BritainReviews

    Shaw Academy
    Reviews, complaints and customer experiences (4055)

    8.6
    100% Would buy here again!
    Ordering
    rating
    8.8
    Service
    rating
    8.6
    Pricing
    rating
    8.2
    Delivery
    rating
    8.6

    All reviews

    Read independent reviews, consumer experiences, feedback and complaints right here! Get to know the best online shops and service providers from the impressions they with people. Customers now get to decide which brands are worthy and which are not!

    Photography classes

    Super easy to use there online programs and I have be learning alot of really good information

    By: Katelyn Tolentino09-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    9.5
    rating

    Graphic Design Course

    I really enjoy the online system it's very helpful and easy to use. Being home and have nothing to do. This helps me keep myself busy.

    By: Maham Fatima09-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    8.5
    rating

    Classes

    I've been doing this for quite some time and can I just say that it is great. It's easy to use. Reminders are always sent to me and it is very flexible with my work life. Amazing.

    By: Elsa galvan09-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    9.5
    rating

    Photography course


    DO NOT USE. You have to put your card details in to get the first module “free” then even if you cancel before the next month they charge you £70 anyway. There are also pop ups with “one click purchase” advertisements that conveniently suddenly appear over the button you are trying to click on which charge you for things you don’t want. The tuition courses are essentially a pre-recorded PowerPoint which plays for an hour. The content is ok but they send you a barrage of emails, texts and calls to remind you about the classes and to try and sell you extra things. After a month of battling over email and phone I have eventually got my money back but I wish I had never signed up in the first place.

    A lot of the positive reviews seem very questionable too.

    By: Martin09-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Lifetime

    I paid good money to become a lifetime member. I had some downtime on Sunday so thought I would start a lesson, well you can only take the classes at the day/time scheduled so I wasn't able to start when I was ready. Then I got into the class and she talked so fast I could hardly take notes so went to check out the notes/resources, well they wanted me to pay for them PER MODULE! By the time I'm done with this I will down over $200. If I paid to take your class you should give me the resources.

    By: Kay09-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    8 Week Graphic Design Class

    Great introductory modules for graphic design work. Professionally done. I appreciated the pace of the modules. The introduction and explanations could have been drawn out too slowly, but instead it was succinct and effective in its delivery of the content. Too many online education platforms have not adequately adjusted the pace of their education. Courses are usually too slow as they try to replicate an in-person experience. Instead, these modules were packed with information, and it was delivered at a pace that was engaging and effective. With the ability to re-watch modules, it was done exactly how it should be.

    By: Cody D Lehman09-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    TUITION

    Great service and amazing presentation.Just needs more of everything they have to offer.
    Thanks.

    By: ANTHONY OYASOR09-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    'Free Trial' FRAUD

    signed up to a Shaw Academy ‘free’ trial at the start of May (9/5/2020). I wanted to learn some new skills. Dubiously, I entered my card details as I signed up (as required) knowing that I would cancel before the end of the month’s trial. What I did not expect was that Shaw Academy would illegally and fraudulently take money out of my account without my permission., ignore my emails, and deny my cancellation.

    I started the graphic design course, which was slow and poor quality. The website is set up where there are multiple buttons on any given page whereby, if you accidentally select, you will immediately be charged.

    So I went to cancel my account. I needed to phone. The next working day, 11/5/2020 I phoned. After one very lengthy process I got through to an advisor called Qhamani Jonathan Dapo qj.dapo@success.shawacademy.com . He begged me to stay. I declined explaining that it was not the user experience I wanted. 20 minutes later I persuaded this ‘advisor’ to allow me to cancel. Suspicios, I asked for an email confirmation.

    The email reads:
    Hi Benjamin,
    Thank you for your time earlier today.
    As mentioned on the phone your membership with Shaw Academy has now been cancelled.
    We appreciate you came to us with serious goals and we want to do all that we can to help during these challenging times.
    What we would like to do now is to give you an additional two months totally free of charge. There will be no recurring charges thereafter. There are no strings. Just two months totally free of charge as a thank you to you and to help you achieve your goals.
    If you want to keep studying after that great, if not there is no issue – we just want to help and we hope an additional two months for free will help you achieve your goals. This is just our way of saying thank you.

    Naturally, I did not reactivate.

    During this time, I kept receiving email communications from Shaw Academy about my ‘classes’, I ignored them until the 29th of May where I sent an email in to the support system requesting to stop receiving emails. This ticket was ignored in contravention of GDPR laws.

    Now, a month later from my initial signing up and I can see that Shaw Academy have taken £49.99 out of my account. I was shocked. I instantly emailed the ’support’ team and tried to phone. Of course, my phone call was not answered but led me to a carousel of ‘press 1 to reactivate your account.

    The support team got back in touch with an email that read:

    Hi Benjamin,
    Thank you for reaching out to us.
    I have personally reviewed your account and found the following details:
    * The subscription has been initiated as 4-week free trial.
    * It was not cancelled during the trial period, so the payment was processed.
    * These terms are stated and accepted before account creation.T&C please see section 4 and 5.
    We are unable to process subscription refunds unfortunately after the trial expiry, as per the terms and conditions.

