BritainReviews

    Fonehouse
    Reviews, complaints and customer experiences (46)

    5
    39% Would buy here again!
    Ordering
    rating
    5
    Service
    rating
    4.4
    Pricing
    rating
    5.8
    Delivery
    rating
    4.6

    All reviews

    Read independent reviews, consumer experiences, feedback and complaints right here! Get to know the best online shops and service providers from the impressions they with people. Customers now get to decide which brands are worthy and which are not!

    iPhone xr

    this site is very confusing to understand. I bought this phone for 35 a month for three years... and they asked me if I had an existing number with three. I do already have a contract with three and I stated this, yet today my phone came in the post and inside was a new three contract??! I rang three to tell them I did not want this contract, so they told me I'd need to pay 600 pounds upfront due to early cancelling on a contract I did not want!

    Im a student that earns £250 a month maximum and I don't have this sort of money to fix something I didn't cause. Im extremely upset and stressed about this as you could imagine. what on earth can I do about it? I return the phone but still have to pay for this contract refund? very very heartbreaking.

    By: brooke30-01-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    4
    rating

    Samsung Galaxy S8-Plus 64gb

    I cannot understand why you didn't deliver the phone on mine address today?Why you didn't gave me information what is happening with my order?I didn't find my credit file on the street and now because of you 8 days I am without telephone... And your great fast service.Do you know how is the life in London without device?You should be shamed on you?!!! Shame on you and your service!!!!!! you are not correct to your customers !!!  you are not interested in your customers !!!
    "(Order Details:
    Samsung Galaxy S8 Plus 64GB Midnight Black
    EE
    + 30GB Data
    + Unlimited Minutes
    + Unlimited Texts
    + £204 Cashback
    + Free Delivery
    Order Status:
    (Last updated 28/12/2019 11:12:50)
    ....... .. . Information is still missing!  3 days without any information on my phone!

    By: Milen Sulev31-12-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Samsung a20

    My daughter loves her phone and switch.

    By: David29-12-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Ordered 2 new iPhone for kids Christmas

    I ordered 2 new iPhone for my kids at Christmas they took £90.00pounds out my account and said I had been accepted then the next day said I hadn't no explanation and that I would have the money refunded still waiting 3weeks later and got my kids there phones from Vodafone, I'm now going to trading standards and the ombudsman absolute scam save your money and go to a creditable company, also no one answers their phones so not wasting my time anymore let trading standards deal with it absolutely appalling company.

    By: Nadine Taylor 28-12-2019
    Razz26-04-2020

    Report to Action Fraud. I lost £1400. They are tricking customers to grab money and personal and bank details.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    3
    rating

    iphone xr

    Ordered over the phone from a nice lady called Lisa it was easy and got as good 36£ price

    By: Nell Constantine17-12-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    S10 on Three

    Good Black Friday deal

    By: Hussan15-12-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    9.5
    rating

    https://www.fonehouse.co.uk/mobile-phone-deals/apple-iphone-xr

    Ordered yesterday, arrived today. Super easy.

    By: Will Hearn10-12-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    I phone6 with cash back

    Cash back does not work.

    By: Richard wark25-09-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    8
    rating

    Insurance Scam

    Fonehouse set up insurance for my phone on a new contract with them DESPITE my very clearly having chosen to have none. Took me several calls & complsints to them & the insurance company they use to get it CANCELLED.

    Today , several months later, I get a SCAM email from them " apologising " for an " Administration Error" for NOT setting up insurance & assuring me they will now set it up!!!

    Seems clear that their ' sharp' practices continue & yet again I will have to waste time cancelling insurance that was never requested.

    By: Rob Webb05-09-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    Samsung s10 plus

    Purchased a new contract and phone from this company. The phone arrived quick but had damaged to the screen. I suspect this was not new as there was no screen protector on it. It took four days to get the return address. I realised this was very odd and asked to cancel the order. Over a week later they tell phone has more damaged than I described and they wont cancel the contract and accept the return. I am now stuck with a 50 month contract, no phone and no sim. Do Not use this company they are dishonest and supplying use phones as new.

