BritainReviews

    Shaw Academy
    Reviews, complaints and customer experiences (2863)

    8.8
    90% Would buy here again!
    Ordering
    rating
    9
    Service
    rating
    8.8
    Pricing
    rating
    8.4
    Delivery
    rating
    8.8

    All reviews

    Read independent reviews, consumer experiences, feedback and complaints right here! Get to know the best online shops and service providers from the impressions they with people. Customers now get to decide which brands are worthy and which are not!

    Photography Course

    I've taken one class so far using the free limited time deal. So far it's really great. I haven't bought the toolkit though. But it's not hard to follow, and you can ask any question you need to ask during the lesson. They respond immediately. But the regular price for the class is a good price compared to if you took this class in a college where you have to apply and all those good you have to go through just to see if you make it in. This was easy to sign up and you pick your own schedule. If you can't make a class, you can reschedule. It seems pretty good so far. I can't wait to learn more with this course.

    By: Tiffany 13-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    8.5
    rating

    Free Trial

    TL,DR: AVOID AVOID AVOID

    Firstly: Don't believe in the good reviews, don't know who wrote them, but pretty sure they aren't legit. Look at all the ratings or look on the rest of the web, you will find PLENTY of unhappy customers.

    Edit to add: My account listed me having premium membership even though I was on free trial - something I just realised is a red flag in itself.
    #

    My experience: I saw their ad for a free Nutrition course on Instagram which Id been thinking about for a while, so took the plunge. I came here first to see their reliability, which is why I say look other places and check all the ratings! I applied for the free trial, put my paypal as payment form (obviously I'd planned to cancel well before the 4 weeks ended) and scheduled classes for 10pm after my child slept otherwise I wouldnt be able to get any studying done.

    As soon as I signed up - was sent a ton of texts, a couple calls and emails. Emails are natural, but texts and calls? Already that's pretty aggressive. There was also no options to turn these off and though in the texts its said STOP to opt out, I couldn't send anything and the link to opt out led me to nothing.
    Felt pretty suspicious, so started to look out the cancellation process in case I had to leave. After aggressive delaying of about 8 different web pages of what Id be missing to get to the cancellation page, finally it showed a phone number open 9-5 and my student ref number. Rather manipulative I felt, so saved all the info for use, as it was still the weekend and I thought I might as well get some classes done.

    I kept getting calls/texts the next day and I finally opened my laptop to get to the class. I had a delay of few mins then to my frustration saw the 1st lesson had disappeared. To reschedule Id have to do it the next day and I could see a pattern that I would just keep missing classes because of some reason or other. Flexible though it claimed it was not. It also each time I went onto it kept pestering me to buy the £40 toolkit. Than god I avoided that button! So many people have said as soon as they pressed it they got charged and it was non refundable.

    I immediately made plans to cancel and meanwhile started to search online for more customer reviews.
    I see that on one site people are calling them scammers, turns out a lot of people have had payments taken even if they cancelled their trial in time because putting in payment details give Shaw Academy permission for pre-approved payments, which cannot be disputed with PayPal etc. Lo and behold, when I sign into PayPal, I see they have taken 30p off my account and refunded it, without disclosing they would do this. On advice of a PayPal forum question, I remove Shaw Academy from my PayPal pre-approved payment section. This stops them from taking anymore unauthorised payments from me.

    The next morning I call the number and get Samantha as my representative, who is nice but still pushy and shady. I want to cancel, but to delay cancellation she wants to know my life story, offers me the toolkit free so I can have flexible class time, offers me free certificates per module (You have to pay £40 to receive each certificate per module completed..WHAT?! That alone makes me want to run), blah blah. I reiterate my need to cancel, and also mention that Im not comfortable with their system of pre approved payments etc and she assures me nothing can now be taken from my account. She finally cancels my trial and proceeds to say I have 60 days more free in my account...what? Not thanks I say I don't want anything I want to be completely removed from their system. She assures me my account is now deleted now that I have the cancellation email. OK. But in cancellation email it says I can reactivate..doesnt that mean they still have my info? No , she says, it means I will have to sign up fresh but I can still reactivate.. End of call.

    I refresh Shaw Academy page and see I still am signed in, I have an account and the only thing that has changed is that my trial is cancelled. They still have all my details. She lied..or omitted truths. I call again and get advisor Julie, who says the account will take 5-7 days to delete.

    Since then I also have recieved more texts, emails and calls saying that have said Ive missed my classes or to reschedule..

    I will be coming back here to update after those 5-7 days have passed of my account really has been deleted.

    Places to find reviews of other unhappy customers - check out Quora and the comments on themakemoneyonlineblog article.

