BritainReviews

    Reviews Fonehouse

    Are you seeking a reliable mobile phone retailer from whom to purchase a new phone or sim card? Are you hoping to find a company that can deliver this product directly to your house, so that you can select exactly what you want and have it brought to you without having to even leave your home? Then you are in luck! Fonehouse offers you the option of doing just that with their online store for phones and sim cards. Read on to learn more about this company, then check out honest customer reviews to see if their other customers have been impressed with their business and product quality.

    About Fonehouse
    Founded in 1994, Fonehouse is an online and in-store retailer of phones and sim card deals. They have been in the business of selling mobile phones since their earliest days and thus have acquired great knowledge and understanding of the production and retail of these devices. In addition to their busy online store, the brand also has 21 stores throughout the UK, where their customers can be treated to the best personalised customer service.


    Check out this Fonehouse trailer to see what this brand has to offer and see some of their customers interacting with their products. 

    Customer Service: What products are sold by this brand, how can these be found on their website and what additional services do they offer?
    The Fonehouse website is primarily split into 4 categories, within which customers can either find products or information. Firstly, the Pay Monthly category presents all phones sold by Fonehouse for which customers can purchase a monthly payment contract. Within this category, customers can filter through the available products by selecting their Manufacturer of choice, such as Apple, Samsung, LG, Nokia, Alcatel and Doro. The Sim Free category offers the same brands and presents all the available phones. The Sim Only category presents all sim deals, with information regarindg their contract length time, total minutes, texts, data and extras. These are available from networks of either EE, IQ mobile or Vodafone. Finally, the fourth category specifically features iPhones, such as the iPhone X, iPhone 8, iPhone 8 Plus, iPhone 7, iPhone 7 Plus, iPhone SE, iPhone 6S and iPhone 6, and a category specifically for IQ mobile sims. 

    Payments can be made using Visa and MasterCard. Customers can also benefit from free delivery on all products. 

    Customer Reviews: Share your knowledge with other shoppers so that they can benefit off of your wisdom, feedback and advice!
    Have you ever shopped at Fonehouse? If so, why not take a moment to share your thoughts on this customer experience with us in a customer review! This could include comments regarding the quality of their products, for example did the phone or Sim you bought last long? Or what did you think of the deals that are available, do you think that they have good value for money or are they overpriced? Did you have any particularly positive or negative interactions with the company's customer service team? If you have anything to say regarding these elements, share it all in a customer review to let us and other phone-shoppers know!

    What do Fonehouse customers really think of their stores and products? Read and write genuine customer reviews, opinions and feedback all here!

    Fonehouse
    Reviews, complaints and customer experiences (24)

    4,6
    33% Would buy here again!

    Ordering

    4,6

    Service

    4,4

    Pricing

    5,2

    Delivery

    4,4

    All reviews

    Read independant reviews, consumer experiences, feedback and complaints right here! Get to know the best shop place your (online) order. Everybody together now decides which shops are worthy and which aren't!

    FONEHOUSE ARE DISHONEST LIARS THIEVES AND CROOKS

    FONEHOUSE ARE DISHONEST LIARS THIEVES AND CROOKS.
    GIVE THIS COMPANY YOUR MONEY AT YOUR OWN RISK.THEY ARE A DISGRACE TO THE HUMAN RACE.I HOPE THEY GO BANKRUPT AND ALL DIE OF CANCER.

    By: Harry23-05-2019
    Ordering
    Service
    Pricing
    Delivery
    Would buy here again
    NO
    2

