BritainReviews

    Reviews Gardening Express

    Your garden can be a beautiful place, and maybe it already is, but whether you already have a blooming garden or are just starting out, you will need some supplies to get and keep your garden well maintained. But where can you find such supplies? One of the shops that you can go to is Gardening Express. But what can you expect from their flowers and plants? How well will they bloom in your garden? Will Gardening Express deliver your flowers in good order? Will the flowers even survive the delivery process? And what kind of customer service does Gardening Express offer when one of their customers has a complaints, problem or question for them to solve? Read the customer reviews written by real customers of Gardening Express. Their experiences, comments and opinions are the best way to get some unbiased view of Gardening Express so you can decide for yourself if you would like to buy from Gardening Express or not.

    About Gardening Express

    Gardening Express is a supplier of garden plants and garden flowers. The company was founded by Chris Bonnett in 1990. He was still a teenager at that time. The website was re-launched in 2008. That was when Gardening Express really began complete with a flower nursery and webshop. They sell all kinds of garden plants and garden flowers like fruit frees, house & office plants, indoor foliage plants, patio plants, perennials plants, shrubs and trees. So it does not matter is you want to create a full garden complete with shrubs and trees to keep unwanted onlookers out or just one single fruit tree for some fresh fruit. They have something for everyone. They offer plants for a Japanese garden, Mediterranean garden, tropical garden full or exotic plants, vegetable garden, small garden and seaside garden. You can fill your garden with all kinds of roses, exotic plants, climbers, conifers, ferns, fruit trees, ornamental grasses, container trees, bonsai trees, vines, bamboo plants, cacti, succulents and conifers.


    Some beaif\tiful gardens

    Services of Gardening Express

    You can order all the plants, flowers and trees online. Select them on their website and give them the order to deliver the product at your home. You can pay via visa, MasterCard, Visa Delta, Maestro and Visa Electron. Their price promise guarantee will help you when you find the same kind of shrub or vine for a lower price shortly after your purchase. And they offer a customer service that can help you out when you have some kind of problem or complaint.

    Complaints, Compliments and Tips for Gardening Express

    Does your garden already contain shrubs, trees, flowers or vines bought from Gardening Express? Then we would love to hear all about your experience. How did the ordering process go? Are you satisfied with the roses or shrubs that you receives? How well do their bamboo plants or exotic plants grow in your garden? And what kind of customer service have they provided for you?Write a review and tell us all about your opinion.

    How will your garden look with plants from Gardening Express?: Read reviews about their plants, shrubs, roses, trees, vines, bamboo etc.

    Gardening Express
    Reviews, complaints and customer experiences (54)

    3
    20% Would buy here again!
    Ordering
    rating
    3.8
    Service
    rating
    2.2
    Pricing
    rating
    3.4
    Delivery
    rating
    2.8

    All reviews

    Read independant reviews, consumer experiences, feedback and complaints right here! Get to know the best shop place your (online) order. Everybody together now decides which shops are worthy and which aren't!

    Palm trees - babies advertised as mature/ chunky

    Really bad trees and customer service was appalling. I would advise looking at reviews and making your decision. They are so bad and going to go under soon, no doubt.

    By: David Sagstad 19-11-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    NO
    2
    rating

    Cornus Midwinter Fire 3 off

    Oh how I wish I had read some of the reviews on here before ordering from this company!
    The photo of the plants in their pots on their website bear no resemblance to what they actually sent, infact I suspect that the plants in the photo are not even the same variety and have been airbrushed to look like Midwinter Fire, why do I say that? Because Midwinter fire does not grow that prolific and strong!!!! I could have got as good plants as they sent from the reduced section in my local garden centre, I will never ever use this company again!

    By: David Appleby 16-11-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    NO
    3
    rating

    9 Ajuga Plants

    If only I had read the reviews before ordering. I would never have bought from this awful firm. The plants I ordered were sold as being in 1 litre pots. Three of one kind were, the other 6 were in pots half that size, puny little plants with poor roots. The pots were bashed when they arrived. Emails produced the following:
    "We ask you to please appreciate pot sizes can and may vary. This in no way compromises the quality of the plant received, as these may be ready for re-potting."
    If one orders plants in 1 litre pots, rather than smaller pots, that should mean that you receive larger plants. In this case not only were the plants in small pots, but were not very good plants either. A further complaint email produced a stock answer - would get a full refund if returned within 14 days, no offer of postage - no apology.
    A dreadful, dreadful firm.

