BritainReviews

    Reviews Brightside Insurance

    Your car is probably one of your most expansive purchases. So you will want to have your vehicle well insured in case something happens. So where can you go? One company that offers car and van insurance is Brightside Insurance. But how easy will it be to get a quote via their website? Can you trust this company to pay if you make a claim? What accidents and other situations will they cover? Will they be honest about their covers? And what kind of customer service can you expect if you need them to help you with a question or complaint? Will they do their best to stand by you? The best people to answer these kinds of questions are the customers that have taken out car insurance from Brightside Insurance before. Take a look at their reviews to see what they have to say about Brightside Insurance. Their comments, experiences, ratings, opinions and other remarks can help you in your decision to shop at Brightside Insurance or not.

    About Brightside Insurance

    Brightside Insurance is an insurance company. They promise to be transparent and honest. They offer car insurance and van insurance for your private or business vehicle. They offer a car insurance which includes things such as personal accident cover, windscreen cover, RAC UK Breakdown, 90 days European cover, RAC EU breakdown cover, key cover and excess protection. So you will be covered for something relatively small as losing your car keys, but they will also take care of the financial part of the situation if your car breaks down. And they personal accident is divided into comprehensive insurance, third party fire & theft and third party only insurance. For vans, they offer most of the covers that are mentioned above, but also in-van audio, navigation & entertainment equipment, motor legal insurance, driving abroad and a replacement vehicle. Besides car and van insurance, Brightside Insurance also offers home insurance. Pet insurance, sports insurance, eBike insurance and professional tradesmen insurance.

    A closer look at Brighside Car Insurance.

    Services of Brightside Insurance

    If you’re thinking about getting an insurance policy at Brightside Insurance, you can request a quote via Brightside Insurance’s website. They will want to know if you have a registration number for the vehicle. If you don’t know that number, you can enter the make, model, year of manufacture and fuel type of the car. Then, they will provide you with a quote so you can see how much your policy will cost you. Brightside Insurance also has a customer service to help you whenever you need assistance.

    Complaints, Compliments and Tips for Brightside Insurance

    Is your car, van or another vehicle already insured by Brightside Insurance? Or maybe you have taken out their home insurance or pet insurance. In all cases, we would like to know more about your personal experience with this insurance provider. What do you think of their cover? Did you ever need them to pay a claim? How did that work? And are you satisfied with their customer service? Please write your own review and share your Brightside Insurance story with us.

    Is Brightside Insurance really as honest and transparent as they claim to be? Read reviews about this insurance company with car and van insurance

    Brightside Insurance
    Reviews, complaints and customer experiences (18)

    3
    39% Would buy here again!
    Ordering
    rating
    3.2
    Service
    rating
    2.8
    Pricing
    rating
    3.2
    Delivery
    rating
    2.8

    All reviews

    Read independent reviews, consumer experiences, feedback and complaints right here! Get to know the best online shops and service providers from the impressions they with people. Customers now get to decide which brands are worthy and which are not!

    Car insurance

    DO NOT USE THIS INSURANCE COMPANY!! They lie on the phone to sell you a policy and when it comes to cancel your policy they basically charge you a whole years worth of money to cancel. I filed a complaint which has been totally ignored and they have forwarded collection of the money to a debt collection agency. This is the poorest insurance company I’ve ever used STAY WELL CLEAR

    By: Dean Owens 28-05-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Car Insurance

    Had insurance with them but had to cancel due to being laid off work due to covid=19, they would not pause insurance, I had been with them 5 months and paid monthly but they cancelled my insurance and charged me £121, then took it from my bank with no notice.

    By: David Farnish 13-04-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Car insurance

    Avoid! Don't waste your time and money. Very bad experience with them and would not recommend to anyone. My car been written off 4 months ago but they still keep charging me for nothing and they not allowing you to cancel the policy. They saying if you want to you have to pay full amount! Customer service is rubbish. They just dropped the phone and not worried to call back. Never ever again! Keep away from this company

    By: Aurimas Gudaitis 09-04-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    Car insurance

