BritainReviews

    Reviews British Gas

    Looking for precise and concrete information on British Gas? Need to know about its plans, schemes and customer service? Sit back and read through this column to gain all the valuable insights you will ever need to know about the company.

    About British Gas

    British Gas, a subsidiary of Centrica, is a leading energy and home service provider company in the U.K. It has been in operation for over 200 years, though its present name and form has been functioning only since 1997. It became a part of the Centrica group, a multinational utility company, in 1997 after its demerger from the British Gas Corporation. Today British Gas is a reputed name in the energy industry and is known for providing gas and electricity at competitive rates. It also provides help and support on energy matters and is actively involved in creating new customer-friendly approaches as well.

    Apart from gas and electricity, the company also has a business of selling and repairing boilers and heat covers. The company has always promoted controlled consumption of electricity to ensure a bright future for its customers. Time and again, it releases a code of conduct that asks customers to use available energy effectively and to switch to more cleaner and greener forms of energy. The company uses a fuel mixture of coal, natural gas, nuclear energy and other renewable and non-renewable resources to produce the desired amount of electricity. In this, coal and other non-renewables have consumption levels of less than 3%, which means that almost all the energy generated by the company is clean.


    Smart meters: British Gas helps you to reduce energy costs

    Tariff schemes and special discounts

    There are different tariff schemes, with both fixed and variable rates, for different users and each customer is free to choose any plan based on his/her needs and requirements. Customers are offered different benefits and discounts based on the packages they choose. There are special plans wherein a customer can enjoy free energy supply for 8 hours on a Saturday or a Sunday as well. Boiler and covers are also sold by the company and one can avail special discounts on these as well based on the tariff they choose for their homes. In addition to this, the company also offers Hive active heating that allows you to control heating levels using your smartphones, laptops and tablets.

    Services and complaints

    British Gas company follows a strict code of practice while delivering bills and providing services. All its executives have been specially trained to resolve customer issues in the best way possible. The company takes each complaint seriously and prepares a detailed report on each of it with all the details including the measures taken to resolve the same. Old-age and disabled people have a dedicated helpline which is accessible only to them. A team of trained engineers and technicians is always available for the benefits of the customer and anyone can ask for their services without any hesitation.

    Share your experiences!

    We are looking forward to comments from existing users of British Gas company and request them to share their valuable experience with all. The best way to know about any company is by listening to the voice of its actual customers and we need the same to compare the company with its peers. Please feel free and share your opinions in the comments section below.

    Read customer reviews of British Gas! How does this gas and electricity supplier treat its costumers? How do they sort out complaints?

    British Gas
    Reviews, complaints and customer experiences (16)

    3
    25% Would buy here again!
    Ordering
    rating
    2.8
    Service
    rating
    2.8
    Pricing
    rating
    3.2
    Delivery
    rating
    2.8

    All reviews

    Read independent reviews, consumer experiences, feedback and complaints right here! Get to know the best online shops and service providers from the impressions they with people. Customers now get to decide which brands are worthy and which are not!

    Good company

    Good quality, never any problems.

    By: John L.09-02-2017
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Gas from Scottish Gas

