BritainReviews

    Reviews British Gas

    Looking for precise and concrete information on British Gas? Need to know about its plans, schemes and customer service? Sit back and read through this column to gain all the valuable insights you will ever need to know about the company.

    About British Gas

    British Gas, a subsidiary of Centrica, is a leading energy and home service provider company in the U.K. It has been in operation for over 200 years, though its present name and form has been functioning only since 1997. It became a part of the Centrica group, a multinational utility company, in 1997 after its demerger from the British Gas Corporation. Today British Gas is a reputed name in the energy industry and is known for providing gas and electricity at competitive rates. It also provides help and support on energy matters and is actively involved in creating new customer-friendly approaches as well.

    Apart from gas and electricity, the company also has a business of selling and repairing boilers and heat covers. The company has always promoted controlled consumption of electricity to ensure a bright future for its customers. Time and again, it releases a code of conduct that asks customers to use available energy effectively and to switch to more cleaner and greener forms of energy. The company uses a fuel mixture of coal, natural gas, nuclear energy and other renewable and non-renewable resources to produce the desired amount of electricity. In this, coal and other non-renewables have consumption levels of less than 3%, which means that almost all the energy generated by the company is clean.

    Smart meters: British Gas helps you to reduce energy costs

    Tariff schemes and special discounts

    There are different tariff schemes, with both fixed and variable rates, for different users and each customer is free to choose any plan based on his/her needs and requirements. Customers are offered different benefits and discounts based on the packages they choose. There are special plans wherein a customer can enjoy free energy supply for 8 hours on a Saturday or a Sunday as well. Boiler and covers are also sold by the company and one can avail special discounts on these as well based on the tariff they choose for their homes. If this is what you're looking for, you might also want to read reviews of 247 Home Rescue. They might be able to suit your needs. In addition to this, the company also offers Hive active heating that allows you to control heating levels using your smartphones, laptops and tablets.

    Services and complaints

    British Gas company follows a strict code of practice while delivering bills and providing services. All its executives have been specially trained to resolve customer issues in the best way possible. The company takes each complaint seriously and prepares a detailed report on each of it with all the details including the measures taken to resolve the same. Old-age and disabled people have a dedicated helpline which is accessible only to them. A team of trained engineers and technicians is always available for the benefits of the customer and anyone can ask for their services without any hesitation.

    Share your experiences!

    We are looking forward to comments from existing users of British Gas company and request them to share their valuable experience with all. The best way to know about any company is by listening to the voice of its actual customers and we need the same to compare the company with its peers. Please feel free and share your opinions in the comments section below.

    Read customer reviews of British Gas! How does this gas and electricity supplier treat its costumers? How do they sort out complaints?

    British Gas
    Reviews, complaints and customer experiences (45)

    3.4
    22% Would buy here again!
    Ordering
    rating
    3.6
    Service
    rating
    3.2
    Pricing
    rating
    3.4
    Delivery
    rating
    3.2

    All reviews

    Read independent reviews, consumer experiences, feedback and complaints right here! Get to know the best online shops and service providers from the impressions they with people. Customers now get to decide which brands are worthy and which are not!

    Homevare

    Due to covid 19 we had to cancel our boiler service twice resulting in the boiler breaking down therefore reported. Engineer Guy Paterson and his apprentice Ethen Gray came out repaired the fault, serviced the boiler and found a leak which resulted in a repair which they carried out. To sum up they were professional, courteous during their time at my home but I thought they went above that with the way they dealt with me as a customer. A crafit to the company.