    Please avoid!!! I have had a nightmear with this company to cut a long story short my ex partner is an abuser/ control freak who set my car on fire outside my home in the middle of the day this was nearly 5 weeks ago! I have not been able to work since as I am a care assistant who works for an agency and works in different locations everyday! I have a support worker myself due to what I have been though with my ex partner with abuse, physically, mentally and financially due to this a support worker sent a letter to the company stating the facts of my case and what I had been though my ex partner targeted my car so I couldnt work and knew I would be left with nothing! We are in 2020 and still there is no understanding of domestic abuse and the troubles people face after. I have been left waiting weeks by this company every time I have contacted them I get told something different on every occasion I have explained I need a car for my job not even a courtesy car offered when asked I got refused but still in the mean time 2 weeks after I had made the claim I still have no car to drive a full months payment over £100 was taken out of my bank which I could not afford due to not being able to work and beung a single mother as I had already explained several times when contacting the company for an update, Pauline Alexander has been dealing with this claim and has dragged it out for as long as possible with no care at all everytime I speak to this person I get told something different! This person has no idea of how to do the job! as of today I am still waiting for a pay out with my next monthly payment coming soon for a car I don't have any longer. The only reason i have goven this review 1 star od because it wont let me leave them empty that's what this company deserves 0 star rating!!!

    By: Katie 20-03-2020
    Katie lewis 20-03-2020

    It also took the company over a week to pick my burnt out vehicle up that was basically left on my door step with kids in the street playing with it I did advise the company of this to which I had no response, it took another week then for the people who picked my car up to give it to the insurance then also tired to send another company a week later for my car which already had been picked up by them that got me worrying. Never ever use bright side insurance!

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    37750260

    Bad experience with this company.
    Just phoned today to change my address and end up paying £62 admin fee not the premium my insurance premium didn't go up.
    I asked them I can do it by myself as I have the brightside account but guy said you still have to pay £61. What is the point having account if you can not amend anything by yourself?
    It took him 2 minutes to do it which I could have done it by myself.
    Just a rip off.
    I had an insurance tesco and i able to do any changes by myself without any charge.
    I wont be buying insurance from brightside anymore just a rip off.
    Told the guy I will be leaving bad review but he is not bothered. He was rude and was only interested in money.
    Not sure how they will deal when I have a claim?
    AVOID AT ANY COST.

    By: Asif Mahmood 02-03-2020
    Katie lewis 20-03-2020

    Please change company's as if you ever do need to claim you will be waiting a very long time.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    Car insurance

    They charged me twice for cancelling.

    When I cancelled my policy I found out that Brightside wanted to charge me £60 and the insurer also wanted to charge me £60.

    This is a scam.

    I filed a complaint with Brightside at which time I was told I would have a response within seven days. No response but they have taken the money, £120.

    Do not use this broker, they are a con.

    By: A 17-01-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Car insurance

    Changed my car back in January, thought quote was high at £446, but as I didn't have time to shop around I, reluctantly accepted the quote. The renewal quote for next year of £675(!) was not acceptable. Several phone calls trying to get confirmation of my not renewing met with 'we do not send emails ', 'we do not send letters' , 'we do not send text messages ' . And so it went on. The latest letter from brightside contained the sentence 'Your insurance will NOT automatically be renewed....' Howeverr in view of the foregoing I my bank not to make any payments to brightside ins6. .

    By: Bob Newell 21-12-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    Car Insurance

    Woe betide if someone writes your car off, as has recently happened to me. They have charged me an exit insurance fee of £107.48. I didn't ask for my car to be hit. When I pointed this out they became robots "Read the Terms and Conditions". I won't be going back there when I find a new car. Rip off merchants.

    By: Geoff Anscombe 08-11-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Car insurance

    Disgusting company just want more and more money.

    By: A Bambridge 02-10-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    3.5
    rating

    Motorbike insurance

    Very poor customer service

    By: Tom 26-06-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Car insurance

    Just took out insurance today and tried logging into my account on numerous occasions but all I get is sorry wrong details entered. Now I’m locked out and can’t print of my certificates or see if I’m actually insured. Quick to take money out of my bank though

    By: L Lamberts 14-06-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    Car insurance

    Wish I had seen these reviews what a joke this company is I have just spent 1 hour 23 mins on phone on hold waiting to cancel my policy as I was given an ultimatum to pay an extra £370 for an undisclosed fault when I asked for an extension to sort this out as the claim didn't exist they refused so I said I would cancel before they cancelled and made it harder for me to get insurance they then tell me I have to pay £60 to cancel of which I have to ring and pay as they won't send a bill they are a con company from what I have heard they insure you raise the insurance people cancel and they rake in the money never again I hope karma comes back to them

    By: Andrew 11-06-2019
    Tina 27-03-2020

    This has just happened to me too! I was charged an extra £77.57 for a undisclosed claim. When I investigated it with my old company it was all about an incident that I reported in 2017 which wasn’t a accident and no no money was paid out or any claim undertaken. Like you they are trying to get £77.57

