BritainReviews

    Gardening Express
    Reviews, complaints and customer experiences (219)

    3
    24% Would buy here again!
    Ordering
    rating
    4
    Service
    rating
    2.4
    Pricing
    rating
    3.4
    Delivery
    rating
    2.8

    All reviews

    Read independent reviews, consumer experiences, feedback and complaints right here! Get to know the best online shops and service providers from the impressions they with people. Customers now get to decide which brands are worthy and which are not!

    Photinia serratifolia

    - Overly optimistic delivery times quoted, took way longer
    - Plants looked nothing like what was advertised and was not nearly the sizes promised
    - Impossible to get hold of anyone at the company

    By: Anonymous19-05-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    3
    rating

    Clematis early sensation

    Didn’t look as it should when first arrived and made complaint. Planted it and has died. I’ve contacted the company to inform them twice and no response.

    By: Margaret 29-04-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    5
    rating

    Aubretia

    Just avoid. Everything negative written below is correct. Like most other people, I too wish I’d read the reviews first. It also seems to be impossible to rate 1 star above - would love to rate zero

    By: Kate23-04-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    3.5
    rating

    600910617

    Avoid this thugs, you will not get any communications or your order. There is no way to hold of anyone by any channel.

    By: Jay Amin21-04-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    Patio apricot bush

    I ordered this apricot bush 12 months ago and have still not received it or a refund of the £19.99 that I paid for it. I have sent emails and raised support tickets to no avail.
    Atrocious service!

    NB I wanted to give no stars for service, but, apparently, that's not possible.

    By: Lanetta Smith07-04-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    3.5
    rating

    Plants

    DO NOT BUY FROM THIS COMPANY!!!
    I ordered £190 of plants and all 7 of them were not as described, probably a 1/10th of the size they were advertised as!
    I have written several emails asking to return them but they just don’t reply. I will be seeking legal advice on these scammers and persuing them to the ends of the earth... Vermin.

    By: Paul Doody05-04-2021
    Mrs Frances lloyd06-04-2021

    I ordered 2 black cherry trees last Tuesday have tried to track them it said no trace order number 600888499 what is happening .

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Several orders

    I had 4 orders from this company spending a considerable amount of money some plants arrived dead the others died within weeks/ a month or so. No phone number to contact them sent several emails no response. Raised a number of forms on website, got the excuse of them being busy, my case has been referred to the horticultural manager to look at my case never heard back. On checking the status on my case i found the jobs had been closed without it being resolved.
    Disgraceful joke of con artists.
    Avoid this company if you don't want to wait weeks for your delivery and get dead plants, they guarantee the plants yet don't refund you with pictures of the dead plants.
    If you want to order plants online use dobbies, excellent quality and service

    By: Sandra 26-03-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    Order #600821839 2 off Planterd

    Absolutley appalling customer service, I purchased 2 planters at a cheap pricepoint, they were extremely sub std, and damaged,
    even at this price. I would have returned them but the cost to return would have amounted to the cost of the items.
    So I raised a ticket on their system to complain, the ticket was closed, without them making any contact with me.
    I have sinced raised several more tickets with the same results. I feel they have dumped these unwanted stock and
    are now totally ignoring me attempts to complain. If I treated my customers with the contempt they are clearly showing me and
    ignored my customers issues I would be sacked.
    DO NOT USE IF YOU VALUE CUSTOMER SERVICE.
    WISH I'D READ THE REVIEWS FIRST, SEEMS LIKE A RIP OFF COMPANY

    By: Pete Mcloughlin24-03-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Convolvulus Silver Bush

    Don’t waste your money! I ordered plants and received twigs in a pot of dust, these were evergreen plants! Even the twigs broke away when they were unpacked, leaving just the stem. Spoke on the ‘chat’ facility and after sending the requested pics was told they would ‘flourish’ - they might do in about 5 years time, if they even survive. Was then given the option to return at a postage cost to me, after already paying for delivery...which I would be prepared to incur if I had changed my mind, but not for inferior, sub standard products! Was given an email address to complain to and no response to that either. Worst company and service ever and I would never use or recommend them

    By: TERESA COLEMAN18-03-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    3.5
    rating

    £97 beg March 2021

    Missing plants and half dead plants. Half the order needs to be refunded as a minimum. I “ raised a ticket” as their system requires but no response to this or email. Only wish I’d read independent reviews before purchasing. DONT waste your money with this dishonest company. It’s a con.

    By: Marcell Casingena 11-03-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    4
    rating

    Several plants over 2 orders

    I bought several plants, over 2 orders, from Gardening Express. Most were perfect and have survived but a few of them were damaged so I contacted Gardening Express and raised a ticket with them, providing photos as requested. 8 weeks on I have had no response whatsoever from them, despite my trying several times to contact them. This is very poor customer service.

    By: Julia Richards08-02-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    6
    rating

    A multi grafted tree that never materialised!

    This carry-on has really angered beyond belief !!😡
    After 6 weeks of lies and excuses , there is still no sign of my tree at a cost of over £65!!😡. It israther convenient dealing by online only and mot using a contact phone number for the fear of being constantly vonractrd gor the lack of service and only to realize that it could well be one sn scam !! The goverment needs to stop this charade by introducing the POD (Pat On Delivery) ,be sure as it stands , any crooked undesirable can thief by a click of computer ! Saying that I am livid , it is an
    understatement!! 😡😡

    By: Orlando Amato 01-01-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    3
    rating

    Multiple Orders

    Worst company I have experienced in UK. Made multiple orders. Received dead plants, damaged/unviable plants, and even wrong plants. Contacted company multiple times to no avail. Not even a reply. Closed any "customer service" Ticket opened without responding. Dishonest and fraudulent! Suggest all similar cases to lodge small claims court actions to halt them from trading!

