BritainReviews

    Gardening Express
    Reviews, complaints and customer experiences (216)

    3
    25% Would buy here again!
    Ordering
    rating
    4
    Service
    rating
    2.4
    Pricing
    rating
    3.2
    Delivery
    rating
    2.6

    All reviews

    Read independent reviews, consumer experiences, feedback and complaints right here! Get to know the best online shops and service providers from the impressions they with people. Customers now get to decide which brands are worthy and which are not!

    Viburnum eskimo x2

    Weak looking, underfed, yellowing leaves, badly clipped twigs from main plants. Delivered I squashed pots in obviously not the original growing medium. Could not use the voucher given to me as a present as two minutes after ordering it was not accepted, but the transfer money was!
    A company I shall warn others not to use.

    By: E Walton19-04-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    3 grow your own mushroom kits

    The worst grown your own mushroom set I’ve ever had and the worst customer service. That’s the last time I’ll buy from this online store.
    Bought three sets of grow your own mushrooms at Xmas (bought before from other retailers) and only three mushrooms produced in total!! The kits are hopeless. I complained to Gardening Express and they said because I didn’t contact them within 14 days to say they were substandard that I am now too late. Anyone who has ever grown their own mushrooms will know that it takes WEEKS and weeks to harvest a crop and before you’d know there was a problem.
    My advice is don’t but their grow your own mushroom kits and don’t expect any sort of customer service from Gardening Express ever . Oh, and you can only chat or email. There’s no phone contact whatsoever . Rubbish

    By: Jane Foster19-02-2020
    Jane Foster19-02-2020

    I actually would not ever buy from here again

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    6
    rating

    Michelia Magnolia Fairy White

    I was disappointed with the quality of the Michelia Magnolia Fairy White which had obviously had it's main stem snapped off before dispatch, had few leaves for an evergreen on a straggly bare stem with a some sickly yellowish/green leaves on the end, some of which had insect damage.. Very poor quality for £14.97 and no one would have bought it at a garden centre. Their response to my complaint? "I can assure you that your Magnolia is very much alive...." so being alive is their plant quality standard! Avoid.

    By: David Waller18-02-2020
    Alena13-05-2020

    My Michelia Magnolia Fairy White arrived in same condition As a single stick with few yellowish leaves with brown spots on them and insect bites on the edges.I became suspicious of the bites and to be sure I decided to check the roots of the other plants.I started inspection with Sedum and I found Vine Weevil grubs in the pot!!!! The fig tree I received was just bare stick with one bud but the 2 geums were ok.After finding the Vine Weevil grubs in Sedum I poured Scotts Vine Weevil killer in all pots. Due to Covid I did not bother to even contact them as I waited over month for the plants. Be very careful and check your plants as you might infect your garden with Vine Weevil!!!I bought from them before and it was hit and miss with the plants quality but I will never buy from them again.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    Twigs

    I wish I could give NO STARS!
    Avoid Gardening Express at all costs, possibly one of the worst retail experiences I've had. Lovely pictures on their website, but be warned what turns up will take 5-10 year to look in anyway similar. They may as well sent you a packet of seeds! They send everything using Yodel and will require a signature. You'll get no warning, simply a text saying be in tomorrow and await your package. It can't be left in the garden (ironic given thats where it'll end up), wont be left with a neighbour, instead you will need to wait in all day. When you contact customer service, they are completely useless. All they say is, "well your plant arrived, it's not dead, there's nothing more we will do". No real apology, no offer of compensation. I'd run a mile from these guys, plenty more reputable companies out there.

    By: Steve12-02-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Palm trees - babies advertised as mature/ chunky

    Really bad trees and customer service was appalling. I would advise looking at reviews and making your decision. They are so bad and going to go under soon, no doubt.

    By: David Sagstad19-11-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Cornus Midwinter Fire 3 off

    Oh how I wish I had read some of the reviews on here before ordering from this company!
    The photo of the plants in their pots on their website bear no resemblance to what they actually sent, infact I suspect that the plants in the photo are not even the same variety and have been airbrushed to look like Midwinter Fire, why do I say that? Because Midwinter fire does not grow that prolific and strong!!!! I could have got as good plants as they sent from the reduced section in my local garden centre, I will never ever use this company again!

