BritainReviews

    Gardening Express
    Reviews, complaints and customer experiences (216)

    3
    25% Would buy here again!
    Ordering
    rating
    4
    Service
    rating
    2.4
    Pricing
    rating
    3.2
    Delivery
    rating
    2.6

    All reviews

    Read independent reviews, consumer experiences, feedback and complaints right here! Get to know the best online shops and service providers from the impressions they with people. Customers now get to decide which brands are worthy and which are not!

    Hostas

    It's that long ago since I ordered 8/5/20, now 19/7!
    Hostas, in sale £20.
    Same generic email....aaarrrggg
    I want a refund, or my goods....and soon.
    Shocking service. You can come up with every reason....but why carry on taking peoples money and orders?Terrible.

    By: Alison Duke19-07-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Patio roses

    Marketed as 80cm high. Arrived and were only 50cm high and bear little resemblance to the picture on the website. Contacted them to be advised the height included the pot
    Which is bloody stupid. Have emailed several times but no response. If I had realised they have no phone number I would not have used them. To be fair the roses though very short are seemingly healthy. They do offer a 5 year guarantee but if they don't communicate anyway that is just pie in the sky! Would I use them again? No way

    By: GRAHAM BARNARD18-07-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    4
    rating

    6 varieties of plant

    delivers very little . Their marketing is excellent their products are poor . 11 emails numerous calls (all chargeable by the way ). Products I ordered 6 items so not a small order . They arrived a month late in a distressed condition . Would NEVER buy from them again . Even if it were free .

    By: Richard Wallace10-07-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    4.5
    rating

    MIXED SHRUBS TOTALLING £100

    RUBBISH RUBBISH RUBBISH-ON EVERY LEVEL.
    POOR QUALITY PLANTS, TOOK AGES TO COME (NEARLY 3 MONTHS), MOST WERE DAMAGED, ALL BUT 2 OF THE 10 ARE NOW DEAD AND NO ONE WANTS TO HELP GIVE ME A REFUND OR REPLACE THEM.I TRIED TO SUPPORT A SMALL BUSINESS DURING COVID 19 AND THIS IS HOW I WAS REPAID. SHAME ON YOU !

    By: julia ridley06-07-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Garden plants

    Hi future customers of Garden Express
    It is all bad news
    I spend more than £300 I hope I will get it back
    The director name is Christopher Denis Bonnett
    DOB October 1981 Address: Pieces Cottage, Mashbury Road Chelmsford CM14UA
    He has a few telephone number but not of them are active
    He is director of 12 companies please see the gov.com companies house by adding his name.
    HMRC are owner most of his assets

    By: Mrs Anna DENT05-07-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    Various shrubs and trees over £100

    I made two orders with Gardening Express more than a month ago at the beginning of June not checking their feedback first, which I normally do when I order from a company for the first time. I was very impressed with their website and offers - it didn't occur to me that they were struggling with their orders. They kept sending emails that they're running 2-4 weeks late due to Covid and I wasn't worried - I understood and waited patiently, but then when nothing arrived after 4 weeks I started doing some research and found the root of the problem. Apparently they received 200K orders since the lockdown which is a staggering number for a family run business - they obviously don't have the manpower or enough stock to fulfil that many orders! Which brings up the question: why did they take people's money knowing they can't fulfil their orders even as late as June? With a conservative estimate of £50 per order they're sitting on 10 million pounds from duped customers. This is not right! They should offer refunds if they can't fulfill the orders within a reasonable period - and actually they shouldn't have taken the orders in the first place! I think they shot themselves in the foot - they should be investigated by trading standards. I just hope I'll get my money back.

    By: Z Smith05-07-2020
    Z Smith05-07-2020

    Would buy here again? No (I missed that part of the questionnaire and it defaulted to yes - no way to edit it now)

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    30 plants inc campanulas, trifolium and potentillas

    Over 7 weeks for part of the order to arrive. Plants much smaller than expected given the price and several damaged possibly by the way they were rammed into the box. Poor quality products and poor customer service when trying to contact them. It's the first time I've felt badly ripped off by an online company.