    By: ThomasB19-12-2020
    Coco19-12-2020

    Same experience we had. Terrible terrible terrible company. Can the government fraud team not shut them down?

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    3 Poinsettias

    Absolutely agree with the comments on here that this company is a scam. Ordered 3 poinsettias, which cost £9 including postage. The plants arrived half dead and by 3 days later had completely lost their red foliage. I was dismayed to find out that the company did not have a contact phone number and my 2 emails to them, requesting a refund, went unanswered. I bought 3 great poinsettias from Lidls to replace them at a total cost of only £6. AVOID THIS SCAM ARTISTS LIKE THE PLAGUE!

    By: C Martin16-12-2020
    C Martin16-12-2020

    Update to my review - Just this afternoon, 13 days after my first email, I had an email response from the company, apologising and giving me a full refund. Therefore, I do have to eat my words to some extent!

    Vivien McCord16-12-2020

    Just received £100+ of plants. Perfectly packaged and the plants are very good quality. I feel sorry for those who have not had such a good experience.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    A pair of potted Xmas Trees

    Well! I have been quoted chapter and verse this morning regarding terms and conditions.
    Order placer 29th November, quoted 5 days delivery, due to Covid this may be extended to 15 days. Day 14 and the order is still showing 'Packing now'. Same as for the last 10 days. Managed to contact them on chat this morning to be told they can't give me a delivery date due to the thousands of orders they have to process. They're Christmas trees in pots ffs, pretty obvious when they are needed for. As they haven't yet been packed or dispatched I requested cancellation and a refund. Can't be done unless it is cancelled within 24 hours of ordering!! Kept repeating the same dialogue, I would have to await delivery, refuse the order or accept it and return it myself. 4 times to any response or request or threat I made. I am now in the position where I have been forced to pursue this matter through Trading Standards and small claims. Gardening Express? Wrong description.
    I'm more than happy to make allowances for the current Covid problem, but a Garden Centre either has the goods or they don't, delivery services are not overwhelmed at the moment. Avoid if you want the goods in a reasonable time period.

    By: Elizabeth Fraser12-12-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    4
    rating

    100 tulip bulbs

    The worst. No connection no bulbs no money back no response.
    What can we do to put this company into admin!!!!!??

    By: Karen Hardy08-12-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Photinia

    I ordered this on 17/11 but although they took my money I still do not have my delivery and it is now 8/12, when I tried to contact them via their support ticket service no-one responded and there is no option to contact them to speak to anyone, appalling customer service provision and unreliable. I will not be buying from them again

    By: Lina Poulter08-12-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    4
    rating

    Sansevieria

    The plant came absolutely damaged. Whoever packaged it strangled it to death.
    I can't even get through to customer service.
    What a waste ... I spent money to not receive the plant I want. Healthy and gorgeous... didn't happen.

    By: Sarahlou Barrow Lewis30-11-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    5
    rating

    Numerous Plants

    This would have been a 0 Star if it was available! Their service isn't just poor, it is almost non-existent. I purchased some plants with 2 separate orders back in April, they arrived in May & June, sadly, some plants were dead. I wrote to them with photo’s immediately and respectfully requested replacement plants. Nothing to date has arrived and neither have I received a reimbursement. I have subsequently written to them numerous times, without a response, except for once when they said to 'bear with them during this difficult (COVID) period and that someone would be in contact with me soon'. 6 months after that initial contact, I still haven't had either replacement plants, or reimbursement. What is most irritating is that they state on their website that they are working with significantly reduced staffing (COVID) and to please be patient. But they are still able to advertise a full list of available plants for sale by way of their regular sales emails! Yes, the plants received that weren't dead have flourished, but Garden Express's customer service in the event of a problem is appalling. Buy from them at your peril.

    By: Richard 24-11-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    6
    rating

    'Autumn Crocus' bulbs

    Initially I had a good opinion f this company. That has changed following my recent experience with a purchase. I bought ten 'Autumn Crocus' bulbs from them. It was then pointeD out to me on a gardening site that these are in fact part of the lily family and toxic especially to cats. Most cat owners know they should avoid lilies at all costs as a feline can die swiftly if smelling or ingesting any part of such plants. I pointed this out to G E as there is no mention of their being part of the lily family on their site. There told me to return the bulbs but do not pay for postage. As I had already paid £5.99 for delivery this would be pointless and I'd lose money. Other companies refund without quibble. I advise peOple not to buy from this company, their customer service is awful.

    By: Jennifer Pulling09-11-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    4
    rating

    Write your own review about Gardening Express

    Your review

    FAQ

    Is Gardening Express a trustworthy company?

    There are currently 219 customer review posted about Gardening Express. On average, they received a star-grading of 3/10, with 24% of the reviewers indicating that they would buy from the brand again.

    What services or products do Gardening Express offer?

    Gardening Express is mainly active in the Online Shop category, more specifically with Homeware.

    I have read all the reviews. What now?

    Did you get a positive impression from the reviews? If so, then you can place your order on the Gardening Express website with confidence. If not you can find many other brands to read about on our website!