    By: Jackie Langley 27-10-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    YES
    3.5
    rating

    Plants

    Received a delivery with numerous plants. Some ok, some pretty dead and not as advertised. Started a dispute through the chat as they don't provide a phone number on the website. Talked to two people through chat and Marina the manager on the phone, got fobbed off, despite providing with clear evidence that the plants that I have received are not what is advertised (ornamental cabbages are advertised to be in 10-12cm pots 1l on the website, arrived in 6cm pots and less than 400ml, and some of the heathers were pretty dead).

    Got told that the plants are the right plants and there is no issue and if I want to return them for refund I need to cover the cost myself, which I have refused, given that I have received not what I have ordered based on the information provided online.

    When I have pointed out the difference in size of the ornamental cabbages both in the description and photos on the website, I got told that the measurements are approximate and the images for full grown plants. This was not mentioned on the product page.

    As for heathers, I got told that some of them are not in season and thus don't look great right now. Again, nowhere on the product page is mentioned that they are out of season. On contrary, it says 'Full of buds and bursting in to colour right now'. Again, when I pointed this out to Marina the manager, I got told that I should have done my homework (bear in mind the product page doesn't even mention what types are being sent!).

    All in all, the company is a scam and I would advise against shopping with them as you will waste your money and nerves talking to the customer support team.

    By: Maria 08-10-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    NO
    3.5
    rating

    24 plants

    Do not order from those people. They are sending you rotten plants and make it impossible to get refunded despite every effort to provide them with proves.

    By: Melissa Pickard 02-10-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    YES
    2
    rating

    Exochorda macrantha The Bride

    Order this shrub, which cost £15.95 and all I received was a bent twig. I raised a complaint which was closed, without my agreement, they said the bent twig was alive so no cause to complain. I wish I could upload a photo of the plant as it would give everyone a good laugh. Goodbye Gardening Express, from a good customer.

    By: Pauline Clare 29-09-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    NO
    8.5
    rating

    Lemon cypress

    I ordered 6 lemon cypress for my window boxes thinking they would look like the online picture.
    Supposed to be tall and elegant but no, they were bedraggled and sad looking. Sadly this won’t let me post pictures. GE think they looked fine. Unbelievable. I won’t be buying again.

    By: Anne Ramsey 29-09-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    NO
    6.5
    rating

    Pair of Tuscan Cypress Trees

    Ordered a pair of Tuscan Cypress trees. On unpacking one was damaged, in that the leader branch was broken. Immediately emailed Gardeningexpress with pictures, took a week for them to reply (after I chased them) to be told that there was no detrimental damage. Having stated that I was unhappy with this I was told to return them at my cost to get a refund, when all they had to do was send a replacement tree. Rest assured I will not use them again and would strongly advise against anyone else using them.

    By: Andrew Busby 26-09-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    NO
    5.5
    rating

    2 x evergreen californian lilac trees

    Ordered two small lilac trees from them. Took Hermes 12 days to deliver them . When they arrived they were dead and I mean dead . All dried up and leaves all flaked off

    I emailed them twice with photos of the trees attached. This was two weeks ago and they haven't replied

    Correspondence is shocking . You can only try and contact them via email and then you will only hear from them if they decide to reply to you

    They took my £31 and sold me sub standard goods . Shouldn't be allowed to continue operating . There is no way I can get my money back as they wont contact me . So angry

    By: Kelly H 20-08-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    YES
    2
    rating

    Laburnum

    Bought a £30 laburnum, half hr after ordering I emailed them to ask if I could cancel as hadn’t realised they were poisonous as I have two young children.
    Didn’t think this would be an issue but I was wrong.
    They said in email back they couldn’t cancel order as had 1000s of customers per day and were too busy !!!
    I feel really sorry for the 1000s

    By: Dan 17-08-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    NO
    2
    rating

    2 x plants

    Absolute joke of a company with zero morals. AVOID! I ordered my mum 2 plants for her birthday. It took 2 weeks for them to arrive. The box was bashed up and the plants, 1 in particular, was dying and wilted. My mum who's a very keen gardener has said they're beyond salvage. You can't phone this company (alarm bells) but I managed to contact them via chat. I sent pictures and this was their reply (below) which seems to be their standard one but we can't ask be wrong. I order plants for my mum every year and the state these were in is nothing I've ever seen. 

    Having reviewed the photographs you sent over of your plants I can confirm that (although they are dry and some of the foliage is wilted), they are alive and will perk up (once planted out and cared for as per instructions).

    Live plants are always going to be a little thirsty on delivery after being transported in a carton for a couple of days but please rest assured that they are tougher than they look and will perk up within a few days of being planted out and watered well.

    By: Steve 26-07-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    YES
    2
    rating

    Clematis x 2

    Unable to think of a positive other than one of the Clematis was still barely alive, the other they had put it with had wilt and was completely dead. Needless to say, the barely alive plant has now joined the other!
    Informed them on their "ticket raising online contact" for them to ignore this.
    I wish I was able to rate them with 0 stars, but unfortunately this website will not allow it, so have marked as a begrudging 1 star.

