pay his bills over a period of many months.
    My apologies for the length of this communication. Sadly it is not over yet, for myself and my wife, as the stress continues, with what I am sure will be an impending court summons, where presumably a judge will rule on the events above, which I will present in full. I will continue to amend this post, and repost consistently throughout the year, until such time as the matter is concluded.
    And here we go again:
    23rd Sept 2020 Calls to Scottish Gas, after being ‘back referred’ from Moorgroup, the debt collection agency. Discussions with Lisa, Customer Advisor (Complaints), and then finally, Pauline, Customer Services Advisor, Collections Department. During these calls I requested that THIS communication be placed in front of a manager in responsibility for consideration. They POINT BLANK, refused to do so, and further confirmed that they had no intention of making ANY form of apology to me.
    I further indicated that unless they did so, I would be publishing this review, and republishing on a weekly basis, for a period of 18 months, more or less in line with the length of this complaint against them. So here we go. It’s a large organization, and I am only one individual, but these forums are all we have. Please AVOID these horrible human beings.
    A truly disgusting horrible, thoughtless and unprofessional organization. Please avoid, if you possibly can.
    Best regards from Edinburgh.

    By: Malcolm macivor23-09-2020
    Mac30-09-2020

    30th September and still no response from Scottish Gas. Some 'hello we note your query' feedback from one of my online posts, but STILL no formal response. Conscious of Covid times now, but please all, bear in mind that the whole fiasco above occurred during pre-Covid times. Apart from the last couple of calls. Incidentally, I didnt mention that my change to SSE has been nothing but positive. They billed promptly and correctly, from DAY 1, albeit Scottish Gas held them back because they initially failed to register my meter onto the national database. Sorry, I said 'initially'. I meant throughout the bulk of my time with Scottish Gas. Anyway, this is post 2, of what will be weekly posts, until such time as Scottish Gas address their failings. Anyway, that's me off to find additional forums to post my case history. As per my text, avoid avoid avoid this supplier.

    Stephen Neave12-10-2020

    Sadly have similar experience over 16 months, with 12 million customers BGT can’t possibly cope with complaints so basically you are just cast adrift, cut me off three times after putting me on a prepayment meter without my knowledge or authority while my complaint was so obviously still unresolved, apart from avoiding this shambolic company at all costs also avoid smart meters because that means your energy supplier can remotely cut you off! I for one fail to see how a grossly incompetent company can be allowed to play god with your energy. Say you get hospitalised unexpectedly and when you return home they have remotely cut off your supply and with it th3 package treatment plant, the intruder alarm , the freezer! Beware of British Gas and all their subsidiaries.

    Lisa 15-10-2020

    Leave british gas worst company ever terrible customer service abusive unhelpful behaviour terrible attitude

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    3
    rating

    Servicing

    Keep cancelling on due date numerous times. We're nearly a year overdue! Also have to click stars for review to go through but don't deserve 1 star as they keep letting us down. They also make it very difficult to complain ie whether on line or phone! Disgraceful company

    By: Dawn Marriner 23-09-2020
    Lisa Scarrott15-10-2020

    Yes had problems with them for years customer service gone down the pan with them I'm now leaving British gas and going with edf in few weeks I would advise you to leave British gas if your unhappy with them leave them British gas dont care for customers at all

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Gas and electricity

    Absolutely ridiculous. For a company that pretty much represent England when it comes to gas and electricity. I expected way more. Customer services is appalling and disgraceful. While some have been a bit helpful others have been woefully appalling.

    Journey started 9months again when I moved into my new build. Building site already pre registered with British gas. British gas sends me numerous letter saying I owe this and I owe that. To which I called to set up a direct debit for both bills.

    2 days later I got an email to say direct debit was cancelled when I did not cancel it and bill was not even yet to be taken out. I called again. Spent almost 2 hours trying to get through. Eventually did. Spoke for few minutes. Phone hang up or they hang up and I was expecting a call back to which no one did. Called back the second day. Similar waiting hours. Set up direct debit again. Again 2 days later it was cancelled.

    At this stage I just left left the DD options and pay online. Electricity seems to have been set up (on a wrong plan) but at least I was getting billed and making a payment. Gas on the other hand was a joke. It would seems this was never set up correctly even though I was promised this is the case. Every time I tried to make a payment. It would tell me I have zero balance to pay.