    Dear all, 23/09/2020
    Please find below, an overview of my experience with Scottish Gas, which will appear truly unbelievable. Should any party be considering use of their services, please do not consider. Read my experience, and then judge for yourself. I am not one for anonymous malicious adverse communications, which would disallow the recipient the opportunity for recourse, so in this instance, I will disclose my customer account number, should this communication end up being reviewed by Scottish Gas personnel at any point in time (Gas account number 851012491314).
    My personal background. Retired, along with my wife November 2018, and moved into a new build property in Edinburgh, 26th February 2019. Single pension, and wife with severe medical condition (C). No sympathy vote required, simply additional information which exacerbated a fundamental requirement for my wife to feel financially comfortable enough to switch the heating on. This rarely occurred, out of fear of unknown accrued bill costs.
    Shortly after uptake of the property it became abundantly clear to me that Scottish Gas had the incorrect meter serial numbers etc for the property, therefore billing was stalled. This is the only element that I will give to Scottish Gas, for balance, as the serial numbers were incorrectly provided by the estate builders, initially.
    However, this is where things began to take off negatively, for an intense period of six months, where I spent many, many, many, man-hours on the telephone to Scottish Gas operatives, repeatedly providing the same sets of serial numbers and readings, to absolutely no avail. Many of these calls last hours in duration, and were to separate operatives globally. Uk, South Africa etc.
    Throughout this extended period, call centre operatives periodically escalated the problem to ‘Case Handlers’ and indeed a Complaints Resolution Manager’. All of these actions resulted in no further progress, despite my repeated provision of serial numbers, and ultimately actual photographs of the meter units, with the respective serial numbers clearly visible. In actual fact, a Scottish Gas engineer personally visited my property mid-way throughout this process, again to no avail.
    Note a sample of personalities engaged with throughout the period:
    -Crichton
    - Lona Somlata
    -Graeme (23rd May 1.5hrs duration)
    -Tamica (30th May)
    -Sarah Woodward (30th May Complaints Resolution Manager)
    -Carlene (1st July. 30 mins)
    - Gwyneth (9th July)
    - Maria Bell (New Case handler. Transferred to her due to inaction by previous handler. 6 calls to this individual over a period of time)
    At this point, and out of utter stress and frustration, I initiated a change of energy provider request from Scottish Gas to SSE (Scottish Hydro. 18th July)). This transfer was unable to complete for many weeks, as Scottish Gas had STILL not managed to transfer my meter details onto the national database.
    In continuing to engage with Scottish Gas, further calls were made to their operatives, as follows:
    - Selwayne (9th Sept. South Africa. 25 min’s)
    - Tashreeq (18th Sept)
    - Phil (23rd Sept)
    - Natasha (7th Oct. Advised Natasha at this stage that I would be unwilling to settle outstanding bills until I was compensated for severe stress and not least a massive unkown number of total man hours on the phone.
    - 16th Oct I received an exceptionally aggressive call from a male Scottish Gas operative indicating severe threats (legal etc. Forgot to record name), should I not IMMEDIATELY pay in full, my electrical bill. At this stage I paid £318.40, which I regret doing. This only served to increase my resolve to hold out for an ethical Scottish Gas response on my gas bill, which still rolls on, as follows:
    - 24th Oct raised complaint on my billing, as all bills had commenced from zero meter readings, where correct start bills meter readings had already been provided, avoiding my liability to pay costs prior to my entry into the property.
    - 6th Jan 2020 (almost a year from commencement with British Gas), is where my last communication occurred, which is the most unsettling one. Call made to Pritpal at Scottish Gas, whom indicated that due to no resolution, he would be REFERRING MY CONCERN BACK TO THE ORIGINAL CALL HANDLER. Complete ‘reset’.
    - HOWEVER, the above action did not occur, and my next communication received came directly from a company called Moorgroup (A debt handling agency), whom are now in regular chase contact with me, attempting to recover around £200 of gas billing, with I guess, the next stage being a court summons for monies due.
    Beyond the above points, if any reader is in ANY doubt at all, as to my integrity and honesty, I have saved the best for last.
    At the point of my attempted energy transfer from Scottish Gas to SSE, I simultaneously raised a formal complaint with the energy ombudsman over Scottish Gas’s utter incompetence and unethical and non-professional conduct. Once again, and for transparency, the complaint reference details are:
    Your reference: EG058120-19 Date: 15 Oct 2019
    Andy Dossett Investigating Officer (Ombudsman)

