BritainReviews

    Shaw Academy
    Reviews, complaints and customer experiences (4055)

    8.6
    100% Would buy here again!
    Ordering
    rating
    8.8
    Service
    rating
    8.6
    Pricing
    rating
    8.2
    Delivery
    rating
    8.6

    All reviews

    Read independent reviews, consumer experiences, feedback and complaints right here! Get to know the best online shops and service providers from the impressions they with people. Customers now get to decide which brands are worthy and which are not!

    Digital Marketing course - DO NOT RECOMEND TO SIGN UP

    I completed the course in July, paying for all the materials and everything I was provided with. Terminated my subscription in July 2020. For some reason, on 27th September 2020, I was charged the subscription fee of £24.99 GBP again. The customer support does not get back to me. I feel deceived. Do not recommend.

    By: Victoria Sokolova 01-10-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Shaw Academy course

    Do not, I repeat DO NOT try this company. This company charged me 84,98€. I tried to contacted them, but "support team" was unhelpful. Tried to contact PayPal - they could not do anything. Contacted my bank, hope they will help me.
    Also, they block people on facebook, who shares their stories, and deletes their comments. Nothing else but a fraud scam...

    By: Gabija30-09-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Unwanted Toolkit

    I created an account in this school only for free trial period. I only would like to check if their courses are appropriate for me or not?
    I started to receive a lot of annoying emails, messages, notifications, banners!
    I only would like to remove one of this banners from my phone screen but in result I have found that I “bought something” for £49.99!!! It’s ridiculous! I didn’t want any purchase! I didn’t download anything and will not do it! I tried to communicate with the support team.. but SURE they refused to return my money back!!

    By: Tatiana23-09-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    4 weeks free trial on shaw academy

    Shaw Academy is a SCAM
    My experience with Shaw Academy began with me activating the 4 weeks free trial. All good until I searched the facebook group named Shaw Academy Student Hub and I found this group Shaw Academy Scam where, thankfully, I found out that this company has charged a lot of people without their consent. I imediately sent an email and asked them to delete my account. In two days, they assured me that my account was deleted. I deactivated my free trial and after their email saying my account has been deleted, I tried to login and I found out that my account was succesfully deleted. All good, again, until I received 3 emails noticing me that they tried to charge me with 49.99 $. Thank God I blocked my credit card after I found the Shaw Academy Scam group on facebook. DON'T TRUST SHAW ACADEMY!! IT IS NOT OK TO CHARGE PEOPLE WITHOUT THEIR CONSENT!!!

    By: Ana22-09-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Courses? or just instrusiveness

    It's a scam!

    I signed up for a free trial and I cancelled it after the first hour. The website wasn't working for me, and I started receiving so many intrusive robot calls and messages I had to block 2 phone numbers.
    I then was called by a lady giving me another free trial and I explicitly asked if I need to cancel it so I do not get charged (I asked 3 times because I thought she didn't understand what I was referring to) and she said NO (3 times). After 1 month (in which if have not used the platform at all) I was charged £47 - an unauthorised payment which they refuse to send back.

    I don't need their courses, really. I hate being scammed.

    There are so many other friendly places out there to learn from - this is just a fraud.

    By: Ruxandra Calin22-09-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Art course

    This is a scam. I was scammed out of £49.99 for course materials which I didn’t buy. There are thousands of similar complaints. Do not sign up to this company, they are under investigation and rightly so. I can’t give zero stars on this site, only two minimum for some reason?

    By: Kathryn Jefford22-09-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    4
    rating

    Convenient at first, but think twice.
    I came across this advert about Shaw Academy quite a few times about a month ago and was fascinated with their free trial course. At first I did not want to try it as I thought I would not have enough time since I had a full time job, but they said that you could have as little as 2 hours in a week to start your course and it was so convenient so I did. Although it was a free trial, they still asked for a payment scheme before you could finish your registration so I had to leave my card number prior to signing up. After a day or two, I received emails reminding me of my upcoming class which at first, I thought was great. However, I have been bombarded by lots of calls thereafter, not just during the day but also in the middle of the night as they were reminding their students of their classes. It was just a nuissance as I also have my full time work and having a call in the wee hours of the night was just totally annoying! I then decided to cancel my course as they were not really respectful on that part. In addition, I was surprised to see my account being charged of £49.99 after roughly three days. When asked about it, they said I purchased a toolkit but it was a pop up from their app and it did not clearly state that I had to pay it but more of you need to get it prior to starting your class. So then I immediately tried to cancel my membership and just as I thought I have cancelled it, after 1 month, I checked my account and I was charged again of the monthly subscription fee! It's as if they were playing on you and just getting your money without you knowing it. I went and checked my account with them and my membership status was put to 'active' and since they have my card number, there you go. When I tried to cancel my membership for the second time, they want their members to call a certain number for them to verify the reason for cancelling their membership. My point is, why would they even verify it? Do we need a go signal from Shaw Academy on when we can cancel our subscription or it's just their way of locking the people to their subsciption so they could continuously charge them without them knowing it. Honestly, it's just so rude. Even bigger companies would let their customers cancel anytime without further verifications.

