BritainReviews

    Reviews Aspinal of London

    If you are looking for a luxury handbag, you can visit various brands and department store and take a look at their small supply of accessories, but you can also visit a webshop that specialises in bags and therefore has a wide variety. One of these kind of shops is Aspinal or London. But what kind of quality can be expected from their bags, wallets and leather gifts? Will the leather require much maintenance or will it be durable none the less? And what will their customer service department have to say if something does not go the way you planned? Will they be friendly and help you out? The best kind of information on these matters is provided by real customers of Aspinal or London. Their experiences and opinions can provide you with some insight in this shop and help you decide if you would or would not like to buy from them.

    About Aspinal or London

    Aspinal or London is a shop that sells bags and other leather goods. They offer ladies’ bags like travel bags, , office bags, business bags, jewellery boxes, handbags, clutches, top handle bags, zip clutcjes, backpacks, large handbags, messenger bags, mini bags, cross body bags, saddle bags, tote bags, mini trunk clutches, hobo bags, rucksacks, shoulder bags, weekend bags, overnight bags and more. You can also design and/or personalise your own The Charmeleon Tote bag. That way, you will have a bag like no one else has. They also offer a range of journals like leather yournals, personal organisers, wedding albums, baby record books, guest books, visitor books, world atlases, photo albums, notebooks and even the Oxford English Dictionary. But they also offer a range of accessories and leather gifts like sporting gifts, wedding gifts, pens, luxury games, desk accessories, office supplies, iPhone cases, iPad cases, scented candles, silk scarves, hip flasks, home accessories, belts, fine jewellery, cuff bracelets, beauty accessories, key rings, charms, gloves, diaries, wallets and more.


    How to tie an aspinal scarf into a belt.

    Services of Aspinal or London

    You can order the bags, accessories and other products from Aspinal or London‘s website. Aspinal or London will send the bag, pen, bracelet or key ring right to your home. If the purchase is a present for someone else, you can also have them send it to his or her house directly. If you want, you can also have them gift wrap the package for you. Aspinal or London also offer customer service that can be contacted via telephone or email.

    Complaints, Compliments and Tips for Aspinal or London

    Have you ever visited the website of Aspinal or London before? Or even ordered something online? Then we are looking for you. Would you be willing to share your experience with Aspinal or London? How did the ordering process go? How useful, handy and durable are their shoulder bags and handbags? And what is your opinion on their customer service? Write a review and let us know what you think about Aspinal or London so other people will have some idea of what this bag shop is all about.

    How handy are the bags from Aspinal or London? Read customer reviews about their shoulder bags, tote bags, messenger bags, clutches, organisers & more

    Aspinal of London
    Reviews, complaints and customer experiences (8)

    4
    25% Would buy here again!
    Ordering
    rating
    4.8
    Service
    rating
    3
    Pricing
    rating
    3.6
    Delivery
    rating
    4.8

    All reviews

    Read independant reviews, consumer experiences, feedback and complaints right here! Get to know the best shop place your (online) order. Everybody together now decides which shops are worthy and which aren't!

    Handbag

    I have 2 London Tote bags which I love.the zip of one came away after I used it a few times. I emailed and posted the item back and it was replaced within a few days. I was very impressed. I also bought a diary in the sale last March because the one I was using fell apart. After 9 months it is as good as new. I am considering buying a diary although it is really out of my price range. I have found both the quality of the items and customer service of a high standard.

    By: Geraldine Brown 02-12-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    YES
    8
    rating

    Leather refillable journal

    Brown leather refillable journal ordered on Saturday 23rd November. A5 size ordered in error, personalised with initials. I immediately realised my error and sent email, I was unable to phone until Monday 25th. No one there. Email indicated someone would get back to be within a day or so. On phoning, the person I spoke to said he would try and change my order and phone me back, no phone call however later that day received email to say item had been processed so unable to change. As personalised I am unable to return so I have effectively lost £73.00 By the way as a “special Ofer” personalisation is free. My message is be warned. I would not order from them again.