    After an extended investigation, the ombudsman found entirely in my favour against Scottish Gas, proposing that Scottish Gas award me £75 in compensation and that they write to me formally to apologise. While that, at face values appeared to be a positive resolution, I am sure that any reader of this review will find it hilarious that an award of £75 for my incalculable manhours and severe stress, would compensate me appropriately. As a complainant, you can therefore press the ‘accept outcome’ function on the on-line complaint, or decline, if you disagree with the findings. If you decline (as I did), the complaint is therefore regarded as ‘null and void’, as if it never existed, and therefore the accused party can regard the award against them as ‘non binding’.
    For those that are unaware of the ombudsman process, the complainant and accused both have visibility of the other parties exchanges (edited by the ombudsman). I therefore had sight of Scottish Gas’s statement that they would compensate me appropriately, and that they would write to me with an apology letter. This never occurred.
    Having queried the above with Moorgroup, the debt recovery service, their dialogue with Scottish Gas has restated that they regard to ombudsman’s finding as ‘non binding’, and that they have no intention of offering compensation and/or a letter of apology, as per the previous commitment.
    So:
    It is now 17 months since I attempted to use Scottish Gas’s energy services. To date events:
    - Could not set up correct billing, despite my best efforts
    - Bounced me round numerous personnel and call handlers for months (No Covid factor here to mitigate)
    - Threatened legal action against a customer who had been desperately TRYING to pay them for between 6 and 8 months, to no avail
    - Washed their hands of the problem and passed to a debt collection agency
    - Saw the energy Ombudsman award against them, and used the complainant ‘decline’ option to regard the outcome as ‘non binding’. Any substantive organisation, in this day in age would still have had the decency to write and apologise for their actions and inactions.
    - Notably, and from ALL of the Scottish Gas operatives engaged with, NOT 1 individual, at any point, asked what they could do to keep a customer, whose only apparent failure, was a desire to pay his bills over a period of many months.
    My apologies for the length of this communication. Sadly it is not over yet, for myself and my wife, as the stress continues, with what I am sure will be an impending court summons, where presumably a judge will rule on the events above, which I will present in full. I will continue to amend this post, and repost consistently throughout the year, until such time as the matter is concluded.
    And here we go again:
    23rd Sept 2020 Calls to Scottish Gas, after being ‘back referred’ from Moorgroup, the debt collection agency. Discussions with Lisa, Customer Advisor (Complaints), and then finally, Pauline, Customer Services Advisor, Collections Department. During these calls I requested that THIS communication be placed in front of a manager in responsibility for consideration. They POINT BLANK, refused to do so, and further confirmed that they had no intention of making ANY form of apology to me.
    I further indicated that unless they did so, I would be publishing this review, and republishing on a weekly basis, for a period of 18 months, more or less in line with the length of this complaint against them. So here we go. It’s a large organization, and I am only one individual, but these forums are all we have. Please AVOID these horrible human beings.
    A truly disgusting horrible, thoughtless and unprofessional organization. Please avoid, if you possibly can.
    Best regards from Edinburgh.

    By: Malcolm macivor23-09-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    3
    rating

    Servicing

    Keep cancelling on due date numerous times. We're nearly a year overdue! Also have to click stars for review to go through but don't deserve 1 star as they keep letting us down. They also make it very difficult to complain ie whether on line or phone! Disgraceful company

    By: Dawn Marriner 23-09-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Gas and electricity

    Absolutely ridiculous. For a company that pretty much represent England when it comes to gas and electricity. I expected way more. Customer services is appalling and disgraceful. While some have been a bit helpful others have been woefully appalling.

    Journey started 9months again when I moved into my new build. Building site already pre registered with British gas. British gas sends me numerous letter saying I owe this and I owe that. To which I called to set up a direct debit for both bills.

    2 days later I got an email to say direct debit was cancelled when I did not cancel it and bill was not even yet to be taken out. I called again. Spent almost 2 hours trying to get through. Eventually did. Spoke for few minutes. Phone hang up or they hang up and I was expecting a call back to which no one did. Called back the second day. Similar waiting hours. Set up direct debit again. Again 2 days later it was cancelled.

    At this stage I just left left the DD options and pay online. Electricity seems to have been set up (on a wrong plan) but at least I was getting billed and making a payment. Gas on the other hand was a joke. It would seems this was never set up correctly even though I was promised this is the case. Every time I tried to make a payment. It would tell me I have zero balance to pay.