    By: Kennedy20-08-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    4.5
    rating

    Note 9

    Ordered a note 9,then an hour before my delivery time it said gone back to fonehouse no explanation or nothing I've emailed them twice had no reply

    By: Maxine smith11-06-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    4
    rating

    SCAM

    Scammers contacted us via call pretending to be from Fonehouse. We agreed to have 2 x EE sims only for £10 each. Gave my bank card details over the phone. Next day received delivery of 2 x brand new Samsung notes. Asian scammers called again saying we made a wrong delivery by mistake please send phones back to our warehouse. We posted phone on address:
    60B St. Albans Road
    ILFORD
    IG3 8NN
    Same evening received call from my bank saying few attempts being made to transfer all money from my bank account to company call REMITIX Limited but bank kept declining. Scammers called again asking for another bank card details to process out Sims ordered which we refused. Contacted O2 as initial 2 x £10 payments being taken by them and 2 x direct debit being set up to my bank account. Scammers bought phones on my details and scammed us to redeliver phones to them on a address within UK. After realizing the Scam I called Fonehouse and they have confirmed this contact number 03333034554 and email address support@fonehousegroup.co.uk does not belong to them and they are inbound contact centre only means never call customer. We went to police station and reported incident to National Fraud Intelligence Bureau online via link provided by police with all details and evidences.
    Please never give your bank card details on call and if you are the victim of same scam report to national action fraud team with all details so that these scammers can be stopped. They are using an address within UK as I mentioned above. We have cancelled direct debits, informed O2 to block phones and sims and disputed advance payments.
    Still we are so devastated that want to visit the address where we posted phones but will wait for police to play their part.

    By: Hira 21-05-2019
    Dave02-08-2019

    You were stupid enough to fall for a blatantly obvious scam and have decided to penalise the company the scammers were pretending to be by writing a bad review. That does not make sense to me.

    H.k23-08-2019

    I don't get it, why would you blame fonehouse for this? Plus why send back the phones in the first place. If someone delivers a parcel with my name and address on it, then it's mine because no legit company would make that mistake. At least you should have held on to it and investigated before sending it back. Some of you can be very slow at times.

    Peter09-03-2020

    I think his review is very helpful. It not only outs the scammers it protects the legit company by saying it was not them.

    Razz28-04-2020

    After nearly one year, they are still operating and doing exactly the same tactics to defraud customers. I don't understand why it is taking so long for Action Fraud to take action agains them. I had the exactly the same experience, they tried to take two iPhone Pro max from EE and managed to change the delivery address in a house in Wembley, HA0 2BW. I spotted the delivery details and managed to stop the delivery and asked the delivery company to return it back to EE. Then they tried to make a money transfer through REMITIX using my bank details, Managed to stop that as well.Then they tried to make 4 money transfers worth £1400 through Moneygram. Spited it and reported to my bank and Moneygram. Now changed a new debit card with new password, etc. I have reported to Action Fraud as well. They used the same phone number and email sale@fone-house.co.uk. I also reported it to Fronhouse, but the lady was bit nervous to talk to me and didn't even ask me for my details, which made me to suspect them as well. There are so many people have written bad review about Fonehouse and their sister company Metrofone. Al they distance themselfs from this scammers, but it looks that there is a link between them. These scammers are operating since 2018 using Fonehouse and I am surprised, why Fonehouse is not taking any actions agains them yet? Probably it is call centre operating from India.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Don't bother

    I have tried to contact this company via telephone. You have to hang on forever for someone to answer.
    For a company trying to sell phones they need to get staff to answer one.

    By: E Tierney 29-04-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Foneyhouse

    Fonehouse had a great deal on a phone and I decided to go for it. I received the phone and was happy with it, until it developed a known fault.. This is where the trouble started.. Fonehouse said I had to go to the manufacturer directly as it was just over a month since I got the handset. I pointed out the legally they were responsible, the response to which was a copy of their policies again denying me my basic consumer rights.
    I replied and informed them I would take it to trading standards and the ombudsman, then they decided to play ball.
    Then I had to post it, then wait for them to test the phone, confirm the fault then decide it was worth doing... It was dragged out over a week, in which time I had to source a temporary handset as fonehouse offer nothing to cover.

    Not only does fonehouse neglect to observe the rights of the consumer but they also have very poor customer service set up. I heard a lot of apologies and was told I would be compensated.. I wasn't.

    Avoid this company, if you have any issues their own policies are such that you shall have a battle to get even the basics any other provider would give.

    By: Timo02-02-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    5.5
    rating

    Fonehouse is an appalling company

    I selected an online contract for next day delivery on the 28th November, Cyber Monday deal for the Mate 20 Pro. Fonehouse have been useless, they provided me no updates on why there was a delay or even emailed me at all. I have had to chase them up on every step of the process.

    Firstly they said the network has declined the contract, I then contacted Vodafone to find that I was perfectly eligible for a new contract.

    Following a long back and forth over too many weeks, I was finally waiting for someone in Fonehouse to contact someone in Vodafone to set up the the contract manually, all the while over the phone being promised that I still had the contract. This was well into December (17th) at this point I had basically given up and ordered a phone from Vodafone directly (which came the next day). Knowing that I could always return it if Fonehouse came through.