    SCAM

    Scammers contacted us via call pretending to be from Fonehouse. We agreed to have 2 x EE sims only for £10 each. Gave my bank card details over the phone. Next day received delivery of 2 x brand new Samsung notes. Asian scammers called again saying we made a wrong delivery by mistake please send phones back to our warehouse. We posted phone on address:
    60B St. Albans Road
    ILFORD
    IG3 8NN
    Same evening received call from my bank saying few attempts being made to transfer all money from my bank account to company call REMITIX Limited but bank kept declining. Scammers called again asking for another bank card details to process out Sims ordered which we refused. Contacted O2 as initial 2 x £10 payments being taken by them and 2 x direct debit being set up to my bank account. Scammers bought phones on my details and scammed us to redeliver phones to them on a address within UK. After realizing the Scam I called Fonehouse and they have confirmed this contact number 03333034554 and email address support@fonehousegroup.co.uk does not belong to them and they are inbound contact centre only means never call customer. We went to police station and reported incident to National Fraud Intelligence Bureau online via link provided by police with all details and evidences.
    Please never give your bank card details on call and if you are the victim of same scam report to national action fraud team with all details so that these scammers can be stopped. They are using an address within UK as I mentioned above. We have cancelled direct debits, informed O2 to block phones and sims and disputed advance payments.
    Still we are so devastated that want to visit the address where we posted phones but will wait for police to play their part.

    By: Hira 21-05-2019
    Ordering
    Service
    Pricing
    Delivery
    Would buy here again
    NO
    2

    Disgracefull service

    Having placed my very first order for a £139 phone, they ended up taking £556 due to card authentication failed, I contacted nationwide and they said fonehouse has to send the abort codes over to release the funds back into my account this is fonehouse error I am still waiting for my money to be release by my bank, I never even got an order number or email, there was a system problem they are a scam company.

    By: Guysie20-05-2019
    Ordering
    Service
    Pricing
    Delivery
    Would buy here again
    NO
    2

    Don't bother

    I have tried to contact this company via telephone. You have to hang on forever for someone to answer.
    For a company trying to sell phones they need to get staff to answer one.

    By: E Tierney 29-04-2019
    Ordering
    Service
    Pricing
    Delivery
    Would buy here again
    NO
    2

    Foneyhouse

    Fonehouse had a great deal on a phone and I decided to go for it. I received the phone and was happy with it, until it developed a known fault.. This is where the trouble started.. Fonehouse said I had to go to the manufacturer directly as it was just over a month since I got the handset. I pointed out the legally they were responsible, the response to which was a copy of their policies again denying me my basic consumer rights.
    I replied and informed them I would take it to trading standards and the ombudsman, then they decided to play ball.
    Then I had to post it, then wait for them to test the phone, confirm the fault then decide it was worth doing... It was dragged out over a week, in which time I had to source a temporary handset as fonehouse offer nothing to cover.

    Not only does fonehouse neglect to observe the rights of the consumer but they also have very poor customer service set up. I heard a lot of apologies and was told I would be compensated.. I wasn't.

    Avoid this company, if you have any issues their own policies are such that you shall have a battle to get even the basics any other provider would give.

    By: Timo02-02-2019
    Ordering
    Service
    Pricing
    Delivery
    Would buy here again
    NO
    5,5

    Fonehouse is an appalling company

    I selected an online contract for next day delivery on the 28th November, Cyber Monday deal for the Mate 20 Pro. Fonehouse have been useless, they provided me no updates on why there was a delay or even emailed me at all. I have had to chase them up on every step of the process.

    Firstly they said the network has declined the contract, I then contacted Vodafone to find that I was perfectly eligible for a new contract.

    Following a long back and forth over too many weeks, I was finally waiting for someone in Fonehouse to contact someone in Vodafone to set up the the contract manually, all the while over the phone being promised that I still had the contract. This was well into December (17th) at this point I had basically given up and ordered a phone from Vodafone directly (which came the next day). Knowing that I could always return it if Fonehouse came through.

    Called them up today only to find that for the past 3 weeks they have had Vodafone decline the contract with absolutely no explanation why, and they just decided not to tell me.

    TL;DR : Don't ever use this company, they put up contracts that they cannot commit to and lie to you for weeks, without giving you any update.

    By: Alex02-01-2019
    Ordering
    Service
    Pricing
    Delivery
    Would buy here again
    NO
    3

    Liars and scam artists

    Disgusting customer service ordered phone last month never turned up been promised delivery countless times all lies!