    It took months of calling and after 6 and half months I was finally billed almost 400 pounds. This was Covid time and a bad timing. I called again explaining this is ridiculous and not my fault and at this stage. I had been charged late payment fee. I called explaining my case and it took almost 20 min before customer service understand what I am explained to him. Waived the fee. Opened a complaint and advised someone will get in contact with me

    Someone finally back to me from the complaints team. We agreed that he would put me on my original plan from when I moved in. Set up a DD for both accounts. Ring me back and advise the new bill amount and let me make a decision if I still want to stay or not. A month after the call. Got an email that DD was set up. And this is my bill. Also got an alert from Equifax that has and electricity added to my account. He also advised a hold will be out on my account until he calls me back for me to make a decision (this was not the case)

    I texted (he advised that I could do this) this individual that why has he gone ahead and put this in place without my go ahead to which no reply. I called customer service to which an email was sent to same individual that I had an agreement with his manager CC'ed in. Considering my frustration at this stage. I was promised a manager would call me back within 2 hours. Waited whole day. No call. I also asked if my complaints was still active to which he advised this is the case

    I called back the second day. While expressing my frustration. Customer service hang up on me even though I apologise at the beginning of the call that I might sound upset. I was expecting a call back to which I never got back. I called back and this time speaking to a nicer lady. Explained my situation again. While she was a lot nicer. I found I have to repeat my self numerous times as it would seems no attention was given to what I was saying. I asked about my complaints and she advised me this is now closed. I told her I was told otherwise the previous day.

    Anyways to cut long story short. I was advised a manager by the name Dominic will call me back again that day without failing. Again waiting whole day with no one calling me back.

    On top of that a missed payments notification has gone on my record when this is not my fault.

    Absolutely disgusting, disgraceful and British services should be ashamed.

    At the stage. I have had enough. Just wanna get this sorted and leave

    By: Kunle Okewumi19-09-2020
    donita23-09-2020

    Im with blue green energy if you would like i can compare rates and see if i can find you a cheaper deal. my number is 07762308539. Just send me a mess if you would like more info.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    Trying to change supply

    Been with British Gas for years, but due to an incident earlier this year, decided to change. Well the electric side went smoothly but the gas side has turned into a nightmare. I moved into this property 5 years ago with its prepaid meters. Did my 1st top up and noticed that they took money off the card for a debt. I phoned them and explained that I was the new tenant, the problem (I thought) was sorted and I was refunded my money. Now they claim that I now owe that money and are refusing my change of supply. I have proof of the date I moved in which also corresponds to the date that I moved out of my last property, which was British Gas.

    By: Janice Fuller18-09-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    homecare

    Bought home package . Prior year have problem with appointment. This year I have appointment cancelled by British Gas at shot notice twice( the same day , just before the time slot run out). I told them when first appointment was canceled how important the date I receive the paperwork is. I called them to make sure it will not be cancelled. They cancelled anyway. Noone takes responsibility for anything. Badly run company

    By: Victoria01-09-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2.5
    rating

    Smart meters

    I was booked in for a smart meter this morning and the engineer said you don't have your electricity with us, so l said yes l do, so he wanted a recent bill, which l gave him then he proceed to phone varies people, and the problem was they had got a slightly different address, so after 1/2hour of this l told him to leave my home so l have wasted a morning trying to sort this out, l have made a formal complaint to British gas and l might change suppliers talk about jobs worth

    By: Sylvia Brookes21-08-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    British Gas Homeware Service

    Local engineer excellent, call centre customer service poor.
    I was left without hot water and heating for over 3 weeks, and each time I called the customer service team I was treated as though it was the first call despite being advised previously that all notes were lodged and the matter was in hand. I was told the parts had arrived, nothing happened. Called again and was told parts were out of stock, and to call agin in a coupe, of days. Called again, no-one knew anything about it and parts still out of stock but the local engineer had now been asked to source them. Local engineer called me to apologise as he was still awaiting parts, he knew nothing of a request for him to source them. Called customer service again dawns told exactly the samosa before, when I told them the engineer had not been asked to source the parts I was told they would look into it and contact the engineer. After I made several calls to various suppliers I was able to source the part easily! Eventually the engineer called to say he had the part and was fixing the problem that day. Throughout this the local engineer was communicative and very helpful, a credit to his profession. The same cannot be said for the customer service centre wherever it is. Sadly they give the company a bad name and its the man on the ground doing the work for them that may suffer if customers go elsewhere.

