BritainReviews

    Shaw Academy
    Reviews, complaints and customer experiences (4055)

    8.6
    100% Would buy here again!
    Ordering
    rating
    8.8
    Service
    rating
    8.6
    Pricing
    rating
    8.2
    Delivery
    rating
    8.6

    All reviews

    Read independent reviews, consumer experiences, feedback and complaints right here! Get to know the best online shops and service providers from the impressions they with people. Customers now get to decide which brands are worthy and which are not!

    two certificates

    Company is a full blown scam. I have reported them for fraud and to the better business bureau. They repeatedly ignored photo evidence that I had in fact taken the test and refused to give me my certificate. Weeks went by I finally got it and it doesn't even have the correct information on it. They said they do not give refunds- which is not what they said in an article on the guardian.com concerning their fraudulent behavior during the pandemic- so they offered to make my certificate for my graphic design course free. Full blown lie. Not only did I have to pay for it but they charged me three times and even after several emails and a phone call with the most condescending and incompetent manager of all time nothing has been done or even has been promised to be done. And the certificate isn't even a real certificate. So I have been triple charged for nothing have been spoken down to by a sexist gross man and have had my time wasted.

    By: Niamh02-11-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Scammed into buying a course

    Absolute scam! They charged me for the course I didn't even choose, then claims that I opened the module with that money and I have to study it and refuses to refund me, even though I never wanted to have that course in the first place. I'm going to fight for the money they stole from me.

    By: Ugnė Bulotaitė26-10-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Free trial leading in to a headache

    This company is a total sham. I did a free trial and this was the worst thing that I had ever done. On familiarisation of the account and dashboard, there was a topic to cover and it had a one time click on this to get the content, this in which I did only to be charged twice at £49.95 within five mins of each other.

    I complained about this as it was then to incur bank charges as I could not spare money coming out of the account and was told it was none refundable. They then offered a six month plan with all courses and certifications included. This is not what I wanted and the course content was poor to say the least and very generic. I knew already in what the course was saying.

    I was even offered course work to be done for me so I still get a qualification that means nothing. Total sham.

    During lockdown I had multiple calls from Shaw, trying to up sell. I stated there service was shocking, not interested in the courses, etc. I was offered more things. This is not what I wanted. I wanted a full refund. I was then getting multiple phone calls a day where I then had to block as I said I was not interested in anything else with the company and wanted everything cancelling.

    Today, I have had further money taken out my account and I have costs coming out my account tomorrow which now will not be covered. I logged in to the account, guess what, my account is still showing as active despite stating I was not continuing.

    Another complaint gone in again, another request for a refund and have now given seven days to refund the money.

    Stay well clear, the courses hold no recognisable weight in the industry or learning. It has misleading pricing and charges payments to your account that has no fees associated with. The customer service is appalling and are more interested in up selling and getting more money from people than actually dealing with issues.

    They are fraudulently taking peoples money and do not accept that they are. Full 100% scam, through and through.

    Please do not even consider getting involved in this company. I have had disagreements with them for over six months now and this is not good enough.

    By: Christopher Brown25-10-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Excel course, Professional Data Analytics

    Courses: There are number of courses consist of several modules, but can you imagine that after you paid and completed the first module, no updates on other modules. CS keep saying they are updating the courses, months passed, I'm still stuck at module one. This is not a single course case, but in multiple courses!

    Some modules content mismatch to the course name, e.g. it has web development content under excel course.

    I have no idea what this platform is offering.

    Fee: It automatically deducted money from my credit card for a certificate which I never asked for.

    I would never recommend friends to use this unfriendly platform.

    By: Helen Lam24-10-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2.5
    rating

    Course package

    It is a scam and a very poor service!