    Called them up today only to find that for the past 3 weeks they have had Vodafone decline the contract with absolutely no explanation why, and they just decided not to tell me.

    TL;DR : Don't ever use this company, they put up contracts that they cannot commit to and lie to you for weeks, without giving you any update.

    By: Alex02-01-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    3
    rating

    Bad, really really bad!

    Please Read this review before ordering from fonehouse.
    Here’s what happened in my case:
    - i pre-ordered a huawei mate 20 pro 5 or 6 weeks ago.
    - then, i had to call them many many times to get an update on my order. (They never phoned me once and gave me an update!)
    - i was always told, the phone was going to be in stock soon!
    - after 4 weeks of waiting, i had enough and i sent an Email to cancel my order
    - then, i had a missed call and an Email from “the call centre manager”.
    - he left a voicemail and apologised and he promised to do everything “in his power” to sort it out.
    - i thought to myself, wow, here’s the first person in fonehouse who seemed to care!
    - i Emailed him back first time and no reply!
    - then i emailed him for the second time and no reply!
    - then i emailed him for the third time and no reply!!!
    - wow, i couldn’t believe this utterly poor service is actually coming from “the call centre Manager” too
    - as a result of Everthing i decided to do business with another company and say “f*** you fonehouse”

    Fonehouse, please remember:
    -Treat customers same way you want to be treated
    -Deliver what you promised
    -Customers don’t need you, you need customers!

    If after reading this review, you still wanna place an order with fonehouse, then good luck to you!

    By: A.L04-12-2018
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2.5
    rating

    Still waiting

    Cyber Monday (26th Nov 2018) came and went and I thought I'd bagged an amazing Huawei Mate 20 Pro with 100gb data, unlimited minutes and texts through Vodafone. I'm getting infrequent updates from Fonehouse saying that my credit is being reviewed by the network credit dept and I'll get a decision in two days, now it's by 7th December. I managed to get through on the phone once and was told to call back today. The call handler then told me that Fonehouse is a clearing house for ee and Vodafone contracts and is funded by them. I've tried to call several times with the call dropping after 51 seconds and today 54 seconds as I am told to hold on for an advisor. Today, after repeated attempts, the call is coming across with an engaged tone as well, or a BT voice telling me no such number exists. This can't be right, can it?

    By: SA03-12-2018
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Very Disappointed

    Bought Phone on Black Friday Deals, received order confirmation immediately, told to wait for updates. Received update yesterday, unable to fulfil order suggestion that I failed credit check. Never failed a credit check in my life, credit file says rating HIGH. Never missed a payment, however once getting in contact, told that my rating allowed me to be pre approved for a deal over £300.00 more. Thought I had my Christmas presents sorted, now I have to start again, thanks a lot Fonehouse. If you read the reviews on this and other sites, it appears I'm not the only one.

    By: Francis02-12-2018
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Avoid at all costs

    My Gran Ordered an iPhone XR on Black Friday deals (FN00018247), 5 days later and still no update on the order. Still says will be delivered pending successful credit check. We know you've got a lot of orders but you should be providing some customer service!

    Can't get through to number on the phone and they do not respond to emails. They ask you to log into your account to see order status, but what do they expect us to do? Stare at the same information for 5 days when it doesn't change?

    We're beginning to think this company are a scam. I'd avoid at all costs and pay a little bit more from a reputable business. Lots of people that have ordered the same deal have been declined (with outrageous reasons - see other reviews) probably because they've over-sold stock!

    I'm now stuck in a limbo not knowing whether the order will be successful or they'll cancel it because they're struggling to get stock.

    By: Mark Byrne28-11-2018
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Non-existent phones, dreadful customer service

    Absolutely dreadful.

    I ordered a phone almost 3 weeks ago on next day delivery but I've received nothing.

    Now the company won't even respond to my emails enquiring when they expect to take stock.

    I can't even get through to their contact centre to cancel my order. Presumably their lines are jammed with other irate customers.

    They advertise phones that they don't actually have, take your personal information, and run credit checks to no purpose.

    Worst customer service I've received in a long time from ANY business.

    Avoid at all costs.

    By: Greg Brown03-10-2018
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    3
    rating

    Write your own review about Fonehouse

    Your review

    FAQ

    Is Fonehouse a trustworthy company?

    There are currently 46 customer review posted about Fonehouse. On average, they received a star-grading of 5/10, with 39% of the reviewers indicating that they would buy from the brand again.

    What services or products do Fonehouse offer?

    Fonehouse is mainly active in the Telecom category, more specifically with Internet & Hosting.

    I have read all the reviews. What now?

    Did you get a positive impression from the reviews? If so, then you can place your order on the Fonehouse website with confidence. If not you can find many other brands to read about on our website!