    By: David Appleby16-11-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    3
    rating

    9 Ajuga Plants

    If only I had read the reviews before ordering. I would never have bought from this awful firm. The plants I ordered were sold as being in 1 litre pots. Three of one kind were, the other 6 were in pots half that size, puny little plants with poor roots. The pots were bashed when they arrived. Emails produced the following:
    "We ask you to please appreciate pot sizes can and may vary. This in no way compromises the quality of the plant received, as these may be ready for re-potting."
    If one orders plants in 1 litre pots, rather than smaller pots, that should mean that you receive larger plants. In this case not only were the plants in small pots, but were not very good plants either. A further complaint email produced a stock answer - would get a full refund if returned within 14 days, no offer of postage - no apology.
    A dreadful, dreadful firm.

    By: Jackie Langley27-10-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    3.5
    rating

    Plants

    Received a delivery with numerous plants. Some ok, some pretty dead and not as advertised. Started a dispute through the chat as they don't provide a phone number on the website. Talked to two people through chat and Marina the manager on the phone, got fobbed off, despite providing with clear evidence that the plants that I have received are not what is advertised (ornamental cabbages are advertised to be in 10-12cm pots 1l on the website, arrived in 6cm pots and less than 400ml, and some of the heathers were pretty dead).

    Got told that the plants are the right plants and there is no issue and if I want to return them for refund I need to cover the cost myself, which I have refused, given that I have received not what I have ordered based on the information provided online.

    When I have pointed out the difference in size of the ornamental cabbages both in the description and photos on the website, I got told that the measurements are approximate and the images for full grown plants. This was not mentioned on the product page.

    As for heathers, I got told that some of them are not in season and thus don't look great right now. Again, nowhere on the product page is mentioned that they are out of season. On contrary, it says 'Full of buds and bursting in to colour right now'. Again, when I pointed this out to Marina the manager, I got told that I should have done my homework (bear in mind the product page doesn't even mention what types are being sent!).

    All in all, the company is a scam and I would advise against shopping with them as you will waste your money and nerves talking to the customer support team.

    By: Maria08-10-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    3.5
    rating

    24 plants

    Do not order from those people. They are sending you rotten plants and make it impossible to get refunded despite every effort to provide them with proves.

    By: Melissa Pickard02-10-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    Lemon cypress

    I ordered 6 lemon cypress for my window boxes thinking they would look like the online picture.
    Supposed to be tall and elegant but no, they were bedraggled and sad looking. Sadly this won’t let me post pictures. GE think they looked fine. Unbelievable. I won’t be buying again.

    By: Anne Ramsey29-09-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    6.5
    rating

    Pair of Tuscan Cypress Trees

    Ordered a pair of Tuscan Cypress trees. On unpacking one was damaged, in that the leader branch was broken. Immediately emailed Gardeningexpress with pictures, took a week for them to reply (after I chased them) to be told that there was no detrimental damage. Having stated that I was unhappy with this I was told to return them at my cost to get a refund, when all they had to do was send a replacement tree. Rest assured I will not use them again and would strongly advise against anyone else using them.

    By: Andrew Busby26-09-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    5.5
    rating

    2 x evergreen californian lilac trees

    Ordered two small lilac trees from them. Took Hermes 12 days to deliver them . When they arrived they were dead and I mean dead . All dried up and leaves all flaked off

    I emailed them twice with photos of the trees attached. This was two weeks ago and they haven't replied

    Correspondence is shocking . You can only try and contact them via email and then you will only hear from them if they decide to reply to you

    They took my £31 and sold me sub standard goods . Shouldn't be allowed to continue operating . There is no way I can get my money back as they wont contact me . So angry

    By: Kelly H20-08-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    Laburnum

    Bought a £30 laburnum, half hr after ordering I emailed them to ask if I could cancel as hadn’t realised they were poisonous as I have two young children.
    Didn’t think this would be an issue but I was wrong.
    They said in email back they couldn’t cancel order as had 1000s of customers per day and were too busy !!!
    I feel really sorry for the 1000s

    By: Dan 17-08-2019
    Dawn, 09-02-2020

    Purchased King Sago plant, highly toxic, no mention of this on the website. Canceled 2 hours after placing the order and got the same response as you. Did your issue get resolved?