    They then offered me a ‘deal’. I since emailed back with the confirmation and date of the account being cancelled and have demanded a refund. No response. I have contacted them on instagram and Facebook: no response.

    Looking deeper, there is a petition for them to be investigated for fraud. I have signed this petition and will be instructing my friends to do so also. There is a whole instagram community around their fraud.

    www.change.org/p/www-cgso-org-za-have-sh aw-academy-investigated-for-fraud
    www.instagram.c om/shawacademy.fraud/

    I demand a full refund immediately from Shaw Academy. I will be reporting them to ACTION FRAUD. If not, I will begin legal proceedings for their FRAUDULENT ACTIVITY and will not rest until I have relayed the truth about their heinous business practices on every review site and social media site available. I am currently contacting newspapers about their activities at this time. I am also escalating this with my Bank to look into the transaction as a fraudulent withdrawal of funds.

    By: Benjamin Harris09-06-2020
    Helena09-06-2020

    I am having the exact same issue with them but not sure how to deal with it. They ignore all my emails and complaints and have taken two unauthorised payments from my account despite me cancelling in March and receiving conformation of said cancellation. Grateful for any suggestions for how to resolve.

    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Free trial period (that isn't free - SCAM!)

    Tried the "free" trial period they offer on their courses. IMPOSSIBLE to cancel online, there are no active phone numbers and they charged me £70 for a course I believed I had CANCELLED and have no interest in continuing, and there is no one to talk to or resolve the situation!!!!
    DO NOT SIGN UP WITH THEM!!!

    By: Mariano De Simone09-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Self-improvement

    I had my first class today and it was awesome, it was a great time having class with Shaw Academy. It was great

    By: Lawrence 09-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    8
    rating

    Sport nutrition

    Excellent way to study sport nutrition!

    By: Antoine Bynum09-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Web Design

    Online courses offered here our interesting and easy to understand. They explain every details and provide demos makes a lot easier to understand.

    By: Jade Enanoria09-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    8.5
    rating

    Fitness & Weight Loss - Course

    The lectures in Shaw Academy are well organized and supported by experts in their areas. I love that at the end of the courses we can get an endorsed high-level certificate. I like the experience of studying in Shaw Academy.

    By: Hector Martinez09-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    9
    rating

    One month free

    For us in this part of the world, it's not easy to learn online, but I'm grateful to come across this platform, the instructor is very interesting and make learning fun, I missed the first two class, but the instructor kept sending me messages and reminding, in summary I just want to continue as I'm waiting for the second lesson. Thank you.

    By: Temitope Adeniran09-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    8.5
    rating

    Free Trial - NOT FREE!

    I am an avid user of online learning platforms. I have used many different ones, including Future Learn, The British Council, DuoLingo, Babbel among many others.

    Shaw Academy is by far the least professional site I have ever come across. It is full of pop ups pushing you to purchase a subscription. There are UNLABELLED one-click purchase buttons everywhere. Their website uses buzzwords like "Credit Rated" which means absolutely nothing, in order to dupe people into thinking that their "qualifications" are worth something. They are not.

    "Customer Service" is non-existent. After being caught out by an unlabelled one-click purchase button, they refuse to give refunds and I have had to open an Action Fraud investigation against them.

    How they can sleep at night, I don't know.

    By: Miss Leanne King09-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    No
    2
    rating

    Project Management

    It's already my 3rd lesson today and I've been learning a lot since lesson 1. Discussions were quick and easy to understand though I'm not sure if I will remember all of it. Haha

    By: Ian Kenneth G. Mendoza09-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Graphic Design

    On the second lesson and I'm really enjoying it. The information is detailed and well presented.

    By: Jan Price09-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Courses

    Always positive

    By: Mohammad Azhar Ali09-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Graphic design on a budget

    Ive completed the first lesson in the graphic design on a budget course and Ive been impressed. The course is well structured, easy to follow.

    I look forward to completing more and getting into the more hands-on portions

    By: CHRIS INGELLIS09-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Management and Leadership

    This course is very good. The instructor is knowledgeable and explains really well. I will definitely purchase more courses.

    By: Kimberly Ann Forbes09-06-2020
    Ordering
    rating
    Service
    rating
    Pricing
    rating
    Delivery
    rating
    Would buy here again
    Yes
    10
    rating

    Write your own review about Shaw Academy

    Your review

    FAQ

    Is Shaw Academy a trustworthy company?

    There are currently 4055 customer review posted about Shaw Academy. On average, they received a star-grading of 8.6/10, with 100% of the reviewers indicating that they would buy from the brand again.

    What services or products do Shaw Academy offer?

    Shaw Academy is mainly active in the General category, more specifically with Education.

    I have read all the reviews. What now?

    Did you get a positive impression from the reviews? If so, then you can place your order on the Shaw Academy website with confidence. If not you can find many other brands to read about on our website!