    By: Margaret Lowe 27-11-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    NO
    4
    rating

    Refillable Journal

    If I could, I would give no stars! I ordered a product on the 10th September. The order stated the product would be delivered within 3-5 days. On the 20th September I phoned and was told there was no reason for the product not to have been dispatched, there was plenty in stock and as such it would be with me on the 23rd September. On the 24th September I called again to be told there had in fact been an issue with stock, but this was resolved and now it would be delivered on the 25th September. I just called (on the 25th) to be told there had been stock issues, but it was in the warehouse ready to go, and it would be dispatched for delivery tomorrow! The problem is, they insist on the package being signed for on delivery, so we keep waiting in only for nothing to arrive. Although all the individuals appeared helpful, they confirmed clearly there is a problem with their systems as they can only tell me what the computer says!

    By: jon Whitlock 25-09-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    NO
    2.5
    rating

    Large cosmetic bag

    I’m still in shock at how terrible the customer service has been from Aspinal of London. I placed an order and spent £120 on a personalised cosmetic bag for my best friend’s 30th birthday as she loves the Aspinal products. I placed the order at 7pm on Sunday evening and when I got the confirmation email straight after, it said the initials to be personalised would be ‘FE’ when I’d typed ‘FH’ which are the correct initials. I couldn’t contact them at 7pm on Sunday when I saw their error as they were closed and so I contacted them at 9am on Monday morning as soon as they reopened and they informed me they’d look into it and get back to confirm if it could be amended or cancelled and I was then advised at 11am on Monday that it was already processed and they couldn’t change it. I refuse to believe they’d already processed and personalised the cosmetic case in that timeframe as it says on their website “ Personalised orders can take an additional 3-5 working days to process prior to despatch”, it hadn’t even been 14 hours when I notified them of the error and they said it was unfortunate for me and said I’d made a typo by providing me with some sort of text script which meant nothing and advised I’d receive my incorrect order and that they’d no longer respond to me after they responded with that one email. This is the first complaint or bad review I’ve ever left but I’m just absolutely appalled at their refusal to work to resolve this.

    It’s a shame that a company as big as this treat their customers so poorly and I’ll never order anything again and neither will the number of people I’ve now told about this awful experience.

    By: Aimee 30-07-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    NO
    2
    rating

    Aspinal Mount Street briefcase

    I need to share my experience to warn others that it isn’t always a pleasure to deal with Aspinal. I bought a Mount Street small blue briefcase in December 2017 as a gift to myself and I started using it in January 2018. I was so pleased with my elegant and smart case that cost around £600. I’ve been buying handbags from Aspinal for many years and I trusted that the quality and the style made it worth the relatively high price. A few weeks ago, in June 2019, I noticed that three of the four bottom corner seams were broken, completely torn so that items fell out. This case has held my laptop, a note book and at most a couple of thin plastic sleeves with a couple of sheets of paper. I carry it to and from my car and office, so no rough commute. It really should not have broken after 15 months of light usage. Aspinal have advised that there was a one year warranty that has expired and that I can get it repaired for £100. So now, my one and a half year old broken briefcase will have cost me £700... I appealed to them to honour an extended warranty and repair it for free, because their luxury product shouldn’t fall apart like this, but they’re not interested. I’m considering telling them to throw it away, as I have no faith that their repair will hold. I don’t think this product was worth what I paid and i’m disappointed in the refusal of the customer services team to understand and value the customer’s perspective.

    By: Corinne 03-07-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    NO
    3
    rating

    Aspinal bagpack

    Beyond poor.

    Bought a bag in the London outlet.
    Less than 2 weeks, the strap came loose.
    Requested for a change, the total process took more than 5 months. In addition, I had to liaise with DHL on the delivery. Both the time, location and buying of a parcel to carry my bag. DHL said they would not accept any thing that is not in their parcel.

    When I received the replacement, I thought my nightmare was over.
    Guess what. Those people gave me a small bag pack than the one I bought in London.

    Absolutely dishonest. The service is so poor. I beg of you to review your entire process.