    By: Chloe Willis06-12-2018
    Ordering
    Service
    Pricing
    Delivery
    Would buy here again
    YES
    2

    Bad, really really bad!

    Please Read this review before ordering from fonehouse.
    Here’s what happened in my case:
    - i pre-ordered a huawei mate 20 pro 5 or 6 weeks ago.
    - then, i had to call them many many times to get an update on my order. (They never phoned me once and gave me an update!)
    - i was always told, the phone was going to be in stock soon!
    - after 4 weeks of waiting, i had enough and i sent an Email to cancel my order
    - then, i had a missed call and an Email from “the call centre manager”.
    - he left a voicemail and apologised and he promised to do everything “in his power” to sort it out.
    - i thought to myself, wow, here’s the first person in fonehouse who seemed to care!
    - i Emailed him back first time and no reply!
    - then i emailed him for the second time and no reply!
    - then i emailed him for the third time and no reply!!!
    - wow, i couldn’t believe this utterly poor service is actually coming from “the call centre Manager” too
    - as a result of Everthing i decided to do business with another company and say “f*** you fonehouse”

    Fonehouse, please remember:
    -Treat customers same way you want to be treated
    -Deliver what you promised
    -Customers don’t need you, you need customers!

    If after reading this review, you still wanna place an order with fonehouse, then good luck to you!

    By: A.L04-12-2018
    Ordering
    Service
    Pricing
    Delivery
    Would buy here again
    YES
    2,5

    Upgrade

    The company took £170 from my account up tilll the time I write no phone no refund . They are scam the phone number I knew them with has been changed . Please give back my money I have gone to EE I got my upgrade same day . Eunice

    By: Eunice tolufashe03-12-2018
    Ordering
    Service
    Pricing
    Delivery
    Would buy here again
    NO
    10

    Still waiting

    Cyber Monday (26th Nov 2018) came and went and I thought I'd bagged an amazing Huawei Mate 20 Pro with 100gb data, unlimited minutes and texts through Vodafone. I'm getting infrequent updates from Fonehouse saying that my credit is being reviewed by the network credit dept and I'll get a decision in two days, now it's by 7th December. I managed to get through on the phone once and was told to call back today. The call handler then told me that Fonehouse is a clearing house for ee and Vodafone contracts and is funded by them. I've tried to call several times with the call dropping after 51 seconds and today 54 seconds as I am told to hold on for an advisor. Today, after repeated attempts, the call is coming across with an engaged tone as well, or a BT voice telling me no such number exists. This can't be right, can it?

    By: SA03-12-2018
    Ordering
    Service
    Pricing
    Delivery
    Would buy here again
    NO
    2

    Very Disappointed

    Bought Phone on Black Friday Deals, received order confirmation immediately, told to wait for updates. Received update yesterday, unable to fulfil order suggestion that I failed credit check. Never failed a credit check in my life, credit file says rating HIGH. Never missed a payment, however once getting in contact, told that my rating allowed me to be pre approved for a deal over £300.00 more. Thought I had my Christmas presents sorted, now I have to start again, thanks a lot Fonehouse. If you read the reviews on this and other sites, it appears I'm not the only one.

    By: Francis02-12-2018
    Ordering
    Service
    Pricing
    Delivery
    Would buy here again
    NO
    2

    Avoid at all costs

    My Gran Ordered an iPhone XR on Black Friday deals (FN00018247), 5 days later and still no update on the order. Still says will be delivered pending successful credit check. We know you've got a lot of orders but you should be providing some customer service!

    Can't get through to number on the phone and they do not respond to emails. They ask you to log into your account to see order status, but what do they expect us to do? Stare at the same information for 5 days when it doesn't change?

    We're beginning to think this company are a scam. I'd avoid at all costs and pay a little bit more from a reputable business. Lots of people that have ordered the same deal have been declined (with outrageous reasons - see other reviews) probably because they've over-sold stock!