    I cannot believe that during this time of pandemic, when a lot of people are forced to be home or even forced to stop working, there are still some who would take advantage of this situation. I am extremely disappointed with Shaw Academy. I do hope to get my refund soon and that it would not be as complicated as it is with them. I believe there are better online educators than this one so if you are contemplating about signing up with them, I strongly not recommend them.

    By: RT19-09-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Photo package

    TERRIBLE COMPANY. STEAL MONEY. NO CONTACT. DO NOT USE

    By: Martin19-09-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Free membership

    Unless you enjoy constant calls, voicemails, texts and emails, dont even bother signing up to this site. Their way of keeping you studying is so irritating I cancelled my membership before I'd even taken a lesson.
    They're constantly trying to upsell you rubbish like certificates, which aren't worth the paper they're printed on, let alone 50 quid.

    By: Rebecca16-09-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    3 month plan

    Huge scam! Stay out because they'll do whatever it takes to get your money. It's sad because the courses actually seemed good and legit but don't let that fool you. They're bunch of frauds and need to be taken down.

    By: Niilo Ventelä 16-09-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Mindfulness course

    If I could give 0 stars I would.
    I signed up for a FREE trial to complete a course with Shaw Academy. It works like any other subscription where I logged into paypal, with the intention of cancelling the subscription prior to the end of the free trial.

    Once I entered the website there were multiple pop ups associated with the course and in particular a link asking if I would like the course content download, I agreed to this and it automatically billed me £49.99, i frantically tried to close the window to stop this happening as I did not wish to pay for anything relating to this course.

    Soon after I contacted the company who stated I had bought this "digital download" of a toolkit via a "two step confirmation page" there was not two steps at all or I wouldnt have moved past the first. They proceeded to offer me a load of incentives that I do not want, I explained that I had immediately cancelled my subscription and deleted the app only to be incessantly bombarded with emails today regarding the course.

    I have written back advising that if I had purchased a book in a shop, I would be entitled to a refund so why is this any different and that their response is unacceptable and again I have demanded a refund.

    The tripe they have spouted about it being a digital download is absolute rubbish, i own a kindle and amazon are more than helpful in these situations!

    On top of all of this, it has actually put me in debt via paypal credit as it did not come from my bank account!

    They are absolute con artists and I would advise anyone considering them to avoid at all costs, and if you want to upskill.. a book from amazon is much safer!

    By: aimee wakenshaw12-09-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Given a start date and number of months, work out end date P

    Forgot to cancel my 1st free month then they charged me the monthly rate. I immediately called to cancel at which point an agent offered me a free course . When I reluctant ly went to landing page and clicked on the course ...they charged me 49.99...I immediately contacted them saying that the agent had offered me a free course....to which they responded with terms and conditions that I had clicked on the page and my money is due. Fortunately I paid with PayPal and am in dispute with them now....

    By: Dean08-09-2020
    Dean Jeena08-09-2020

    Stay miles away

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    Free trial

    IT'S A SCAM
    I Subscribed for the free trial and after one hour they took 49.99 pounds from my bank account for a tool kit that "I" purchased with one click purchase. They declined to refund me the money and they offered me free services that I don't asked or need.
    I raised a dispute through my bank and I was refunded my money of 49.99 pounds.

    By: Violeta 06-09-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    No purchase made

    Horrible experience! SHAW ACDEMY IS A SCAM. They stole money from my account during my free trial period and refuse to correct the mistake that they made. I want the world to know about Shaw Academy’s unethical business strategy. SCAM SACM SCAM. Do NOT sign up!

    By: Larrissa Oviawe03-09-2020
    Violeta06-09-2020

    Dear Larissa I raised a dispute through my bank and I got a refund . Make a fraud complain to your bank.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Unwanted Toolkit

    THIS IS A MALICIOUS AND DECEIVING COMPANY!

    I enrolled on the free trial and after taking a few classes I accidentally clicked on abutton that is strategically positioned right next to the button you constantly have to click on to manage your classes. Not only it is a purchase button, you purchase things without confirmation. They imediatly charge you and it doensn't matter how hard you try... they'll never refund you.

    This places is a money pit that has taken money from many people. But sadly I only read the other reviews after I had my issues with them. If you are planning on enrolling... DON'T!!!

    You can find better classes that are actually free and better recorded on youtube. Plus, on youtube, you can watch them whenever you want. You don't need to schedule classes.

    TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE!!!!

