BritainReviews

    Reviews Gardening Express

    Your garden can be a beautiful place, and maybe it already is, but whether you already have a blooming garden or are just starting out, you will need some supplies to get and keep your garden well maintained. But where can you find such supplies? One of the shops that you can go to is Gardening Express. But what can you expect from their flowers and plants? How well will they bloom in your garden? Will Gardening Express deliver your flowers in good order? Will the flowers even survive the delivery process? And what kind of customer service does Gardening Express offer when one of their customers has a complaints, problem or question for them to solve? Read the customer reviews written by real customers of Gardening Express. Their experiences, comments and opinions are the best way to get some unbiased view of Gardening Express so you can decide for yourself if you would like to buy from Gardening Express or not.

    About Gardening Express

    Gardening Express is a supplier of garden plants and garden flowers. The company was founded by Chris Bonnett in 1990. He was still a teenager at that time. The website was re-launched in 2008. That was when Gardening Express really began complete with a flower nursery and webshop. They sell all kinds of garden plants and garden flowers like fruit frees, house & office plants, indoor foliage plants, patio plants, perennials plants, shrubs and trees. So it does not matter is you want to create a full garden complete with shrubs and trees to keep unwanted onlookers out or just one single fruit tree for some fresh fruit. They have something for everyone. They offer plants for a Japanese garden, Mediterranean garden, tropical garden full or exotic plants, vegetable garden, small garden and seaside garden. You can fill your garden with all kinds of roses, exotic plants, climbers, conifers, ferns, fruit trees, ornamental grasses, container trees, bonsai trees, vines, bamboo plants, cacti, succulents and conifers.


    Some beaif\tiful gardens

    Services of Gardening Express

    You can order all the plants, flowers and trees online. Select them on their website and give them the order to deliver the product at your home. You can pay via visa, MasterCard, Visa Delta, Maestro and Visa Electron. Their price promise guarantee will help you when you find the same kind of shrub or vine for a lower price shortly after your purchase. And they offer a customer service that can help you out when you have some kind of problem or complaint.

    Complaints, Compliments and Tips for Gardening Express

    Does your garden already contain shrubs, trees, flowers or vines bought from Gardening Express? Then we would love to hear all about your experience. How did the ordering process go? Are you satisfied with the roses or shrubs that you receives? How well do their bamboo plants or exotic plants grow in your garden? And what kind of customer service have they provided for you?Write a review and tell us all about your opinion.

    How will your garden look with plants from Gardening Express?: Read reviews about their plants, shrubs, roses, trees, vines, bamboo etc.

    Gardening Express
    Reviews, complaints and customer experiences (136)

    2.8
    21% Would buy here again!
    Ordering
    rating
    3.6
    Service
    rating
    2.2
    Pricing
    rating
    3.2
    Delivery
    rating
    2.4

    All reviews

    Read independent reviews, consumer experiences, feedback and complaints right here! Get to know the best online shops and service providers from the impressions they with people. Customers now get to decide which brands are worthy and which are not!

    Exochorda macrantha The Bride

    Order this shrub, which cost £15.95 and all I received was a bent twig. I raised a complaint which was closed, without my agreement, they said the bent twig was alive so no cause to complain. I wish I could upload a photo of the plant as it would give everyone a good laugh. Goodbye Gardening Express, from a good customer.

    By: Pauline Clare 29-09-2019
    andrea fairbrother 06-05-2020

    ordered and paid near £ 400.00 months ago.. no delivery... no response to email or complaiNTS.. GOING TO SMALL CLAIMS COURT NOW TO RETRIEVE MY HARD EARNED CASH... NHS KEYWORKER

    Patrick Moore 07-05-2020

    Just contact your bank and you can still get your money back under the 90 day money back guarantee if you have not received the goods after 14 days. They have been holding customers money since 2019.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    8.5
    rating

    6 varieties of plant

    delivers very little . Their marketing is excellent their products are poor . 11 emails numerous calls (all chargeable by the way ). Products I ordered 6 items so not a small order . They arrived a month late in a distressed condition . Would NEVER buy from them again . Even if it were free .