    I'm now stuck in a limbo not knowing whether the order will be successful or they'll cancel it because they're struggling to get stock.

    By: Mark Byrne28-11-2018
    Ordering
    Service
    Pricing
    Delivery
    Would buy here again
    NO
    2

    good service

    Only from this company I get my contract and phone delivered to my address. Very happy with item and easy service

    By: Stanislav25-11-2018
    Ordering
    Service
    Pricing
    Delivery
    Would buy here again
    YES
    10

    Non-existent phones, dreadful customer service

    Absolutely dreadful.

    I ordered a phone almost 3 weeks ago on next day delivery but I've received nothing.

    Now the company won't even respond to my emails enquiring when they expect to take stock.

    I can't even get through to their contact centre to cancel my order. Presumably their lines are jammed with other irate customers.

    They advertise phones that they don't actually have, take your personal information, and run credit checks to no purpose.

    Worst customer service I've received in a long time from ANY business.

    Avoid at all costs.

    By: Greg Brown03-10-2018
    Ordering
    Service
    Pricing
    Delivery
    Would buy here again
    NO
    3

    very happy

    very happy with fonehouse
    they solved my problems very fast and were very friendly too

    thanks!!

    By: Simon04-09-2018
    Ordering
    Service
    Pricing
    Delivery
    Would buy here again
    YES
    9,5

    Free new phone

    I dropped my phone and it stopped working. I called Fonehouse and they said my previous 24 months had ended, so I could get a new contract WITH a free new iPhone!
    Now I have a new & improved smartphone, without even having to pay extra for it! :-)

    By: Jack17-08-2018
    Ordering
    Service
    Pricing
    Delivery
    Would buy here again
    YES
    10

    Small time crooks

    Ordered mobile on 15/7/18 supposed to be next day delivery but didn't receive until 26/7/18. On recieving the handset they had false advertised stating I would get 30 GB data unlimited mins and unlimited txt. Which I didn't when I received and contacted EE to give PAC code i was told it was only 10 GB. Contacted fone house who need to learn how to speak to customers who basically called me a liar even though I have letter stating what I signed up for. I have since cancelled contract and returned handset.

    Complete joke keep away from them

    By: Maryam30-07-2018
    Ordering
    Service
    Pricing
    Delivery
    Would buy here again
    NO
    2

    all fine

    Got an iPhone X for 61 per month. All fine, instant setup and so far no extra costs.

    By: Daymond11-07-2018
    Ordering
    Service
    Pricing
    Delivery
    Would buy here again
    YES
    9,5

    Very fast service

    I placed a new order on saturday..sunday got confirmation email..monday phone delivered..what else can i expect fonehouse was very fast..just loved it..thankyou fonehouse

    By: M.s.ahmed12-06-2018
    Ordering
    Service
    Pricing
    Delivery
    Would buy here again
    YES
    10

    Not again...

    Ordered mobile contract,get conformaition and order number,was promised next day delivery.4 days after still wating.contact them to find out progress and they told me my order canceled because security team rejected my order.
    I have few mortgages in last few years and it was fine but for fonehouse I can't pass security check.Or it just excuse becouse they simple DONT HAVE THAT DEAL ANY MORE but still advertise it

    By: Sergie30-05-2018
    Ordering
    Service
    Pricing
    Delivery
    Would buy here again
    NO
    3

    Customer service don't reply to emails - ignored

    Customer service are nice but extremely poor at doing anything. They don't reply to emails or facebook. On the phone they just state they will email you? Unsure where my order is.

    By: Adam 21-05-2018
    Ordering
    Service
    Pricing
    Delivery
    Would buy here again
    NO
    2

    Excellent service

    Yes I do understand that it’s a it confusing! When I ordered for next day it didn’t come and I only recieved order confirmation email I ordered Friday I got it Monday and when I called today costumer service told me ur orderer will arrive between 12:45 and 13:45 and I was waiting and the carrier was at my house door 1 minute early so I was soo impressed am soo happy I got my phone cos the reviews made me very scared that I was scammed too but it wasn’t scam I definitely will recommend them.