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    terrible customer service and terrible phone service

    negative
    took out insurance 16th march .sent proof of no claims and check codes about 6 times through email and their web site and got sent a email saying possible cancelling insurance as i had not sent necessary documents...cant get through on the phone and have sent the documents again 3 times today 23.4.19 ...will not be insuring with them again rather pay more money

    By: natalie mcmullen 23-04-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2.5
    rating

    Renewal

    Got an email from these people saying they were going to automatically renew my car insurance although they had increased it by £100 and take payment from my credit card. I thought this was an absolute liberty to use my card without my authority and I'm sure its not allowed for a company to keep your card details to use as they wish.

    By: Margaret mchugh 18-04-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Confirm my car insurance

    I received an email about Brightside being owned by a Danish Company , have spent hours trying to phone company going through menu system. What hours do you open .All I get is high volume of calls . What is best number to phone to talk to an agent


    Gordon Williams

    By: gordon williams 03-01-2019
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    DON'T USE THESE IDIOTS

    I went on line via a friends computer who helped me fill out all the forms and Payed £517.11 on debit card. later received all the documents and certificate of motor insurance plus a letter stating "you don't need to send us anything"
    20 days later received a cancellation letter giving me 7days to supply
    Documents Outstanding:-
    Mrs J Farrxxxxx My Licence information
    No Claims Discount Proof
    So next day my Son e-mailed them my No claims discount proof
    Later got phone call asking for my DVLA check Code which i obtained and called them only to be told it was to late and they have Cancelled my policy and that it could not be reinstated or transferred but a new policy would cost me £311.43 EXTRA as they would only refund me £256.33 back from my original £517.11
    now making a total of £828.54 I was then adviced to go back on line and start again but when completing this again the system did not allow the refund so i had to pay by debit card another £524.89
    for a new policy Total payed out £1042
    Had e-mail stating that they would return £256.33 and £60 (waver the cancellation fee ) via a check within 7 days waited 10 days rang them and now they are saying i still owe them £196.33 !!!! ????
    Other Points
    They are completely swamped with new buisness and can not handle the calls my Son needed two days of work to try and sort things out spent more than 3 hours ringing then 3 hours on hold then got cut off 3 times EACH DAY
    Conclusion DONT USE BRIGHTSIDE

    By: JESSIE FARR 14-11-2018
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    3
    rating

    Stay away from the Darkside...

    Shockingly dishonest and potentially fraudulent company. I am currently in the process of making a compliant to the Financial Ombudsman about their practices. I accepted a motorcycle quote from them of 365 GBP for 12 months for 3rd party liability insurance and some of their add-ons. I answered their questionaire honestly and only after I paid, the paperwork stated the no-claims was supposed to be in the last two years. I told them immediately that my last insurance policy was 2 years and 2 months ago. They waited until after the 14 day cooling off period to inform me they are raising the rate by 119 GBP since my last insurance policy was just over 2 years old. I looked around and realized there were a lot more competitive quotes than that. I cancelled less then 14 days after I recieved the notice of increase. After ignoring the request for cancellation for 7 days, they inform me thatthey are charging me over 200 GBP for an insurance policy that lasted less than one month when the orginal 12 month policy that was quoted at 365 GBP (484 when they raised it)! Darkside claims that I have to pay the full 12 months additional add-ons, which was not the way they representated them at all at purchase.

    --> Stay away: Darkside may seem like a good deal from the initial quote, but just wait....

    By: Barry 06-08-2018
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    2
    rating

    TRUSTWORTHY

    Well, i must say i can trust Brightside completely, they help when i needed the most. they cover the most basic issues and they help in shorted it out quickly. also, they cover expenses which can cause the real issue if you dont have a budget.

    By: jenny 14-07-2018
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Write your own review about Brightside Insurance

    Your review

    FAQ

    Is Brightside Insurance a trustworthy company?

    There are currently 18 customer review posted about Brightside Insurance. On average, they received a star-grading of 3/10, with 39% of the reviewers indicating that they would buy from the brand again.

    What services or products do Brightside Insurance offer?

    Brightside Insurance is mainly active in the Insurance category, more specifically with Vehicle, Home, Other.

    I have read all the reviews. What now?

    Did you get a positive impression from the reviews? If so, then you can place your order on the Brightside Insurance website with confidence. If not you can find many other brands to read about on our website!