BritainReviews

    Dobies
    Reviews, complaints and customer experiences (34)

    3.6
    18% Would buy here again!
    Ordering
    rating
    4.8
    Service
    rating
    2.8
    Pricing
    rating
    4.2
    Delivery
    rating
    2.8

    All reviews

    Read independent reviews, consumer experiences, feedback and complaints right here! Get to know the best online shops and service providers from the impressions they with people. Customers now get to decide which brands are worthy and which are not!

    Lawn mower

    Ordered lawn mower 30 days ago and still not arrived. Customer service said it would arrive in 7 days. Will not use these again.

    By: Brian Cole31-03-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    UNABLE TO PURCHASE

    Website useless and unable to obtain discounts offered. Customer service non existant as they answer NOTHING.
    AVOID USING THESE AT ANY COST ,YOU WILL JUST BE WASTING YOUR TIME

    By: Eric Locke02-02-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Tree stake kits

    Still waiting for order placed in May
    Shocking lack of customer service. I placed an order on 13th May and am still waiting for delivery. My repeated emails have got a blanket response saying that they will look into it. I can see no evidence that anyone at dobies has ever looked into my missing order. Other garden companies I had placed orders with also could not provide the products during Covid but they promptly refunded me. I have no trust in this company and I will be warning everyone I know not to place any orders with them as it seems to be a complete shambles.

    By: Alicia Gore21-09-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    3
    rating

    Tomato & Strawberry plants

    I placed an order on the 24th March for various tomato plants and strawberry plants. Strawberry plants arrived 6th May. 1 tomato plant arrived sometime towards the end of May. I have emailed them several times regarding the other tomato plants - no reply. I have since received an email saying they were unable to supply the remainder of the order and would refund the original payment method within 4 days. That was the 9th June - still no refund. Have emailed again - still no reply.
    Whilst we are under exceptional circumstances, the lack of response given the time is no excuse and totally unacceptable.

    By: Stephen Smith25-06-2020
    Bev31-07-2020

    I had the same problem but my claim was for £9 for plants that never arrived. Send an email to them, showing your order number. Diary for 7 days and forward the email onto them again, with words like I’m still waiting. I did get my refund into the card I paid them with. I will never buy from them again.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    5
    rating

    Cosmos, little pinkie, bidens beedance, and trollious

    Really nothing positive at all. Disgusted in quality and condition, the cosmos arrived tipped out of pots and bits broken but were at least living. My trollious and bidens beedance was ordered 4th April arrived one on 8th June the bidens 3 plants one totally dead and other 2 limp and yellow. Trying to bring them back, sent several emails complaining no response, including one to cancel the last 2 orders, again no response. Final plant arrived today 15th June. Weak and spindly trollious paid 8.00 for this.
    😠😠 Just opened a dispute through PayPal..
    Avoid this company..

    By: Diane15-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    15 geranium plants

    I ordered on 14th April plants arrived 1st June, emailed several times asking about delivery did not get reply. Not able to phone as numbers not in use. Plants arrived today, very poor packaging, no fragile marker. Only 8 plants in package, all very yellow and limp, majority of leaves and stems are broken. Salvaged 5 plants but not sure they will survive the night. Very disappointed in service and delivery. Have emailed to complain but due to abismal customer service I do not expect a response. Will not be using them again.

    By: Leanda01-06-2020
    andrea08-06-2020

    I also bought geraniums. Ordered 14th April, arrived 1st June, all spindly and dying. I tried phoning Dobies, no answer, tried emailing, just an auto response. There is no customer service in place. Appalling as they go on advertising and selling. As I paid through Paypal I have made a claim through their resolution service and will get a refund.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    3.5
    rating

    Bedding plants

    Weedy plants all crushed in crushed box, terrible

    By: Jim smith31-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    4
    rating

    Bedding plants

    I ordered and paid for my bedding plants on 19.4.20 and was informed they would be despatched on 18.5.20. No plants have been despatched and I have heard nothing from Dobies. Their customer services phone line is unavailable and they do not respond to emails. Happy to take your money but not deliver the goods or keep you informed. Never again!

    By: Cecilia Walker29-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    4
    rating

    grafted tomato plants, grafted cucumber plants

    I would never ever use Dobies again, they are the worst company you could ever deal with, no customer care, cannot get a reply from them, the plants are packed badly and normally dead on arrival that is if you are lucky enough to get them, lets just see what happens when i try and get my money back as i have only received two items from my order which where dead, i expect i will have to go to trading standards to get a money refund. WARNING DO NOT USE DOBIES.

    By: paul wright29-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2.5
    rating

    2xbay trees

    Absolutely nothing positive to say about Dobies. After 2 weeks no trees or communication from them; disgraceful company. Didn’t realise they had so many poor reviews. Now opened a case with PayPal so let’s see. Shocking, stay away.