    By: Derek Barbour 09-10-2020
    Michael Loveridge13-05-2021

    Absolute shambles, trying to contact to arrange a visit, website down, cut off twice during a conversation, when arranged a part had to be ordered for a simple fix on my boiler,arranged a time engineer arrived and didn’t have the part so checked my fire and fixings in loft told me it needed another flue hanger support I explained that BG had fitted two a couple of years ago, sorry you need another one( lofts space not that high) so the gas fire can not be used, unfortunately my wife noticed that the fire that could not be used had been left on and the fire casing was loose. A way forward -can BG fit a new stay? Answer no it has to been done independently, also the engineer does not have to come back to reinspect and remove the notice placed on my fire. Really disappointed, but my own fault as I should have read the reviews before signing up, on reflection I wish I had stayed with my previous provider, just too much hassle

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Mrs

    I normally get let down by the company but for the first time I have two staff members of British Gas that have reinstated faith in the company. After a week of having different contractors that were unable to fix the fault, I finally had two engineers that cane out today and sorted the problem. Massive thank you to Ish 66390 and Wahid 109393

    By: Rita Pattani 24-03-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Boiler not working

    Hi I had one of your engineers Tom Guy he was very professional nothing was to much trouble he explained every thing to us unfortunately are boiler packed up so it is going to that big scrap yard so hence we need a new boiler put in he has arranged everything for us I would just like to say thank you Tom you are a credit to British Gas.

    By: Julia Tooze03-05-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    homecare agreement

    been with them 17 years at this address no service last year due to covid,which is understandable but to increase the premiums for this year by over £110 is totally unacceptable,very disappointed as had no problems before

    By: alan muir14-04-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    8
    rating

    Energy

    Stay well away from these liars, all they care about is money, they lie, retract what they say, the worst energy company by far. When you are already going through difficulties, dealing with the loss of a parent, they come and stick a boot in further, no humanity in this company whatsoever!!!!! Then they threaten you with debt collectors too while saying they are looking into the complaint!! Never ending liars.

    By: S08-05-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    £3315.00

    Absolutely negative!! Ordered installation to start work on the 6/5/2021 (Thursday) for a disabled person with osteoarthritis when her heating broke down, I was given a priority appointment at the time of calling. The following day I found out the appointment was cancelled as the engineer was over running on a previous job. The customer who has been with British Gas for 49 years still has no heating and had to stay in bed all day because the house was too cold. The engineer is due to start on the 7/5/2021 but will now go into the weekend. Customer service and management were extremely unhelpful in resolving the problem.

    By: Andrew simou07-05-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    5
    rating

    Good company

    Good quality, never any problems.

    By: John L.09-02-2017
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Termostat

    The engineers were very helpful!

    By: Laura Sava04-12-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    British Gas homecare

    What has gone wrong with this company? The service is shockingly bad
    No heating for a week, shoddy repair, boiler broke down again after repair and annual service within 5 days. Engineer booked to come out , waited a week, cancelled on the morning after booking the morning off work and this is not the first time this has happened. The staff on the phone lines when you can speak to one seem genuinely embarrassed . Who ever is the director in charge of operations and who has made the changes and ruined this company should really consider his position. I have been a customer for years

    By: amc830-04-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Supply of Gas and electric

    British gas are ripoff merchants!!!!!!
    I have received terrible customer service. They have closed my complaint in a cold and un-empathetic manner and have have not addressed my concerns.
    Avoid this company at all costs, their prices are too high and they DO NOT CARE ABOUT THEIR CUSTOMERS!!!...
    We should be allow to rate below zero on star rating .... because they deserve NO STARS!!!

    By: H Lobuczek 17-04-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Gas n leki

    3 times I rang British gas ,been with thm 30years asked why I was getting charged £80.00 to leave ,as don't remember agreement contract until December 21..so they deliberately hang phone up .dirty tricks. We'll I'm out.and I'm going to advise any1 who'll listen..Mr ashmore

    By: Mr.s.ashmore14-04-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Homecare