    By: Ziedune Jeciute24-10-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    4
    rating

    Scammed into a "free" upgrade

    I signed up for a month's free trial and around two weeks ago I received a call informing me I was one of 300 people randomly selected for a free upgrade to a 12 month premium subscription trial. I double checked that the upgrade was indeed free and would not cost me anything since I did not want to pay for a premium membership and the individual from Shaw Academy confirmed this with me and asked if I was interested. I said yes and asked them to send me an email explaining everything.

    Later that day I logged into my account and saw I had been upgraded to the premium membership without having the offer explained to me in writing. I had some confusion with an invoice that indicated that I owed no money to Shaw Academy but my bank statement showed no charge so I forgot about it. Today I discovered that I have been charged £199.95 for an annual membership, despite my account status listing me as premium "in trial". Shaw Academy have taken nearly £200 from me based on an incredibly misleading informal conversation, without explaining the details of the offer in writing and despite me asking for written communication of the offer, and with my account still in trial mode.

    The subscription service is designed to be confusing. Invoices are unclear, billing information and history is a nightmare to find and it is impossible to reach them over the phone to talk about anything. They will call, email and text you incessantly throughout the day while you are working. Telling Shaw Academy you're not interested does not deter them from disturbing you while you're trying to get on with your day to day life in peace. The calls only stopped once the money was taken from my account for my "free upgrade".

    And the course content doesn't always work. I haven't been able to progress on my course because the videos don't play properly. None of the tests I've had are functional. They'll give you multiple choice quizzes that only progress once you've selected all of the answers, rather than just the correct one. The app doesn't work except for to send you frequent promotional notifications. They'll try to sneakily charge you for course materials. They send non stop emails trying to sell you diplomas and materials and subscriptions.

    I don't normally write reviews but this is an unethical, dishonest company that is sneakily and greedily making money from people who are trying to take positive steps to get them through an incredibly difficult time when everything is uncertain and we're all just trying to either improve our mental health with some new skills and hobbies or learn new things for the new normal, and the post-COVID working world.

    Shaw Academy is a dishonest, unethical organisation taking advantage of peoples' desire to better themselves.

    By: Charis C24-10-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    FRAUD!!!

    It seems people read the reviews after they have gotten scammed, rather than before. Unfortunately, I was not an exception.
    Yesterday I was charged by SA straight after I had signed up for 4 week trial, both for the allegedly 'free trial' and the course material which I did not buy.
    Due to SA refused to refund the funds, I have no choice but to report them as a fraudulent company.
    It would be best for these scammers to start their own courses as they might come in handy when looking for a new job.

    By: Olga R24-10-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    None

    Just attended one recorded session on the free trial basis and was of good quality.
    But the unprofessionalism and downright cheating of clients outweighs the positives of the company.
    Like all the reviews before me, I have too been scammed for the first time in my life and I can't believe it's in the name of education. They have taken £49.99 from my account because they say I have purchased a toolkit which am absolutely sure I haven't because I didn't click anywhere which made me obliged to purchase one. As soon as I entered my PayPal account, I was mailed 2 receipts (£0.30 and £49.99) both of which I haven't authorised. I immediately cancelled the free trial and shortly after started receiving calls from the representatives.
    I have demanded a refund by sending couple of mails but so far receiving automated messages.

    By: R Mathew23-10-2020
    R Mathew23-10-2020

    It was an error from my part to select the yes icon when I actually meant to choose the NO. I AM NEVER GOING TO PURCHASE FROM SHAW ACADEMY AGAIN.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    Free trial

    Once you use free trial DO NOT press on any materials they send you, because you will be immediately charged and will not get any refunds for them. I have read other reviews which basically confirm what this company does. They scam people. If you have done int, then just bombard them with emails and request refunds. They know what they have done and do not want to lose money on peoples expense. BE CAREFUL!

