BritainReviews

    Reviews Fonehouse

    Are you seeking a reliable mobile phone retailer from whom to purchase a new phone or sim card? Are you hoping to find a company that can deliver this product directly to your house, so that you can select exactly what you want and have it brought to you without having to even leave your home? Then you are in luck! Fonehouse offers you the option of doing just that with their online store for phones and sim cards. Read on to learn more about this company, then check out honest customer reviews to see if their other customers have been impressed with their business and product quality.

    About Fonehouse

    Founded in 1994, Fonehouse is an online and in-store retailer of phones and sim card deals. They have been in the business of selling mobile phones since their earliest days and thus have acquired great knowledge and understanding of the production and retail of these devices. In addition to their busy online store, the brand also has 21 stores throughout the UK, where its customers can be treated to the best-personalised customer service.


    Check out this Fonehouse trailer to see what this brand has to offer and see some of their customers interacting with their products.

    Customer Service: What products are sold by this brand, how can these be found on their website and what additional services do they offer?

    The Fonehouse website is primarily split into 4 categories, within which customers can either find products or information. Firstly, the Pay Monthly category presents all phones sold by Fonehouse for which customers can purchase a monthly payment contract. Within this category, customers can filter through the available products by selecting their Manufacturer of choices, such as Apple, Samsung, LG, Nokia, Alcatel and Doro. The Sim Free category offers the same brands and presents all the available phones. The Sim Only category presents all sim deals, with information regarding their contract length time, total minutes, texts, data and extras. These are available from networks of either EE, IQ mobile or Vodafone. Finally, the fourth category specifically features iPhones, such as the iPhone X, iPhone 8, iPhone 8 Plus, iPhone 7, iPhone 7 Plus, iPhone SE, iPhone 6S and iPhone 6, and a category specifically for IQ mobile sims.

    Payments can be made using Visa and MasterCard. Customers can also benefit from free delivery on all products.

    Customer Reviews: Share your knowledge with other shoppers so that they can benefit from your wisdom, feedback and advice!

    Have you ever shopped at Fonehouse? If so, why not take a moment to share your thoughts on this customer experience with us in a customer review! This could include comments regarding the quality of their products, for example, did the phone or Sim you bought last long? Or what did you think of the deals that are available, do you think that they have good value for money or are they overpriced? Did you have any particularly positive or negative interactions with the company's customer service team? If you have anything to say regarding these elements, share it all in a customer review to let us and other phone-shoppers know!

    What do Fonehouse customers really think of their stores and products? Read and write genuine reviews about Fonehouse on BritainReviews.

    Fonehouse
    Reviews, complaints and customer experiences (28)

    4,6
    32% Would buy here again!
    Ordering
    rating
    4,8
    Service
    rating
    4
    Pricing
    rating
    5,4
    Delivery
    rating
    4,4

    All reviews

    Read independant reviews, consumer experiences, feedback and complaints right here! Get to know the best shop place your (online) order. Everybody together now decides which shops are worthy and which aren't!

    I phone6 with cash back

    Cash back does not work.

    By: Richard wark 25-09-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    NO
    8
    rating

    Insurance Scam

    Fonehouse set up insurance for my phone on a new contract with them DESPITE my very clearly having chosen to have none. Took me several calls & complsints to them & the insurance company they use to get it CANCELLED.

    Today , several months later, I get a SCAM email from them " apologising " for an " Administration Error" for NOT setting up insurance & assuring me they will now set it up!!!

    Seems clear that their ' sharp' practices continue & yet again I will have to waste time cancelling insurance that was never requested.

    By: Rob Webb 05-09-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    YES
    2
    rating

    Samsung s10 plus

    Purchased a new contract and phone from this company. The phone arrived quick but had damaged to the screen. I suspect this was not new as there was no screen protector on it. It took four days to get the return address. I realised this was very odd and asked to cancel the order. Over a week later they tell phone has more damaged than I described and they wont cancel the contract and accept the return. I am now stuck with a 50 month contract, no phone and no sim. Do Not use this company they are dishonest and supplying use phones as new.

    By: Kennedy 20-08-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    NO
    4,5
    rating

    Note 9

    Ordered a note 9,then an hour before my delivery time it said gone back to fonehouse no explanation or nothing I've emailed them twice had no reply

    By: Maxine smith 11-06-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    NO
    4
    rating

    FONEHOUSE ARE DISHONEST LIARS THIEVES AND CROOKS

    FONEHOUSE ARE DISHONEST LIARS THIEVES AND CROOKS.
    GIVE THIS COMPANY YOUR MONEY AT YOUR OWN RISK.THEY ARE A DISGRACE TO THE HUMAN RACE.I HOPE THEY GO BANKRUPT AND ALL DIE OF CANCER.