    By: Syed ali29-05-2020
    paul wright29-05-2020

    I have had dealings with Dobies of Exeter they are completely useless, if you are lucky to get your plants from them, they normally arrive dead or in need of constant care, you can never ever get hold of customer care and they never never answer emails, DO NOT USE THEM,

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    4
    rating

    Plants

    Ordered start of April for delivery end of month/ start of next, and money taken. No sign of plants and no response to emails. From the reviews that I have read elsewhere, it seems as though they have been accepting orders for goods that they cannot provide. I know that things are difficult at the moment, but no other online business has been as poor as them. My advice, do not use.

    By: A customer 27-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Bedding plants

    So disappointed with the plants delivered today. The packaging had not protected the plants and the majority are broken on the stems and flattened by the tray above. You should make sure they arrive fresh and protected if you advertise online delivery. Would not use this company again

    By: JULIE WALSH27-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    5
    rating

    Salvia Firecracker and Impatiens New Guinea Florific

    Salvia plants arrived dead and the Impatiens, a separate delivery, arrived after been shaken out of their cells in transit which caused too much damage for them to survive. Emails to Dobies unanswered. What a way to treat a customer, especially one who has used them for nearly 40 years. Never again!

    By: Stephen Mellen26-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    3
    rating

    Tomatoes plants

    I waited almost 3 weeks for three pricey tomatoes plant to arrive and when I received it the plants were dead and the soil was all over the box.

    By: Mav21-05-2020
    paul wright29-05-2020

    i had the same problem with them will never buy from them again.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Tomato Plants 😟

    I have received 2 of the 6 tomato plants I ordered, they arrived in a dreadful state, thin twisted stems, yellow leaves, I am not sure they will survive. I hope the others are not in the same dreadful state when they arrive !

    By: Carol Potter18-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    4
    rating

    Several items

    I placed an order in April for 5 items. Received my second item today sat 16th may.. Paid 15.00 for this with delivery. Took 6 days to arrive all battered and basically rather pathetic. My first order arrived all tipped out the pots and broken stems.
    I emailed them a week ago to cancel my remaining orders as it is still sitting on waiting for stock since 4th April. No response, would not use them ever again. I have since found a brilliant company half or less the price and delivered 24 hrs after despatch for the same price as dobies delivery.
    Using the virus as an excuse for shoddy customer service and delivery. Personally I have had responses within a cpl days from companies I have had queries with.

    By: Diane Turton 16-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    4
    rating

    Sweet pea plants

    Please do not order from this company unless you want a lot of hassle, disappointment and aggrevation with no communication! All e mails automated. Delivery after 6 weeks had to get PayPal involved. Plants arrived in a tanggled heap, looking dishevelled and sickly. Don't know whether they will grow or not. 2 lots of plants should have been sent to 2 seperate addresses, both lots arrived at the same address. Issue still not resolved.

    By: G Short16-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Seeds

    I purchased 5 packets of seeds on 10/4/20 which arrived on 26/4/20. One packet (Leeks) was substituted for a different variety which was fine but on opening the packet there were only 13 seeds in it, there were supposed to be on average 500! I don't consider £2.99 good value for 13 seeds!
    I have emailed Dobies twice and on each occasion I have received a standard email informing me of 'unprecedented levels of emails at this challenging time'. They have not responded personally so I do not know if I am getting replacement seeds. Won't bother again.

    By: C Short06-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    5.5
    rating

    Paint

    Still waiting after 3 weeks, money taken but no goods.
    No reply to e mails. Why take orders you can't fulfil.

    By: Chris Grant05-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Begonias, Impatiens, Alstromeria

    Ordered the Begonias and Impatiens in MARCH, and the Alstromeria a little later just into April. To date I have received ZERO PLANTS. Today I received an e mail from them letting me know that I can get plants on offer!!! Galling or what!!!!!!! The begonias were to be despatched on 30th March today it is 30th April. Haven't even had the courtesy to reply to my e mails just the usual blurb which means nothing. I will never use this company again I will go now to DOBBIES!!!! I just hope I can get refund after this debacle. I know we are in rough times, we all are. If you cant stand the heat, stay out of the kitchen, greed is showing its ugly head everywhere right now. Its shameful.
    That's my honest opinion of the company I would just say, go somewhere else. They are only getting one star because I cant go any lower.
    Mrs Linda Walker, Suffolk

    By: Mrs Linda Walker30-04-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    5.5
    rating

    Write your own review about Dobies

    Your review

    FAQ

    Is Dobies a trustworthy company?

    There are currently 34 customer review posted about Dobies. On average, they received a star-grading of 3.6/10, with 18% of the reviewers indicating that they would buy from the brand again.

    What services or products do Dobies offer?

    Dobies is mainly active in the Online Shop category, more specifically with Homeware.

    I have read all the reviews. What now?

    Did you get a positive impression from the reviews? If so, then you can place your order on the Dobies website with confidence. If not you can find many other brands to read about on our website!