    By: oskar lukasik22-10-2020
    Tony23-10-2020

    Shaw Academy deducted money from my account which I didn't know about and they have refused to refund me. I have not used their services for 6months now and they removed money from my account. All I need is a refund

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Hobby Craft Course - Free Trial

    AVOID AT ALL COSTS - I signed up to Shaw Academy on 20th September which had a 30 day free trial expiring on October 18th. The terms and conditions stated that I would not be charged if I cancel before 18th October. I gave my credit card details as part of the course registration process – as it states that I would not be billed during my free trial and I took a screenshot of this.
    The first time, and every time you log into your account you get bombarded about the ‘buy now with one click’ which pop up everywhere and notifications to buy the resource toolkit and certificates – neither which I need (it was a hobby beginners basic knitting class). You get hammered by texts, phone calls, emails all trying to sell their products and you feel extremely overwhelmed and pressured.
    I cancelled my class on 2nd October, well within the 30 days.
    I received my credit card statement yesterday and couldn’t believe that on 20th September (the day I signed up and my course had not even begun) I was billed for £49.99.
    I contacted them via email asking for a full refund and the reply I was given was “I had purchased the Toolkit with 2 step confirmation page in my account where the amount to be charged was shown before confirming the payment. They then go on offering me more services and modules for no extra money – unbelievable!!”. I certainly did not click anything and no invoice or confirmation email or nothing to say that I had purchased such a thing appeared. Surely, everything should be transparent in this day and age and this certainly isn’t.
    I have since been having telephone conversations with their billing department who state that they cannot offer me a refund due to me clicking on the link – BUT they are unable to provide ANY evidence that I have – and as a gesture of goodwill they will delete all my credit card details so it can’t be used again!!! AND they are offering me a life time Diamond membership at no extra cost. I have declined their offer and have informed them I will be contacting everyone below as well as leaving reviews on a daily basis – please do the same. Now they are calling me to see if I am happy with the outcome and is there anything else they can do for me and to remind me that their offer is still open for a lifetime membership.
    I have therefore filled out a disputes form with my credit card who will be dealing with this and I will be in touch with Trading Standards Institute, Advertising Stands Authority and Action Fraud UK about this company as well as putting this review on every day (and other sites) until I get my refund.
    Please, please do not sign up to anything with this company – it nothing but heartache and not worth the stress.

    By: Sue Treanor21-10-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    I MADE NO PPURCHASE YET WAS CHARGED £49.99 - AVOID AT ALL COSTS

    Wish i could give 0 stars. The particular course I went on was awful, rushed and generally NOT HELPFUL. That isnt even the bad part. After initially cancelling my membership with them, I had a call off a man called Nathan M who offered me a package for 30 days for free and stated I WOULD NOT BE CHARGED. I made it crystal clear I do not want to pay for their poor service and he assured me I wouldnt be charged. I later find out I was charged £49.99. I have sent emails only to get automated responses and attempts to call only go to a number which isnt activated yet, even though they advertise it as their phone number. Fraudulent company - STAY AWAY. Try Udemy instead.

    UPDATE** After coming up a month trying to repeatedly contact Shaw Academy I am still waiting for a response. I have emailed a student manager called Gracie who has repeatedly promised to call me but she never does. This must have happened over 4 times at least now. I am no closer to any agreement/refund than I was when I first started. This is the worst company I have EVER dealt with. They dont care about our education - only our money

    By: Jack G20-10-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    "Free" trial and unwanted toolkit

    I signed up for the "free" 4 week trial and like many other victims, was immediately tricked by their many one-click purchases. I immediately complained and asked if they could give me a refund. The support agent replied that there was a "payment confirmation page" and it was clear that I would be paying so they legally can't refund me... let me make this clear, there was no confirmation of the payment, no 2 step verification, absolutely nothing that clearly states, if you press this button €39.99 will automatically be taken from your account. In addition, the support agent extended my membership without my consent!! And she activated this membership and toolkit etc. and informed me after. I DID NOT want this! So I began to look at reviews and discovered that the Shaw Academy is a huge scam! If you need help and support, join the Facebook page 'The Original Shaw Academy/Scam Academy'.

