BritainReviews

    Gardening Express
    Reviews, complaints and customer experiences (216)

    3
    25% Would buy here again!
    Ordering
    rating
    4
    Service
    rating
    2.4
    Pricing
    rating
    3.2
    Delivery
    rating
    2.6

    All reviews

    Read independent reviews, consumer experiences, feedback and complaints right here! Get to know the best online shops and service providers from the impressions they with people. Customers now get to decide which brands are worthy and which are not!

    Mixed pack of varying succulents

    advertised as a selection of 10 mixed succulents with quote “Different foliage textures and colours” , however disappointing when they arrived they were 10 of the same plant ( 2 of which were rotting .)
    Customer services basically dismissed any responsibility with regard to misleading advertising and basically directed me to small print . I will be contacting Trading Standard .


    Shame because previous orders have been. good. Will not be using there services again . I have lots of friends in the gardening world and will be sharing my experience.
    Useful
    Share

    By: Andrea Lee23-06-2019
    ALISON25-06-2019

    I also I had some serious issues & I rang head office number which is tel:01245 20442511 & spoke to a customer service manager

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Acer orido Nishiki

    I bought the Acer advertised at 1.5 to 1.8 meters high what I received was a rather poor plant just over one meter high and it looked nothing like the photographs in the advert and it looked nothing like the proper variety so it's probably wrong I'm still arguing with them about returning the plant they've now stopped replying to my emails this was my first order and I will never order again and I recommend everyone to just never buy from them

    By: Chris Brierley22-06-2019
    ALISON25-06-2019

    I had some issues & I rang head office number which is tel:01245 20442511 & spoke to a customer service manager

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    4.5
    rating

    Heuchera and lavender

    I ordered two plants. They arrived in a box that was so battered that the Hermes delivery lady commented on it. On opening the box, one plant was OK but the other was in a dreadful condition, three-quarters dead. I contacted Gardening Express and to my amazement they actually expect ME to pay the costs in returning it to them! I shan't waste my money with this company again. Very disappointing.

    By: Jill Sidders18-06-2019
    ALISON25-06-2019

    I had some serious issues & I rang head office number which is tel:01245 20442511 & spoke to a customer service manager You do have to keep ringing and they eventually answer it. They have blocked my review on trust pilot at present as they block any bad review. Hope the number helps

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    5
    rating

    Fragrant Evergreen Daphne

    DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!!
    The plants I received bear no resemblance to the plants pictured and described on their website. I send them emails and attached pictures to compare them to what they advertised them to be (pictures and descriptions) - the description does not match what was supplied in the least! Website description: “Supplied growing in approx 1.5-2 litre containers, high quality, bushy and covered in buds and fragrant flowers in season.” - What I received: they were not high quality - they were not bushy - they are not covered in buds - they were not covered in fragrant flowers - they are in season. They were young plants that may well eventually grow to be what was described and pictured but I did not want young plants and I did not buy them on this basis. They are not what they were described to be - this is misleading advertising. The response was they will eventually grow to be what the pictures showed - what a load of rubbish. Stay away from this company - they are a waste of money, time and are a SCAM!

    By: Niall Keegan12-06-2019
    ALISON25-06-2019

    I had some issues & I rang head office number which is tel:01245 20442511 & spoke to a customer service manager

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Lavender Plants

    Ordered in confidence, but that soon changed when the product was received - it was nothing like the description and even worse when I tried to start the process of returning them. There is no telephone number and all email correspondence just quote the terms and conditions. I have escalated my complaint with an online resolution centre and hoping something comes of that. DO NOT DEAL WITH THIS COMPANY - COMPLETE SHAMBLES.

    By: Kate12-06-2019
    ALISON25-06-2019

    I had some issues & I rang head office number which is tel:01245 20442511 & spoke to a customer service manager

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    4
    rating

    Clematis Koreana amber

    The plant cost £17.00 pounds, working out at £23.00 with delivery.On arrival, the box looked okay bit the clematis 8nside was like a twig, one third of it ( at the top) completely dead and brown shrivelled leaves.The plastic pot was cheap, there was only a thin black plastic bag wrapped around the base of plant and I was soo disappointed!!! Have never used them before and wouldn't ever use again

    By: Sarah Clark 11-06-2019
    ALISON25-06-2019

    I had some serious issues & I rang head office number which is tel:01245 20442511 & spoke to a customer service manager You do have to keep ringing and they eventually answer it. They have blocked my review on trust pilot at present as they block any bad review. Hope the number helps

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    3
    rating

    Slow to dispatch, plants broken, complaint ignored

    Slow to dispatch, took over a week. Recieved email saying they had been dispatched, checked tracking but courier said hadn't been recieved from Gardening Express. Stayed like this for a couple of days, so clearly weren't dispatched when they said they were. Plants arrived broken in several places. Complained and got no response. Terrible service. Would not use again. Would and recommend.