    By: Harry 23-05-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    NO
    2
    rating

    SCAM

    Scammers contacted us via call pretending to be from Fonehouse. We agreed to have 2 x EE sims only for £10 each. Gave my bank card details over the phone. Next day received delivery of 2 x brand new Samsung notes. Asian scammers called again saying we made a wrong delivery by mistake please send phones back to our warehouse. We posted phone on address:
    60B St. Albans Road
    ILFORD
    IG3 8NN
    Same evening received call from my bank saying few attempts being made to transfer all money from my bank account to company call REMITIX Limited but bank kept declining. Scammers called again asking for another bank card details to process out Sims ordered which we refused. Contacted O2 as initial 2 x £10 payments being taken by them and 2 x direct debit being set up to my bank account. Scammers bought phones on my details and scammed us to redeliver phones to them on a address within UK. After realizing the Scam I called Fonehouse and they have confirmed this contact number 03333034554 and email address support@fonehousegroup.co.uk does not belong to them and they are inbound contact centre only means never call customer. We went to police station and reported incident to National Fraud Intelligence Bureau online via link provided by police with all details and evidences.
    Please never give your bank card details on call and if you are the victim of same scam report to national action fraud team with all details so that these scammers can be stopped. They are using an address within UK as I mentioned above. We have cancelled direct debits, informed O2 to block phones and sims and disputed advance payments.
    Still we are so devastated that want to visit the address where we posted phones but will wait for police to play their part.

    By: Hira 21-05-2019
    Dave 02-08-2019

    You were stupid enough to fall for a blatantly obvious scam and have decided to penalise the company the scammers were pretending to be by writing a bad review. That does not make sense to me.

    H.k 23-08-2019

    I don't get it, why would you blame fonehouse for this? Plus why send back the phones in the first place. If someone delivers a parcel with my name and address on it, then it's mine because no legit company would make that mistake. At least you should have held on to it and investigated before sending it back. Some of you can be very slow at times.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    NO
    2
    rating

    Disgracefull service

    Having placed my very first order for a £139 phone, they ended up taking £556 due to card authentication failed, I contacted nationwide and they said fonehouse has to send the abort codes over to release the funds back into my account this is fonehouse error I am still waiting for my money to be release by my bank, I never even got an order number or email, there was a system problem they are a scam company.

    By: Guysie 20-05-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    NO
    2
    rating

    Don't bother

    I have tried to contact this company via telephone. You have to hang on forever for someone to answer.
    For a company trying to sell phones they need to get staff to answer one.

    By: E Tierney 29-04-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    NO
    2
    rating

    Foneyhouse

    Fonehouse had a great deal on a phone and I decided to go for it. I received the phone and was happy with it, until it developed a known fault.. This is where the trouble started.. Fonehouse said I had to go to the manufacturer directly as it was just over a month since I got the handset. I pointed out the legally they were responsible, the response to which was a copy of their policies again denying me my basic consumer rights.
    I replied and informed them I would take it to trading standards and the ombudsman, then they decided to play ball.
    Then I had to post it, then wait for them to test the phone, confirm the fault then decide it was worth doing... It was dragged out over a week, in which time I had to source a temporary handset as fonehouse offer nothing to cover.

    Not only does fonehouse neglect to observe the rights of the consumer but they also have very poor customer service set up. I heard a lot of apologies and was told I would be compensated.. I wasn't.

    Avoid this company, if you have any issues their own policies are such that you shall have a battle to get even the basics any other provider would give.

    By: Timo 02-02-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    NO
    5,5
    rating

    Fonehouse is an appalling company

    I selected an online contract for next day delivery on the 28th November, Cyber Monday deal for the Mate 20 Pro. Fonehouse have been useless, they provided me no updates on why there was a delay or even emailed me at all. I have had to chase them up on every step of the process.

    Firstly they said the network has declined the contract, I then contacted Vodafone to find that I was perfectly eligible for a new contract.

    Following a long back and forth over too many weeks, I was finally waiting for someone in Fonehouse to contact someone in Vodafone to set up the the contract manually, all the while over the phone being promised that I still had the contract. This was well into December (17th) at this point I had basically given up and ordered a phone from Vodafone directly (which came the next day). Knowing that I could always return it if Fonehouse came through.

    Called them up today only to find that for the past 3 weeks they have had Vodafone decline the contract with absolutely no explanation why, and they just decided not to tell me.

    TL;DR : Don't ever use this company, they put up contracts that they cannot commit to and lie to you for weeks, without giving you any update.

    By: Alex 02-01-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    NO
    3
    rating

    Liars and scam artists

    Disgusting customer service ordered phone last month never turned up been promised delivery countless times all lies!

    By: Chloe Willis 06-12-2018
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    YES
    2
    rating

    Bad, really really bad!

