BritainReviews

    Shaw Academy
    Reviews, complaints and customer experiences (4055)

    8.6
    100% Would buy here again!
    Ordering
    rating
    8.8
    Service
    rating
    8.6
    Pricing
    rating
    8.2
    Delivery
    rating
    8.6

    All reviews

    Read independent reviews, consumer experiences, feedback and complaints right here! Get to know the best online shops and service providers from the impressions they with people. Customers now get to decide which brands are worthy and which are not!

    Financial Trading and Investing

    2 classes in and enjoying it. Lots of great information.

    By: Gabriel P Iglesias27-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Graphic design

    Well is a bit early to give a full review but from first experience so far ok, easy to follow and put me to ease when lecturer was making a mistake. Would have thought,as recorded you would edit it out.

    See how I go from here.

    By: Daniel Hull26-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    7.5
    rating

    photography 1 Diploma

    I didn't know about Shaw Academic, until I saw an ad on my Facebook page and I did a little research on it. Right after that, I signed up for a photographer course. I can tell you, I am really impressed. I like how they delivered the materials, easy and simple. You have notes available for you to go ahead of time to study and take your assessments and the final exam. I can say that on a scale 1 to 10, I will give it 8. The only thing I don't like about Shaw Academy is that, they make you pay separately for anything you want to add, or purchase for the class, why not give a total amount for the course and people would know how much they to pay to get the diploma on whatever skills they trying to get.

    By: Wide Fleurantus26-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    8.5
    rating

    Toolkit

    I'm really impressed. With constant practice on what I'm learning, I will surely get there. Honestly it's an interesting training. Kudos to shaw academy.

    By: Bosede Sowemimo 26-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    6.5
    rating

    Digital Marketing

    The information in this second lesson is hon point and adequate. But I experienced problems throughout the last twenty minutes of the lesson. Where I was not getting access. The problem could have been caused by internet interuptions.

    By: Jenny Gobin26-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    7.5
    rating

    Graphic Design Course

    The online classes are great! They cover a lot of in-depth material. The service, I'm not so sure. Not very timely customer service. Sent an email 2 days ago about my account, still waiting on reply.

    By: Alicia Phillips26-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    7.5
    rating

    Graphic Design Course

    I've just started this course, but so far it is excellent and very interesting. I've been wanting to advance in my career field, and this course from Shaw Academy will certainly help. It is presented very well. I look forward to completing it.

    By: David Schutz26-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    9.5
    rating

    Graphic Design Course

    I've only had one lesson so far, but I did enjoy the lesson. It was clear and easy to follow, being able to interact during the class is also helpful.

    I am on a free trial and the one thing I don't like about it is in order to access the class notes and presentation slides, you have to pay for it. (That is probably just to get people to sign up for the full course though.) I hope that once the free trial ends, all future class notes would be included in the cost of the monthly membership fee.

    By: Janessa26-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    8
    rating

    Project Management

    This course is almost impossiileb to follow as the presenter speaks too fast. Also the amount of reminders and prompts to purchase study notes etc are almost harassment

    By: Teresa Maher26-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    4.5
    rating

    Trail Diploma Courses

    I think it is superb that Shaw Academy as joined the fold with other institutions in offering courses during the pandemic. Just started the 4weeks trail diploma courses in in Leadership, Training and Investment and Project Management.

    By: Janet Johnson-Hutton26-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    8.5
    rating

    Variety of Courses

    I started with a free trial with the first modal of Graphic Design. They make it simple to understand and got me excited to keep working on Graphic Design in my free time. I was sad when they had priced options for more content, but felt like I was learning a good amount without them, so I didn't purchase them. I talked with their staff a few times, and they are very helpful. Their email system and attendance system seems to be a little off, though, which does bother me. They email (and sometimes call) with reminders about the class, but send the reminders out at the wrong time (for example, I had a class that started at 6, and got an email at 6:15 saying that the class had just started, and a call at 6:30 saying that the class started in 40 minutes). I also didn't like how I got a call during both of the class sessions that I had. I want to focus on the class, but the company that put them out were the ones calling and distracting me. I have also gotten emails letting me know that I was late or had missed a class on days that I had shown up on time, and no emails on days I hadn't, making it feel like their attendance tracking is somehow off.
    I love the classes themselves, and have signed up for a variety of them. I am glad that they have recordings available after the fact, because I sometimes forget the little details that are shown in the on-the-fly examples. I have also been enjoying some of the on-demand classes, though some of the teachers talk slow and there is not always an option to speed up the video playback.