    By: Tim Hewer03-07-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    3.5
    rating

    Standard rose bushes x 2

    Delivery late. Plants Dead on delivery Couldn't phone them to discuss. Emailed and raised tickets. Sent photos. Day late in contacting them - only have 14 days. Can't get refund. Taken my money and money from lots of other trusting people. Don't buy from them. If you leave msg on Twitter they intercept and ask you to PM them. They delay and then disappear

    By: Gina03-07-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    5 plants costing £232

    The plants I ordered from Gardening Express were quoted as 3/5 days delivery.as 8 weeks later they arrived badly packaged and in a very poor condition. They make it virtually impossible to contact them and like the vast majority of their customers I have received no response for my request for a refund. I have now filed a complaint with Trading Standards via the Citizens Advice online service. It was quick and simple to do and I received a detailed and helpful reply within 2 days.

    I have copied part of the response I received from Citizens Advice below which others may find helpful:

    Your rights and obligations:
    Under the Consumer Rights Act 2015, any goods provided by a trader to a consumer should be of satisfactory quality, which means they should be free from fault, last a reasonable amount of time, do what they’re designed to do, and be safe.
    You may be able to seek redress from the trader if the goods are not of a satisfactory quality.

    You could look to request a repair or replacement in the first instance; any repair or replacement should be provided free of charge, within reasonable time, and not cause a significant inconvenience.

    You only have to allow the trader one attempt at repairing or replacing the goods.

    If a repair or replacement is unsuccessful, cannot be done free of charge, within reasonable time or would cause significant inconvenience you could then request to either exercise your final right to reject the goods for a full refund or, a price reduction on what you’ve paid for the goods.

    Any refund should be provided within 14 days of the refund being agreed and via the same payment method.

    The burden of proof is on the trader; therefore they would need to prove that the goods are of a satisfactory quality or that the fault is down to fair wear and tear, misuse, accidental damage or neglect.

    You may be able to claim consequential losses; these would typically be any losses you have suffered as a direct result of the trader supplying goods that are not of a satisfactory quality. You would need to provide evidence of any losses you have incurred and any losses would need to be kept as low as possible.
    What we'll do:
    We will refer the information you have provided to Trading standards, there is no commitment for them to contact you directly, Trading Standards will only contact you if they deem it necessary. Whilst this does not help you resolve your dispute, it gives Trading Standards vital intelligence on how a trader is conducting their business.

    By: Michelle Richards03-07-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    4 plants

    My plants took 11 weeks from point of order to arrive. Customer services and communication were shocking throughout with no one responding to help tickets and no other available method of making contact. Despite advertising at the time of order that stock was put aside and the plants that I had ordered were definitely available, one item was missing from my delivery, with no communication as to why, or when I might hope to receive it. One of my plants, an acer, when delivered had obviously been neglected at the nursery during the hot weather, and as a result has blackened, shrivelled leaves showing drought or wind damage. Plants not worth the money, customer services not worth the 1 star rating
    Frankly, when they received the amount of orders that they did over the month of April, they SHOULD have shut their order book to allow them to fulfil the orders they already had. It is highly objectionable that they continued to take money from customers, despite knowing full well they were unable to fulfil them within a reasonable time frame. This behaviour makes them no better than greedy crooks. Avoid. Avoid. Avoid. I will never buy from them again.

    By: Jo Sheppard03-07-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Phlox (not delivered) and dianthus

    I am very disappointed with this company. They continued to accept orders when it should have been clear to them that their system in these Covid 19 days could not cope. After several weeks I received a partial delivery and despite my emails they have not yet admitted this short order but were going to 'check with the delivery company'. I have requested a refund for the missing plants. No response. To put the matter in perpective I recently ordered plants from a Dutch company - delivered in full and excellent condition within 2 weeks. There is a lesson here!

    By: Peter Moorhouse01-07-2020
    Jane02-07-2020

    I was promised max 15 day delay. I placed my order on 15th April. On 6th May I raised a 1st ticket asking for a full refund – no answer. On 13th May – 2nd ticket asking for a full refund as terms of delivery has been broken – no answer. On 26th of June 2 boxes with part of the order were delivered, 3 plants in one box were packed upside down and arrived with broken, brown or yellow leaves. One plant is still missing. On 26th of June I raised 3rd ticket. Today is 02nd of July and still no answers, no missing plant, no refund...

    Z Smith05-07-2020

    I ordered at the beginning of June not realising that this was going on - now we're in July and they're still taking orders - not only that they're actively promoting themselves! Absolutely scandalous! They should be shut down and customers refunded.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    3
    rating

    Acers

    Do not use this company!
    I ordered two x acers, one at £100. After waiting nine weeks on delivery, they arrived, dead leaves, spindly, diseased, nothing like shown on site or described. Avoid at all costs.