    Please Read this review before ordering from fonehouse.
    Here’s what happened in my case:
    - i pre-ordered a huawei mate 20 pro 5 or 6 weeks ago.
    - then, i had to call them many many times to get an update on my order. (They never phoned me once and gave me an update!)
    - i was always told, the phone was going to be in stock soon!
    - after 4 weeks of waiting, i had enough and i sent an Email to cancel my order
    - then, i had a missed call and an Email from “the call centre manager”.
    - he left a voicemail and apologised and he promised to do everything “in his power” to sort it out.
    - i thought to myself, wow, here’s the first person in fonehouse who seemed to care!
    - i Emailed him back first time and no reply!
    - then i emailed him for the second time and no reply!
    - then i emailed him for the third time and no reply!!!
    - wow, i couldn’t believe this utterly poor service is actually coming from “the call centre Manager” too
    - as a result of Everthing i decided to do business with another company and say “f*** you fonehouse”

    Fonehouse, please remember:
    -Treat customers same way you want to be treated
    -Deliver what you promised
    -Customers don’t need you, you need customers!

    If after reading this review, you still wanna place an order with fonehouse, then good luck to you!

    By: A.L 04-12-2018
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    YES
    2,5
    rating

    Upgrade

    The company took £170 from my account up tilll the time I write no phone no refund . They are scam the phone number I knew them with has been changed . Please give back my money I have gone to EE I got my upgrade same day . Eunice

    By: Eunice tolufashe 03-12-2018
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    NO
    10
    rating

    Still waiting

    Cyber Monday (26th Nov 2018) came and went and I thought I'd bagged an amazing Huawei Mate 20 Pro with 100gb data, unlimited minutes and texts through Vodafone. I'm getting infrequent updates from Fonehouse saying that my credit is being reviewed by the network credit dept and I'll get a decision in two days, now it's by 7th December. I managed to get through on the phone once and was told to call back today. The call handler then told me that Fonehouse is a clearing house for ee and Vodafone contracts and is funded by them. I've tried to call several times with the call dropping after 51 seconds and today 54 seconds as I am told to hold on for an advisor. Today, after repeated attempts, the call is coming across with an engaged tone as well, or a BT voice telling me no such number exists. This can't be right, can it?

    By: SA 03-12-2018
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    NO
    2
    rating

    Very Disappointed

    Bought Phone on Black Friday Deals, received order confirmation immediately, told to wait for updates. Received update yesterday, unable to fulfil order suggestion that I failed credit check. Never failed a credit check in my life, credit file says rating HIGH. Never missed a payment, however once getting in contact, told that my rating allowed me to be pre approved for a deal over £300.00 more. Thought I had my Christmas presents sorted, now I have to start again, thanks a lot Fonehouse. If you read the reviews on this and other sites, it appears I'm not the only one.

    By: Francis 02-12-2018
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    NO
    2
    rating

    Avoid at all costs

    My Gran Ordered an iPhone XR on Black Friday deals (FN00018247), 5 days later and still no update on the order. Still says will be delivered pending successful credit check. We know you've got a lot of orders but you should be providing some customer service!

    Can't get through to number on the phone and they do not respond to emails. They ask you to log into your account to see order status, but what do they expect us to do? Stare at the same information for 5 days when it doesn't change?

    We're beginning to think this company are a scam. I'd avoid at all costs and pay a little bit more from a reputable business. Lots of people that have ordered the same deal have been declined (with outrageous reasons - see other reviews) probably because they've over-sold stock!

    I'm now stuck in a limbo not knowing whether the order will be successful or they'll cancel it because they're struggling to get stock.

    By: Mark Byrne 28-11-2018
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    NO
    2
    rating

    good service

    Only from this company I get my contract and phone delivered to my address. Very happy with item and easy service

    By: Stanislav 25-11-2018
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    YES
    10
    rating

    Non-existent phones, dreadful customer service

    Absolutely dreadful.

    I ordered a phone almost 3 weeks ago on next day delivery but I've received nothing.

    Now the company won't even respond to my emails enquiring when they expect to take stock.

    I can't even get through to their contact centre to cancel my order. Presumably their lines are jammed with other irate customers.

    They advertise phones that they don't actually have, take your personal information, and run credit checks to no purpose.

    Worst customer service I've received in a long time from ANY business.

    Avoid at all costs.

    By: Greg Brown 03-10-2018
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    NO
    3
    rating

    very happy

    very happy with fonehouse
    they solved my problems very fast and were very friendly too

    thanks!!

    By: Simon 04-09-2018
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    YES
    9,5
    rating

    Free new phone

    I dropped my phone and it stopped working. I called Fonehouse and they said my previous 24 months had ended, so I could get a new contract WITH a free new iPhone!
    Now I have a new & improved smartphone, without even having to pay extra for it! :-)

    By: Jack 17-08-2018
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    YES
    10
    rating

    Write your own review about Fonehouse

    Your review