    By: Ajleni16-04-2018
    Ordering
    Service
    Pricing
    Delivery
    Would buy here again
    YES
    10

    AVOID SCAM AVOID

    AVOID SCAM AVOID!!!

    My journey with this joke of a "company"....

    I used USwitch to find the best deals. I found an S8 for a good price (£30 pm Unlmtd mins/texts 8GB no upfront cost with EE).

    I ordered at 9:00am Friday, 6th April. I got a confirmation email (looks like it was written in notepad) with an order number saying that I would receive an email shortly when it had been dispatched - If I ordered before 7pm, I'd get next day delivery.

    Saturday and Sunday passed... No communication from them.

    Monday morning: I sent an email asking for an update. I then looked at reviews from other customers and my heart sank - I knew I was in for a rough ride. I called their "Customer Services" number using their 0333 number... I became even more suspicious that a "reputable company" would use this prefix number for their services. Anyway, I sat in their call queue for 45 minutes. I was at position 6 for the entire time. I gave up and left it for the day hoping I'd get a response to my email.

    Tuesday: Nothing. No communications. I used their online form to contact them. I send this twice. I decided to call them again. After another 35 minutes of waiting in the queue, I reached position 2 in the queue - the call then cut off!!! So I called again... After another 40 minutes I FINALLY GOT THROUGH. I was advised that the phone was out of stock when I ordered it, but new stock had come in Monday night. The agent PROMISED to take ownership of my order and PROMISED it would be dispatched that day. I was told I would receive confirmation in the form of an email when this had been done.

    Wednesday: NOTHING. No comms.... I HAD TO CALL AGAIN. After another lengthily wait I was advised there was an issue with the SIM card from EE - IT HAD AN ERROR when they tried to register it. I LAUGHED AND LAUGHED. After asking if they would call EE that day to resolve the issue, I was told "HOPEFULLY". After thinking about it, all phones and SIM cards are sent factory packed, I became EVEN more suspicious... Anyway, they said they would resolve the issue for me that day and get it sent out that day.

    Thursday: NOTHING. I had to call them again... I asked if it's standard procedure to not update their customers with issues with their orders - All I got was "not really" - I cancelled my order. Well, I hope it's cancelled, as it's now been 7 hours since I rang them again and I've not received confirmation that it has been cancelled!!

    I went online, got the same deal for an extra 6 p/m via mobiles.co.uk - I received confirmation that my order had been received, 20 minutes later I got another email saying that it been approved and is awaiting dispatch. My phone new phone is now on route and will be here tomorrow (Friday 13th).

    Please, save yourself the grief and effort over a few quid a month and go elsewhere. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY.

    IT'S A SCAM. I DOUBT THEY EVER HAD ANY INTENTION OF DELIVERING MY PHONE. AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    FONEHOUSE, If you'd like to reply (though, I doubt you will) my order number was : FH24546 - I WOULD LOVE AN EXPLANATION of your total incompetence.

    By: Dan12-04-2018
    Jimmy Gee01-02-2019

    If they are offering the phones with no upfront payment how are they making money ? Or is it a scam to get aĺl your details and card number ? Cos even when it it nothing upfront they still take your card details for verification, i would ring my bank if i was you.

    Ordering
    Service
    Pricing
    Delivery
    Would buy here again
    NO
    2

    Worst service I've ever received

    Seen a good deal on Tech Radar for FoneHouse. Ordered on line at the weekend and Phoned to confirm order and stock levels on the monday. After ignored emails and 5 telephone calls, they were still unable to fulfill the order, the Two day delivery is a joke and they never passed the relevant data on the order form through to Vodaphone or so they claimed. The service was at best unprofessional.

    By: Eric Gordon14-03-2018
    Ordering
    Service
    Pricing
    Delivery
    Would buy here again
    NO
    3

    Write your own review about Fonehouse

    Your review