    By: Natasha Collins26-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    8
    rating

    Web development

    So far so good I just started my course here with Shaw Academy on Web Development. Yeah at a time like this having a course to improve individuals on different levels is super cool.

    Though the courses seem to be recorded and all,it was interesting. I enrolled for the 4weeks free course on Web development and the only problem I have had so far is getting to understand the toolkits and all. I really haven't understood if the payments are supposed to be made per module to get the toolkits or it's a one off payment for the toolkits of the entire 4 modules or something. But thus far,I was able to pick up a lot from my first class. Looking forward to learning more

    By: ORI BLESSING26-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    7.5
    rating

    Photography

    I am currently on a 4 week free trial with Shaw Academy.

    At first, I thought it was a wonderful offer to allow new students during this difficult time the opportunity to learn new skills and/or improve on previous learned skills. Signing up for the class was also simple, but that sadly has been the only thing.

    Immediately I was taken to page where they recommend you paying for each separate module's "bonus" materials and certificates (each priced at $39.99).

    Then, I started getting bombarded by Shaw Academy via text message, email and phone calls reminding me about this or asking me about that. For example, simply to write this review alone, I have been begged by the academy 8 different times already and today, I only completed my first session!

    The course itself I have found extremely difficult to listen to due to the instructor's pre-recording sounding like a computer, and get distracted by his accent.

    Overall, this has been a very frustrating experience and I will not be continuing with my subscription after the trial is over.

    By: Michelle 26-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    7
    rating

    Professional Diploma in Photography

    I had a wonderful experience attending classes at Shaw Academy! The classes and course materials are very informative as well as affordable. I didn't think I'd be able to continue my education while paying off previous student loans, but Shaw Academy has made that possible for me! I have completed the photography course and I have now started the marketing program. I've already had my first class and I enjoyed it so much! I can't wait to complete this course so I can begin another one!

    By: Melissa Tignor26-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Photography

    This product is amazing! I learned tons of new things about photography just in my first week of the class. Excited where the next class teaches me.

    By: Joy Rodarte26-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Free Course on Financial Trading and Investment

    I am currently taking two free courses in Shaw Academy. It is my first time to take online course and I choose Shaw Academy because of its free offer. I appreciate the reminders sent to me before the start of my classes but there are instances that there seems to be a mixed up in my schedule that I have to re-schedule most of my class. I also received reminders that I missed a class when I have actually attended it, just like today I received another email reminding me that I missed my class when in fact I have just finished it.
    For my first module, I attended the first lesson then to my surprise I already missed all the other lessons but it is still good since I can watch again the recorded video which I appreciate more since I can pause and go back for me to better understand and take down notes.
    I always see the offer to purchase the free toolkit which I am considering to purchase but if it will be given free this is a real bonus for me.
    Today, I was not able to follow the lecture, the lecturer was speaking so fast and I am not sure if it is the time schedule that I felt sleepy, the first time since I was taking the other classes.
    I have to catch up by watching the recorded classes.
    There are many courses offered and if I am able to apply the learning I get then I can recommend Shaw Academy to my other family members.
    Thank you for giving me this opportunity to learn a new skill for free.

    By: Rosemarie Padilla26-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    7.5
    rating

    Diploma in Graphic design

    I'm really amazed at the excellence and simplicity with which Shaw academy operates! It's simply commendable!

    By: Akogun Zainab 26-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Unfair commercial practice