    By: Alison 17-07-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    6.5
    rating

    Gas and Electricity

    I agree with all the other people who have advised to AVOID this company! I just don’t know how they’re getting away with trying to take peoples money with no justification. Well in fact yes, they wear people down in the hope they will just pay it or stamp their credit files like they have with me I’m due to deliver twins and now can’t get a mortgage.

    As with other customers I didn’t see until 3 years later and despite various disputes, British Gas still can’t tell me why I owe them money and I’m now having to wait on the ombudsman dealing with my complaint whilst we have lost the house we put an offer in on.

    Absolutely do not use this company even if you think you will be safe on a smart meter they still sent me a large bill when trying to transfer to another energy supplier. Which everyone is in their right to do and should regularly look to do to save on energy as these are far than reasonable with their prices!

    Small companies wouldn’t get away with billing and no justification so why should these!?

    Stay away!!

    By: K Jones 18-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Gas and electricity

    Used to be with these scammers and was being billed £200 a month for gas and leccy. I knew this couldn't be right but the greedy money grabbers insisted it was. I then switched and my bills halved. Then my father passed away and I knew he had built up a large amount in credit as I looked after everything for him. Again these tossers said they only owed him £1 gas and my dad owed £1 in leccy so nothi g to pay either way. TOTAL SCAMMERS. AVOID AT ALL COSTS!

    By: Karl Worthington10-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2.5
    rating

    Gas and electric

    AVOID AVOID AVOID!!!!

    Disgusting company 
    I was charged a ridiculous amount for my gas and electric (£800 for 3 months) which was obviously an error as we used our open fire and log burner. However, when I questioned this they never told me the correct amount dispite 6 months of chasing them, they just wanted me to pay the bill which they could not tell me the amount. An example of this is that we received 4 different 'estimates' in 1 week, and when we asked as to the correct one, they gave a different amount! And I received a different amount every time I enquired. Ended up sneakily putting 2 defaults on my credit file and when I discovered this 3 years later and questioned it, they would only offer £20 as an 'apology' for their errors but Refuse to remove the 2 defaults (gas & electric) 
    I will never use this vile company ever again! And suggest that everyone avoids it like the plague!

    By: Danny28-04-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    morning

    all got say about British gas know were are you know the crona virus criss is here customers need help you let them down you gave millions to citizen advice. to but them off when you phone them they on you side you pull the string s is crupt they way your go in you have no customers left if dick Turpin was live to day he work for British gas after all the high way robs worst enarge company out their

    By: Dennis Haywood09-04-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Gas & electricity

    I want to say, British Gas is a liar, cheater, and scammer company they will tell you a lot of lying stories like you are at the cheapest tariff.
    You need:
    1. Do not trust British Gas staff because what they tall you are lying.

    2. You are at the most expensive tariff and you need to urgently look for an alternative energy supplier.

    3. Once you switch to a supplier then you can reveal the fact that British gas is scammers and will charge you around £1400/year!!

    I personally left British Gas and saved more than £400/year!

    Go away from British Gas lair and don't trust them because they are scammers!!

    By: Blend Fathullah03-04-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Write your own review about British Gas

    Your review

    FAQ

    Is British Gas a trustworthy company?

    There are currently 16 customer review posted about British Gas. On average, they received a star-grading of 3/10, with 25% of the reviewers indicating that they would buy from the brand again.

    What services or products do British Gas offer?

    British Gas is mainly active in the Energy category, more specifically with Green Energy, Cheap energy, Gas.

    I have read all the reviews. What now?

    Did you get a positive impression from the reviews? If so, then you can place your order on the British Gas website with confidence. If not you can find many other brands to read about on our website!