    By: Camilla03-09-2020
    Violeta06-09-2020

    Dear Camilla I raised a dispute through my bank and I was refunded my money.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    'Free' Four Week Trial - cost £49.98 without warning

    Basically built for theft.
    Signed up for free trial, the UX of sign up tricks you into clicking a button and suddenly, you've sent £49.99 without knowing it.

    Getting the money back is a joke. There's a Facebook group with over 4, 000 people in it who've all had a bad experience with the Shaw Academy. I have politely asked for a refund, several emails later and they are refusing to refund the money, despite the first evidence that I've not engaged with any of the learning material. I'm now seeking advice from the Advertising Standards Authority and Citizens Advice Bureau. Having lost my income due to Covid I was sobbing to widen my skills as part of job search. Now, this is using up time, hasn't improved my skills and left me £50 short on what's prompted as 'free'.

    AVOID AT ALL COSTS.

    By: Helen Forsyth02-09-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Online painting course

    Extremely misleading! Do not use...they will take money from your account without warning you that downloading your course materials will cost you greatly! Avoid the free trial as it certainly isn't free!

    By: Louise Donnelly30-08-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Nutrition Course

    I am very unhappy with Shaw Academy as I cancelled this course but they continued to take money from my account despite the fact that one of their customer service agents confirmed that they had cancelled by the standing order and promised that I would not have any further payments debited from my account. Well the next month a second payment of £49.99 was debited from account, and despite numerous emails their customer service were not responding to my queries!... another month past and a further £49.99 was debited from my account!.. I was furious and equally frustrated!!!.... I had been asked for proof of payments which I sent to them via email. It was a different person dealing with it each time!!, I was becoming very irate at this point as I had a total of £149.97 taken from my account!!. Early on during the pandemic there was no one available on the phones so it was only possible to submit a query online and as I say it took weeks to get a response. When someone finally came back to me I was told that I could not have a refund!!, despite the fact that I had been told that the standing order would be cancelled but the money was still debited from my account unlawfully!!!

    I was offered a years access to their courses, toolbox and in addition to this I would not have to pay for the certificate, but I said that I did not want this. I basically just wanted my back, as I had been Furloughed and obviously my salary had been decreased.
    E
    This was denied and I'm really annoyed with this company.

    DO NOT GIVE THEM YOUR CARD DETAILS, THEY WILL HAPPILY TAKE YOUR MONEY. YOU WILL FIND IT EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO GET YOUR MONEY - INFACT THEY WILL NOT GIVE YOU YOUR MONEY BACK!!!!

    Very Disgruntled customer.

    By: S.Stoddart28-08-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    Photography course which I thought was cancelled

    I'm absolutely disgusted! I signed up for a one off photography course and have been charged £49.99 a month for random crap courses I never picked since signing up in March. Do not give ANY payment details.
    Absolutely disgusting, when people are already struggling for money due to a pandemic, this ‘Academy' steals money from people all over the internet. Unbelievable… Im going to start writing my bad reviews now on every other website and continue to do so until i receive at least half of my money back, which I am sure I won't Companies like this make me sick, some person at the top is making a lot of money from scamming people and doesnt care about others, their minions have to suffer the consequences and deal with all the angry customers, I wouldn't want to be working for such an unethical company at all..
    To Unsubscribe takes forever and when you finally get to listen to the ridiculous automated voice recording you have to listen to the same spiel over and over about giving up on yourself! I hope this company goes bust and soon! You need to reach the end of the unsubsribe to get your code and then dial the number.. Its more frustrating than anything, listening to that woman's boring voice telling you ur a loser.. At least Im not a thief

    By: Sophia Edwards26-08-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Education membership

    I joined Shaw Academy on their assurance that I could cancel my £49.99 subscription/membership and receive a full refund if I wanted to cancel within the first 4 weeks by emailing their billing service as instructed. After I decided not to continue I cancelled my subscription/membership after 3 weeks. I received no confirmation of this cancellation and was then charged a further £49.99.
Their customer contact number was not recognised and there was no point of contact.
On reading other review sites I realised what a scam is being carried out and I would strongly advise against using this company. BE AWARE!

    By: Aliza Caro25-08-2020
    Aliza Caro25-08-2020

    Forgot to mention that this is one of the few sites that give such a glowing report for Shaw Academy. There wouldn't be a link to Shaw Academy and all the responders would there?

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Write your own review about Shaw Academy

    Your review

    FAQ

    Is Shaw Academy a trustworthy company?

    There are currently 4055 customer review posted about Shaw Academy. On average, they received a star-grading of 8.6/10, with 100% of the reviewers indicating that they would buy from the brand again.

    What services or products do Shaw Academy offer?

    Shaw Academy is mainly active in the General category, more specifically with Education.

    I have read all the reviews. What now?

    Did you get a positive impression from the reviews? If so, then you can place your order on the Shaw Academy website with confidence. If not you can find many other brands to read about on our website!