    By: You Wei 08-06-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    YES
    2
    rating

    Terrible Customer Service/ Terrible Quality

    I have ordered a notebook as a present for my boyfriend for Christmas and this has arrived looking completely different as the image promoted on their website.

    The notebook is shown in a lovely textured leather and the product arrived in a very shinny, poor quality looking leather.

    We have made several requests to Aspinal, including sending several e-mails to request a refund and assistance on how to proceed, however all of our requests have been ignored. We have contacted them by phone and was advised to e-mail, however our e-mail was not picked up again.

    I would strongly recommend not buying from this company as they have terrible customer service. We have waisted ridiculous amounts of time trying to get in touch with them. They just take your money and not care at all about customer satisfaction.

    By: Diana Darmina 27-02-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    NO
    4
    rating

    MADE IN CHINA???

    It would appear I am about to join the long queue of disappointed customers who have had poor dealings with Aspinal Of London. I ordered my items on line from Australia and could not complain about the apparent quality of the product nor its prompt delivery BUT my complaint relates to the real quality of Aspinal products and their total failure to communicate with me. I first emailed them on the 16th of December 2018 and apart from an automated response that indicated I would be contacted within 3 to 5 working days I have never heard anything in reply. I believe they are avoiding the issues I raised which concerns the title of their company "Aspinal of London". I purchased my items because I felt I was dealing with a top notch British company and all the publicity and information found on their website only leads to this conclusion. From the title of the company to the physical address in West Sussex and telephone numbers, everything is geared for the unsuspecting client to assume ALL products are made in the UK by UK artisans. There is the proviso that some of their leathers are sourced from Europe but this is of no real consequence as European leather is of usual good quality and it it the skill of the artisan that I was interested in with the design and execution of my products. You can imagine my dismay when I received my products only to find on the bill of lading "COUNTRY OF ORIGIN:CHINA"!!! I thought this must have been an error so I wrote to Aspinal, in detail, simply requesting an explanation but nothing has been forthcoming. I have now written on four different occasions and still received no reply even though I have received acknowledgment of receipt through an automated response as mentioned above. I have been patient, offered multiple chances to reply and shown great restraint but all to no avail. I was fascinated to find this forum and discover that my fears may be well and truly founded, in fact. Some of the complaints I have read here would indicate that some of Aspinal items show poor craftsmanship and this would be in keeping with shoddy Chinese practices. I should add that the items I have purchased have shown none of these defects, as yet. It is totally unfair to the consumer who purchases in good faith not to have this trust reciprocated. The reason for my dismay with the product being manufactured in China has nothing to do with the country or people but in the fact that I thought I was purchasing a top notch English item, from a top notch English company, who are bound by good trade and work place practices. I am not prepared to be duped, nor to support a Chinese manufacturer who probably has appalling working conditions and sub standard wage structures in comparison to the UK. All of this could have been averted with a simple reply and apology, if required, but now I will make it my mission in life to make sure the whole world knows about the situation as it stands. Even so, I will once more, offer Aspinal the chance to reply to my concerns, something that many people would not be prepared to do, given the circumstances.

    By: JOHN COOPER 10-02-2019
    JOHN COOPER 14-02-2019

    I just received a reply from Aspinal about this review hopefully it can be seen somewhere on this site. This lady who responded, Sue Swain, should be in politics as she certainly knows how to 'spin'. No attempt to definitively answer my question about if the products are made in China but a lot of 'pap' about "Corporate Responsibility Policy" and it gets even better, " Brand policies and guidelines laid out by the Ethical Trading Initiative Base Code". The simple truth is as follows. I, and probably most of the consuming public, think they are dealing with a British company who designs, produces and supplies British products and when questioned about the origin of their products the company hides behind 'corporate speak'. The simple question I want answered is, "are Aspinal products made in China??" If this is the case then change your name to 'Aspinal of Beijing' and stop misleading the public. I for one am tired of corporate duplicity and the rising trend to money before morals and the ruination of what once was an internationally known symbol of honesty, integrity and workmanship - 'made in Britain'!

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    NO
    6.5
    rating

    Write your own review about Aspinal of London

    Your review