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    2 x plants

    Absolute joke of a company with zero morals. AVOID! I ordered my mum 2 plants for her birthday. It took 2 weeks for them to arrive. The box was bashed up and the plants, 1 in particular, was dying and wilted. My mum who's a very keen gardener has said they're beyond salvage. You can't phone this company (alarm bells) but I managed to contact them via chat. I sent pictures and this was their reply (below) which seems to be their standard one but we can't ask be wrong. I order plants for my mum every year and the state these were in is nothing I've ever seen. 

    Having reviewed the photographs you sent over of your plants I can confirm that (although they are dry and some of the foliage is wilted), they are alive and will perk up (once planted out and cared for as per instructions).

    Live plants are always going to be a little thirsty on delivery after being transported in a carton for a couple of days but please rest assured that they are tougher than they look and will perk up within a few days of being planted out and watered well.

    By: Steve 26-07-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    Clematis x 2

    Unable to think of a positive other than one of the Clematis was still barely alive, the other they had put it with had wilt and was completely dead. Needless to say, the barely alive plant has now joined the other!
    Informed them on their "ticket raising online contact" for them to ignore this.
    I wish I was able to rate them with 0 stars, but unfortunately this website will not allow it, so have marked as a begrudging 1 star.

    By: Sue13-07-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Plants not delivered

    If I could leave a zero star review I would.
    What a terrible company.
    My plants never arrived because they sent them with Hermes who left them outside my house when we were out. 3 weeks and several emails later they refuse to take this up with their courier. I urge anybody to avoid this company

    By: Sandra12-07-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    Just don't buy from this website

    I have placed quite a big order here, well aware of the delays in receiving the order. Little did I know that the box they were delivered was completely damaged on the outside and way too small to fit the plants anyway, as a result, all the pots were squashed and leafs from the plants were everywhere. The plants not only looked very poorly but under no circumstances worth that price. On top of that one of the plants was just dead. I sent them 2 emails asking for replacements or full refund and not only that it took them more than 14 days to answer back but they had the courage to say that the plants in the photos sent look healthy and it is all normal. So there is me with a bunch of poorly plants and one dead one and a loss of 50£. That thing with sending a new plant if the original one dies is just a scam. They never do.

    By: Gabriela Bors11-07-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    House leeks "bargain"

    Delivery arrived with a few days delay. Package should have contained 10 plants in perfect condition. Two were missing completely and a further four were damaged or rotting.
    I was able to salvage 4 of the 10 plants. I photographed the package as opened and forwarded the photo to the company . Recceipt acknowledged but since then silence.
    This is possibly the worst online purchase I have ever made!.
    Should have read all the negaive reviews before ordering!

    By: John Wells01-07-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    6.5
    rating

    2palms 3grasses 3lithodora

    Boxes on delivery very badly damaged plants bone dry palms in ok condition Grasses ok but 3 lithodora were beyond help pots damaged Gave them a good soaking but all 3 not worth putting in ground They answered promptly to complaint but nothing since Would never buy from them again Ever !!!

    By: Carole Pope28-06-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    5
    rating

    Rhododendren

    I bought a rhododendren for father's day and when received I opened box to find my plant looked nothing like what was advertised and the leaves were burnt. I contacted gardening express immediately with pictures and several messages but still no reply. There customer service is disgusting please AVOID AVOID AVOID. Never shop with them again.

    By: Mr Judkins 26-06-2019
    ALISON26-06-2019

    I had some serious issues & I rang head office number which is tel:01245 20442511 & spoke to a customer service manager You do have to keep ringing and they eventually answer it. They have blocked my review on trust pilot at present as they block any bad review.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Write your own review about Gardening Express

    Your review

    FAQ

    Is Gardening Express a trustworthy company?

    There are currently 216 customer review posted about Gardening Express. On average, they received a star-grading of 3/10, with 25% of the reviewers indicating that they would buy from the brand again.

    What services or products do Gardening Express offer?

    Gardening Express is mainly active in the Online Shop category, more specifically with Homeware.

    I have read all the reviews. What now?

    Did you get a positive impression from the reviews? If so, then you can place your order on the Gardening Express website with confidence. If not you can find many other brands to read about on our website!