    It is true, Shaw academy is rewarding their students with "free" toolkits for reviews. I left a review on britainreviews.co.uk - not a very positive one, in exchange of a free toolkit for Module 1 of a course I am taking there. The thing is that, even if I filled a complaint to Shaw Academy, I didn't received the toolkit. They wrote to me: "I have enabled toolkit for module 1 on our account for free.
    You can access the toolkit resources under the "Resources" tab on your course page in PDF format through your student login area using a web browser." - I didn't find anything there but a pop-up window came saying Toolkit - One click purchase, I thought I have to confirm receiving the toolkit, so I clicked (big mistake) and my PayPal account got charged... and of course, in their T&C, no refunds are paid!!! Wonderful, right?
    They are a scam, they have an unfair commercial practice.
    There you don't pay for the course, you pay for the membership, so as long as you stay the more money they can get. The courses are recordings of 30 minutes and you can have 2 lessons/week... You pay for the toolkit (one toolkit per module!!!), for the certificate.
    So, for the course I am taking - New Leadership & Management we have:
    Module 1: 10 lessons
    Module 2 - 4: you cannot see how many lessons or which are the concepts to be learned.
    Subscription is 49.99/month, so let's assume each module has 10 lessons, 40 lessons in total, 2 lessons per week means 20 weeks, 5 months!!!
    249.95 EUR - only the course.
    Then, the toolkit, one for each module, 39.99x4=159.96 EUR.
    Then, the eCertificate for each module (wow): again, 39.99x4=159.96 EUR.
    So, 569.87 EUR in total for what? You can find real courses from real universities on other websites, for the same or less money!

    By: Ruxandra Andreea Dragan26-06-2020
    Joanna26-06-2020

    Under the Regulations, a commercial practice is 'unfair' if: it falls below the professional diligence standards that a trader in that industry would be expected to exercise towards you as a customer; and it affects, or is likely to affect, your ability to make an informed decision about whether to purchase a particular product. A commercial practice will also be unfair if it constitutes a misleading action. For example, if: you are told something false and the description is therefore untruthful in relation to the main characteristics of a product or if its overall presentation deceives you even if the information is factually correct; and it causes you to take a transactional decision you would not have taken otherwise. A trader will be committing an offence under the Regulations if it knowingly or recklessly engages in an 'unfair' practice.

    Lionel26-06-2020

    Are they really from UK? As a consumer, if you change your mind about a course you purchased online or at a distance, you have 14 days from entering into a service contract in which you can cancel it. This right under the Consumer Contracts Regulations applies regardless of whether the course will be taken online or in person. The course provider shouldn’t start providing the service before the 14-day cancellation period has ended, unless you’ve requested this, booked on last minute, or the online course is already open for you to start.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2.5
    rating

    THIEFS

    Ladrones, me han robado engañosamente un dinero por un servicio que no solicité y se niegan a devolverte el dinero. Es claramente una empresa fraudulenta.

    This is a fraudulent company. They are stealing money in a misleading way and they refuse to give the money back. This is such a fraude.

    By: J Salgado26-06-2020
    Ruxx26-06-2020

    They are a scam, they have an unfair commercial practice. There you don't pay for the course, you pay for the membership, so as long as you stay the more money they can get. The courses are recordings of 30 minutes and you can have 2 lessons/week... You pay for the toolkit (one toolkit per module!!!), for the certificate. So, for the course I am taking - New Leadership & Management we have: Module 1: 10 lessons Module 2 - 4: you cannot see how many lessons or which are the concepts to be learned. Subscription is 49.99/month, so let's assume each module has 10 lessons, 40 lessons in total, 2 lessons per week means 20 weeks, 5 months!!! 249.95 EUR - only the course. Then, the toolkit, one for each module, 39.99x4=159.96 EUR. Then, the eCertificate for each module (wow): again, 39.99x4=159.96 EUR. So, 569.87 EUR in total for what? You can find real courses from real universities on other websites, for the same or less money!

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Free diploma graphic design

    I completed lesson one last night and I have been bombarded with emails and texts asking to review the course.
    I found lesson 1 very boring. I was hoping to just get stuck into the programme and learn new skills. Instead I am listening to a voice that sounds like a robot.
    I have also been receiving phone calls.
    Plus as soon as the lesson started a pop then comes asking you to purchase a toolkit and more.
    Alot of money for this moment in time.
    I thought the free diploma was a fab idea something for me too do once the kids were in bed and to better my skills for my job. But i have been bombarded with messages which is very off putting.

    By: Jo Hood26-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    4.5
    rating

    Write your own review about Shaw Academy

    Your review

    FAQ

    Is Shaw Academy a trustworthy company?

    There are currently 4055 customer review posted about Shaw Academy. On average, they received a star-grading of 8.6/10, with 100% of the reviewers indicating that they would buy from the brand again.

    What services or products do Shaw Academy offer?

    Shaw Academy is mainly active in the General category, more specifically with Education.

    I have read all the reviews. What now?

    Did you get a positive impression from the reviews? If so, then you can place your order on the Shaw Academy website with confidence. If not you can find many other brands to read about on our website!