    Well that’s a surprise the least amount of stars I can do is two otherwise it won’t let me put the review through!! I can assure you I would have given no stars!!
    Really don’t bother with British Gas Homecare complete waste of your money.
    I was unfortunate to have to deal with this company had a boiler breakdown booked the service at the same time, advised to contact a neighbour (of whom lives literallynext door, information provided to BG) and they would let the engineer in the property, as the person in the property was in hospital. The engineer attended didn’t bother speaking to the neighbour, put a card through the door and left. Giving benefit of the doubt I arranged yet another visit, same thing happened again. Now bear in mind that British Gas state they will help the vulnerable wherever they can!!
    So I made another appointment at this point I was appalled by the service received, but this plan has been paid for over years for an event like this!! So another apt made for the breakdown and again the supposedly free service that is included in the policy. The engineer actually contacted the neighbour this time, the engineer went in the property adjusted the thermostat and left. So apart from the hot water still not working when he left, the service wasn’t done a 50 excess had been paid for that visit on top of already paying £40+ a month. When I called BG I was told that there was no service booked in, which I know i requested.
    At this point I cancelled the policy and got my own engineer to fit the part that was needed.
    The appalling service didn’t end there I put a complaint in, was told this should not have happen!! And was insulted by being offered £50 which only gives the excess payment back, nothing for the appalling service, and the incompetence of staff and also the inconvenience of everything. For such a big company it is disgusting and I wouldn’t waste your money, it will be cheaper and less stress to just get you own private engineer to carry out any work, because the money you spend and the stress you get put through isn’t worth it, may as well throw the money down the drain.

    By: Mira Moore26-03-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    4
    rating

    Boiler home service

    Totally disgusted with #BritishGas Boiler broken since Friday so no heating or hot water. We have their service plan and the earliest appointment was 24 March. Phone call received today rescheduling it to 31March. They didn't want to carry out the annual service earlier in the year due to covid (ok) but promised they would be there in case of emergency. In their own words no heating or hot water is an emergency however it'll take 2 weeks to get to you! Disgusting service. This is a link to their commitment posted only yesterday. It's also worth googling how many staff they have furloughed. I am appalled

    By: Den Bel23-03-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Gas electric

    I had a British gas account for a property. This property is now rented out since October and the tenant is paying to British gas (they showed me the bill). British gas keep asking me to pay for the gas electric anyway even though they went out and took a meter reading the day the tenant moved in. I have tried creating an online account (refuses to recognise email), online chat (just tells me to create online account ), emailing, writing, telephoning (cuts me off after an hour wait). I have cancelled direct debit and they just keep hassling me to pay the bill that keeps going up.

    By: Anthony Lees20-02-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Homecare policy

    Tried numerous times to renew homecare policy on my late mother's boiler. Various calls taking me thru lengthy recorded messages and menus only to reach another message saying lines were closed because they're too busy. Finally spoke to someone who couldn't even complete the renewal because their systems weren't working to take payment. Asked me to call back next day but then same issue with lines closed again because they're too busy. Tried live chat with Lauren who just suggested call same number. Explained lines closed so she promised she would call me back in 5-10 minutes but never bothered. No acknowledgement or sympathy offered for my mums death and don't seem to want my business. Homecare policy supposed to help fix broken boilers but they've closed lines during worst cold spell in decades. Truly awful customer service. Avoid this company at all costs

    By: Alan Hunt12-02-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Electric

    Absolutely ridiculous how can I go from one month owing 40Pounds then using the same usage the next month to owe 275 I live in a one bed flat that’s is solely electrical and apparently now owe 900pound in debt British Gas you are robbing people blind for no reason I will be making a formal complaint and your customer service is pathetic

    By: Aaliyah Hanif04-02-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    4
    rating

    Annual boiler service

    Booked sn annual service

    Booked sn annual service , been in the diary for 3 months. Engineer , let's call him that turns up, not from British gas, third party, no prior warning that wouldn't be British gas engineer. He asks if he should take his shoes off , erm yes I think you should, goes upstairs, I can't service boiler , advised its been serviced for several years by British gas without problem. He hadn't a clue about the model . Not trained. Gone in 60 seconds, offered new date , 3 months off. I have taken the morning off work for this nonsense!

    By: Amc02-02-2021
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    Write your own review about British Gas

    Your review

    FAQ

    Is British Gas a trustworthy company?

    There are currently 45 customer review posted about British Gas. On average, they received a star-grading of 3.4/10, with 22% of the reviewers indicating that they would buy from the brand again.

    What services or products do British Gas offer?

    British Gas is mainly active in the Energy category, more specifically with Green Energy, Gas, Cheap energy.

    I have read all the reviews. What now?

    Did you get a positive impression from the reviews? If so, then you can place your order on the British Gas website with confidence. If not you can find many other brands to read about on our website!