    By: Sue 13-07-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    NO
    2
    rating

    Plants not delivered

    If I could leave a zero star review I would.
    What a terrible company.
    My plants never arrived because they sent them with Hermes who left them outside my house when we were out. 3 weeks and several emails later they refuse to take this up with their courier. I urge anybody to avoid this company

    By: Sandra 12-07-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    YES
    2
    rating

    Just don't buy from this website

    I have placed quite a big order here, well aware of the delays in receiving the order. Little did I know that the box they were delivered was completely damaged on the outside and way too small to fit the plants anyway, as a result, all the pots were squashed and leafs from the plants were everywhere. The plants not only looked very poorly but under no circumstances worth that price. On top of that one of the plants was just dead. I sent them 2 emails asking for replacements or full refund and not only that it took them more than 14 days to answer back but they had the courage to say that the plants in the photos sent look healthy and it is all normal. So there is me with a bunch of poorly plants and one dead one and a loss of 50£. That thing with sending a new plant if the original one dies is just a scam. They never do.

    By: Gabriela Bors 11-07-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    NO
    2
    rating

    House leeks "bargain"

    Delivery arrived with a few days delay. Package should have contained 10 plants in perfect condition. Two were missing completely and a further four were damaged or rotting.
    I was able to salvage 4 of the 10 plants. I photographed the package as opened and forwarded the photo to the company . Recceipt acknowledged but since then silence.
    This is possibly the worst online purchase I have ever made!.
    Should have read all the negaive reviews before ordering!

    By: John Wells 01-07-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    NO
    6.5
    rating

    2palms 3grasses 3lithodora

    Boxes on delivery very badly damaged plants bone dry palms in ok condition Grasses ok but 3 lithodora were beyond help pots damaged Gave them a good soaking but all 3 not worth putting in ground They answered promptly to complaint but nothing since Would never buy from them again Ever !!!

    By: Carole Pope 28-06-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    NO
    5
    rating

    Rhododendren

    I bought a rhododendren for father's day and when received I opened box to find my plant looked nothing like what was advertised and the leaves were burnt. I contacted gardening express immediately with pictures and several messages but still no reply. There customer service is disgusting please AVOID AVOID AVOID. Never shop with them again.

    By: Mr Judkins 26-06-2019
    ALISON 26-06-2019

    I had some serious issues & I rang head office number which is tel:01245 20442511 & spoke to a customer service manager You do have to keep ringing and they eventually answer it. They have blocked my review on trust pilot at present as they block any bad review.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    NO
    2
    rating

    Mixed pack of varying succulents

    advertised as a selection of 10 mixed succulents with quote “Different foliage textures and colours” , however disappointing when they arrived they were 10 of the same plant ( 2 of which were rotting .)
    Customer services basically dismissed any responsibility with regard to misleading advertising and basically directed me to small print . I will be contacting Trading Standard .


    Shame because previous orders have been. good. Will not be using there services again . I have lots of friends in the gardening world and will be sharing my experience.
    Useful
    Share

    By: Andrea Lee 23-06-2019
    ALISON 25-06-2019

    I also I had some serious issues & I rang head office number which is tel:01245 20442511 & spoke to a customer service manager

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    NO
    2
    rating

    Acer orido Nishiki

    I bought the Acer advertised at 1.5 to 1.8 meters high what I received was a rather poor plant just over one meter high and it looked nothing like the photographs in the advert and it looked nothing like the proper variety so it's probably wrong I'm still arguing with them about returning the plant they've now stopped replying to my emails this was my first order and I will never order again and I recommend everyone to just never buy from them

    By: Chris Brierley 22-06-2019
    ALISON 25-06-2019

    I had some issues & I rang head office number which is tel:01245 20442511 & spoke to a customer service manager

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    YES
    4.5
    rating

    Heuchera and lavender

    I ordered two plants. They arrived in a box that was so battered that the Hermes delivery lady commented on it. On opening the box, one plant was OK but the other was in a dreadful condition, three-quarters dead. I contacted Gardening Express and to my amazement they actually expect ME to pay the costs in returning it to them! I shan't waste my money with this company again. Very disappointing.

    By: Jill Sidders 18-06-2019
    ALISON 25-06-2019

    I had some serious issues & I rang head office number which is tel:01245 20442511 & spoke to a customer service manager You do have to keep ringing and they eventually answer it. They have blocked my review on trust pilot at present as they block any bad review. Hope the number helps

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    NO
    5
    rating

    Write your own review about Gardening Express

    Your review