    By: Becky Dale08-06-2019
    ALISON25-06-2019

    I had some issues & I rang head office number which is tel:01245 20442511 & spoke to a customer service manager

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    5
    rating

    Plants

    Have given one star as impossible to give zero stars! Worst company I have ever dealt with, plant arrived late and damaged. No telephone or email support, issues have to be raised via a “support ticket” - which is laughable as they aren’t the slightest bit supportive and rarely reply to it! Have been trying for last two months to get refund or replacement to no avail. Avoid at ALL costs

    By: Deb 02-06-2019
    ALISON25-06-2019

    I had some issues & I rang head office number which is tel:01245 20442511 & spoke to a customer service manager You do have to keep ringing and they eventually answer it

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Plants

    Avoid these shysters like the plague. Received rotting and dying plants. No reply to my complaint. Run by a grubby low life con merchant.

    DO NOT BUY FROM THIS COMPANY.

    By: Dave S31-05-2019
    ALISON25-06-2019

    I had some serious issues & I rang head office number which is tel:01245 20442511 & spoke to a customer service manager You do have to keep ringing and they eventually answer it. They have blocked my review on trust pilot at present as they block any bad review. Hope the number helps

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    DO NOT BUY, THEY'LL TAKE YOUR MONEY, CANCEL YOUR ORDER THEN NOT REFUND YOUR MONEY

    I have spent a lot of money with Gardening Express over the past few months and whilst my first order was ok the service and quality of plants has declined since. The latest insult is that they cancelled an order without my knowledge or any explanation but have not refunded my money. You cannot speak to them but you make a "ticket" with your issue. Mine remains unanswered after three days. Have now had to go to my bank to try to get the money back. My advice would be to go elsewhere.

    Appalling service

    By: MRS P JACKSON10-05-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    3.5
    rating

    Deliver

    Ordered very two weeks ago..nothing since...Tried emailing but email won't send. Tried phoning and number not in service? I'm very disappointed in this company

    By: Caz 08-05-2019
    ALISON25-06-2019

    I had some serious issues & I rang head office number which is tel:01245 20442511 & spoke to a customer service manager You do have to keep ringing and they eventually answer it. They have blocked my review on trust pilot at present as they block any bad review. Hope the number helps

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Lost plants

    I wish I had read the reviews. 3 plants ordered. Nothing arrived. Still waiting for a refund on one and the other two when tracked said their not at their depot. Very upsetting and I'm now tired of sending emails. There is no contact number yo contact them. I just want my money back.

    By: Hasina Kola08-05-2019
    ALISON25-06-2019

    I had some serious issues & I rang head office number which is tel:01245 20442511 & spoke to a customer service manager You do have to keep ringing and they eventually answer it. They have blocked my review on trust pilot at present as they block any bad review. Hope the number helps

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    What you see/buy is not whats delivered!

    Possibly the worst company I have ever had to deal with. Ordered a pair of Evergreen Photonia Red Robin Tree’s which were pictured to have a ball shaped foliage and described as having ball shaped foliage (similar style to a bay tree) What arrived where a couple of miss shaped bushes with no form or structure resembling a ball. Not to mention Yodel just dumped them on the door step and ignored instructions to deliver to neighbour. Gardening Express don’t accept phone calls, they don’t accept emails, they don’t communicate on Facebook or Twitter, they make it virtually impossible to communicate with them other to log a support ticket. Which when they answer they simply close instantly unless you respond. Their excuse was that with careful pruning the trees could be trained into a ball shape, but I am not Alan Titchmarsh, I ordered something based on a description and a picture. My advice is not to use them, in 2019 a company should show more customer service, also when they close your support ticket just keep replying with additional messages, least it wastes their time as lets face it they didn’t’ waste any time dealing with my request. The most annoying thing is you pay for postage, they deliver rubbish and they expect you to return it at your own expense.