    By: Richard Wallace 10-07-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    4.5
    rating

    MIXED SHRUBS TOTALLING £100

    RUBBISH RUBBISH RUBBISH-ON EVERY LEVEL.
    POOR QUALITY PLANTS, TOOK AGES TO COME (NEARLY 3 MONTHS), MOST WERE DAMAGED, ALL BUT 2 OF THE 10 ARE NOW DEAD AND NO ONE WANTS TO HELP GIVE ME A REFUND OR REPLACE THEM.I TRIED TO SUPPORT A SMALL BUSINESS DURING COVID 19 AND THIS IS HOW I WAS REPAID. SHAME ON YOU !

    By: julia ridley 06-07-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Garden plants

    Hi future customers of Garden Express
    It is all bad news
    I spend more than £300 I hope I will get it back
    The director name is Christopher Denis Bonnett
    DOB October 1981 Address: Pieces Cottage, Mashbury Road Chelmsford CM14UA
    He has a few telephone number but not of them are active
    He is director of 12 companies please see the gov.com companies house by adding his name.
    HMRC are owner most of his assets

    By: Mrs Anna DENT 05-07-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    Various shrubs and trees over £100

    I made two orders with Gardening Express more than a month ago at the beginning of June not checking their feedback first, which I normally do when I order from a company for the first time. I was very impressed with their website and offers - it didn't occur to me that they were struggling with their orders. They kept sending emails that they're running 2-4 weeks late due to Covid and I wasn't worried - I understood and waited patiently, but then when nothing arrived after 4 weeks I started doing some research and found the root of the problem. Apparently they received 200K orders since the lockdown which is a staggering number for a family run business - they obviously don't have the manpower or enough stock to fulfil that many orders! Which brings up the question: why did they take people's money knowing they can't fulfil their orders even as late as June? With a conservative estimate of £50 per order they're sitting on 10 million pounds from duped customers. This is not right! They should offer refunds if they can't fulfill the orders within a reasonable period - and actually they shouldn't have taken the orders in the first place! I think they shot themselves in the foot - they should be investigated by trading standards. I just hope I'll get my money back.

    By: Z Smith 05-07-2020
    Z Smith 05-07-2020

    Would buy here again? No (I missed that part of the questionnaire and it defaulted to yes - no way to edit it now)

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    30 plants inc campanulas, trifolium and potentillas

    Over 7 weeks for part of the order to arrive. Plants much smaller than expected given the price and several damaged possibly by the way they were rammed into the box. Poor quality products and poor customer service when trying to contact them. It's the first time I've felt badly ripped off by an online company.

    By: Tim Hewer 03-07-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    3.5
    rating

    Standard rose bushes x 2

    Delivery late. Plants Dead on delivery Couldn't phone them to discuss. Emailed and raised tickets. Sent photos. Day late in contacting them - only have 14 days. Can't get refund. Taken my money and money from lots of other trusting people. Don't buy from them. If you leave msg on Twitter they intercept and ask you to PM them. They delay and then disappear

    By: Gina 03-07-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    5 plants costing £232

    The plants I ordered from Gardening Express were quoted as 3/5 days delivery.as 8 weeks later they arrived badly packaged and in a very poor condition. They make it virtually impossible to contact them and like the vast majority of their customers I have received no response for my request for a refund. I have now filed a complaint with Trading Standards via the Citizens Advice online service. It was quick and simple to do and I received a detailed and helpful reply within 2 days.

    I have copied part of the response I received from Citizens Advice below which others may find helpful:

    Your rights and obligations:
    Under the Consumer Rights Act 2015, any goods provided by a trader to a consumer should be of satisfactory quality, which means they should be free from fault, last a reasonable amount of time, do what they’re designed to do, and be safe.
    You may be able to seek redress from the trader if the goods are not of a satisfactory quality.

    You could look to request a repair or replacement in the first instance; any repair or replacement should be provided free of charge, within reasonable time, and not cause a significant inconvenience.

    You only have to allow the trader one attempt at repairing or replacing the goods.

    If a repair or replacement is unsuccessful, cannot be done free of charge, within reasonable time or would cause significant inconvenience you could then request to either exercise your final right to reject the goods for a full refund or, a price reduction on what you’ve paid for the goods.

    Any refund should be provided within 14 days of the refund being agreed and via the same payment method.

    The burden of proof is on the trader; therefore they would need to prove that the goods are of a satisfactory quality or that the fault is down to fair wear and tear, misuse, accidental damage or neglect.