    By: Adriana17-10-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Computer science

    Scammers!!!

    By: Martynas Gecas16-10-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    4
    rating

    None

    I have terrible experience and so many of those with ShawAcademy - This company is just a fraud / scam so please never ever register any course with them. few examples - They would charge you for the kit even if you had not bought that? would keep insisting to buy certificate even if you had not completed the course, would charge you even after cancellation, there are no phone lines to contact on and only means of communication is email, which is extremely terrible. so if you want to join, please be mindful of these scams...I can not even give 1 star to them...

    By: Sheetal Jain12-10-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    trial for a drawing course

    I signed up for a trial of drawing classes at Shaw Academy and was looking forward to my first class. I wanted to try it first before committing to the course and paying for it. My first class was scheduled for Oct 7th, but somehow on Oct 5th I was charged £49.99 for a tool kit. It is for the first time in my adult life that I have managed to spend a penny short of £50 without having any idea that I am doing it.
    I have been bombarded with different notifications from the company and most likely when I was trying to close them, I was forced to press the purchase button. When I contacted the company regarding the matter, I was told that I could not get a refund for the toolkit, even though I have not used it, not even downloaded it.
    It has been the most awful feeling having been scammed in this manner.

    By: Indre Cukuraite09-10-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Fraud/Scam 4-Week Free Trial Online Course (Don't Ever Give your Credit Card Details!!!)

    II’ve been trying to get my subscription fee refunded from Shaw Academy, but they “insist” that it will not be convenient for me to do so. At least that’s the stance they are taking. Although why they are deciding what’s convenient for me is beyond me.

    I signed up for a free 4-Week Trial for an online course, on August 27, 2020, but I was still charged a premium subscription price of CAD $69.99 without my authorization on Sept 24, 2020 - still within the 4 week trial. I happened not to cancel yet as it is still within the 4-week trial period, but this fraudulent organization still went ahead and charged me. I tried to explain to them the situation via several emails, via phone calls (which you could not get through, by the way) via DMs on their official Twitter account, DMs via their official FB messenger, but no action has been done on my refund and cancellation request.

    I was hospitalized and was in surgery during the “4-week trial period”, so I didn’t get the chance to cancel it yet during the trial period. On the off-chance that I can appeal to them for compassion and understanding, I explained my situation. It fell on deaf ears. 1 thing is clear: they’re all about making money. Blatantly so.
    They first offered me 6-month free access, then a year, and finally a lifetime membership. They just don’t want to return my hard-earned money.

    That money can help me right now to buy a couple of my prescriptions. Their online training/learning will not.
    And because of their rigid rule on not giving any refund - whatever the circumstances are, it leaves a bad taste in my mouth. Learning from them now sounds awful. It highlights their ineptitude for handling issues. It points to their lack of planning. It shows how much behind they are in terms of having a working system that would cater to real people with real problems.

    Getting my refund has now become a matter of principle.

    Yes, when I signed up for my course, I knew the modules are pre recorded, that there’s just a bot who will miserably fail to answer your questions during a class, but I had hoped behind all that, there are real people who can connect and actually help their students with their issues. Apparently, that is not the case.
    Greatest lesson here is do not get your education from Shaw Academy. You will regret it.

    PS: Their customer support which they claim are available 24/7, are no longer responding to my emails, my DMs on their official Twitter page and my DMs to their FB messenger support team. Calling their support line is also very difficult, it only has an automated voice and does not recognize the student ID when you input the same, when prompted to.

    I've asked my bank to block/stop any future payments/charges coming from them and I am going to report the unauthorized charge on my card as a fraudulent transaction and will raise a unauthorized credit card charge complaint with my bank's dispute department. Hopefully this will make Shaw Academy do a responsible action on their part.