    By: Si Horton07-05-2019
    ALISON25-06-2019

    I had some serious issues & I rang head office number which is tel:01245 20442511 & spoke to a customer service manager You do have to keep ringing and they eventually answer it. They have blocked my review on trust pilot at present as they block any bad review. Hope the number helps

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Pleased with my purchase

    Overall pleased with my purchase, value Acer Orangeola tree arrived in 5 weeks. The plant was healthy and a good size. Will order again. It did take some time to arrive and I did get a little nervous, but all is quite good to be fair.

    By: David Warr03-05-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    6.5
    rating

    Bad


    I honestly don't know where these good reviews come from. I ordered a buddleia bush which in the picture on their website shows a leafy plant and pictures of what it will look like when flowering. It says they pick the best plant for you from their nursery. I received a twig thing with about four leaves the size of a 5p. It looks ridiculous. I've opened a ticket that you can complain on their site with, and of course no response. I paid £13 for a twig and am gutted to say the least. I won't ever use this company again and I advise anyone else to avoid them too. I can't believe they can get away with this!!!! I just wish I'd read all the bad reviews before I ordered from them

    By: Lisa hughes05-04-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    These sell rubbish

    Ordered yellow magnolia, it is white, ordered 2 Xmas cacti in bud, all buds in bottom of badly packed box.
    Do not buy from these they are scammers.

    By: Tre20-03-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    DO NOT BUY FROM THIS COMPANY


    DO NOT BUY FROM THIS COMPANY. I have received 2 Phormium's @ £19.95 each, both arrived tiny, dead and withered - after sending photos with my complaint Gardening Express claimed the plants looked exactly as they would expect them to look! I also ordered a Cordyline which was described on their website as I quote a GIANT EXTRA LARGE SPECIMEN PALM and according to them RRP £139.99 (which now I have the plant is laughable), the Cordyline delivered was not mature, definitely not 'giant' and would have cost me around £30 at my local garden centre, I paid GE £39.99! The only way to get my money back now is to lose even more by paying to return the plants myself! I also doubt it's a coincidence that their contact links do not work on the website as I'm sure they would be inundated with complaints.

    By: Miss Pinky19-03-2019
    ALISON25-06-2019

    I had some serious issues & I rang head office number which is tel:01245 20442511 & spoke to a customer service manager You do have to keep ringing and they eventually answer it. They have blocked my review on trust pilot at present as they block any bad review. Hope the number helps

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2.5
    rating

    Poor quality plants and service

    Purchased a bonsai camelia 2 weeks ago and within a week half of the leaves have fallen off. Sent 3 emails to gardening express customer service with no response.
    My advice is to stay clear of this company. Should have read some of the other reviews before i purchased.

    By: Ty desilva12-03-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    what a joke !!!!

    I placed 2 orders one for£19.99 fo a cherry blossom tree that came with lots of broken branches,looked like it had not been waterd in weeks.I also placed an order for £113 for various plants 2 i was charged for that were not sent!!! i orderd a zebra grass that did not arrive,they sent a large dead plant in place of it dont even know what it was supposed to be.
    I sent them photos of the damaged tree and they said there was no damage!!!!!
    I also had to have 2 days off work for the plants to come i was told a specific day by the carrier,they didn't turn up until the next day.There is no phone number so you cant speak to anyone.so its been one nightmare dealing with this so called garden centre.so all in all i have wasted a lot of money but i have learned a lesson from this and that is do not deal with a company that you can't phone they are not to be trusted.

    By: jackie senior08-03-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Very poor quality plants, all pots damaged /broken, skimmia was yellowing badly (aged and not feeding), very badly (unprofessionally packaged on top of each other. Overall aged and poorly maintained plants. They use Hermes as couriers and there was no tra


    John

    By: John McGuinness04-03-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    3
    rating

    Write your own review about Gardening Express

    Your review

    FAQ

    Is Gardening Express a trustworthy company?

    There are currently 216 customer review posted about Gardening Express. On average, they received a star-grading of 3/10, with 25% of the reviewers indicating that they would buy from the brand again.

    What services or products do Gardening Express offer?

    Gardening Express is mainly active in the Online Shop category, more specifically with Homeware.

    I have read all the reviews. What now?

    Did you get a positive impression from the reviews? If so, then you can place your order on the Gardening Express website with confidence. If not you can find many other brands to read about on our website!