    It took months of calling and after 6 and half months I was finally billed almost 400 pounds. This was Covid time and a bad timing. I called again explaining this is ridiculous and not my fault and at this stage. I had been charged late payment fee. I called explaining my case and it took almost 20 min before customer service understand what I am explained to him. Waived the fee. Opened a complaint and advised someone will get in contact with me

    Someone finally back to me from the complaints team. We agreed that he would put me on my original plan from when I moved in. Set up a DD for both accounts. Ring me back and advise the new bill amount and let me make a decision if I still want to stay or not. A month after the call. Got an email that DD was set up. And this is my bill. Also got an alert from Equifax that has and electricity added to my account. He also advised a hold will be out on my account until he calls me back for me to make a decision (this was not the case)

    I texted (he advised that I could do this) this individual that why has he gone ahead and put this in place without my go ahead to which no reply. I called customer service to which an email was sent to same individual that I had an agreement with his manager CC'ed in. Considering my frustration at this stage. I was promised a manager would call me back within 2 hours. Waited whole day. No call. I also asked if my complaints was still active to which he advised this is the case

    I called back the second day. While expressing my frustration. Customer service hang up on me even though I apologise at the beginning of the call that I might sound upset. I was expecting a call back to which I never got back. I called back and this time speaking to a nicer lady. Explained my situation again. While she was a lot nicer. I found I have to repeat my self numerous times as it would seems no attention was given to what I was saying. I asked about my complaints and she advised me this is now closed. I told her I was told otherwise the previous day.

    Anyways to cut long story short. I was advised a manager by the name Dominic will call me back again that day without failing. Again waiting whole day with no one calling me back.

    On top of that a missed payments notification has gone on my record when this is not my fault.

    Absolutely disgusting, disgraceful and British services should be ashamed.

    At the stage. I have had enough. Just wanna get this sorted and leave

    By: Kunle Okewumi19-09-2020
    donita23-09-2020

    Im with blue green energy if you would like i can compare rates and see if i can find you a cheaper deal. my number is 07762308539. Just send me a mess if you would like more info.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    Trying to change supply

    Been with British Gas for years, but due to an incident earlier this year, decided to change. Well the electric side went smoothly but the gas side has turned into a nightmare. I moved into this property 5 years ago with its prepaid meters. Did my 1st top up and noticed that they took money off the card for a debt. I phoned them and explained that I was the new tenant, the problem (I thought) was sorted and I was refunded my money. Now they claim that I now owe that money and are refusing my change of supply. I have proof of the date I moved in which also corresponds to the date that I moved out of my last property, which was British Gas.

    By: Janice Fuller18-09-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    homecare

    Bought home package . Prior year have problem with appointment. This year I have appointment cancelled by British Gas at shot notice twice( the same day , just before the time slot run out). I told them when first appointment was canceled how important the date I receive the paperwork is. I called them to make sure it will not be cancelled. They cancelled anyway. Noone takes responsibility for anything. Badly run company

    By: Victoria01-09-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2.5
    rating

    Smart meters

    I was booked in for a smart meter this morning and the engineer said you don't have your electricity with us, so l said yes l do, so he wanted a recent bill, which l gave him then he proceed to phone varies people, and the problem was they had got a slightly different address, so after 1/2hour of this l told him to leave my home so l have wasted a morning trying to sort this out, l have made a formal complaint to British gas and l might change suppliers talk about jobs worth

    By: Sylvia Brookes21-08-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    British Gas Homeware Service

    Local engineer excellent, call centre customer service poor.
    I was left without hot water and heating for over 3 weeks, and each time I called the customer service team I was treated as though it was the first call despite being advised previously that all notes were lodged and the matter was in hand. I was told the parts had arrived, nothing happened. Called again and was told parts were out of stock, and to call agin in a coupe, of days. Called again, no-one knew anything about it and parts still out of stock but the local engineer had now been asked to source them. Local engineer called me to apologise as he was still awaiting parts, he knew nothing of a request for him to source them. Called customer service again dawns told exactly the samosa before, when I told them the engineer had not been asked to source the parts I was told they would look into it and contact the engineer. After I made several calls to various suppliers I was able to source the part easily! Eventually the engineer called to say he had the part and was fixing the problem that day. Throughout this the local engineer was communicative and very helpful, a credit to his profession. The same cannot be said for the customer service centre wherever it is. Sadly they give the company a bad name and its the man on the ground doing the work for them that may suffer if customers go elsewhere.

    By: Alison 17-07-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    6.5
    rating

    Write your own review about British Gas

    Your review

    FAQ

    Is British Gas a trustworthy company?

    There are currently 45 customer review posted about British Gas. On average, they received a star-grading of 3.4/10, with 22% of the reviewers indicating that they would buy from the brand again.

    What services or products do British Gas offer?

    British Gas is mainly active in the Energy category, more specifically with Green Energy, Gas, Cheap energy.

    I have read all the reviews. What now?

    Did you get a positive impression from the reviews? If so, then you can place your order on the British Gas website with confidence. If not you can find many other brands to read about on our website!