    By: Rogean03-10-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Free online course

    My money stolen
    Exactly 49.99 £

    By: Anna E Mieszkalska03-10-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    4 week free trial English language course

    Hello,

    I would like to describe some ways of acting of Shaw Academy based on my experience since 3 Sep 2020, and to prevent the people falling victims of fraud.
    I could document the written by me with print-screen, emails, bank records.

    I created an account in Shaw Academy and subscribed for a 4 weeks free trial English course on 2 Sep 2020.
    The same day I unsubscribed and canceled my membership, received a mail from them about how they are upset that I leave, but already on 3 Sep 2020 I was charged 66.99 USD without using no one lesson or material.

    I asked about refund and deactivation of my membership.
    They refused the refund and offered a 6-months free course instead.
    I agreed, thinking this is I that have done something wrong,
    I was assured there will be no other payments and I was promised videos instead to enter the classroom.
    Trying to find out these videos, I by mistake clicked on a window about a toolkit. I was immediately charged 39.99 USD.

    There is a big risk to click on popping-up windows (this is very probable if your screen is small and the computer slow, and also because the site is not understandably designed) and to purchase unwanted services immediately, by 1 or 2 clicks of the mouse.
    There is no warning or back options.

    So 1-2 clicks are enough to buy something, but around 20 steps are needed to deactivate your membership.
    You can't even do this yourself like in the normal sites. You have to write them, they have a relevant team for this task and the full removing of the personal data will take a couple of weeks.
    I will never be sure whether they have removed or not all my personal data.

    They usually have standard answers for anything and are always sorry for the financial inconveniences, but at the same time they continue to charge the users for unwanted things.

    I asked them to cite where in their unique rules it is written that the sum for the 4 weeks free trial has to be deducted from your bank account from the beginning, as in my case, but I did not receive an answer.
    And why the so-called toolkit during this period is remunerated. According the description in their site the toolkit is a record of the lessons you attended. I attended no lesson.

    Since 3 Sep 2020 I have 38 mails from them, from different persons, always with new proposals, offering you "for free" services you have never meant to participate in. And they are never able to refund you.

    I have not counted the telephone calls, many times per day, and not stopping though I was not responding. I am afraid that in case of answering them, I could be again charged for something.

    And I could not find telephones for connection in their site, neither below the names of the persons sending the mails.

    I have not experienced nothing similar in other educational or social sites.

    It is especially not honest that the fraud is disguised under the name of "education", and hits people trying to progress or survive by acquiring new skills and knowledge, not by scam and stealing.

    I can't rate the level of their courses, but I supposed the diplomas and certificates from Shaw academy will be of suspicious value.

    Do not join Shaw Academy!

    By: Emiliya Stancheva01-10-2020
    Emiliya Stancheva02-10-2020

    Sorry about a mistake I noticed in my review - the "free trial" costed 69.99 USD, not 66.99 USd

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Media Design

    Its a scam. They offer free courses, but charge you in secret for services.
    They stole 100 Euros of me and other people.

    Don't give away any Bankdetails or order stuff there.

    Free courses will cost you.

    By: Charles Simeth01-10-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Digital Marketing course - DO NOT RECOMEND TO SIGN UP

    I completed the course in July, paying for all the materials and everything I was provided with. Terminated my subscription in July 2020. For some reason, on 27th September 2020, I was charged the subscription fee of £24.99 GBP again. The customer support does not get back to me. I feel deceived. Do not recommend.

    By: Victoria Sokolova 01-10-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Write your own review about Shaw Academy

    Your review

    FAQ

    Is Shaw Academy a trustworthy company?

    There are currently 4055 customer review posted about Shaw Academy. On average, they received a star-grading of 8.6/10, with 100% of the reviewers indicating that they would buy from the brand again.

    What services or products do Shaw Academy offer?

    Shaw Academy is mainly active in the General category, more specifically with Education.

    I have read all the reviews. What now?

    Did you get a positive impression from the reviews? If so, then you can place your order on the Shaw Academy website with confidence. If not you can find many other brands to read about on our website!