    By: Kathy Tait01-07-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    4.5
    rating

    4 Climbing Plants

    I am giving Gardening Express 1 star, rather than 0 stars, purely for the fact that the plants eventually arrived. Quite a surprise that anything turned up.
    In the 8 weeks (24th April-18th June) between placing the order and receiving the order Gardening Express were:
    - Quick to take payment
    - Uncontactable
    - Not offering any way to cancel
    - Writing generic excuses for delays whilst still taking more orders

    Now the plants have arrived and are much smaller than I ordered. It'll be a miracle if they grow well and turn into the plants I ordered 2+ months ago.

    By: HG30-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    3
    rating

    Various flowers for garden

    Shocking experience, even allowing for the pandemic. Took 9 weeks to deliver 5 small plants and 11 weeks on, I am still waiting on the bulk of my order. The plants that came were half dead and I cannot get a response to where the rest of my order is. All they said was to post back the plants at my own expense if I want a refund - I don't even have most of them! I have wasted hours chasing them and my garden has lain bare all summer. Utterly depressing and soul destroying experience. I wish I had never found this website, please stay away from them.

    By: Claire L McKay29-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    £68 of mixed delphiniums and echinacea

    Delphiniums arrived all dead . Echinacea plants arrived as a bag of mouldy soggy roots - no way they are alive either.

    By: Beryl Emm 28-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Plants

    Complete scam

    By: E Fran27-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Descriptions on their Website don't match up to what you will receive!!

    Read all the reviews here before you part with your hard earned money!
    The description of the plants on their website doesn't live up to what you actually receive. I'll give you an example of what happened to me!
    I ordered the following plants...
    Pair of Cordyline Pink Passion - Stunning Hardy Torbay Palms Normally £59.95... LOL Now £29.95. I ordered them on the 3rd June and they turned up on the 24th June.

    The description on the website reads as follows..

    Pack of two individual plants, each supplied in approx 2-3 Litre containers at an overall height of around 50-60cms tall, these are great value for the size and will make an instant dramatic impact in your garden.

    They are in fact 38cm and 40cm. Now this may not seem a lot of difference but they are very small and DEFIANTLY don't make an instant impact.

    I contacted their "customer service" team on the same day by raising a ticket. Antony advised me he will pass this on to their Head of Horticulture for comment. Two days later and no reply from Antony despite me sending him another email.

    I will be reporting this to Trading Standards as they are clearly deceiving people by false descriptions on their website. My advice to you is AVOID these scammers and go to your local Garden Center.

    By: Andrew Cleaver25-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2.5
    rating

    Plants

    This company is criminal. They take your money and weeks later your goods still haven’t arrived but they refuse to give you a refund. Nothing better than thieves. Avoid at all costs.

    By: Tory25-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Patio Trees

    Do yourself a favour and do not touch this company with a barge pole. My daughter ordered some trees weeks ago at a cost of £25, quite a large amount for a student. The trees have not turned up. Their customer service is none existent, no available phone number to call them on. E mails receive an automated response which makes it clear that they don't actually read the e mails that they receive. A totally disreputable company, which reading the complaints and comments on sites such as Money Saving Expert from the numerous people who have either paid for plants that have not been received, or received dead plants for which they have failed to receive refunds, should be investigated for fraudulent practices.

    By: Angela Greenfield24-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Lupins foxglove geum dianthus

    Utter rubbish plants arrived dead and mouldy after waiting 9 weeks only half the order has arrived still waiting for the rest if they are anything like the ones that I have already received they need not bother. Utterly disgusted might as well thrown my money away. Tried to contact them via email but they have responded.

    By: Brenda kendall23-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Write your own review about Gardening Express

    Your review

    FAQ

    Is Gardening Express a trustworthy company?

    There are currently 216 customer review posted about Gardening Express. On average, they received a star-grading of 3/10, with 25% of the reviewers indicating that they would buy from the brand again.

    What services or products do Gardening Express offer?

    Gardening Express is mainly active in the Online Shop category, more specifically with Homeware.

    I have read all the reviews. What now?

    Did you get a positive impression from the reviews? If so, then you can place your order on the Gardening Express website with confidence. If not you can find many other brands to read about on our website!