    You may be able to claim consequential losses; these would typically be any losses you have suffered as a direct result of the trader supplying goods that are not of a satisfactory quality. You would need to provide evidence of any losses you have incurred and any losses would need to be kept as low as possible.
    What we'll do:
    We will refer the information you have provided to Trading standards, there is no commitment for them to contact you directly, Trading Standards will only contact you if they deem it necessary. Whilst this does not help you resolve your dispute, it gives Trading Standards vital intelligence on how a trader is conducting their business.

    By: Michelle Richards 03-07-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    4 plants

    My plants took 11 weeks from point of order to arrive. Customer services and communication were shocking throughout with no one responding to help tickets and no other available method of making contact. Despite advertising at the time of order that stock was put aside and the plants that I had ordered were definitely available, one item was missing from my delivery, with no communication as to why, or when I might hope to receive it. One of my plants, an acer, when delivered had obviously been neglected at the nursery during the hot weather, and as a result has blackened, shrivelled leaves showing drought or wind damage. Plants not worth the money, customer services not worth the 1 star rating
    Frankly, when they received the amount of orders that they did over the month of April, they SHOULD have shut their order book to allow them to fulfil the orders they already had. It is highly objectionable that they continued to take money from customers, despite knowing full well they were unable to fulfil them within a reasonable time frame. This behaviour makes them no better than greedy crooks. Avoid. Avoid. Avoid. I will never buy from them again.

    By: Jo Sheppard 03-07-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Phlox (not delivered) and dianthus

    I am very disappointed with this company. They continued to accept orders when it should have been clear to them that their system in these Covid 19 days could not cope. After several weeks I received a partial delivery and despite my emails they have not yet admitted this short order but were going to 'check with the delivery company'. I have requested a refund for the missing plants. No response. To put the matter in perpective I recently ordered plants from a Dutch company - delivered in full and excellent condition within 2 weeks. There is a lesson here!

    By: Peter Moorhouse 01-07-2020
    Jane 02-07-2020

    I was promised max 15 day delay. I placed my order on 15th April. On 6th May I raised a 1st ticket asking for a full refund – no answer. On 13th May – 2nd ticket asking for a full refund as terms of delivery has been broken – no answer. On 26th of June 2 boxes with part of the order were delivered, 3 plants in one box were packed upside down and arrived with broken, brown or yellow leaves. One plant is still missing. On 26th of June I raised 3rd ticket. Today is 02nd of July and still no answers, no missing plant, no refund...

    Z Smith 05-07-2020

    I ordered at the beginning of June not realising that this was going on - now we're in July and they're still taking orders - not only that they're actively promoting themselves! Absolutely scandalous! They should be shut down and customers refunded.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    3
    rating

    Acers

    Do not use this company!
    I ordered two x acers, one at £100. After waiting nine weeks on delivery, they arrived, dead leaves, spindly, diseased, nothing like shown on site or described. Avoid at all costs.

    By: Kathy Tait 01-07-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    4.5
    rating

    4 Climbing Plants

    I am giving Gardening Express 1 star, rather than 0 stars, purely for the fact that the plants eventually arrived. Quite a surprise that anything turned up.
    In the 8 weeks (24th April-18th June) between placing the order and receiving the order Gardening Express were:
    - Quick to take payment
    - Uncontactable
    - Not offering any way to cancel
    - Writing generic excuses for delays whilst still taking more orders

    Now the plants have arrived and are much smaller than I ordered. It'll be a miracle if they grow well and turn into the plants I ordered 2+ months ago.

    By: HG 30-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    3
    rating

    Various flowers for garden

    Shocking experience, even allowing for the pandemic. Took 9 weeks to deliver 5 small plants and 11 weeks on, I am still waiting on the bulk of my order. The plants that came were half dead and I cannot get a response to where the rest of my order is. All they said was to post back the plants at my own expense if I want a refund - I don't even have most of them! I have wasted hours chasing them and my garden has lain bare all summer. Utterly depressing and soul destroying experience. I wish I had never found this website, please stay away from them.

    By: Claire L McKay 29-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Write your own review about Gardening Express

    Your review

    FAQ

    Is Gardening Express a trustworthy company?

    There are currently 136 customer review posted about Gardening Express. On average, they received a star-grading of 2.8/10, with 21% of the reviewers indicating that they would buy from the brand again.

    What services or products do Gardening Express offer?

    Gardening Express is mainly active in the Online Shop category, more specifically with Homeware.

    I have read all the reviews. What now?

    Did you get a positive impression from the reviews? If so, then you can place your order on the Gardening Express website with confidence. If not you can find many other brands to read about on our website!