    By: Jannah Amin 13-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Diploma Nutrition

    My first class
    Love that I can change a lesson time and follow up is immediate. Thank you 🙏🏻

    By: Debbie Till 13-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Project Management course

    Great and flexible. You learn at your own pace. The courses are clear, easy to access, and understand.

    By: Robyn Martin 13-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    one month membership

    This service was great!

    By: Bella Mason 13-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Beginner

    I just started but I really enjoy it, and the simplicity of the course has been helping me to understand better. So far so good!!

    By: Linda 13-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    7.5
    rating

    Social Media Marketing

    Very engaging course. Content is relevant and timely.

    By: Devimar Marcaida 13-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Trading courses

    So far so good only a few classes in but definitely learning things!

    By: David Adnum 13-05-2020
    Opeyemi daramola 13-05-2020

    Excellent teaching

    Amir Awadalla 13-05-2020

    Great service

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    8.5
    rating

    Marketing class

    I’ve really enjoyed my graphic design course. It’s got both theory and practical knowledge, the instructor is very thorough and clear, and I’ve learned new skills. Overall very pleased!

    By: Dre 13-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Mobile Application Development

    Have finished 4 courses so far. The course is good for all level user. As a developer, I think the course is still quite good. From the third course, it is quite useful for me.

    By: Jimmy Chen 13-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    8
    rating

    Project Management Course & Diploma

    The course is very informative, simple to follow, and the technology is dynamic!

    By: Cortez Smith 13-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Nutrition course

    Nutrition course, I am enjoying so far

    By: Gaida Paulovska 13-05-2020
    Gaida Paulovska 13-05-2020

    Good

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    9.5
    rating

    Digital Marketing

    I would 100% recommend these courses! I’ve already recommended 5 people! I believe that Shaw Academy is the best way to maximize your potential!

    By: Xavier Santana 13-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Nutrition

    Overall it was a great course.
    The teacher did use a lot of acronyms instead of the terms which, for a beginning course, really shouldn't be done.
    That confused me and another student.
    Other than that it's pretty good so far.

    By: Matt W 13-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    9
    rating

    Graphics Design/Web Development

    I actually enjoyed the information I have been learning but I relise after reading so many other comments that he problems I have are very simular, As it is pre-recorded please allow us the user to pause/rewind/fforward as my videos sometimes stop for no reason halfway in and I have set aside time to complete these lessons I do not wish to wait till my allocated time is done only to watch it again. Also I understand advertising but if I show you a screenshot of my inbox your company has pretty much dominated every page i have to look for my normal emails this is overboard. Lastly I keep getting do you have any questions emails..If I said I have asked alot without any answers or decent solutions why bother asking at all. Like I said l love the content just the delivery needs alot of work. Please fix it will do wonders for your future reviews.

    By: Aaron McIver 13-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    5
    rating

    Shaw Academy Photography

    Just started the online course and already I love the professionalism, clarity and how detailed it is. Not dry not boring. Keeps me interested in wanting to improve my skills. I’m really anxious. The price was great the deal was great! So far so good and can’t wait to move forward see what’s in store next.

    By: Dwight Green 13-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Diploma in Photoshop

    I've signed up for the free 4 week trial. I'm not overly impressed with service/delivery at the moment.

    The course content itself is great.

    I'm really getting annoyed with the pushing of buying extra content - pop-up screens every time I log in or change page. I know I'm on a free trial, but with how pushy they are it's actually turning me off wanting to move to a paid subscription.

    Also it has been really frustrating trying to change scheduled class days/times. One of their seeming marketing points is "your study, your way" or something like that. But there's actually more restrictions on how much you can do per week, and rescheduling of you miss a class, than any other study I've ever done (and I have a uni degree as well as numerous diplomas).

    The user platform is simple if you are able to stick to the schedule you initially set up. But if you need to change your schedule for any reason, it becomes complicated and painful real quick.

    By: JC 13-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    7
    rating

    Graphic Design, Module One

    This is a good introduction to graphic design. Classes are easy to follow and available for review after the class is done.

    By: Chantel Sommerfeld 12-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Web dev course

    I was very happy with the prices, teachers, materials and support I received from Shaw throughout my learning.

    By: Rebecca Doolin 12-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Diploma in Blogging and Content Marketing

    In these harsh COVID-19 times, Shaw Academy offered the wonderful deal of a free 4-Week course and I decided to take the opportunity and learn something new that can help me after losing both my jobs. The course material is awesome! It's relevant, easy to understand, and very informative. I look forward to classes every week! I can't wait to take more courses! I cannot recommend enough! So much flexibility and options!

    By: Alba-Leea Campos-Castro 12-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Write your own review about Shaw Academy

    Your review